Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

OWC

Express USB 3.0
2.0TB Portable Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
Exceptional Data Rates up to 155MB/s
Portable simplicity in an affordable, pocket-sized package
Express your digital life with style and convenience
The pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Drive offers bus-powered personal storage performance in an ultra-portable, design no AC adapter needed. With the included USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve, and compatible with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Storage Drive puts your music, photos, and personal data right where you need them, with storage to spare.

Product Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.2 or later
  • Windows 98 or later

Hardware Requirements

  • Recommended: Mac or PC featuring a USB 3.0 port
  • Minimum: Mac or PC featuring a USB 2.0 port

Interface (Chipset)

  • USB 3.0 (ASMedia 1053e)

Max Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0: 5Gb/s

Notes

  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less).
  • The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  • OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Color

  • Black

Ports

  • (1) USB 3.0

Standard Mechanism

  • TOSMQ04ABD200

Plug and Play

  • Yes

Power

  • Bus Powered

Security Slot

  • None

Drive Interface

  • SATA 6.0Gb/s

Rotational Speed

  • 5,400 RPM

Drive Cache

  • 128 MB

Dimensions

  • Height: 15 mm (0.6 in)
  • Length: 130 mm (5.1 in)
  • Width: 79 mm (3.1 in)

Altitude

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ESU3M2.0B UPC#: 810586032988

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 59 out of 69 (86%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BarryR Location: New York, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Deal for Backup Drives October 9, 2017 I have several old drives pulled from old computers and other sources. Instead of spending 4x the price on a new drive that may only last a year or two from a big box store, this is a great deal! Problem solved.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: eqjones2 Location: Brooklyn Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and value April 22, 2017 I swapped out the HDD in my daughter's new MBP for an SSD and bought this enclosure to convert it to an external backup drive, and I'm pleased in all respects.

Boot time is respectable for a low end enclosure, and its simple but sturdy construction and compact, easy-to-travel form make the Express an excellent purchase option.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: RickyB Location: Trinidad & Tobago, West Indies Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits Drive Wel April 18, 2017 No Issues

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: a247 Location: DC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Another OWC winner February 22, 2017 Great value on this elegantly minimalist case. It hugs the 2.5" drive (for me, a 500GB HDD out of my venerable early-2011 15" MacBook Pro) like a glove, and is so simple that there is no power switch and only one port. Build quality is good. I'd gladly pay double for this same case but aluminum. Great regardless!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bigdog55555 Location: Burton, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 17, 2017 This is a very easy to use, affordable drive enclosure

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: KazWolf Location: On a Mountain in N.A. Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Value February 3, 2017 Nothing super high tech or overbuilt, but does just what it's supposed to do and does it well. Just plug the drive, put the top on, secure the 4 screws and it's ready to use. - Haven't experienced any cons yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Djp5 Location: Boston Age: 55-65
Rating: 4/5 Enclosures are awesome! December 30, 2016 I love to buy enclosures for old drives. Great for archiving and backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Curtterp Location: Northern IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice small design, great for notebooks December 16, 2016 I bought this so put an drive I was replacing in my Mac Mini, just so I would have a drive around. It worked flawlessly with 3 different drives I put into it. It works nice moving bulk data from one computer to another, and the small footprint makes it easy to carry with my MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacSlayer Location: Worcester, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for backing up & transferring to a new disk November 28, 2016 Upgraded my 2010 MacBook with an SSD from the wheezy hard disk in it. It was easy to get the drive into the enclosure and do the backup to it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tampageek Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does the job November 8, 2016 I've been using these for years and bought this one when my older one stopped working. Would have given it 5 stars if the price was a bit lower. Still pleased and would recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FAAR Location: Austin, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does what is supposed to October 6, 2016 What can I say about this, it does what it's supposed to do. It's very affordable and cosmetically is visually appealing. This is my 3rd purchase of this type of case from OWC and I'm happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tasmania, Australia Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works well July 18, 2016 Solid, well constructed unit for the price. It is easier to assemble than many similar units (four screws). It seems to perform well although I have only tested it with a slow hard drive which, of course, limits the throughput.

I would certainly recommend the unit and the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great enclosure June 26, 2016 Very well made. Down to all the details of appropriate screws to hold it all together.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Edmonds, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So Glad I Got This Enclosure! June 18, 2016 I got this enclosure or the internal SSD drive that I removed from my old MacBook Pro before shipping it off to to 'recycled.' I'm so glad it did. In about 15 minutes I had opened my computer, removed the SSD drive and had secured it inside this OWC enclosure. Now, I can continue to make good use of the very convenient storage afforded by this package that's thinner and lighter than a deck of cards.. This enclosure is simple, sturdy, and pocket-sized. Love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Costa mesa, CA Age: 55-65 Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great way to repurpose my Mac Mini HD April 11, 2016 I put the original HD from my Mac Mini in this enclosure when I replaced it with a couple SSDs. Works great!

This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Caribou, ME Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Already have one of these Enclosure Kits. February 29, 2016 I have recently ordered a bigger HD for my PS4. When it arrived, I swapped out the old 500 GB HD in the PS4 with a 2 TB HD. Then I took the PS4 HD and threw it into this enclosure, reformatted it, and now have an additional backup HD for my Mac. Would highly recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great gift January 16, 2016 This was a Xmas gift and just what he wanted..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works well January 15, 2016 Affordable, easy to use. Re-use your old hard drive externally with this enclosure.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Killen Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy-To-Use USB Storage Enclosure. January 7, 2016 It took me about 10 minutes to place my new 2TB 2.5-inch hard drive in the nice little enclosure. Plugged the supplied USB 3 cable into the MacBook Pro and suddenly had two more Terabytes of storage space. What's nice is you also get a nifty little leatherette carrying sleeve to put the enclosure in for storage. All you need to perform this task is a Philips screwdriver!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Affordable case for HD December 5, 2015 Purchased for HD removed from 2010 MBP with bad motherboard. Convenient HD backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Wish I lived in USA to get free shipping! November 27, 2015 Excellent product - great support. Keep up the good work and give us Aussies a free postage item every now and again! G'day from Brisbane.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ND Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 great enclosure at a great price November 21, 2015 The perfect enclosure for a spare or leftover hard drive. Like the addition of USB 3 for faster transfers.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Functional and inexpensive November 3, 2015 This USB 3.0 enclosure works as advertised and is good value for money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sugar Land, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great way to preserve a hard drive! August 22, 2015 I purchased this enclosure in order to convert the former SATA hard drive for my Mac Mini into a USB 3.0 external hard drive. The installation video from OWC made this a very simple task. I would highly recommend this for anybody looking to save an old SATA internal drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Petersburg, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 So Easy to Do! August 8, 2015 I am sight impaired but still managed to remove a hard drive from a computer with a bad mother board to an OTC enclosure. I love the fast service and step-bystep videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

OWC Express USB 3.0 2.0TB Portable Storage Solution Mfr P/N: ESU3M2.0B OWC SKU: OWCESU3M2.0B Compact, Bus-Powered, Boot Compatible storage for home, office, school, and on the go! 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $99.95OWC Price $79.88
Add to CartOther World Computing ESU3M2.0B In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Colors & Capacities: 1.0TB Portable Drives
  • Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $59.88
Enclosure Only
  • Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $19.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.99