Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC Express Silver

0GB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit

New Condition | Open Box

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Pocket-sized USB bus powered ventilated enclosure
for a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD
offering the ultimate combination of style and
value in portable data storage and backup.
Outstanding Features
Express your digital life with style, convenience, and value!
The 2 oz., pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Enclosure offers bus powered* personal storage performance in an ultra-portable design. With no AC adapter needed, a USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve included, and compatibility with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express puts your music, photos, and personal data in the fast lane.
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Enclosure offers maximum mobile data storage/backup potential with a sleek, totally bus powered design. Just add your own 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD up to 9.5mm height and take your digital life with you wherever you roam!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Hard Drive or Solid State Drive Enclosure
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 connecting cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1053e USB 3.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed – (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ES2.5BU3S UPC#: 794504329056

Videos



Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 59 out of 69 (86%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sugar Land, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great way to preserve a hard drive! August 22, 2015 I purchased this enclosure in order to convert the former SATA hard drive for my Mac Mini into a USB 3.0 external hard drive. The installation video from OWC made this a very simple task. I would highly recommend this for anybody looking to save an old SATA internal drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Petersburg, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 So Easy to Do! August 8, 2015 I am sight impaired but still managed to remove a hard drive from a computer with a bad mother board to an OTC enclosure. I love the fast service and step-bystep videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida, USA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great product at a great price! Can be used as a start up drive August 7, 2015 I wanted a USB3 external drive case to support my desktop use of my new MacBook Pro Retina (rMBP) 2014 laptop. I thought it best to have a portable configuration so I could take the drive with me. I tested many drives for their ability to install an OS and start up with my rMBP in the most current OS (Yosemite). NONE of them performed in that regard except this product. Installing and starting up with the new OS on an external drive via USB 3 is a tricky situation for this Mac and impossible for older machines, so I found out and also found this enclosure the best solution for my situation. I can now install any other release version OS onto a SSD SATA III media and start up from it. This product fits the bill perfectly. Pros: Quality of the interface and simple design. Compatibility with current USB3 Super Speed devices.

Cons: Case disassembly requires removing 4 screws (#0 Phillips), the rear two go entirely through the bottom case which hold the drive, interface module and secure the top. The front two screws secure the drive to the bottom of the case. These details are not obvious. So to open the case all four are removed, then the top case can be detached (unclipped from the front and sides. I found a workaround and remove the rear screws to open up the unit, then the drive screws if replacing the drive. Unfortunately there is not four screws securing the drive. For HDD devices of significant weight, this may be an issue. SSD's are no problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 3/5 Nice simple drive enclosure, but not durable July 11, 2015 I like this simple little enclosure, but it is really flimsy. After swapping drives twice, I managed to dislodge the USB connector which then broke. So, though it's simple and clean looking, I'm not a fan of the quality of the connector piece.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great value for the money June 26, 2015 Enclosure worked as advertised. Extremely easy to install a HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very inexpensive case that works very well. June 22, 2015 I have bought several of these drive enclosures when I've bought the SSD's from OWC. They are simple and work very well,.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Why pay more June 18, 2015 Between usb 2 and 3, I have/had 5 of these so far and am about to purchase another. These drives travel the world, usually in a backpack, fall off cramped tables, hang by their cables. They just work. As quick as a far more expensive usb3 USAP enclosure I bought.

I use them for travel and archiving photography.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It Just Works February 27, 2015 Installing the SATA drive is dead simple (5 minutes if you drop a screw and have to go scrambling for it on the floor), and without performing rigorous performance testing, its performance seems to be entirely satisfactory. I was initially concerned about potential heat problems with the plastic USB 3 enclosure, but after a couple of months of continuous use I have never noticed the enclosure getting more than warm. IMHO the price/performance ratio is unbeatable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: LaDude
Rating: 5/5 great February 14, 2015 super easy to install

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Re-use Your Old HDD February 12, 2015 Perfect resting spot for older 2.5" SATA drives. Can use for CCC or Time Machine backups. Easy to set up. Highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gulf Islands BC Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Cheap, small enclosure for HDD or SDD February 1, 2015 This enclosure is adequate for what it's intended to do. It's small, easily assembled and cheap.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent fast external enclosure January 26, 2015 Great enclosure for an external hard drive or SSD.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington DC area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 speedy delivery January 2, 2015 ordered Tuesday evening 12/30/14 -- received via USPS Friday afternoon 1/2/15.

enclosure is simple and cheap, but works fine, just as I expected from my experience with other OWC products in the past.

I swapped a drive from a FireWire Mercury On-The-Go Pro into this enclosure and put the 120GB drive from my deceased MacBook into the Mercury enclosure for use with my old G4 iMac via FireWire. USB 3 is fast on my new MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent external enclosure January 2, 2015 Excellent enclosure, works as described. I'm very happy with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southeastern US Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Small Fast and Inexpensive December 19, 2014 I have liked these OWC Express enclosures for a long time because they are simple and inexpensive. It's always handy to have a spare drive for various things. This is just as nice as they always have been, but with the added benefit of USB 3, so we can move files on and off it very fast on my wife's new MacBook Air.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So simple, easy November 14, 2014 Excellent, simple, effective enclosure. This is a thin, plastic enclosure that works. If you want something more permanent and secure, get a different one. If you don't care, this one will work just fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product October 19, 2014 Blazing fast delivery and amazing product! As always love all the products from OWC.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs - Sleek Silver Color October 11, 2014 Nice enclosure, provided me the option to back up old MacBook into a new iMac, very pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newhall, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for Second Drive September 16, 2014 Just as described. Easy to install drive and works perfectly. BUY IT!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Value Based Product August 23, 2014 I did not pay attention to product description and was disappointed that it was plastic. Not the best quality enclosure for an external drive.

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Gets the job done July 17, 2014 Cheap easy solution easy to assemble

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Buffalo, NY
Rating: 5/5 This product works July 9, 2014 This is a simple product / idea and it works. Easy to assemble and it works as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St Paul, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive enclosure and inexpensive June 23, 2014 Does exactly what I need, drive fits great and works perfectly. Looks great too,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fayetteville, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Upgrade Macbook hard drive June 21, 2014 I upgraded my 2007 Macbook to a solid state drive. It now powers up in 20 seconds and reboots in 24 seconds. I used the enclosure to create an external drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Perth, Western Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product June 13, 2014 great product great customer service my 240GB SSD fits perfectly into the external case

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

OWC 0GB Express Silver Mfr P/N: ES2.5BU3S OWC SKU: OWCES2.5BU3SOB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out