Home » Service Parts & Repair » Apple iMac » Apple Service Parts » OWC Thermal Sensor Kits for iMac 2009 & Later
OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit including tools for all iMac 2011 Models
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading your 2011 iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    Already have all the tools necessary to perform this upgrade?
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Using an OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit (sold separately), replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Videos below to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.

    Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
    While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2009-2010 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    Already have the tools? Then purchase just the OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor.

    Includes

    • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
    • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
    • (1) Torx T10S Driver
    • (1) Torx T8S Driver
    • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
    • (1) Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
    (August, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,1
    3.1GHz i3
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
    (May, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,1
    2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
    (May, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,2
    2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 71 out of 73 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: shawnPDX Location: Portland, OR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Worked Perfectly January 2, 2018 Using the iMac HDD upgrade kit was straightforward and easy using the included tools and the online video instructions. I replaced my defective HD in the 2011 iMac and am now back in business!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Watuse Location: Spain Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade package December 27, 2017 I bought this upgrade my hard rice and put in a Samsung SSD which gave new meaning and life to my iMac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Coldfoot Location: Gig Harbor, Wa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect December 24, 2017 I wanted to replace the original HD on my wife's IMAC 27" . I watched the MacSales video probably twenty times so that I would get real familiar with the procedure. I had already replaced HDs on 2 MacBook pros so I wasn't worried about cloning the SSD for the IMAC. I ordered the complete kit and the SSD bracket as well. I cloned the internal HD with my Samsung 850Pro 1TB using my usb to Sata drive connector. I then began taking the IMAC apart with the supplied tools while rematching the Video on the Macbook next to me. Everything went perfect. The hardest part is making sure to align the adhesive strips one at time. Make sure you DO NOT take both sides off at the same time. Slow and methodical and make sure the bottom is perfectly aligned before closing. Be sure to connect the connectors before closing. I would suggest having someone help you at this point as I had to use my iPhone to hold the screen up while I replaced the connectors and then lowered the screen onto the adhesive strips... Looks great and is perfectly aligned. Interesting that the Samsung SSD still takes a little time before the apple logo appears but then the load is quick. My 2 MacBooks immediately go to Apple logo and then open more quickly. The IMac 27" though once loaded does perform so much better than the original drive...

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
    Reviewer: FultonKBD Location: Akron, OH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised December 23, 2017 This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: LuvMacz Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Still the Best December 20, 2017 MacSales has been, and continues to be, the best place for Mac parts and service tips. Everything I needed to install the SSD was included. The tutorial video was very easy to follow. The hardware installation went perfectly. I had a problem transferring my old data, but one call to Tech support got me on track. The boot time was cut dramatically on my wife's iMac! After seeing the results,I'll be upgrading my mine soon. I highly recommend MacSales for their high quality parts and servive.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Reviewer: funkhouser Location: Golden Valley, MN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works, upgrade keeps me from buying new December 17, 2017 2009 iMac 27 inch 2.66 processor. Used the OWC tools and accessories to open up my iMac and replace the old slow hard drive. Remounted a Samsung 500 GB SSD. Also replaced RAM with 16GB of OWC memory modules. Also mated this with the newest Apple wireless trackpad and an Apple wireless keyboard. This is a nice setup for most home use. I would never buy another computer without an SSD drive. To get a new iMac with a decent size SSD is $$$. Runs most recent OS and is still fun to use. If you are thinking about it I recommend trying. The cost of upgrading is low and there is not much to lose if you screw up. There are lots of instructions. The payoff is very nice.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: GrahamO Location: UAE Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Very simple exercise December 8, 2017 Laptop running with the help video, and working on a table nearby, it took 15 minutes start to finish. Vey clear instructions and easy to follow. Its worth noting that several of the tiny connectors require nails to grasp the fittings to undo them as without nails, you've not got much chance.

    I chose a Barracuda drive to replace the dead one and the only comment so far is that its quite a bit noisier than the original which was near silent.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: bajeez Location: SF, CA, USA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 worked exactly as expected. great video instructions. December 5, 2017 I ordered this kit to add a 10TB HDD to my mid 2017 iMac which I had bought with only and SSD. There was not a lot of information here or elsewhere online as to whether the drive harness would be inside, or if the previous methods for the 2014/2015 models still worked. Turns out they do, and there was a harness inside with all the hardware. The only thing missing was the 923-00092 Sata/power cable. Once that arrived, I was able to install that without removing the logic board. (the teardown video showed exactly where the two connecting ports were and I could feel their position beneath the logic board. fairly easy to insert the connectors into the slots. they both insert perpendicular to the logic board and there's plenty of space beneath to work with.

    Turns out the first drive I installed was faulty, but fortunately, I had only adhered the screen at the base, and left the backing on all of the adhesive strips on the sides and top until I made sure the drive was working, or in this case, not working.

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Clews464 Location: Petrie Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great product simple & easy to use November 20, 2017 This product makes replacing the standard hard drive with an after market hard drive extremely simple and straight forward. The new temperature sensor was fitted to a late 2009 iMac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: jwknight Location: Post Falls, Idaho Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Mac HDD adapter 2 November 19, 2017 Worked Perfectly easy install

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: matthewg Location: Wellington, NZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent product! November 15, 2017 I replaced the HDD in my 2017 iMac. Even though I swapped out a Seagate for a Seagate, when I was done the fan was constantly at full throttle. After purchasing & installing this product the fan speed is completely back to normal.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: temprakneeoh Location: ottawa, canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Even though the task was rated as Advanced October 18, 2017 it was fairly straightforward with the tools provided while the video played on the ipad. i took my time and was quite careful and my drive replacement took around an hour (or less)

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: oogie Location: Edmonton Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Silence of the computer October 17, 2017 This product delivered everything that was promised and now my iMac is working super duper with the new 512 SSD drive

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: woodmeister
    Rating: 5/5 Made upgrading iMac a snap October 9, 2017 I had been hesitant for quite a long time in replacing the HDD in my iMac and finally decided to bite the bullet and get this kit.

    It had everything needed and the very informative video made the swap a snap. The "pizza cutter" tool used to pop the tape is a great idea. The previous methods always had me nervous for fear of inserting a pick or card into the iMac too far. The new tool made things a snap and a few passes with it got things part, without the fear of breaking something.

    Kudos to the folks at OWC/MacSales! Everything is back together and working like it was before, without reverting to some software fan solution!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2019). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Deano Location: Santa Clara, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to install once computer is opened October 8, 2017 It was easy to attach to the disk drive, connect to power and connect sensor to circuit board. Install Video was very useful. Not sure if it is working properly and was reluctant to open up the machine again. Decided to install some free fan control software to monitor temperatures and adjust fan speed if necessary.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Response from MacSales.com, Call Center November 9, 2017 I'm very sorry if you had any concerns on whether the cable was working properly or not. We would be happy to assist you in confirming that everything is working properly, as we have had a lot of success with these temperature sensors. Feel free to contact us at 1-800-275-4576 and we'll be happy to help!
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Fiskfarm Location: NE TN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 MacSales Makes Weekend Techs Geniuses! October 5, 2017 I purchased an i5 iMac on eBay and the drive failed SMART criteria so after I got a 40.00 rebate toward a drive (I absolutely love our eBay community) I started looking for hard drives and soon discovered MacSales as THE SOLUTION to not only replacing the hard drive with ANY drive out there but also introduced me to the hidden SATA plug tucked away on the back of the mother board. Who knew? So of course I was not going to go all the way in there without supercharging my new purchase. Dollars were limited so I went for the 60GB SSD kit and the MacSales HD adapter cable and of course their great tool kits and a 2 TB Enterprise drive off eBay. Add to that their amazing vids that don't leave you hanging when it comes time to reassemble i.e. no "just reverse the previous take apart" but rather a screw by screw reassembly, and you cannot go wrong. I installed Sierra and all my apps on the SSD and had 40GB left over and I now have a 2TB internal hard drive for file and picture storage and the optical drive still intact. Result? one screaming editing machine for under 400.00 total. You guys are tech gods in my book!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DJC1 Location: Chevy Chase, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 easy October 4, 2017 I purchased a replacement hard drive for my iMac, OWC told me which one. The kit had everything I needed, and following the instructional video made it so easy. Everything just as described in the video. Very thorough. Product (HDD and installation kit) very well priced, delivered immediately, installed in a snap and work flawlessly. Wish I had another computer that needed an upgrade, I would come back to OWC in a snap.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Aussie1 Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Always fits perfectly and WORKS! October 3, 2017 You can always rely on OWC Mac RAM working perfectly with your Mac. Excellent help videos too!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: tonyL Location: AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy change September 27, 2017 Watch the video! Changed my failing HD to a 2tb, back up and running in 40 min.

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Arnell Location: Sacramento, CA
    Rating: 5/5 Great Little Kit September 12, 2017 I have previously used tools that I had already had. I was doing a remote repair where I need these specific tools, so I ordered it with alongside the parts I needed for the repair. Although you can do with what you have, this simply made things easier. If you don't have these in your arsenal of tools, I would actually not recommend this. They are made of good quality materials and will most likely last for some time. I would recommend the larger toolsets that they offer. If you already a set of tech tools, but don't have these specific tools, then yes, I recommend this.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DCBA Location: Austin, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
    Rating: 5/5 Easy Disk Drive upgrade with perfect instructions September 10, 2017 The kit arrived in perfect condition. The online video instructions were perfect. We had the upgraded disk installed in record time. Everything just worked perfectly as it should. Very pleased with the results.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: JDubs Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm September 3, 2017 Upgraded to an SSD in my mid-2010 iMac. No thermo sensor on the Crucial SSD so the fan ran at 100% all the time. Added this product, easy to install and the machine is now perfect. Fan runs at the normal speed.

    This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: MaBi Location: Sweden Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great kit with excellent video tutorial! August 31, 2017 Drive bay adapter is very accurate and fits very well inside the iMac and with the SSD drive! Adhesive strips also very, and then i mean perfect in fitting and easy to attatch to iMac body frame. Did the installation myself and completed in about 45 minutes thanks to the very informative video tutorial. Did not buy the adhesive cutting tool, but i recommend it. I used a grind down guitar pick and that worked just fine too! Again! A great kit with perfect fitting, recommend to anyone who needs to replace their iMac internal drive!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: 2get Location: Glenview Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent service August 20, 2017 Works as expected

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: PondFrog Location: Coastal Maine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Product fits the need August 1, 2017 Great example of a product that slides into a needy place: what do you do when you put in a non-Apple-supported drive and want thermal control. Works as advertised.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac 2011 Models Mfr P/N: DIYIMACHDD11 OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMACHDD11 Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac 2011 Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables and tools necessary for installation. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.99Cyber Saver $44.75
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMACHDD11 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)