Home » Hard Drive, SSD Mounting Kits » For iMac (2009-2010) HDD Bay » OWC Thermal Sensor Kits for iMac 2009 & Later
OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for iMac Late 2009 - Mid 2010 Hard Drive Upgrade
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading your late 2009 - mid 2010 iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    This item does not include installation tools.
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Using an OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit (sold separately), replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Video, corresponding to your machine, in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your late 2009 - mid 2010 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    If you need an upgrade kit with tools, you can purchase the OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit.

    Includes


    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
    (July, 2010)
    Model ID: iMac11,3
    2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
    (July, 2010)
    Model ID: iMac11,2
    3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
    (October, 2009)
    Model ID: iMac10,1; iMac11,1
    2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
    (October, 2009)
    Model ID: iMac10,1
    3.06GHz, 3.33GHz

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 71 out of 73 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Moni
    Rating: 5/5 Works Great! November 17, 2016 Computer fan is smooth & quiet after replacing my hard drive as promised. Actually sounds smoother then before. Thanks!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: MacRelic Location: Hamilton, Ontario. Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent Service and Kit! November 16, 2016 I am new to the computing DIY, ordered this nifty little kit for my 2009 mac for install of a my new SSD and is perfect and to top it off shipping was insane fast, ordered Monday afternoon and was in Canada at my door by 3 pm Tuesday. An Excellent purchasing experience!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Doct3rPhil
    Rating: 5/5 Worked November 14, 2016 This is mainly for replacing an Apple HDD with another non-Apple HDD. It allowed me to install my SSD in place of the HDD with a thermal sensor, but it was kinda just hanging there loosely since it doesn't have a propper mount. I ran like this for a while and eventually bought the Data Doubler from this site. I put the original Apple HDD back in it's place and move the SSD to where the SuperDrive was. I'm happier with that solution so I might recommend that option over this.

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: mlucashouston Location: Fulshear, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent November 9, 2016 Using the video from OWC and the tools I purchased I was able to replace the SSD without any issues. Great videos and great quality products!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Gordo Location: Flippin,Arkansas Age: Over 65
    Rating: 5/5 Hard drive installation kit November 9, 2016 Great product. This kit is a must for installing a hard drive in your Imac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Jorgen
    Rating: 5/5 Works like à charm! November 8, 2016 Installerad it in my late 2015 iMac. Now I run two separate disks. One 3,5". 3TB WD red and the built in SSD drive. Perfect if you want to replace standard drive or install a SSD

    Please note: For dual drives more parts needed.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DaveB1948 Location: Ukiah, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great tools for the iMac! October 24, 2016 I had to replace the disc drive in my 2012 27" iMac. I had done this before on the 21.4" Imac. THis i Mac is completely different. I followed ALL of the instructions and was able to replace the 1 TB disc with a larger 2 TB disc. The install and re-assembly went smoother than I had expected. This tool kit had everything I needed to do the job. A++ for OWC!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Satir8 Age: 35-44
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, it does the job October 14, 2016 Very easy to install. It works fine on my iMac mid 2010 i7 quad core. Usefull if, like me, you don't want to install a software to control the hd fan.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
    Reviewer: ChiTownBandit1 Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Solved Many Problems October 9, 2016 I was ready to throw in the towel on this one. OWC had a solution that works beautifully. Easy to install, easy-to-follow instructions and the products work as-advertised! Very pleased.

    The people I spoke to at OWC are super!!

    Thanks ... loads.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: UsedMac Location: Akron, OH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Exactly What I Needed October 7, 2016 Replacing the internal hard drive on 2009 and later iMacs has been torture until OWC came up with this product. No more thermal problems from a simple upgrade. 100% recommend

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: doctrsnoop Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Necessity for HD upgrade for 09/10 iMac HD upgrade October 2, 2016 If you need or want to upgrade the Hd that comes with an 09 or 10 iMac, you want this to make it work correctly. Easy to install, works as described.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Royster Location: UK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Complete package for a great upgrade September 24, 2016 I've replaced hard disks in iMacs before, but this toolset really made it a breeze. All the stuff you need (apart from the actual SSD and bracket) is here for a price that's not too bad.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Lionheart410 Location: Baltimore Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent Support Quality products September 13, 2016 I received Excellent technical support in identifying the model of my iMac and required parts and tools. The repair went smoothly due to the excellent high quality instructional video, tool kit and well designed install kit.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: terence Location: Singapore Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Tried and tested products. September 5, 2016 Well designed products. Tested and working well.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: agrajag Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
    Rating: 4/5 Did the trick- like new iMac September 3, 2016 27" iMac 2011 with a dead HD (Seagate) now resurrected with an SSD, working nicely using this module. Also used the OWC adapter so the SSD fit in the iMac HD mount.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: justgetitright
    Rating: 2/5 video is deceptive. needs 1 more tool August 29, 2016 The tools work, but the video is deceptive. I am a man and have short nails and my fingers are not pudgy. I split my nail in half attempting to pull out the small connector cable at the top left of the screen. Luckily I caught the bleeding before it dripped inside the computer. None of the LCD connectors were so simple as the video shows. Also, when putting the ribbon connector back in i bent it as it is extremely bendable and it is so difficult to reach a man's hand behind the screen to make the connection. The ribbon connection has no click and it is impossible to tell if it is in all the way until you pull it gently. This too can take many tries. The video obviously uses a computer they already did this with where they may have not reconnected wires all the way in order to make it look so simple to detach. They cut out any frustrating moments and declined to comment about the difficulty. If you are ready to curse the video, split your finger nail, worryingly and carefully attempting to use tweezers without splicing small wires, then go for it. Even after bending the ribbon connection, i bent it back and finally got it in. Put all back together and it works, that's why it got 2 stars as opposed to 1. If the video had better represented the many challenges involved I would have given it 4-5 stars. Be prepared for a difficult time. If there is some type of angled, rubber tipped strong grip tweezers, I highly recommend, though i don't know if that exists.

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: nekton Location: Japan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 4/5 It does the job August 25, 2016 This little gizmo does the job of replacing the thermal sensing firmware in HDDs when replacing the HDD with an SSD. Although there is a workaround in software, this hardware solution is more reliable and leaves the system "cleaner" with fewer third-party fixes. My only "quibble" (and it is a small one), is that the overseas handling and shipping nearly doubled the price, so it is an expensive solution relative to the software workaround. Such a little part should be shipped for pennies in a regular airmail envelope.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: maclarry Location: Vancouver, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 SMC compatibility kits August 25, 2016 the product was "as advertised" , shipped promptly, and the sales rep i dealt with was knowledgeable, and i will order again other items. I've been buying here for 10 + years, and on the few returns i have had to do, it was painless, a big plus.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: justarunner Location: Scottsale AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Gret tool for an easy fix! August 21, 2016 Replacing the HD in a 27" iMac looked daunting when the web site said "remove the front glass carefully". The real problem was that I am in Scottsdale AZ and the computer is in Cedar Park Texas. Fortunately my 12 year old grandson is willing to tackle anything so I had a HD and the OWC repair kit delivered to Texas and my grandson and I used FaceTime to get the job done. We followed along on the YouTube video from OWC and in half an hour the iMac was up and running. Thanks OWC for a great product. Well worth the money!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: UncleDean Location: Boston, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Piece of cake to install August 16, 2016 For my 2012 vintage iMac, swapping out the old magnetic drive with an SSD was pretty easy. It took me about 2 hours, but I'm slow. About 1 hour was spent vacuuming out a 4 year accumulation of lint and dust that had found its way into the iMac! Think Mr. Monk, IT guy.

    The only tricky part is being careful removing the connectors that attach the iMac screen to the machine itself. I watched several YouTube videos to get a better idea of how to release the various connectors. Some have "ears" on the side that need to be squeezed, etc. Just don't force a connector apart! Take your time.

    The other thing I found that worked well for me was removing the screen from the iMac while leaving the iMac standing on a desktop. Once I had the 8 screws removed which secure the screen, I was able to gently tilt the top of the screen out from the iMac body and rest the top edge of the screen on my chest. This let me use both my hands to then disconnect each of the 4 wire connectors attached to the screen.

    With the screen removed, swapping out the old hard drive itself was a piece of cake. The improvement in speed with the SSD makes it almost as fast as a new iMac, but for about 1/100 the price!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Larry767 Location: Humboldt, SK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Exactly as advertised. August 12, 2016 I had no issues with this. Worked exactly as described in a 2010 iMac.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: LVCustomer Location: Latvia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Amazing fast delivery August 9, 2016 I have never got items from US so quick using non-expres delivery.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newcastle, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the tin August 4, 2016 This solution works as advertised; I have had it installed for at least one month and it has performed without any issues. Installation was as per the video provided, which I found to be complete, giving clear instructions. I had reason to install my new HDD prior to receiving this thermal controller, so I can say from experience that the cooling fans will ramp up to full speed for significant periods of time (quite annoying; yet prudent of the Apple engineers) without the feedback from this thermal controller; which provides a clever solution. Just one minor points to note: make sure that you choose a location on your HDD which will not interfere with the back of the display panel (easy). Cheers

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: northern CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 thermal sensor needed for SSD install in IMAC August 1, 2016 This works well for the SSD I installed in my IMAC

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Worked fine July 26, 2016 Installed new hard drive with this thermal sensor and it worked fine. Seemed a lot easier than trying to manage fan & temp with software since I wasn't using an official Apple drive.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for all Apple iMac Late 2009 - Mid 2010 Models Mfr P/N: DIDIMACHDD09 OWC SKU: OWCDIDIMACHDD09 OWC DIY Kit for all Apple iMac late 2009 - mid 2010 Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables necessary for installation. Hard drive and tools sold separately. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.99OWC Price $37.75
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIDIMACHDD09 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)