Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC Express Silver

0GB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit

New Condition | Open Box

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Pocket-sized USB bus powered ventilated enclosure
for a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD
offering the ultimate combination of style and
value in portable data storage and backup.
Outstanding Features
Express your digital life with style, convenience, and value!
The 2 oz., pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Enclosure offers bus powered* personal storage performance in an ultra-portable design. With no AC adapter needed, a USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve included, and compatibility with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express puts your music, photos, and personal data in the fast lane.
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Enclosure offers maximum mobile data storage/backup potential with a sleek, totally bus powered design. Just add your own 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD up to 9.5mm height and take your digital life with you wherever you roam!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Hard Drive or Solid State Drive Enclosure
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 connecting cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1053e USB 3.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed – (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ES2.5BU3S UPC#: 794504329056

Videos



Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 59 out of 69 (86%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MacJustMac Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Simple and quick wawy to harness an old working HD January 26, 2018 After my nephew upgraded his mid-2012, non-retina 13" MBP with a new SSD, I opted to provide him with this simple external case to house his old 5400RPM SATA HD. I has a USB3 connection to maximize his connectivity speed, matching that of the ports on his laptop. Great for use as a generic back-up drive or a Time Machine disk. The installation was dead simple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: phloem Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 very reliable December 31, 2017 OWC makes quality enclosures, and this one is no exception. I'm using a few of these with no issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: conncarp Location: Maine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Does the Job November 30, 2017 Received in good time as always from OWC. Had a little difficulty in opening the case but after Really reading the directions was able to install the hard drive very easily. Seems to be reasonably built but only time will tell.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KevinH Location: Seattle, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great October 29, 2017 I purchased an enclosure from a big box store. It worked. However, the drive would randomly disconnect. I purchased this enclosure from OWC. The drive fit perfectly. My Mac now recognizes the drive and doesn't disconnect it randomly. I learned to buy parts for the Mac via OWC. The support is bar none and the products work as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: JohnQ Location: Baton Rouge, LA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Needed a simple case for small drives/SSD. October 18, 2017 Just really convenient, inexpensive, and just works (powered off USB) for a small SSD from OWC after dealing with my mother's laptop issues, i picked this up as well.

No problems.

Note: this isn't a rugged case, but has a nice blue light showing it's connected, cables are good, exactly as advertised no issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BarryR Location: New York, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Deal for Backup Drives October 9, 2017 I have several old drives pulled from old computers and other sources. Instead of spending 4x the price on a new drive that may only last a year or two from a big box store, this is a great deal! Problem solved.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: eqjones2 Location: Brooklyn Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and value April 22, 2017 I swapped out the HDD in my daughter's new MBP for an SSD and bought this enclosure to convert it to an external backup drive, and I'm pleased in all respects.

Boot time is respectable for a low end enclosure, and its simple but sturdy construction and compact, easy-to-travel form make the Express an excellent purchase option.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: RickyB Location: Trinidad & Tobago, West Indies Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits Drive Wel April 18, 2017 No Issues

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: a247 Location: DC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Another OWC winner February 22, 2017 Great value on this elegantly minimalist case. It hugs the 2.5" drive (for me, a 500GB HDD out of my venerable early-2011 15" MacBook Pro) like a glove, and is so simple that there is no power switch and only one port. Build quality is good. I'd gladly pay double for this same case but aluminum. Great regardless!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bigdog55555 Location: Burton, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 17, 2017 This is a very easy to use, affordable drive enclosure

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: KazWolf Location: On a Mountain in N.A. Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Value February 3, 2017 Nothing super high tech or overbuilt, but does just what it's supposed to do and does it well. Just plug the drive, put the top on, secure the 4 screws and it's ready to use. - Haven't experienced any cons yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Djp5 Location: Boston Age: 55-65
Rating: 4/5 Enclosures are awesome! December 30, 2016 I love to buy enclosures for old drives. Great for archiving and backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Curtterp Location: Northern IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice small design, great for notebooks December 16, 2016 I bought this so put an drive I was replacing in my Mac Mini, just so I would have a drive around. It worked flawlessly with 3 different drives I put into it. It works nice moving bulk data from one computer to another, and the small footprint makes it easy to carry with my MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacSlayer Location: Worcester, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for backing up & transferring to a new disk November 28, 2016 Upgraded my 2010 MacBook with an SSD from the wheezy hard disk in it. It was easy to get the drive into the enclosure and do the backup to it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tampageek Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does the job November 8, 2016 I've been using these for years and bought this one when my older one stopped working. Would have given it 5 stars if the price was a bit lower. Still pleased and would recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FAAR Location: Austin, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does what is supposed to October 6, 2016 What can I say about this, it does what it's supposed to do. It's very affordable and cosmetically is visually appealing. This is my 3rd purchase of this type of case from OWC and I'm happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tasmania, Australia Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works well July 18, 2016 Solid, well constructed unit for the price. It is easier to assemble than many similar units (four screws). It seems to perform well although I have only tested it with a slow hard drive which, of course, limits the throughput.

I would certainly recommend the unit and the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great enclosure June 26, 2016 Very well made. Down to all the details of appropriate screws to hold it all together.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Edmonds, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So Glad I Got This Enclosure! June 18, 2016 I got this enclosure or the internal SSD drive that I removed from my old MacBook Pro before shipping it off to to 'recycled.' I'm so glad it did. In about 15 minutes I had opened my computer, removed the SSD drive and had secured it inside this OWC enclosure. Now, I can continue to make good use of the very convenient storage afforded by this package that's thinner and lighter than a deck of cards.. This enclosure is simple, sturdy, and pocket-sized. Love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Costa mesa, CA Age: 55-65 Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great way to repurpose my Mac Mini HD April 11, 2016 I put the original HD from my Mac Mini in this enclosure when I replaced it with a couple SSDs. Works great!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Caribou, ME Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Already have one of these Enclosure Kits. February 29, 2016 I have recently ordered a bigger HD for my PS4. When it arrived, I swapped out the old 500 GB HD in the PS4 with a 2 TB HD. Then I took the PS4 HD and threw it into this enclosure, reformatted it, and now have an additional backup HD for my Mac. Would highly recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great gift January 16, 2016 This was a Xmas gift and just what he wanted..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works well January 15, 2016 Affordable, easy to use. Re-use your old hard drive externally with this enclosure.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Killen Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy-To-Use USB Storage Enclosure. January 7, 2016 It took me about 10 minutes to place my new 2TB 2.5-inch hard drive in the nice little enclosure. Plugged the supplied USB 3 cable into the MacBook Pro and suddenly had two more Terabytes of storage space. What's nice is you also get a nifty little leatherette carrying sleeve to put the enclosure in for storage. All you need to perform this task is a Philips screwdriver!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Affordable case for HD December 5, 2015 Purchased for HD removed from 2010 MBP with bad motherboard. Convenient HD backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

OWC 0GB Express Silver Mfr P/N: ES2.5BU3S OWC SKU: OWCES2.5BU3SOB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out