Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Express Black

0GB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Pocket-sized USB bus powered ventilated enclosure
for a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD
offering the ultimate combination of style and
value in portable data storage and backup.
Outstanding Features
Express your digital life with style, convenience, and value!
The 2 oz., pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Enclosure offers bus powered* personal storage performance in an ultra-portable design. With no AC adapter needed, a USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve included, and compatibility with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express puts your music, photos, and personal data in the fast lane.
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Enclosure offers maximum mobile data storage/backup potential with a sleek, totally bus powered design. Just add your own 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD up to 9.5mm height and take your digital life with you wherever you roam!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Hard Drive or Solid State Drive Enclosure
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 connecting cable
  • Printed Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1053e USB 3.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

  • Any 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD up to 2.2TB in capacity and up to 9.5mm in size.

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed – (1) mini port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ES2.5BU3B UPC#: 794504329452

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 59 out of 69 (86%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great value for the money June 26, 2015 Enclosure worked as advertised. Extremely easy to install a HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very inexpensive case that works very well. June 22, 2015 I have bought several of these drive enclosures when I've bought the SSD's from OWC. They are simple and work very well,.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Why pay more June 18, 2015 Between usb 2 and 3, I have/had 5 of these so far and am about to purchase another. These drives travel the world, usually in a backpack, fall off cramped tables, hang by their cables. They just work. As quick as a far more expensive usb3 USAP enclosure I bought.

I use them for travel and archiving photography.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It Just Works February 27, 2015 Installing the SATA drive is dead simple (5 minutes if you drop a screw and have to go scrambling for it on the floor), and without performing rigorous performance testing, its performance seems to be entirely satisfactory. I was initially concerned about potential heat problems with the plastic USB 3 enclosure, but after a couple of months of continuous use I have never noticed the enclosure getting more than warm. IMHO the price/performance ratio is unbeatable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: LaDude
Rating: 5/5 great February 14, 2015 super easy to install

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Re-use Your Old HDD February 12, 2015 Perfect resting spot for older 2.5" SATA drives. Can use for CCC or Time Machine backups. Easy to set up. Highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gulf Islands BC Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Cheap, small enclosure for HDD or SDD February 1, 2015 This enclosure is adequate for what it's intended to do. It's small, easily assembled and cheap.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent fast external enclosure January 26, 2015 Great enclosure for an external hard drive or SSD.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington DC area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 speedy delivery January 2, 2015 ordered Tuesday evening 12/30/14 -- received via USPS Friday afternoon 1/2/15.

enclosure is simple and cheap, but works fine, just as I expected from my experience with other OWC products in the past.

I swapped a drive from a FireWire Mercury On-The-Go Pro into this enclosure and put the 120GB drive from my deceased MacBook into the Mercury enclosure for use with my old G4 iMac via FireWire. USB 3 is fast on my new MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent external enclosure January 2, 2015 Excellent enclosure, works as described. I'm very happy with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southeastern US Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Small Fast and Inexpensive December 19, 2014 I have liked these OWC Express enclosures for a long time because they are simple and inexpensive. It's always handy to have a spare drive for various things. This is just as nice as they always have been, but with the added benefit of USB 3, so we can move files on and off it very fast on my wife's new MacBook Air.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So simple, easy November 14, 2014 Excellent, simple, effective enclosure. This is a thin, plastic enclosure that works. If you want something more permanent and secure, get a different one. If you don't care, this one will work just fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product October 19, 2014 Blazing fast delivery and amazing product! As always love all the products from OWC.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs - Sleek Silver Color October 11, 2014 Nice enclosure, provided me the option to back up old MacBook into a new iMac, very pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newhall, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for Second Drive September 16, 2014 Just as described. Easy to install drive and works perfectly. BUY IT!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Value Based Product August 23, 2014 I did not pay attention to product description and was disappointed that it was plastic. Not the best quality enclosure for an external drive.

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Gets the job done July 17, 2014 Cheap easy solution easy to assemble

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Buffalo, NY
Rating: 5/5 This product works July 9, 2014 This is a simple product / idea and it works. Easy to assemble and it works as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St Paul, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive enclosure and inexpensive June 23, 2014 Does exactly what I need, drive fits great and works perfectly. Looks great too,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fayetteville, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Upgrade Macbook hard drive June 21, 2014 I upgraded my 2007 Macbook to a solid state drive. It now powers up in 20 seconds and reboots in 24 seconds. I used the enclosure to create an external drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Perth, Western Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product June 13, 2014 great product great customer service my 240GB SSD fits perfectly into the external case

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Work fine, easy to mount June 7, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 1/5 Cheap plastic January 23, 2014 Ridiculous for the price.

Cheapest piece of plastic I have ever seen. On it's way back.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent for a Virtual Machine September 10, 2013 I was looking for a solution to reuse my Samsung 840 Pro SSD as a windows drive in os x and this turned out to be perfect.

There are instructions on parallels.com on how to set up the vm so you can move it from one mac to another. I have this connected via a USB3.0 hub to my imac and it's on 24 x 7. I've done various speedtests and the results always amaze me.

As far as running windows 8 off this drive goes (Parallels VM in Parallels 8) this is pretty much the perfect solution for me. My imac ssd is not filled up with windows stuff and I can clone this drive using Parallels onto other HDDs as required.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My favorite from OWC's external array. June 26, 2013 I purchased 3 of these because I liked them so much. Not to mention that they are affordable as any other. With a Plextor 256gb SSD in it, this enclosure reaches 431.5MB/s read and 394.3 MB/s read. Let's round it down to 430 and 390, but great numbers at any rate- over USB I thought there would be some overhead but barely 100MB/s each from read and write.

I don't know if this is the 'starter' model of OWC's external HDD enclosures and the OWC On-the-go and the Merucry elite are the flagships, but I don't see anything wrong with this, especially if you are running a SSD over USB 3.0. The reason for that is because this enclosure doesn't have much of a shock absorption, and well, if you drop this you know your hard drive won't like it very much.

Might be cheap but definitely worth every dollar it costs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

OWC 0GB Express Black Mfr P/N: ES2.5BU3B OWC SKU: OWCES2.5BU3B USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $19.99Cyber Saver $14.99
Add to CartOther World Computing ES2.5BU3B In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Colors & Capacities: 1.0TB Portable Drives
  • White
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $54.88
  • Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $54.88
Enclosure Only
  • White
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $19.99
    • Cyber Saver $9.88
  • Black