Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle: OWC Data Doubler Kit + 250GB OWC 3G SSD

OWC Data Doubler Kit, 250GB 2.5" OWC Mercury Electra 3G Solid State Drive and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Everything you need in one package to replace your internal optical drive with additional storage space.
Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount the included drive.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its
    own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Power Tip
Spin-down hard drives sooner to save battery power. Running an extra hard drive in your laptop can drain battery power faster than a single drive. But you can tell your Mac to put hard drives to sleep sooner than normal to save power.

This is an advanced tip that requires working in Terminal. For the step-by-step explanation, visit our blog.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Kit
  • 250GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the installation video.



Be sure to get the right device!
This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

250GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
250GB useable capacity
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Read (Compressible Data)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Compressible Data)
253MB/s
Sequential Read (Incompressible Data)
271MB/s
Sequential Write (Incompressible Data)
247MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 90,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 60,000 IOPS

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.


OWC Data Doubler Specs

Drive Interface

  • SATA / SATA 3G / SATA 6G Interface 2.5" Drive or SSD (Solid State Drive) of up to 9.5mm (Super Slim) height.

Dimensions

  • 5"(D) x 5"(W) x 03"(H)
  • 12.7 x 12.7 x 7.6mm

Weight

  • 2.4oz. / 0.15lbs.

Product Manual

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n DDMBSSD250 UPC#: 812437026573

Gallery

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 188 out of 191 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great purchase June 6, 2015 I am so happy with this purchase - between this SSD and my upgraded RAM, my 4 year old computer has never ever been faster!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brazil, Curitiba / PR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth shopping June 1, 2015 My MacBook PRO late 2011 was delaying 4 minutes do start and open Google Chrome. After installing SSD the same process took almost 1 minute. This is the first thing that impressed me - but the overall performance is really better. I do recommend this :)

The only thing I would change is the toolkit - there was some screws I couldn't open with those that came with the kit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sacramento, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I am a photographer with photo editing being my most important digital function. May 30, 2015 This new 480 GB SSD drive is the cat's pajama's. It sails thru any function I place in its path. I love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Spain Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Amazing improvement May 18, 2015 My Macbook Pro 15 Unibody from 2008 has reborn! After the SSD installation, the performance of my laptop has improved. Heavy programs like Photoshop start now in almost 5 sec, and a 7-year computer with Yosemite installed is fastest than ever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product May 15, 2015 I have a 2011 15inch MBP (Macpro8,2). Despite OWC's warnings, I tried installing the SSD into the optical drive and had little luck with recognizing/re-writing the drive.

I switched the original HD over to the optical drive and installed the SSD in main SATA bay. This worked and I'm running at lightning speeds. Installation of the data doubler was fairly easy despite stripping one of the original screws necessary to remove the optical drive. I worked around this and got it done. Took some extra time, but no harm no foul.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Perfect kit!!! April 24, 2015 This is the best purchase I've ever did, this kit is perfect and make my "old" Macbook Alu 2008 in a brand New MacBook thanks to SSD Drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! April 18, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My SSD drive is working great! April 11, 2015 My SSD drive is working great. the instructions were straightforward and a great time savings. the disk doubler fit perfectly into the CD bay.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Puerto Rico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 BEST COMPANY IN THE MARCKET!!!!!!!!!!!! April 9, 2015 AWESOME SSD!!! Faster than Apple!!!! Reliable!!! Because your are the best in the market!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! R&D Department is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never an issue in ANY Client!!! With you almost 7 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Barquisimeto, Venezuela Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The power was immediately March 30, 2015 My laptop MB Pro 2010, 13 ", 2 core duo, 2.4Ghz became immediately applications that took up to 30 seconds to open (adobe suite) now in just 2 seconds. The video support allows to install oneself quickly and safely.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Works great. Slight fit issue March 26, 2015 Installed this in an early 2011 13" MacBook Pro. It works great, and the SSD is fast! A couple notes:

- As mentioned in the description, the optical bay is a slower serial interface (3G, not 6G), so you're much better-off installing the pre-existing HDD where the DVD drive was, and installing the SSD in the slot that used to hold the HDD.. This is no big deal, though as it just requires a couple more steps.

- Even with the drive installed, the Data Doubler is thinner than the DVD drive, so there's some empty space between the drive and the bottom of the computer. This isn't a big deal, but a little annoying when you pick the computer up and feel the case give a little. I might try to find something to fill the space...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fairfax, California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Slicker'd n'Hog Slobbers! March 25, 2015 I dun figured 2011 laptop fur dead, befor'n I got holt a dis here Deal here. Couldn't run no FireFox an Sketch at the same time, an not even Android Studio neither. And wake me up when its loaded, like.. Popped this Puppy in, an WHOOO wee! I'm going to town! Extra 12G Ram didn't hurt neither.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade March 23, 2015 Postage was reasonably quick to Australia. Well packaged and came with instructions. The instructional videos on the OWC site are excellent and provide great step-by-step guide to installation. The improved memory has not only solved my storage issues, but has made a HUGE difference to the speed at which my macbook pro operates ... it is FAST! Thanks OWC for a great product and service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City MO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 The Lazarus effect March 21, 2015 This is the second of these drives I've picked up for aging MacBook Pros, which have breathed new life AND SPEED into our laptops. The installation kit and videos make this quite easy for a noob like me. After my wife saw me successfully install one in my laptop, she (early tech adopter, Mac Beta tester) asked me to do the same in hers. It's great being constantly thanked for the new speed on her old Pro. Adobe products and startup times are ridiculously fast for my 6 year old Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver BC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great update for any MacBook Pro March 20, 2015 They ship quickly, the product is high quality and it is easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Jackson, AL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 1/5 Mercury Extreme 6G SSD Let Me Down March 16, 2015 I recently purchased a Mercury Extreme 6G SSD and a data doubler kit for my Macbook Pro and it suddenly stopped working after a couple weeks. The drive is no longer recognizable and luckily I was able to retrieve my data before it completely died on me. OWC was helpful in troubleshooting the issue and promised to trade my drive out with a new one. The only problem is I work offshore and it will be 28 days before I will be able to send in my drive. Luckily I didn't delete everything off of my old drive. It is just hard to go from HDD to SSD then back again. My issue is with the SSD manufacturer and not OWC. I guess I just got a lemon.

This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Response from MacSales.com, Customer Service March 18, 2015 As with any electronic product, failures do happen on occasion. That's exactly why Other World Computing (OWC) offers a limited parts and labor warranty to the original purchaser that any genuine OWC SSD hardware product purchased will be free from defects in material and workmanship for a period of 5 years from the original date of purchase.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Laptop Reborn March 13, 2015 I highly recommend this product for anyone who is moderately technical. The step-by-step video directions are perfect. Simple, easy. The entire process took me about 20 minutes and now my MBPro is like a new machine. Having the OS on a solid state drive brings an amazing bump in productivity, apps open instantly. If you're considering it, just do it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Quebec Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good and rock solid design, no other like it March 12, 2015 Can't say enough good things about the data doubler. I've done countless installs for many people with good and stable results every time. Brings new life to a macbook pro and allows tons of storage internally for multiple uses. And it's sturdy enough that it doesn't affect the macbook pro's overall strength since the optical drive occupies a large portion of the space. I always order this with the superslim optical drive enclosure, it's plastic, but it's solid and hasn't failed in over 100 installs I've done. The front slit parts can be fragile if handle forcefully or improperly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockland, Maine Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like getting a new computer March 9, 2015 The increase in performance isn't hype! With the SSD as my primary drive, my old HD for bulk storage and the free upgrade to Yosemite my MBP feels like a new machine. I chose owc after shopping around and reading reviews of their service after the sale in case of failure. Some less expensive SSDs couldn't give me those assurances. Also, the specific mac expertise and friendly phone support as I was switching my drives around and reinstalling made things easy. Thanks owc!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Drum, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't hesitate, get it!! March 8, 2015 I now enjoy quicker startups and I am happy I made the decision to upgrade. I use this SSD as my startup drive to run OSX and I use the original HD for my storage drive. The included tool kit was a nice touch and it was easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for a speed boost March 3, 2015 Great product if you want to keep an older laptop going for a few more years. Really sped up my 2010 MacBook Pro and made it a pleasure to use again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Like a New Computer. February 23, 2015 I have an early macbook pro 5,1 and had tried some tweaks to speed it up -- got more OWC memory and a hybrid drive -- but the computer was dog slow and I was about to throw in the sponge and buy a new one from Apple. I thought I'd try to put in an SSD since the prices were so reasonable, and found OWC didn't have the TRIM problems other SSD drives have. Could not have been easier to clone the old drive and fired this new SSD up. Man, it boots four times faster and all the time lags disappeared. Super fast. After the hybrid drive slowed everything down, it is clear that was the problem for everything. Now it is snappy, fast and silent. Just make sure you get enough of a drive to allow a substantial part of it to be empty, for the computer to use. Has not slowed down since installed, so no TRIM issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: upstate NY Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install, great result February 3, 2015 The kit was easy, tools were fine. Took about ten minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Spain Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Good product! January 27, 2015 The replacement of the optic drive was so easy, only 10 minutes. Good performance of the ssd, my macbook pro late 2008 is a new computer!

This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Osaka Japan Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product, Easy install January 26, 2015 I was worried about putting an SSD into my old Macbook Pro because of everything I'd read about Yosemite's compatibility problems, but OWC's website was a great source of information and matched me up with a great SSD. In addition, their free install videos are great, so installing the SSD and the data doubler was a breeze. I live overseas, and the high quality of their products combined with the piece of mind of great customer service make it worth it, even if you need your product shipped halfway around the world.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

OWC DIY Bundle 250GB 2.5" OWC 3G Solid State Drive, OWC Data Doubler Kit and OWC 5 Piece Tool Kit Mfr P/N: DDMBSSD250 OWC SKU: OWCDDMBSSD250 Fits all Apple MacBook & MacBook Pro 'Unibody' Models; all MacBook Models 'Late 2008' and Later. Data Doubler: 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty
Drive: 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $79.98Bundle Priced for $62.75
Add to CartOther World Computing DDMBSSD250 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Configurations: Data Doubler + Electra 3G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $40.75
  • 250GB
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $164.98
    • Bundle Priced for $139.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $344.98
    • Bundle Priced for $329.75
Data Doubler + Electra 6G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $75.97
    • Bundle Priced for $46.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $85.97
    • Bundle Priced for $65.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $118.97
    • Bundle Priced for $94.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $175.97
    • Bundle Priced for $148.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 25 Days
    • Only $350.97
    • Bundle Priced for $339.75
Data Doubler + Extreme Pro 6G
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $190.97
    • Bundle Priced for $147.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $270.97
    • Bundle Priced for $237.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 15 Days
    • Only $500.97
    • Bundle Priced for $489.75
Related Items: