Home » Service Parts & Repair » Apple iMac » Apple Service Parts » OWC Thermal Sensor Kits for iMac 2009 & Later
OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit including tools for iMac late 2009-2010 Models
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading late 2009- 2010 iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    Already have all the tools necessary to perform this upgrade?
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Video, corresponding to your machine, in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2009-2010 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    Already have the tools? Then purchase just the OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor.

    Includes

    • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
    • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
    • (1) Torx T10S Driver
    • (1) Torx T8S Driver
    • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
    • (1) Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
    (July, 2010)
    Model ID: iMac11,3
    2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
    (July, 2010)
    Model ID: iMac11,2
    3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
    (October, 2009)
    Model ID: iMac10,1; iMac11,1
    2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
    (October, 2009)
    Model ID: iMac10,1
    3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
    BEGIN GALLERY TAB

    Gallery

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 71 out of 73 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Pikur68 Location: Sparks NV Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Solved my problem! February 8, 2017 I was having issues with a mid 2011 iMac 27" I recently purchased and the fact that the HDD fan kept failing the TechTool diagnostic exam. When I found out about the change of the location of the temp sensor to the inside of the hard drive, thereby limiting the choice for a replacement, I decided to try this before going to the lengths of replacing the fan itself. It was quick and easy to install, (with the great video help OWC provides!) and it solved the problem completely. I couldn't be happier, and with this in place, I will be ready for the next upgrade, one OWC's SSD drive kits!! Thanks!!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: odoylerules Location: Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Need this to upgrade 2009 iMac SSD February 5, 2017 Works great, easy to replace with no prior experience. Make sure to clean out the dust while it's open. I damaged the vertical sync cable while opening but got a replacement on eBay. Thanks

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DIRSGT Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect Tools for swapping out to an SSD January 26, 2017 I ordered this kit to install an SSD into my 21.5 mid-2011 iMac. Though nervous, I found the process of taking out my old spinning 1TB hard drive and replacing it with a 1TB SSD to be easier than I thought. I recommend watching the OWC videos and other videos to get the complete picture before starting (note it is easier to replace your HD with an SSD then the process of adding an SSD and KEEPING your old spinning hard drive in the machine. The thermal sensor in this kit is key to keeping everything working smoothly. Since install, I have been amazed at why I did not do it sooner!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: flatlander
    Rating: 5/5 Great product January 19, 2017 Thermal sensor adapter cable works great. Install video is very helpful. Be sure to get the correct cable for your year of imac. With the solid state drive the 7 year old imac boots in 20 seconds.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: lowerground Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional
    Rating: 5/5 Great Product!!! January 19, 2017 Serves its purpose. Awesome product!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Simba Location: MO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Have an Imac? January 16, 2017 I have used these tools to get inside my 2008 and 2011 Imac's for upgrades to HD's and SSD's. You NEED these if you intend to get inside an Imac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Gern Location: PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 4/5 The first place to start January 14, 2017 I think this kit is the best way to go when first opening an iMac, especially, if you unknowingly installed an SSD that's defective and your iMac has to be reopened multiple times. The video is excellent and should be reviewed several times before attempting the upgrade in order to feel comfortable with the process. For those venturing into this experience for the first time, there are two tools that I feel should be included in the kit that are missing. A pair of long handled tweezers with angled ends are very valuable in removing, and especially reinstalling, the screws around the magnets. Also, a pair of powder-free rubber gloves should be worn to help avoid touching the screen. Removing the clasp on the second cable described in the video is difficult, so take your time and avoid breaking it as I did and needing to use electrical tape to secure it. One of the two suction cups provided in the kit was weaker than the other, so be careful when transferring the glass cover.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: dragion Location: Boston, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 OWC HDD Kit...is the answer! January 12, 2017 Thanks to MacSales.com for selling the OWC HDD Installation Tools Kit for the solution to upgrade/replace Apple "Vintage" iMacs. Without the tools and supplied in-line thermal, my late 2009 27" iMac would have been "toast"! By following the detailed video created here on this site, the new replacement HDD was done in less than an hour. Easy and straight forward instructions...a novice like me could do it.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Reviewer: GabF Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Great as usual January 5, 2017 It was time to give my "old" iMac a little boost and this was the perfect solution. With the added installation video the replacement was a breeze, thanks a million MacSales. Everything was perfect once again.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: ilpive Location: modena italy
    Rating: 5/5 easy installation to upgrade hdd January 5, 2017 quick system for opening and closing iMacs, not only computer knowledge but also you should know about bricolage

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: trentfox Location: Peterborough, Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Clever adaptation January 4, 2017 Product was easy to install, and works as advertised. While one can use software to control the hard drive fan speed (and noise!), it was worth $35 to me to have the fan sensor working as it should after replacing the hard drive in a 27" 2010 iMac with an SSD. Incidentally, this was a stupid design decision by Apple to use a drive-specific sensor cable. Fortunately they only did this for one or two years because my 2009 and 2012 iMac models didn't have this.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: 4466
    Rating: 5/5 Recommended December 31, 2016 This product provides a simple way to upgrade or replace the hard drive in a 2009 iMac with a non-Apple unit that compensates for the lack of temperature sensor functionality. You don't need to download any fan control software. With the excellent on-line videos, installation of a new SSD was straight-forward. So far, so good!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: TinkerTom Location: MS Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great kit December 22, 2016 This was my first time going into my Mac. The video and this simple set of tools made it a breeze. I'm keeping them handy for my next upgrade.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: AussieMacUser
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect for iMac SSD upgrade December 19, 2016 This kit (in conjunction with the NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket) had all the right tools to upgrade my mid-2010 21.5" iMac to an SSD. Everything worked as expected and made the upgrade straightforward.

    My only quibble would be that one of the suction cups required cleaning before it would properly adhere to the screen - easily fixed though.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Styx Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Not that hard to install December 18, 2016 I got that kit to install a Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD in my system. I also got the "NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket" in order to fit a 2.5" SSD. I used this kit and followed the step by step video to change the harddrive, and it works without any issue! (the video is really good). I put the thermal sensor against the SSD (middle of it), even though I don't think this does heat a lot, but at least it keeps the fan of my iMac from going crazy.

    My iMac is now very quiet (not more harddrive noise) and runs really fast!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Kisser Location: Sussex County Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great Product December 11, 2016 This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: castle Location: Fayetteville, AR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Made Installation Easy December 8, 2016 Between this kit and the excellent on-line videos MacSales.com provides, I was able to easily (less than 30 mins) replace my iMac HDD. I was very nervous but with the serious price tag other places wanted to replace it, I decided to give DIY a shot and it was really easy. I have large hands, so pulling some of the connectors loose was hard... until I realized the nylon tool was made for that :).

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: eholtam Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 The missing piece December 6, 2016 Apple's iMac HDD firmware has a proprietary component that allows it to communicate environmental temperatures back to keep the fans at an acceptable rate. If you try and replace a drive without that communication the system assumes the worst (FIRE!) and kicks those fans on high forever. This adapter is the missing piece to allow outdated machines to reap the rewards of modern SSD technology.

    The installation went as expected. Even my bear-like manhands were able to remove the iMac screen and detach the cables as necessary. Thanks to the handy video installation guide I was prepared for those gotchas.

    I already recommended (and helped install) this setup to a friend. I recommend it to you, too.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Guymer Location: TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Keeps it quiet December 6, 2016 This is meant to replace temp sensor of the iMac for non mac drives. That it is designed for this instead of just a hack is a marvelous thing.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Penrod Location: Iowa Park, TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Installed but wasn't required December 4, 2016 I got this because the site said that the hard drive I bought needed this, but it has the same exact connection as my last hard drive so I'm pretty sure this wasn't required. I installed it anyways since I didn't want to send it back and it seems to be working great.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: djaipii Location: LYON - FRANCE Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 HHD Replacement With SSHD November 30, 2016 I only needed the t° sensor from you guys and the supply was easy quick and well done But what I want to say, is beyond all, I LOVE YOUR VIDEO TUTORIALS and the musical tune , thanks

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: OldmaniMac Location: Amherstburg Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect solution for adding larger hard drives November 30, 2016 Tool kit made the tear down easy and straightforward. Hooked everything up and closed the iMac back up. Most difficult part was the pesky magnets on the LCD screen border. Screws kept getting pulled off of screwdriver so I used my own magnetic bit to secure them. Start to finish was 40 minutes with some light cleaning while I had access to the innards. Fantastic product!

    Ron

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: robgilgan Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Rip that iMac apart! November 28, 2016 I sold my iMac and wanted to keep the hard drive - I already had a 'spare' Mercury Elite Pro enclosure and the drive has data that belongs to previous employers, but no naked pictures of my wife. The tool kit and the video from OWC made this whole process simple, fun and rewarding. I'd always thought of the iMac is pretty much impenetrable, but no longer - with the suction handles and screw drivers I could have easily made this iMac into a perfect boat anchor, but the careful guidance of the video meant everything went back right where it was supposed to and the iMac works perfectly, much to the buyer's delight. Further bonus - the buyer got to witness and help with the swap, so now he's a certified iMac tech, just like me.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Giampo Location: Rome, Italy Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent November 28, 2016 I bought the HDD compatibility cable when I decided to replace my old 500GB HDD with a newer 750 GB SDD. When I did the installation, the cable worked and is working just fine. The termal sensor is in order since the main fan of my iMAC is not over working. Also, the shipment of the item was smooth and fine.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Peppersoft Location: Switzerland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, works perfectly :-) November 22, 2016 After upgrading my iMac with a SSD the fan always ran at full speed while booting or using bootcamp. Now: perfect silence as required in a music studio. PERFECT!! Thank you OWC :-)

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for Apple iMac late 2009-2010 Models Mfr P/N: DIYIMACHDD09 OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMACHDD09 Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac late 2009-2010 Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables and tools necessary for installation. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $46.75
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMACHDD09 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)