Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

OWC

Express USB 3.0
1.0TB Portable Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
Exceptional Data Rates up to 155MB/s
Portable simplicity in an affordable, pocket-sized package
Express your digital life with style and convenience
The pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Drive offers bus-powered personal storage performance in an ultra-portable, design no AC adapter needed. With the included USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve, and compatible with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Drive puts your music, photos, and personal data right where you need them, with storage to spare.

Product Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.2 or later
  • Windows 98 or later

Hardware Requirements

  • Recommended: Mac or PC featuring a USB 3.0 port
  • Minimum: Mac or PC featuring a USB 2.0 port

Interface (Chipset)

  • USB 3.0 (ASMedia 1053e)

Max Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0: 5Gb/s

Notes

  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less).
  • The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  • OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Color

  • Black

Ports

  • (1) USB 3.0

Standard Mechanism

  • 1.0TB* Toshiba MQ04AB Series Hard Disk Drive**

Plug and Play

  • Yes

Power

  • Bus Powered

Security Slot

  • None

Drive Interface

  • SATA 6.0Gb/s

Rotational Speed

  • 5,400 RPM

Drive Cache

  • 128 MB

Dimensions

  • Height: 15 mm (0.6 in)
  • Length: 130 mm (5.1 in)
  • Width: 79 mm (3.1 in)

Altitude

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ESU3M1.0B UPC#: 810586030908

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS Test Results
Windows Test Results

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 73 out of 88 (83%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Caribou, ME Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Already have one of these Enclosure Kits. February 29, 2016 I have recently ordered a bigger HD for my PS4. When it arrived, I swapped out the old 500 GB HD in the PS4 with a 2 TB HD. Then I took the PS4 HD and threw it into this enclosure, reformatted it, and now have an additional backup HD for my Mac. Would highly recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great gift January 16, 2016 This was a Xmas gift and just what he wanted..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works well January 15, 2016 Affordable, easy to use. Re-use your old hard drive externally with this enclosure.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Killen Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy-To-Use USB Storage Enclosure. January 7, 2016 It took me about 10 minutes to place my new 2TB 2.5-inch hard drive in the nice little enclosure. Plugged the supplied USB 3 cable into the MacBook Pro and suddenly had two more Terabytes of storage space. What's nice is you also get a nifty little leatherette carrying sleeve to put the enclosure in for storage. All you need to perform this task is a Philips screwdriver!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Affordable case for HD December 5, 2015 Purchased for HD removed from 2010 MBP with bad motherboard. Convenient HD backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Wish I lived in USA to get free shipping! November 27, 2015 Excellent product - great support. Keep up the good work and give us Aussies a free postage item every now and again! G'day from Brisbane.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ND Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 great enclosure at a great price November 21, 2015 The perfect enclosure for a spare or leftover hard drive. Like the addition of USB 3 for faster transfers.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Functional and inexpensive November 3, 2015 This USB 3.0 enclosure works as advertised and is good value for money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sugar Land, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great way to preserve a hard drive! August 22, 2015 I purchased this enclosure in order to convert the former SATA hard drive for my Mac Mini into a USB 3.0 external hard drive. The installation video from OWC made this a very simple task. I would highly recommend this for anybody looking to save an old SATA internal drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Petersburg, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 So Easy to Do! August 8, 2015 I am sight impaired but still managed to remove a hard drive from a computer with a bad mother board to an OTC enclosure. I love the fast service and step-bystep videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida, USA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great product at a great price! Can be used as a start up drive August 7, 2015 I wanted a USB3 external drive case to support my desktop use of my new MacBook Pro Retina (rMBP) 2014 laptop. I thought it best to have a portable configuration so I could take the drive with me. I tested many drives for their ability to install an OS and start up with my rMBP in the most current OS (Yosemite). NONE of them performed in that regard except this product. Installing and starting up with the new OS on an external drive via USB 3 is a tricky situation for this Mac and impossible for older machines, so I found out and also found this enclosure the best solution for my situation. I can now install any other release version OS onto a SSD SATA III media and start up from it. This product fits the bill perfectly. Pros: Quality of the interface and simple design. Compatibility with current USB3 Super Speed devices.

Cons: Case disassembly requires removing 4 screws (#0 Phillips), the rear two go entirely through the bottom case which hold the drive, interface module and secure the top. The front two screws secure the drive to the bottom of the case. These details are not obvious. So to open the case all four are removed, then the top case can be detached (unclipped from the front and sides. I found a workaround and remove the rear screws to open up the unit, then the drive screws if replacing the drive. Unfortunately there is not four screws securing the drive. For HDD devices of significant weight, this may be an issue. SSD's are no problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 3/5 Nice simple drive enclosure, but not durable July 11, 2015 I like this simple little enclosure, but it is really flimsy. After swapping drives twice, I managed to dislodge the USB connector which then broke. So, though it's simple and clean looking, I'm not a fan of the quality of the connector piece.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great value for the money June 26, 2015 Enclosure worked as advertised. Extremely easy to install a HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very inexpensive case that works very well. June 22, 2015 I have bought several of these drive enclosures when I've bought the SSD's from OWC. They are simple and work very well,.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Why pay more June 18, 2015 Between usb 2 and 3, I have/had 5 of these so far and am about to purchase another. These drives travel the world, usually in a backpack, fall off cramped tables, hang by their cables. They just work. As quick as a far more expensive usb3 USAP enclosure I bought.

I use them for travel and archiving photography.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It Just Works February 27, 2015 Installing the SATA drive is dead simple (5 minutes if you drop a screw and have to go scrambling for it on the floor), and without performing rigorous performance testing, its performance seems to be entirely satisfactory. I was initially concerned about potential heat problems with the plastic USB 3 enclosure, but after a couple of months of continuous use I have never noticed the enclosure getting more than warm. IMHO the price/performance ratio is unbeatable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: LaDude
Rating: 5/5 great February 14, 2015 super easy to install

This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Re-use Your Old HDD February 12, 2015 Perfect resting spot for older 2.5" SATA drives. Can use for CCC or Time Machine backups. Easy to set up. Highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gulf Islands BC Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Cheap, small enclosure for HDD or SDD February 1, 2015 This enclosure is adequate for what it's intended to do. It's small, easily assembled and cheap.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent fast external enclosure January 26, 2015 Great enclosure for an external hard drive or SSD.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington DC area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 speedy delivery January 2, 2015 ordered Tuesday evening 12/30/14 -- received via USPS Friday afternoon 1/2/15.

enclosure is simple and cheap, but works fine, just as I expected from my experience with other OWC products in the past.

I swapped a drive from a FireWire Mercury On-The-Go Pro into this enclosure and put the 120GB drive from my deceased MacBook into the Mercury enclosure for use with my old G4 iMac via FireWire. USB 3 is fast on my new MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent external enclosure January 2, 2015 Excellent enclosure, works as described. I'm very happy with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southeastern US Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Small Fast and Inexpensive December 19, 2014 I have liked these OWC Express enclosures for a long time because they are simple and inexpensive. It's always handy to have a spare drive for various things. This is just as nice as they always have been, but with the added benefit of USB 3, so we can move files on and off it very fast on my wife's new MacBook Air.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So simple, easy November 14, 2014 Excellent, simple, effective enclosure. This is a thin, plastic enclosure that works. If you want something more permanent and secure, get a different one. If you don't care, this one will work just fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product October 19, 2014 Blazing fast delivery and amazing product! As always love all the products from OWC.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

OWC Express USB 3.0 1.0TB Portable Storage Solution Mfr P/N: ESU3M1.0B OWC SKU: OWCESU3M1.0B Compact, Bus-Powered, Boot Compatible storage for home, office, school, and on the go! 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $69.99Cyber Saver $59.88
Add to CartOther World Computing ESU3M1.0B In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Colors & Capacities: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $19.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.99
Hard Drive Models
  • 1TB Black
  • 2TB Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.95
    • OWC Price $79.88