Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »
OWC General Servicing Kit for all Apple iMacs 2007 & Later
Kit with installation tools to service all Apple iMac models released since 2007. Includes adhesive strips to properly re-attach your 2012 or later 21.5-inch or 27-inch iMac's screen.
OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Note: For 2012 and later models, before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.
Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2012 or later iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.


Note: This video refers to the 21.5" iMac model only. Although the 27" opens in a very similar way, this is only for reference and to help in understanding the difficultly of the disassembly required for accessing the hard drive.
Professional installation is highly recommended for 2012 and later models.

Includes

  • (1) NewerTech 14-Piece Toolkit
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth
  • (1) OWC Screen Removal Tool
  • (1) 27" iMac Adhesive tape set for proper display resealing
  • (1) 21.5" iMac Adhesive tape set for proper display resealing

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is not covered by any warranty. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac17,1
3.2GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/ Retina 4K display (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac16,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac16,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.8GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac with Retina 5K display (27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
(June 2014)
Model ID: iMac14,4
1.4GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1; iMac11,1
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Mid 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: iMac7,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: iMac7,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 35 out of 36 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good Tools, Great Customer Service May 15, 2015 Tool quality is good as expected and meets the need. One of the screwdrivers was incorrect (flat instead of Phillips)...quick online chat with OWC rep and I had a replacement in a few days.

I really appreciate the quality focus and prompt response.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Must Have Tool Set April 23, 2015 This tool kit was as critical to my purchase as the hard drive and new Superdrive. It made the whole repair process smooth and quick. The tools are quality tools with great grips and solid tips.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Niagara Falls, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Every iMac user should get a General Servicing Kit April 20, 2015 For once in my life I finally got a servicing kit for my new iMac. My old one was opened using various different tools and it had destroyed my old mac. I can't stress enough how important a kit like this is for your iMac. Save money fixing things yourself with the proper tools. I recommend this set to all mac users (that the set applies to).

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carlsbad Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Needed tool kit for Late 2006 iMac 24" install. April 10, 2015 I used this tool kit to install a new 2.0TB Toshiba (by Hitachi) 7200RPM SATA 3.0 6Gb/s HDD with 64MB Cache hard drive in a iMac 24" late 2006 model with OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard) operating system. It was my first time ever to install a hard drive! I learned by watching a few "how to" videos on U-tube. I used several of the screw divers in the kit, the tape, and soft mat.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: São Paulo, Brasil Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent kit for opening your iMac! March 26, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Get this toolkit. February 5, 2015 The hard drive on my wife's iMac (2007) crashed. I went to the OWC website and ordered a replacement drive. After looking at the OWC video on how to replace a hard drive in an iMac, I decided it was something I could do. That would save some money taking it to the Apple Store for repair. The video recommended the "OWC General Servicing Kit for Apple iMac 2007 and later Models." It has everything you need to get the job done. My dad always told me that having the right tools made the difference between an easy and a difficult job. He was right and this toolkit was exactly what I needed. I watched the OWC video as I took the iMac apart, cleaned it, replaced the hard drive, and reassembled it. The video was incredibly helpful and the toolkit made the job easy. Get this toolkit. It is well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: LS Alabama Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Makes iMac take-apart easy January 16, 2015 Nice set of tools. Handy for a lot of different computers. I did have one issue that was quickly corrected by customer service. One of the suction cups was cracked and wouldn't hold suction. Called, within a few days had a new one. Great customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Black Mountain, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything you need December 6, 2014 Just jump in with these tools. Even a layman can maintain the iMacs.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kentucky Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 iMac servicing kit November 27, 2014 I am so glad I ordered this kit! I replaced the hard drive in an older iMac and every single tool I needed was right there. Just great!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saskatchewan Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The everything I need kit November 26, 2014 I needed this kit to take apart my macbook pro and eventually my 2007 iMac. Laptop job completed and I popped the glass out of my iMac to see how easy it was. Easy as pie!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works very well August 3, 2014 Would like to see an upgraded version with high-end tools and a bag or tool case to hold everything. Needs a case to hold suction cups. The cups get dirty and need to clean to work well. I put mine in Ziplock bags, but does not look very professional on-site... Otherwise, everything works fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC General Servicing Kit for Apple iMac 2007 and later Models Mfr P/N: DIYIMACGEN OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMACGEN Kit with installation tools to service all Apple iMac models released since 2007. Includes adhesive strips to properly re-attach your 2012 or later 21.5-inch or 27-inch iMac's screen. 30 Day OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $27.99
Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMACGEN In Stock, Click to Buy Now