Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

OWC

Express USB 3.0
1.0TB Portable Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
Exceptional Data Rates up to 155MB/s
Portable simplicity in an affordable, pocket-sized package
Express your digital life with style and convenience
The pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Drive offers bus-powered personal storage performance in an ultra-portable, design no AC adapter needed. With the included USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve, and compatible with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Drive puts your music, photos, and personal data right where you need them, with storage to spare.

Product Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.2 or later
  • Windows 98 or later

Hardware Requirements

  • Recommended: Mac or PC featuring a USB 3.0 port
  • Minimum: Mac or PC featuring a USB 2.0 port

Interface (Chipset)

  • USB 3.0 (ASMedia 1053e)

Max Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0: 5Gb/s

Notes

  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less).
  • The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  • OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Color

  • Black

Ports

  • (1) USB 3.0

Standard Mechanism

  • 1.0TB* Toshiba MQ04AB Series Hard Disk Drive**

Plug and Play

  • Yes

Power

  • Bus Powered

Security Slot

  • None

Drive Interface

  • SATA 6.0Gb/s

Rotational Speed

  • 5,400 RPM

Drive Cache

  • 128 MB

Dimensions

  • Height: 15 mm (0.6 in)
  • Length: 130 mm (5.1 in)
  • Width: 79 mm (3.1 in)

Altitude

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ESU3M1.0B UPC#: 810586030908

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS Test Results
Windows Test Results

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 73 out of 87 (84%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MacArtist3 Location: Mentor, Ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice enclosure February 5, 2018 Nice enclosure but would be nicer if it had an on off switch. Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Melonhead Location: NZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 easy setup, simple assembly. read to go January 31, 2018 with only two screws to anchor the drive and two screws to secure the case closed this could not be any easier. plastic not metal but comes with a simple slip case and a USB 3 cable. meets my needs perfectly as a way to repurpose the drive i removed from my 2012 mac mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TheMick
Rating: 5/5 Did exactly what it's supposed to do! January 29, 2018 Great custoner service guidance, and great product.

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mdwycyoff Location: Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Housing is well-made and nice looking. January 26, 2018 Totally my fault for not investigating potential issues first, but I purchased this housing for an upgraded portable Time Machine drive used exclusively with my mid-2015 MacBook Air. (The drive was originally used in a USB2 external enclosure for Time Machine backups with an original white mid-2007 MacBook, so USB2 was all that was required.)

The Good News: This 2.5" external drive housing is high quality, and nice looking, and it works. Time Machine data backups are now faster than the same 1TB 7200rpm HGST Travelstar drive in the old USB2 portable enclosure.

But as I discovered almost immediately, a USB3 signal MAY interfere with WiFi signals (and vice-versa), especially IF the USB3 device is located near the WiFi and Bluetooth antennas.

On the mid-2015 MacBook Air both antennas are apparently located low on the screen in the back near the screen hinge. Because of the short USB3 cable that ships with this enclosure, I originally placed the drive enclosure BEHIND the MacBook Air on the desktop and routed the cable directly BEHIND the computer.

That's a no-no! Because suddenly, my WiFi was no longer reliable. As in, long periods of 0% throughput. Even after rebooting, clearing caches, resetting SMC and PRAM/NVRAM, and updating to the latest version of macOS, High Sierra 10.13.2 (and now 10.13.3)

The enclosed short USB 3 cable comes equipped with two large magnets near the ends to minimize RF interference. Unfortunately, in my setup, there is still enough interference between the USB3 signal and the Wifi signal to bring the WiFi connection to a crawl, or a complete halt. I tried both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz WiFi connections and re-orienting both the MacBook Air and the router. 5Ghz was a bit better than 2.4Ghz but still not even close to reliable.

What to do? Current Solution: I purchased a longer .9 meter USB3 cable (from the OWC Garage Sale - I will review the cable when I complete this write-up) so it should be among my list of Reviewed Products soon.

With the longer cable, I relocated the USB3 drive enclosure as far away from the MacBook Air as physically possible, on a nightstand about .8 meters away from the computer, stretching the new cable straight out from the MacBook Air USB port to it's full length of about 1 meter, with no cable near the hinge area. Even though this longer cable lacks any magnets to reduce RF, the interference problem has completely disappeared, and both USB3 and Wifi are coexisting peacefully and reliably again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MacJustMac Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Simple and quick wawy to harness an old working HD January 26, 2018 After my nephew upgraded his mid-2012, non-retina 13" MBP with a new SSD, I opted to provide him with this simple external case to house his old 5400RPM SATA HD. I has a USB3 connection to maximize his connectivity speed, matching that of the ports on his laptop. Great for use as a generic back-up drive or a Time Machine disk. The installation was dead simple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: phloem Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 very reliable December 31, 2017 OWC makes quality enclosures, and this one is no exception. I'm using a few of these with no issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: conncarp Location: Maine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Does the Job November 30, 2017 Received in good time as always from OWC. Had a little difficulty in opening the case but after Really reading the directions was able to install the hard drive very easily. Seems to be reasonably built but only time will tell.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KevinH Location: Seattle, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great October 29, 2017 I purchased an enclosure from a big box store. It worked. However, the drive would randomly disconnect. I purchased this enclosure from OWC. The drive fit perfectly. My Mac now recognizes the drive and doesn't disconnect it randomly. I learned to buy parts for the Mac via OWC. The support is bar none and the products work as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: JohnQ Location: Baton Rouge, LA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Needed a simple case for small drives/SSD. October 18, 2017 Just really convenient, inexpensive, and just works (powered off USB) for a small SSD from OWC after dealing with my mother's laptop issues, i picked this up as well.

No problems.

Note: this isn't a rugged case, but has a nice blue light showing it's connected, cables are good, exactly as advertised no issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BarryR Location: New York, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Deal for Backup Drives October 9, 2017 I have several old drives pulled from old computers and other sources. Instead of spending 4x the price on a new drive that may only last a year or two from a big box store, this is a great deal! Problem solved.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: eqjones2 Location: Brooklyn Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and value April 22, 2017 I swapped out the HDD in my daughter's new MBP for an SSD and bought this enclosure to convert it to an external backup drive, and I'm pleased in all respects.

Boot time is respectable for a low end enclosure, and its simple but sturdy construction and compact, easy-to-travel form make the Express an excellent purchase option.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: RickyB Location: Trinidad & Tobago, West Indies Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits Drive Wel April 18, 2017 No Issues

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: a247 Location: DC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Another OWC winner February 22, 2017 Great value on this elegantly minimalist case. It hugs the 2.5" drive (for me, a 500GB HDD out of my venerable early-2011 15" MacBook Pro) like a glove, and is so simple that there is no power switch and only one port. Build quality is good. I'd gladly pay double for this same case but aluminum. Great regardless!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bigdog55555 Location: Burton, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 17, 2017 This is a very easy to use, affordable drive enclosure

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: KazWolf Location: On a Mountain in N.A. Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Value February 3, 2017 Nothing super high tech or overbuilt, but does just what it's supposed to do and does it well. Just plug the drive, put the top on, secure the 4 screws and it's ready to use. - Haven't experienced any cons yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Djp5 Location: Boston Age: 55-65
Rating: 4/5 Enclosures are awesome! December 30, 2016 I love to buy enclosures for old drives. Great for archiving and backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Curtterp Location: Northern IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice small design, great for notebooks December 16, 2016 I bought this so put an drive I was replacing in my Mac Mini, just so I would have a drive around. It worked flawlessly with 3 different drives I put into it. It works nice moving bulk data from one computer to another, and the small footprint makes it easy to carry with my MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacSlayer Location: Worcester, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for backing up & transferring to a new disk November 28, 2016 Upgraded my 2010 MacBook with an SSD from the wheezy hard disk in it. It was easy to get the drive into the enclosure and do the backup to it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tampageek Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does the job November 8, 2016 I've been using these for years and bought this one when my older one stopped working. Would have given it 5 stars if the price was a bit lower. Still pleased and would recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FAAR Location: Austin, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does what is supposed to October 6, 2016 What can I say about this, it does what it's supposed to do. It's very affordable and cosmetically is visually appealing. This is my 3rd purchase of this type of case from OWC and I'm happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tasmania, Australia Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works well July 18, 2016 Solid, well constructed unit for the price. It is easier to assemble than many similar units (four screws). It seems to perform well although I have only tested it with a slow hard drive which, of course, limits the throughput.

I would certainly recommend the unit and the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great enclosure June 26, 2016 Very well made. Down to all the details of appropriate screws to hold it all together.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Edmonds, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So Glad I Got This Enclosure! June 18, 2016 I got this enclosure or the internal SSD drive that I removed from my old MacBook Pro before shipping it off to to 'recycled.' I'm so glad it did. In about 15 minutes I had opened my computer, removed the SSD drive and had secured it inside this OWC enclosure. Now, I can continue to make good use of the very convenient storage afforded by this package that's thinner and lighter than a deck of cards.. This enclosure is simple, sturdy, and pocket-sized. Love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Costa mesa, CA Age: 55-65 Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great way to repurpose my Mac Mini HD April 11, 2016 I put the original HD from my Mac Mini in this enclosure when I replaced it with a couple SSDs. Works great!

This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Caribou, ME Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Already have one of these Enclosure Kits. February 29, 2016 I have recently ordered a bigger HD for my PS4. When it arrived, I swapped out the old 500 GB HD in the PS4 with a 2 TB HD. Then I took the PS4 HD and threw it into this enclosure, reformatted it, and now have an additional backup HD for my Mac. Would highly recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

OWC Express USB 3.0 1.0TB Portable Storage Solution Mfr P/N: ESU3M1.0B OWC SKU: OWCESU3M1.0B Compact, Bus-Powered, Boot Compatible storage for home, office, school, and on the go! 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $69.99Cyber Saver $59.88
Add to CartOther World Computing ESU3M1.0B In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Colors & Capacities: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $19.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.99
Hard Drive Models
  • 1TB Black
  • 2TB Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.95
    • OWC Price $79.88