Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle: OWC Data Doubler Kit + 250GB OWC 3G SSD

OWC Data Doubler Kit, 250GB 2.5" OWC Mercury Electra 3G Solid State Drive and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Everything you need in one package to replace your internal optical drive with additional storage space.
Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount the included drive.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its
    own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Power Tip
Spin-down hard drives sooner to save battery power. Running an extra hard drive in your laptop can drain battery power faster than a single drive. But you can tell your Mac to put hard drives to sleep sooner than normal to save power.

This is an advanced tip that requires working in Terminal. For the step-by-step explanation, visit our blog.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Kit
  • 250GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the installation video.



Be sure to get the right device!
This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

250GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
250GB useable capacity
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Read (Compressible Data)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Compressible Data)
253MB/s
Sequential Read (Incompressible Data)
271MB/s
Sequential Write (Incompressible Data)
247MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 90,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 60,000 IOPS

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.


OWC Data Doubler Specs

Drive Interface

  • SATA / SATA 3G / SATA 6G Interface 2.5" Drive or SSD (Solid State Drive) of up to 9.5mm (Super Slim) height.

Dimensions

  • 5"(D) x 5"(W) x 03"(H)
  • 12.7 x 12.7 x 7.6mm

Weight

  • 2.4oz. / 0.15lbs.

Product Manual

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n DDMBSSD250 UPC#: 812437026573

Gallery

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 188 out of 191 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brasília, Brazil Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best upgrade ever June 14, 2014 I was almost giving up of my macbook 6,1 (late 2009 unibody). I had already upgrade RAM a year ago, but my macbook was crashing, very very slow. I replaced the HDD for a SSD 120 gb. It was a downgrade of capacity (I didn't want to put a dual-drive), but no regrets at all. I really don't see two much difference from my old macbook to a new Macbook Air that I own. I can now open a lot of apps without worrying.

TIP for brazilians: do not purchase from DHL or something similar. There is a special tax for that kind of shipping.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Europe Age: 25-34 Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very Satisfied, but... June 11, 2014 Just finished upgrading. Everything worked fine. The ssd was installed quickly. Runs super fast. The Data Doubler, too. But, alas, getting the Superdrive out of the mb pro wasn't too easy, one of the srews was fixed very tightly (loctite).

So here's the only con to the kit: The philips screw driver that i got with four other cute little tools is worn out now - not to speak of the original screw. And i couldn't get that one last screw out myself (here i used the new screws that came with the Data Doubler).

Either you just put better screw drivers with hardened tips into the kit or you simply charge more. But then again, I probably am the only one who has no stock of high quality screw drivers of all sorts and sizes...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Simply great May 26, 2014 With the kit, you will get all that you need to fix it, even the step by step instructions according to the specific models! The SSD works fine & awesomely fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works well, easy install, well supported May 23, 2014 I didn't have any issues with this product, nor it's installation. My MacBook Pro works like a charm with this SSD, and my original HHD is now my media storage unit as I used the adaptor to replace my superdrive device.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Italy Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It was Great! May 13, 2014 Excellent! The product is very good and the shipping was very very fast (to Italy in 3 working days!). Thank you We'll make business again

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Product & install simple & easy May 10, 2014 I would recommend this product to anyone! I hardly used my optical drive any more and the extra memory was especially cool being I just do not like always using memory sticks. I also learned that with the extra hard drive I can internally "Eject" the drive with info on it when not in use and this saves battery life as if its not even there! Smart product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Louisville, KY Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great way to get more memory! May 7, 2014 Ordered this product so my boot drive would be SSD, and then I used the kit to move my HDD in the optical bay to have some extra storage. The install process was very easy thanks to the tools supplied!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cincinnati, OH Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So Fast! May 5, 2014 This is a great SSD and I highly recommend it. It has made my MacBook Pro 15" so much faster. I use my MBP for video and graphics and having this SSD saves me a TON of time, because it is so quick.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Orleans, LA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Why did I wait so long? May 2, 2014 I installed the 240 GB SSD and used the data double so I could keep my 1 TB spinning drive too. Wow! With the SSD as the boot device EVERYTHING runs faster. Friends had suggested the upgrade months earlier and I resisted. I didn't want to lose the use of my DVD. It was a mistake to wait. I can't remember the last time I needed the DVD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lohja, Finland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My Mac is reborn! April 29, 2014 The installation was a real challenge, but thanks to the excellent instruction video, everything went smooth. My iMac is a completely different machine, blistering fast! Delivery was very fast, it arrived on the 3 rd day after ordering. I had a self- generated problem with the order, and contacted customer service. They aswered immediately and helped me to sort out the ( minor) problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD is the way to go! April 28, 2014 I bought this bundle a little over a month ago. Using OWC's videos the installation was a breeze. I had some problems doing a clean install of the Maverick OS, but I was able to work through it. I decided not to remove the optical drive at this time. The SSD screams and seems to respond faster as time goes on. I wished that OWC would supply it's set-up recommendations with the SSD. This SSD is far less expensive than a new MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Moscow,Russia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, works without any problem February 26, 2014 I have just completed the installation of the OWC DIY Kit into my MacBookPro8,2. It was very easy to install. Included spare screws was very usefull because two original left screws do not fit when fixing the drive holder in the place of DVD - on the video it is not mentioned. I recommend to watch the video (in high quality) with the install instruction and You will replace the drives without looking at the manual. Also i highly recommend to buy OWC Super slim DVD box where You can install the replaced DVD drive. You don't need additional screwdrivers - included is enough to do the job. Now i have three time more space in my MacBookPro (120GB original + 240GB from OWC) and also external DVD which i can use with all my PCs and MACs ))))

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roseburg, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like a new computer! February 10, 2014 Bought this for my late 2009 iMac..The installation was easier than I thought, especially since OWC took their video for this model off as "too difficult" but still had the video for replacing the optical drive which is essentially the same. After following the "Terminal" instructions (be sure to format the new SSD with the Gui disk utility first), it worked beautifully. Both my wife and daughter thought I had bought a brand new iMac. Essentially, I have nearly the equivalent of a new $3K computer for less than $300. Don't know the durability of the setup yet, but still very much worth it!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worth its weight in gold!!! February 6, 2014 MacBook Pro 8,1. Installed this along with upgrading my ram from 4GB factory to 8GB OWC, and also upgraded to OSX Mavericks. WOW what a difference!! I clocked start up time with the old hardware and it took 50 seconds from dead off to log in screen, with the new hardware it only took 15 seconds. Opening programs is a snap. Install went smooth, even if you dont have much experience with computers, just watch the videos on how to install and you wont have any issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico, DF Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You haven't experienced FAST yet! January 29, 2014 Before I decided to actually try a SSD I spent more than a month doing research. Although there are not that many options out there, OWC Extreme Pro 6G is the best one in terms of cost benefit, cost per GB and of course, SPEED!

I received the unit with the Data Doubler today, and after a 50 minute cloning session of the actual HDD into the new SSD, the installation took me 35 minutes. Everything was ready and explained through the online videos, no need of anything else.

The SSD is fast, noiseless and light, it just made my MBP 13" (mid 2012) boot OS X Mavericks (10.9.1) under 18 seconds! Forget about getting a new laptop, the way to go is with a SSD drive!

My MBP 13" now has 2 internal drives (SSD & HDD) no more optical drive needed, 16 GB RAM and it just flies! AWESOME!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Worked well, eventually January 13, 2014 Followed directions and installed but case would not close. Closer inspection revealed that there was a large glob of excess paint that was causing an obstruction. Disassembled, scraped off the clump of paint, and then everything went together smoothly.

Suggest checking for obvious globs of paint before installing,

Otherwise, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great products at owc January 7, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: OWC Data Doubler for select Apple laptops + 240 GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD + Tools.
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow! December 8, 2013 OWC has done an incredible job by providing quality products and fantastic instructional videos. I'm an engineer so I love to tinker with my own stuff, and having instructional videos to let me know how to do these projects as DIY are incredible.

I installed the SSD in my main drive bay and placed the stock HD into the optical bay of my 2012 15" MacBook Pro. What a difference! Start-up takes hardly any time at all. Once again, using the excellent instructional videos, I set up my OS and Apps to run from the SSD and all the data to be placed on the standard HD. Now I've got tons of space and optimal performance. I do a lot of photography and now with the SSD running the programs, image downloads, renderings, and processing takes substantially less time. My computer is also much quieter and runs much cooler. I don't have to worry about a hot computer on my lap anymore.

If you need serious performance, I highly recommend this package.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Excellent product. Much faster. September 10, 2013 Just installed this into my 2012 Macbook Pro 13.3, instantly noticeable speed improvement. Barely any lag opening apps compared to before. Installed a 1tb HDD into the Data Doubler for my home files. Very reasonably priced DIY kit and very easy to install. Also speed tested the OWC SSD and my read times stay around 200 Mb/s and write times are around 175 Mb/s, compared to the 65 Mb/s read and 50 Mb/s write times that my previous HDD was doing. Very impressed. Only thing I would add to the instructions is how to move your Home folder to the HDD in the Data Double.

Move Home Folder to HDD: -Open System Preferences -Go to Users/Groups -Control Click on the Admin user -Select Advanced Options -Go to where it says Home Directory and choose your HDD in the Data Doubler and click ok then restart and all your user files will be routed to the HDD and only apps and Boot system will be on SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denmark Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product, very high quality August 29, 2013 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bristol, CT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD June 25, 2013 Awesome SSD. Installed easily and works lightening fast. Very happy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Do Not Hesitate June 17, 2013 I have procrastinated on this upgrade for years now, and I regret it, because this is BY FAR the BEST thing I have ever done to my MacBook Pro. It is like having a brand new machine. It boots up blindingly fast. My apps start up in a blink. All of the things I hated about waiting for software to start up, going through fonts, etc, etc. are gone. The installation was cake, thanks to the thorough video tutorial. I was up and running in 20 minutes. If you have been considering this, DO IT!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Allen, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Solution - OWC Data-Doubler w/480GB Bundle June 6, 2013 I purchased a Mid 2009 MBP from my niece, she needed a newer MCP with more processor and storage capacity. I had planned to upgrade memory to 8GB as the first step as I have had great results with OWC memory kits before. As I was shopping for the memory I came across the Data-Doubler w/480GB SSD bundle and toolkit. I read several other articles about SSDs and thought about using a small one to boot the OS from, but after reading several reviews on OWC, I was convinced to get the 480GB SSD. I watched the "How-to" video a couple times. To be honest, I wasn't really planning to swap drives and clone it. But the videos I found showed me how simple it was to accomplish. The parts arrived earlier than expected so I decided to go ahead and complete the upgrade between meetings. The upgrade went exactly as the video portrayed. The formatting and cloning of the drive was easy and much faster than I expected. It took less than 30 minutes to upgrade the 15" MBP Mid 2009 to; 8GB Memory, add the Data-doubler with 480GB SSD and format & clone the drive. I was hopeful that the performance would improve the MBP to acceptable levels, I did not expect it to be "smoking fast". Boot times are around 12 seconds, transfer times to/from the SSD over a wired Gig connection scream and transfer times between the SSD and old HD are well beyond respectable. In summary - adding memory and the SSD resulted in much better performance than I was hoping for. Oh, my niece was happy to hear that her old computer found a new home.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 No trouble May 17, 2013 I just received the DataDoubler Kit with the ordered SSD and had no trouble exchanging my (dead) internal optic drive for the SSD+DataDoubler. All tools are furnished together with a very clear manual. Having dismantle many other Apple books from WallStreet to Alubook, it was a piece of cake and then after reinstalling the system a complete different story. With the SAME user settings (including startup items and preferences), the MBP (late 2008 with 4 Gb RAM) starts in 1'42" on the 750 Gb internal HD (still present) and in just 20"1 on the SSD. Waking up from sleepmode takes 45" on HD and only 3" on SSD. It is like having a faster MBP model... Just Great, I still need to see how long will this SSD last, since its lifetime is shorter compared to an HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast, quiet and worth the money March 6, 2013 His was a disk doubler purchase for mid 2010 15" MacBook Pro. The functioning is as expected, except for additional cooling required (the fan comes on more often than before). I had trouble installing the drive I the optical bay as an additional storage -- the drive was not recognized despite several attempts. I tried switching with main drive to the optical drive bay, and put the SSD hard drive in the main drive bay, and that worked (second attempt). All this resulted in me requiring 2 hours.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: OWC Data Doubler for select Apple laptops + 240 GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD + Tools.

OWC DIY Bundle 250GB 2.5" OWC 3G Solid State Drive, OWC Data Doubler Kit and OWC 5 Piece Tool Kit Mfr P/N: DDMBSSD250 OWC SKU: OWCDDMBSSD250 Fits all Apple MacBook & MacBook Pro 'Unibody' Models; all MacBook Models 'Late 2008' and Later. Data Doubler: 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty
Drive: 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $79.98Bundle Priced for $62.75
Add to CartOther World Computing DDMBSSD250 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Configurations: Data Doubler + Electra 3G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $40.75
  • 250GB
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.98
    • Bundle Priced for $89.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $174.98
    • Bundle Priced for $146.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $332.98
    • Bundle Priced for $314.64
Data Doubler + Electra 6G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $75.97
    • Bundle Priced for $46.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $85.97
    • Bundle Priced for $65.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $118.97
    • Bundle Priced for $93.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $180.97
    • Bundle Priced for $150.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $330.97
    • Bundle Priced for $318.75
Data Doubler + Extreme Pro 6G
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $190.97
    • Bundle Priced for $142.64
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $270.97
    • Bundle Priced for $217.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $500.97
    • Bundle Priced for $439.75
Related Items: