Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

Other World Computing

Addendum Kit
for OWC 'Data Doubler' SSD/2.5"
Hard Drive installation Kit

for Mac mini 2011, 2012 & Later Models

In a very limited amount of 2011-2012 Mac minis, the additional drive bay is in a different location than what is depicted in our Data Doubler installation video. If your machine is one of these, you will need to follow this slightly different set of installation instructions and will need these few additional components.

Includes

  • 5.5mm wrench
  • 2x Drive Mounting Pins
  • Instructions

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 163 out of 174 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked Flawlessly February 3, 2015 This product was recommended by a friend and I was a bit skeptical. I've installed PCIe cards and swapped RAM before but this looked like major surgery to me. I ordered the kit and sat down at my kitchen table with a laptop and the installation video. It took about 45 minutes to do the work but the process was straightforward. The video was about as perfect as an installation video can be and at no point was I lost or confused. Booted up the mini and the drive was immediately available for format and use. Totally awesome!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gulf Islands BC Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Essential improvement for the 2012 mini January 26, 2015 Excellent product. Very helpful and thorough instructions accompanied the kit and are available online (videos too). I did find the procedure a bit more complex and lengthy than I had imagined. As it turned out, some of the screws were so tightly screwed in that a lot of time was spent very carefully but firmly unscrewing them. Some screws were difficult for me to reïnstall. They're tiny and their holes may be quite shallow. Oddly, reïnstalling the power plug took me the longest time and it involves no screws. Paying much closer attention to the orientation of that plug during the original dis-assembly would have saved me a lot of time. Once the new SSD was installed and I restarted the mini there was no trace of the original HDD. The HDD had taken a slight fall to a carpeted surface during the procedure so I assumed it was dead. A few days later when I went to install a second SSD to replace the 'dead' HDD I discovered that the HDD's drive connector was loose. I'm sure I did reconnect it originally so I must have pulled it out or jarred it loose in a later stage of reassembly. I connected it, finished reassembly and it all worked as expected. So finally I did have my SSD + HDD combination and I've reconfigured that following OWC Ben M's excellent suggestion in 'Splitting Your Data: An Alternative to Fusion'. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, Maine Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does the job -- but what a job! January 20, 2015 This is a well-made, saves-the-day item that makes possible a second hard drive in your Mini. Installation is greatly aided by the helpful install video elsewhere on the OWC site, but it is not a job for the faint of heart. I'm not a techie, but have pulled apart a few Macs and Mac laptops over the years. This was daunting, but doable. By all means review the OWC install video before purchasing this. But if you're up for it, go for it. The Data Doubler is well made and worth the effort.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great instructions January 13, 2015 I recently installed the data doubler in a newly purchased 2012 Mac mini. Instructions were great. Product was as promised; high quality cable and parts. Always trust my purchase from OWC.

This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan, US Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as expected January 9, 2015 Fits perfectly. Installed it in my late 2012 mini i7 where the burner should be. Now have a 480GB SSD as well as the original 1TB spinning drive in it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Be careful in there. January 9, 2015 Despite excellent instructions I partially borked this install. When all was said and done, I had a broken IR cable and a slight misalignment of the Airport antenna where two screws would not go back in place. The directions clearly warn of the delicate nature of the IR cable. Nevertheless, everything else works including Airport so I buttoned her back up can declared victory. Bottom line, be sure you are comfortable working in tight spaces before starting this upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I was skeptical but this works perfectly. January 5, 2015 For 30 bucks, you can't go wrong and I didn't. I was booting up to do a fresh install of OSX on my new SSD within 40min of opening and closing my Mac Mini. I have never worked in such a cramped space before but the videos/manual helped immensely.

I was unsure if this whole kit was necessary because of mixed reviews but there's a reason people here and in tons of other places recommend this kit. I had the Torx screwdrivers I needed. I could bend a large gauge wire and use pliers if necessary. I had everything but the SATA cable. I was about to just buy the SATA cable for cheap online but the moment I found out there were many versions of that cable, I stopped and thought 'for only 15 bucks more, I get all the tools I need, the CORRECT SATA cable, AND the added benefit of getting support from OWC or returning it all together if it doesn't work.'

Well worth the money. Have two friends lined up to buy kits for their machines.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Upper Drive ALT Bay Installation Kit for Mac mini 2012..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Problems with aerial connector January 2, 2015 Most of the installation of the SSD into my 2012 Mac Mini went well, but replacing the aerial connector was not as easy as it looked on the video. Getting the correct position to push the connector down while it is being twisted around by the weight of the shield is not simple, Something you could clip onto the wire to hold it steady and let you see what you are doing might help. I was about to go hunting for an old haemostat when I got it on more by luck than good judgement! Just my comment!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Item worked as described January 2, 2015 Item was as described.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Bluetooth module shielding kit for Apple Mac mini 2012 models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Does the job January 2, 2015 Bought this to install a second hard drive in my 2012 MacMini, worked exactly as it was supposed to. Instructions were well written. Not a difficult task to perform.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbus, OH Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome January 2, 2015 I bought a 2012 Mac Mini Quad-core with the slow 1TB HDD right after it was released. I love the computer, but I knew the HDD speed was its main weakness (for my purposes). I had seen OWC's videos about what was involved with adding an SSD as a second drive with the doubler, but I was thoroughly intimidated by what was involved. I had built PCs from parts, but that is totally different than totally gutting your Mac Mini and getting it back together in working order (I was most scared of the little connectors). I finally pulled the trigger, ordered the doubler to add a 240 GB Mercury Extreme as the main drive and decided that while I was in there, I would swap the existing drive with a WD Back 750GB 7,200 rpm drive. This was the scariest computer project of my life. As the video shows, you do gut your Mini and it is scary. But the video is perfect, tells you exactly what to do, and everything worked perfectly. My Mac Mini is now a beast and performs better than I had expected - I wish I hadn't waited so long.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas , TX Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect solution ... Well thought out and executed! January 2, 2015 Used kit to install memory and SSD upgrade in 2012 Mac mini. Flawless solution. Rarely do I find products that really are exceptional but OWC obviously cares enough to do it right ....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kiev, Ukraine Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything is cool, quality and delivery speed December 28, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bellerose Manor,NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac mini 2012 upgrade December 24, 2014 Purchased a 2012 Mac mini after not being enthused about the 2014 version. I had OWC install the data doubler and a 480 g SSD. The stock hd became the backup. I also upgraded the ram to 8g. The long and short of this is this setup is amazingly fast. Absolutely fits my needs plus. Best investment I have made. The total cost for everything was slightly over $900.00. I had a 22in.LG monitor and bluetooth mouse and keyboard so no added cost. Early this year upgraded my 2009 Macbook. Added the 240 gSSD and upgraded the ram to 6g max. The Macbook flies now. What makes these upgrades great is I have TWC Ultimate Internet pkg. Download speed exceed 100mpbs.consistently. So pleased with these upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles
Rating: 5/5 It was pretty easy December 20, 2014 Thanks to good "how to install" resources, this was pretty easy. Apple products are usually thoughtfully designed, so getting where you need to go to accomplish an installation like this is not too challenging, considering you have to mostly take apart the whole mini. In this case I swapped an older SSD from a MacBookPro into the mini, and installed a bigger capacity SSD in the Macbook. This was into a data doubler I'd put in the MB a couple years ago. That was pretty easy too.

This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 "Data doubler" gets rid of pesky external hard drive! December 16, 2014 I am the proud/happy/thrilled owner of a 2011 Mac Mini with Thunderbolt display. What was "all out" when it was purchased, pales in comparison to what is now available on the Mac Pro, however, I preferred my 'tower' to be small (mini, in fact) and my monitor to be huge.

The "data doubler" is a second hard disk installation bay for the Mac mini allowing a user/technician to mount a second hard disk inside the Mac mini. I now have two 1 TB disks in my mini. I am looking forward to a time when SSDs are not so terribly expensive and will definitely switch my operating drive to SSD at that time.

Excellent support, price and delivery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Makes installation a snap December 7, 2014 I've worked on hundreds of PCs, but found the Mac Mini a little daunting when I first opened it. A Google search revealed this kit and, after studying the instructions and watching the YouTube video, install-to-power-up took less than ten minutes. Awesome!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Edmonds, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy To Use November 30, 2014 While the steps needed to actually get to the hard drive area of the Mac Mini aren't exactly easy, it's also not difficult with the step by step instructions that come included with the kit. Took me a little less than 15 minutes for the whole operation. If you don't have the micro screwdrivers and tools, you probably ought to buy the kit that includes them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ken1w Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The right way to add an SSD to Mac mini November 26, 2014 I saw numerous videos on YouTube about replacing the hard drive in a recent Mac mini with an SSD. I don't think some of those people realized they can ADD an SSD (or other 2.5-inch drive) and keep the existing hard drive in there. All it takes is a custom ribbon cable and a few mounting screws, which is this kit.

The kit comes with a well-illustrated installation guide, which was critical for success (there is also a OWC installation video online). The procedure is VERY "involved." You need to be good at doing such things, or you may break something or lose a tiny screw (there are MANY that need to be removed). Magnetized screwdriver is very important. But with attention-to-detail, it is a lengthy but straight-forward "operation."

I replaced the PRAM battery while I was in there, ordered at the same time from OWC for less than $2, "3v NewerTech Lithium CR2032 coin cell PRAM Computer Clock Battery." It's on the motherboard.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent kit to add a 2nd HDD in the 2012 MacMini November 24, 2014 Like their other data doubler kits, this is very easy DIY expansion of the 2nd HDD bay. Watch their great videos and you can't miss.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 This part should be included in the kit. November 20, 2014 I found out that this piece was missing when I already had the mac disassembled...

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support November 25, 2014 Only a small number of units were shipped with the drive mounted in the upper drive bay rather than the more typical lower bay. The kit product page does have a large note explaining the difference and how to determine before ordering which bay your HDD is installed in.
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: georgia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product November 8, 2014 i have used OWC products for many upgrades and always been satisfied with their products. This time was no exception as UPS sent my order back for no apparent reason. OWC shipped it right back to me.

Tearing down the mini is not too difficult and OWCs printed instructions along with the online videos are great. This is a tedious upgrade and you should not be in hurry when you start this process. The entire process took me about 90 minutes to complete. You should be confident in working with very small parts and be able to carefully handle delicate components.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 nice product November 1, 2014 I purchased a 1TB drive to upgrade Mac Mini to 2 TB. The OWC tutorials were GREAT! Unfortunately, I have a Fusion Mini, and an SSD fills the second drive bay. I got the Mini back together, and had to go to Apple store, who tested then reconnected the Bluetooth module and reinstalled the OS. The mini was 1 month old, and they could have charged me for voiding the warranty. Instead they smiled and said "thanks for choosing Apple".

I subsequently bought a 2.5" enclosure (from OWC) and now have a portable 1TB hard drive

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denmark Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC only delivers prof products! :) October 25, 2014 I can only recommend OWC for delivering products to enhance your Apple equipment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Accra, Ghana Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The Right Stuff October 10, 2014 This upgrade kit works a charm - I however referred to the ifixit guide when doing the mod and it was a breeze. The parts supplied were overall good quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Other World Computing Addendum Kit for OWC 'Data Doubler' SSD/2.5" Hard Drive installation Kit for Mac mini 2011, 2012, and Later models Mfr P/N: DIYIMM11D2A OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMM11D2A For use with Mac minis with alternate factory drive placement. Ships: Same Day only $9.79
Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMM11D2A In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Options & Kits: Install Kit
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $28.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.99
    • OWC Price $32.50
Mounting Kit Only
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • OWC Price $24.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $36.99
    • OWC Price $26.75
Special Tool Kits
  • BT Shield
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $45.94
    • Bundle Priced for $4.99