Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »
OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit including tools for all iMac 2011 Models
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading your 2011 iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    Already have all the tools necessary to perform this upgrade?
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Using an OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit (sold separately), replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Videos below to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.

    Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
    While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2009-2010 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    Already have the tools? Then purchase just the OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor.

    Includes

    • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
    • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
    • (1) Torx T10S Driver
    • (1) Torx T8S Driver
    • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
    • (1) Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
    (August, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,1
    3.1GHz i3
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
    (May, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,1
    2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
    (May, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,2
    2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 69 out of 71 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: AussieMacUser
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect for iMac SSD upgrade December 19, 2016 This kit (in conjunction with the NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket) had all the right tools to upgrade my mid-2010 21.5" iMac to an SSD. Everything worked as expected and made the upgrade straightforward.

    My only quibble would be that one of the suction cups required cleaning before it would properly adhere to the screen - easily fixed though.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Styx Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Not that hard to install December 18, 2016 I got that kit to install a Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD in my system. I also got the "NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket" in order to fit a 2.5" SSD. I used this kit and followed the step by step video to change the harddrive, and it works without any issue! (the video is really good). I put the thermal sensor against the SSD (middle of it), even though I don't think this does heat a lot, but at least it keeps the fan of my iMac from going crazy.

    My iMac is now very quiet (not more harddrive noise) and runs really fast!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Kisser Location: Sussex County Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great Product December 11, 2016 This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: castle Location: Fayetteville, AR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Made Installation Easy December 8, 2016 Between this kit and the excellent on-line videos MacSales.com provides, I was able to easily (less than 30 mins) replace my iMac HDD. I was very nervous but with the serious price tag other places wanted to replace it, I decided to give DIY a shot and it was really easy. I have large hands, so pulling some of the connectors loose was hard... until I realized the nylon tool was made for that :).

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: eholtam Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 The missing piece December 6, 2016 Apple's iMac HDD firmware has a proprietary component that allows it to communicate environmental temperatures back to keep the fans at an acceptable rate. If you try and replace a drive without that communication the system assumes the worst (FIRE!) and kicks those fans on high forever. This adapter is the missing piece to allow outdated machines to reap the rewards of modern SSD technology.

    The installation went as expected. Even my bear-like manhands were able to remove the iMac screen and detach the cables as necessary. Thanks to the handy video installation guide I was prepared for those gotchas.

    I already recommended (and helped install) this setup to a friend. I recommend it to you, too.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Guymer Location: TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Keeps it quiet December 6, 2016 This is meant to replace temp sensor of the iMac for non mac drives. That it is designed for this instead of just a hack is a marvelous thing.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Penrod Location: Iowa Park, TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Installed but wasn't required December 4, 2016 I got this because the site said that the hard drive I bought needed this, but it has the same exact connection as my last hard drive so I'm pretty sure this wasn't required. I installed it anyways since I didn't want to send it back and it seems to be working great.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: djaipii Location: LYON - FRANCE Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 HHD Replacement With SSHD November 30, 2016 I only needed the t° sensor from you guys and the supply was easy quick and well done But what I want to say, is beyond all, I LOVE YOUR VIDEO TUTORIALS and the musical tune , thanks

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: OldmaniMac Location: Amherstburg Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect solution for adding larger hard drives November 30, 2016 Tool kit made the tear down easy and straightforward. Hooked everything up and closed the iMac back up. Most difficult part was the pesky magnets on the LCD screen border. Screws kept getting pulled off of screwdriver so I used my own magnetic bit to secure them. Start to finish was 40 minutes with some light cleaning while I had access to the innards. Fantastic product!

    Ron

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: robgilgan Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Rip that iMac apart! November 28, 2016 I sold my iMac and wanted to keep the hard drive - I already had a 'spare' Mercury Elite Pro enclosure and the drive has data that belongs to previous employers, but no naked pictures of my wife. The tool kit and the video from OWC made this whole process simple, fun and rewarding. I'd always thought of the iMac is pretty much impenetrable, but no longer - with the suction handles and screw drivers I could have easily made this iMac into a perfect boat anchor, but the careful guidance of the video meant everything went back right where it was supposed to and the iMac works perfectly, much to the buyer's delight. Further bonus - the buyer got to witness and help with the swap, so now he's a certified iMac tech, just like me.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Giampo Location: Rome, Italy Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent November 28, 2016 I bought the HDD compatibility cable when I decided to replace my old 500GB HDD with a newer 750 GB SDD. When I did the installation, the cable worked and is working just fine. The termal sensor is in order since the main fan of my iMAC is not over working. Also, the shipment of the item was smooth and fine.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Peppersoft Location: Switzerland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, works perfectly :-) November 22, 2016 After upgrading my iMac with a SSD the fan always ran at full speed while booting or using bootcamp. Now: perfect silence as required in a music studio. PERFECT!! Thank you OWC :-)

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Moni
    Rating: 5/5 Works Great! November 17, 2016 Computer fan is smooth & quiet after replacing my hard drive as promised. Actually sounds smoother then before. Thanks!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: MacRelic Location: Hamilton, Ontario. Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent Service and Kit! November 16, 2016 I am new to the computing DIY, ordered this nifty little kit for my 2009 mac for install of a my new SSD and is perfect and to top it off shipping was insane fast, ordered Monday afternoon and was in Canada at my door by 3 pm Tuesday. An Excellent purchasing experience!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Doct3rPhil
    Rating: 5/5 Worked November 14, 2016 This is mainly for replacing an Apple HDD with another non-Apple HDD. It allowed me to install my SSD in place of the HDD with a thermal sensor, but it was kinda just hanging there loosely since it doesn't have a propper mount. I ran like this for a while and eventually bought the Data Doubler from this site. I put the original Apple HDD back in it's place and move the SSD to where the SuperDrive was. I'm happier with that solution so I might recommend that option over this.

    Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: mlucashouston Location: Fulshear, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent November 9, 2016 Using the video from OWC and the tools I purchased I was able to replace the SSD without any issues. Great videos and great quality products!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Gordo Location: Flippin,Arkansas Age: Over 65
    Rating: 5/5 Hard drive installation kit November 9, 2016 Great product. This kit is a must for installing a hard drive in your Imac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Jorgen
    Rating: 5/5 Works like à charm! November 8, 2016 Installerad it in my late 2015 iMac. Now I run two separate disks. One 3,5". 3TB WD red and the built in SSD drive. Perfect if you want to replace standard drive or install a SSD

    Please note: For dual drives more parts needed.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2017). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DaveB1948 Location: Ukiah, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great tools for the iMac! October 24, 2016 I had to replace the disc drive in my 2012 27" iMac. I had done this before on the 21.4" Imac. THis i Mac is completely different. I followed ALL of the instructions and was able to replace the 1 TB disc with a larger 2 TB disc. The install and re-assembly went smoother than I had expected. This tool kit had everything I needed to do the job. A++ for OWC!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2017). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Satir8 Age: 35-44
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, it does the job October 14, 2016 Very easy to install. It works fine on my iMac mid 2010 i7 quad core. Usefull if, like me, you don't want to install a software to control the hd fan.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
    Reviewer: ChiTownBandit1 Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Solved Many Problems October 9, 2016 I was ready to throw in the towel on this one. OWC had a solution that works beautifully. Easy to install, easy-to-follow instructions and the products work as-advertised! Very pleased.

    The people I spoke to at OWC are super!!

    Thanks ... loads.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: UsedMac Location: Akron, OH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Exactly What I Needed October 7, 2016 Replacing the internal hard drive on 2009 and later iMacs has been torture until OWC came up with this product. No more thermal problems from a simple upgrade. 100% recommend

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: doctrsnoop Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Necessity for HD upgrade for 09/10 iMac HD upgrade October 2, 2016 If you need or want to upgrade the Hd that comes with an 09 or 10 iMac, you want this to make it work correctly. Easy to install, works as described.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Royster Location: UK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Complete package for a great upgrade September 24, 2016 I've replaced hard disks in iMacs before, but this toolset really made it a breeze. All the stuff you need (apart from the actual SSD and bracket) is here for a price that's not too bad.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Lionheart410 Location: Baltimore Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent Support Quality products September 13, 2016 I received Excellent technical support in identifying the model of my iMac and required parts and tools. The repair went smoothly due to the excellent high quality instructional video, tool kit and well designed install kit.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac 2011 Models Mfr P/N: DIYIMACHDD11 OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMACHDD11 Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac 2011 Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables and tools necessary for installation. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $59.99Cyber Saver $49.50
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMACHDD11 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)