Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »
OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit including tools for all iMac 2011 Models
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading your 2011 iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    Already have all the tools necessary to perform this upgrade?
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Using an OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit (sold separately), replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Videos below to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.

    Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
    While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2009-2010 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    Already have the tools? Then purchase just the OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor.

    Includes

    • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
    • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
    • (1) Torx T10S Driver
    • (1) Torx T8S Driver
    • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
    • (1) Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
    (August, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,1
    3.1GHz i3
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
    (May, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,1
    2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
    (May, 2011)
    Model ID: iMac12,2
    2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 69 out of 71 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: terence Location: Singapore Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Tried and tested products. September 5, 2016 Well designed products. Tested and working well.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: agrajag Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
    Rating: 4/5 Did the trick- like new iMac September 3, 2016 27" iMac 2011 with a dead HD (Seagate) now resurrected with an SSD, working nicely using this module. Also used the OWC adapter so the SSD fit in the iMac HD mount.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: justgetitright
    Rating: 2/5 video is deceptive. needs 1 more tool August 29, 2016 The tools work, but the video is deceptive. I am a man and have short nails and my fingers are not pudgy. I split my nail in half attempting to pull out the small connector cable at the top left of the screen. Luckily I caught the bleeding before it dripped inside the computer. None of the LCD connectors were so simple as the video shows. Also, when putting the ribbon connector back in i bent it as it is extremely bendable and it is so difficult to reach a man's hand behind the screen to make the connection. The ribbon connection has no click and it is impossible to tell if it is in all the way until you pull it gently. This too can take many tries. The video obviously uses a computer they already did this with where they may have not reconnected wires all the way in order to make it look so simple to detach. They cut out any frustrating moments and declined to comment about the difficulty. If you are ready to curse the video, split your finger nail, worryingly and carefully attempting to use tweezers without splicing small wires, then go for it. Even after bending the ribbon connection, i bent it back and finally got it in. Put all back together and it works, that's why it got 2 stars as opposed to 1. If the video had better represented the many challenges involved I would have given it 4-5 stars. Be prepared for a difficult time. If there is some type of angled, rubber tipped strong grip tweezers, I highly recommend, though i don't know if that exists.

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: nekton Location: Japan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 4/5 It does the job August 25, 2016 This little gizmo does the job of replacing the thermal sensing firmware in HDDs when replacing the HDD with an SSD. Although there is a workaround in software, this hardware solution is more reliable and leaves the system "cleaner" with fewer third-party fixes. My only "quibble" (and it is a small one), is that the overseas handling and shipping nearly doubled the price, so it is an expensive solution relative to the software workaround. Such a little part should be shipped for pennies in a regular airmail envelope.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: maclarry Location: Vancouver, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 SMC compatibility kits August 25, 2016 the product was "as advertised" , shipped promptly, and the sales rep i dealt with was knowledgeable, and i will order again other items. I've been buying here for 10 + years, and on the few returns i have had to do, it was painless, a big plus.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2017). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: justarunner Location: Scottsale AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Gret tool for an easy fix! August 21, 2016 Replacing the HD in a 27" iMac looked daunting when the web site said "remove the front glass carefully". The real problem was that I am in Scottsdale AZ and the computer is in Cedar Park Texas. Fortunately my 12 year old grandson is willing to tackle anything so I had a HD and the OWC repair kit delivered to Texas and my grandson and I used FaceTime to get the job done. We followed along on the YouTube video from OWC and in half an hour the iMac was up and running. Thanks OWC for a great product. Well worth the money!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: UncleDean Location: Boston, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Piece of cake to install August 16, 2016 For my 2012 vintage iMac, swapping out the old magnetic drive with an SSD was pretty easy. It took me about 2 hours, but I'm slow. About 1 hour was spent vacuuming out a 4 year accumulation of lint and dust that had found its way into the iMac! Think Mr. Monk, IT guy.

    The only tricky part is being careful removing the connectors that attach the iMac screen to the machine itself. I watched several YouTube videos to get a better idea of how to release the various connectors. Some have "ears" on the side that need to be squeezed, etc. Just don't force a connector apart! Take your time.

    The other thing I found that worked well for me was removing the screen from the iMac while leaving the iMac standing on a desktop. Once I had the 8 screws removed which secure the screen, I was able to gently tilt the top of the screen out from the iMac body and rest the top edge of the screen on my chest. This let me use both my hands to then disconnect each of the 4 wire connectors attached to the screen.

    With the screen removed, swapping out the old hard drive itself was a piece of cake. The improvement in speed with the SSD makes it almost as fast as a new iMac, but for about 1/100 the price!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Larry767 Location: Humboldt, SK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Exactly as advertised. August 12, 2016 I had no issues with this. Worked exactly as described in a 2010 iMac.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: LVCustomer Location: Latvia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Amazing fast delivery August 9, 2016 I have never got items from US so quick using non-expres delivery.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newcastle, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the tin August 4, 2016 This solution works as advertised; I have had it installed for at least one month and it has performed without any issues. Installation was as per the video provided, which I found to be complete, giving clear instructions. I had reason to install my new HDD prior to receiving this thermal controller, so I can say from experience that the cooling fans will ramp up to full speed for significant periods of time (quite annoying; yet prudent of the Apple engineers) without the feedback from this thermal controller; which provides a clever solution. Just one minor points to note: make sure that you choose a location on your HDD which will not interfere with the back of the display panel (easy). Cheers

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: northern CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 thermal sensor needed for SSD install in IMAC August 1, 2016 This works well for the SSD I installed in my IMAC

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Worked fine July 26, 2016 Installed new hard drive with this thermal sensor and it worked fine. Seemed a lot easier than trying to manage fan & temp with software since I wasn't using an official Apple drive.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Murfreesboro, TN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 SSD adapter for iMac 2010... July 24, 2016 Thanks to all at OWC for finding new ways to to help older Macs to keep up with the ever changing tech advances. This device simply plugs in to the drive and power supply. It monitors the heat build up in the drive and controls the cooling fan. Without out this there is nothing to keep the fan from running full out. And it's really loud.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London, UK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works 100% as advertised but unnecessary. July 23, 2016 This is a great product, but there is another - cheaper - solution to your problem. Rather than buy what is quite expensive for what it does, just buy another LCD sensor cable, plug it into the socket for the HDD sensor on the MLB and and stick the sensor to the new HDD with Kapton tape. I wish I had thought of this before ordering this sensor cable rather than while I was installing the sensor cable, but there you go. I paid probably about triple for this, but it works and isn't unreasonably priced.

    This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent product for iMac HDD upgrade July 22, 2016 Excellent product and easy to install (after you open the iMac). The only real solution for replacing the stock hard drive in an iMac. Works perfectly with an SSD upgrade, replacing the original stock hard drive. No fan issues at all. This thermal sensor is not necessary when installing an SSD in a 27" iMac in the secondary location behind the optical drive. It is only required when replacing the original stock hard drive.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Worth all the effort! July 6, 2016 It seems a bit scary from the instructional video but it is really not that difficult. It's worth the price and the effort. Now disk space is no longer a constant issue for me anymore.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2017).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works great June 13, 2016 I used this to upgrade a 2009 iMac to an SSD - it works perfectly and prevents the fan from running constantly, an elegant solution to a frustrating problem.

    One bit of advice to anyone attempting this upgrade on a 2009 iMac would be to partition and format the new drive on a Mac before trying to install it. Until I did that the installer for the original OS (10.6.x I believe) would not recognize the new drive. Once the original OSX version is on the new SSD I downloaded and upgraded to the latest and greatest El Capitan, no problems. The 2009 iMac now boots up to the desktop in around 10 seconds and has no problems loading advanced flash/html5 websites, as it did before.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: maple ridge, bc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Made my iMac better than when it came out of the box. June 2, 2016 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this.

    So simple, so straightforward, even a blind monkey can do it.

    Thanks OWC for everything you've done. My iMac is like or maybe even better than it was when I bought it. Starts in less than 30 secs, very quiet. I'm very happy.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works very well June 1, 2016 This product works very well, easy to install. My only issue is it would be nice if OWC would give you a break in the price if you bought in multiples, without having to become a dealer in their products. Other than that they do have great, well made products.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Does the job May 23, 2016 This makes connecting the SSD to the iMac possible. Don't install an SSD without one.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous
    Rating: 5/5 Perfect! May 14, 2016 Works just as described and no problems with install.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Updated late 2009 27" iMac to SSD May 7, 2016 I purchased this kit along with the: NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket and the 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. It wasn't 100% clear to me that I could replace the HDD in my iMac with a SSD, but a call to OWC confirmed that it was. The process was involved as you have to dismantle the front glass and screen and whatnot, but it was definitely doable. After installing the SSD and putting all of the parts back together, I plugged the machine in and... "B-O-N-G!" Super quick now. It seems just as fast as the new iMacs, though it not used for any majorly intensive work like video production or motion graphics. Word to the wise, if you are going to replace anything else, like a DVD or Blu-ray drive, do it while it is open.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Latvia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great support, ssd upgrade worked May 1, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Mid 2017).
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 AWESOME!!! April 30, 2016 I was at a loss when I installed my new hard drive into my iMac. I saw the wire for the thermal sensor but didn't know where to plug it in. I searched the internet and there was lots of "get arounds" but no sure fire fixes. This definitely did the trick. I spoken to Apple techs on the phone and they always recommend checking out OWC. They never seem to fail me. I'm a happy camper now without the jet engine fan noise in the background.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kaneohe, HI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Gave new life to my old iMac April 30, 2016 Adobe Phototshop/Lightroom CC 2016 update requiring 16GB to operate rendered my older iMac unable to handle the load. The addition of 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009) gave my machine new life and saved me from spending $4000 to buy a replacement. Way to go OWC!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac 2011 Models Mfr P/N: DIYIMACHDD11 OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMACHDD11 Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for all Apple iMac 2011 Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables and tools necessary for installation. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $59.99Cyber Saver $49.50
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMACHDD11 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)