Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

OWC Special Offers Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29
$10.00 off OWCtoberfest BUNDLE DEAL - Save an EXTRA $10 when you buy a NewerTech NuPower Replacement Battery + any OWC SSD!
Click Here for qualifying items

DIY Bundle

1.0TB OWC 3G SSD
and HDD Kit for Late 2009 - 2010 iMacs

Mac
Mercury Electra SSD and iMac HDD Kit
Upgrade with Confidence!
The complete solution for your 2009 - 2010 iMac
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY SSD and hard drive replacement kit. Add an SSD to your hard drive equipped iMac to experience faster booting, near instant application launches and lightning fast data transfer speeds.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. Mercury Electra 3G SSD's offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 3Gb/s hard drive or SSD.


Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
1000GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 1024GB
24GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
931 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
272MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
252MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (3Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 3Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n KITIM09HE1TB UPC#: 812437025002

Gallery

27" iMac (2010) Install Video


21.5" iMac (2010) Install Video


27" iMac (2009) Install Video


21.5" iMac (2009) Install Video


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
3.2GHz i3, 2.8GHz i5, 3.6GHz i5, 2.93GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz i3, 3.2GHz i3, 3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz

Includes

  • (1) OWC Mercury 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) Torx T10 driver
  • (1) Torx T8 driver
  • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty on the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty on the OWC In-line Thermal Sensor cable

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty on the NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 34 out of 36 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Philippe Location: FRANCE Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Just ... perfect ! October 11, 2016 Excellent, perfect and fast shipement (FRANCE) I've never replaced hard disks in iMacs before. I purchased this kit along with the: NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket and the 480GB OWC Mercura 3G SSD. Installation was smooth; only little stress was detaching the backlight power cable, as that is attached rather tight. After completing this upgrade, there is a significant improvement in performance of my Mac ... It'a new mac really faster with silent. Very happy with the value and quality of this kit, and the instructional install video provided.

Don't forget to enable TRIM after rebbot. You can Google "How to Enable TRIM for Third-Party SSDs on Mac OS X" for that information and why you should enable TRIM on a SSD drive! (TRIM ENABLER is a good product). Thanks MacSales for this great product.

Best regards from FRANCE.

Philippe

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rworne Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nowhere near as bad an ordeal as I thought October 11, 2016 2010 27" i7 iMac started running slow, the stock drive was dying a slow death. So I entertained the idea of adding in a SSD to extend the lifespan of this computer. I knew of the fan issue with this particular model and knew this vendor had a solution.

All the parts arrived a day earlier than expected, and everything I needed was in the box. Taking apart one of these things looks scary, something I felt perfectly capable of doing yet loathed the idea of it. About 15 minutes or so and the drive was installed and the LCD back in place. The biggest hassle was looking for the can of compressed air to chase off a few specs of dust off of the display.

The only difficulty was placing the glass back on. It went on easy enough, but when the magnets grabbed the glass, it pinched the meat on the inside of one of my fingers. Those magnets are STRONG and it HURT. Don't leave the spudger and suction cups out of arm's reach like I did.

Finger extracted and the computer booted up fine with an OS X Sierra install USB, and about 30 minutes later, the computer was up and running again.

I have to say, this was way easier than going out on your own and cobbling together the parts to do this.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macOWC Location: Seattle, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 new life for an 2010 iMac, El Capitan and Sierra ready! September 18, 2016 Wow! This review is for the SSD DIY replacement kit that comes with everything you need to replace your internal iMac 2010 hard drive. The only thing that you should consider to add to this package is an external USB 3.5" SATA enclosure for the original internal drive or a bare-drive cable adapter, also available from OWC. In addition to this hard drive upgrade I also max-ed out the RAM with the 16 GB set from OWC, As usual, the installation videos were very helpful and the supplies were all included to perform the task. This old 2010 iMac is humming along nicely now, the SSD drive is great, very quiet, no heat-generating spinning hard drive in there now. I have had some experience with doing RAM, hard-drive, video card, CPU upgrades, and power supply replacement in G3 and G4 Macintoshes where room is plenty and cables are easy to access and route, this iMac upgrade seemed daunting at first. But watching the installation video several times to get familiar with the process gave me the confidence to try it. The iMac is very tightly packed, those display connectors are tiny and hard to grasp with your finger tips, but not impossible. Thanks for providing the compatible products and the support for the DIY to put all the supplies in one package to breathe new life into this 2010 iMac. Decide on an enclosure to put your old hard drive in, if you decide to keep using it. I did a fresh installation of El Capitan, then did a Data Restore from the original drive in a USB enclosure, worked great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RustyVenture Location: New York, NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 If you're looking to keep older hardware going strong, this is perfect September 17, 2016 Bought this for my mother's 2010 iMac to compliment a 12gb RAM upgrade I did on it last year. She's not in the market for a new computer right now and swapping out the HDD for an SSD will ensure that she will get at least another year or two out of it!

I really liked that this not only included the nifty bracket for installation in the old 3.5" bay, but also included all of the necessary cabling and temperature sensors to ensure a seamless transition.

As always, be very careful when lifting away that blasted LCD from/reattaching it to the logic board as the cables are delicate, quite short, and finicky if not seated correctly. It took some trial and error to get the display working properly but once it was, it was running like new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gume Location: Spain Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Una solución fantástica! August 21, 2016 Es una solución fantástica para renovar un "viejo" iMac del 2009. El cable de temperatura del disco resuelve perfectamente el problema de los ventiladores. Y la sustitución de el HD por un SSD hace que el viejo Mac juegue de nuevo en primera división.No te dejes intimidar por la operación de la sustitución del disco. Es algo que con un poco de cuidado y maña no es difícil. Pensaba invertir 5000€ en comprar un nuevo iMac para uso profesional, pero con unos cientos de euros he vuelto a sentir que no tengo que preocuparme en absoluto por los problemas o la velocidad de mi máquina y puedo centrarme al 100% en el trabajo.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RehabAddict Location: Wisconsin Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised August 6, 2016 Purchased the DIY kit for the 1.0T SSD to replace the 1.0T factory HDD on my 2009 27" model 11.1 iMac. The kit contained all necessary equipment to do the job. Followed the instructional video and completed the replacement without hurrying in about an hour. Also updated the 8G factory RAM to 32G with the OWC 4x8G RAM kit. Reinstalled the OS without difficulty. The iMac is like a completely new machine now. Boots up so much faster and programs open nearly instantly. Have been up and running for nearly 4 months now without any issues. Would highly recommend these upgrades if you are looking to rehabilitate your older iMac and avoid spending the $ for an entirely new one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Temp sensor cable works great July 31, 2016 without a temp sensor, my fan sounded like a hair dryer. I never knew the fan could even blow that hard. I really did not want manual control, the OWC solution works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 An arduous but successful project July 23, 2016 I wanted to replace the existing 1TB HDD in my 2011 iMac with a new SSD one. Other World Computing rates this task as advanced, and I agree.

They had a video for me to follow that was pretty close to what I needed to do. In it, a new HDD was put into the same iMac - so armed with that video, and the video showing how to mount the SSD drive - I and a friend were able to install the SSD and get the computer closed up in about an hour.

But then our trouble really began. I could not install OSX on it. I tried a USB drive, older install DVDs etc, but I was never able to even format the new SSD.

In the end, we did a network install - where the OS was downloaded from Apple somewhere. This did work, and soon I was up and running. With the new SSD installed, there is no comparison with the older hard drive. The computer *feels* 10x faster - like new. In this sense, I feel this install was highly successful. It has definitely bought 2 years more life (at least) for this computer.

Suggestions: During purchasing, OWC should ask more questions about exactly what you're buying the system for, and include a sheet of paper with the components that has the URLs to the exact videos/web pages etc you need. Crucially, this should include how to install the OS on your new computer - as it was clearly dicey in my case.

The classification of the level difficulty (i.e., advanced) was about right. I've built several PC's before, worked as a programmer for several years. I think you'd want that level of experience before undertaking this upgrade - so I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends. I would tell them to pay for this service.

Finally, OWCs marketing on how much faster your computer will be is not hyperbole. A newly installed OS on SSD is just so much faster. Even though it was hard, and I wouldn't recommend it to friends, I'm glad we did it.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney Australoa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD kit for late 2009 iMac27" July 20, 2016 Everything went swimmingly. The installation video was very clear and easy to follow. The installation tools were perfect. The iMac now rocks! All in all a good experience. I am happy. Thank you OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southampton, UK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install, revived my dead Late 2009 iMac June 14, 2016 Had a Late 2009 iMac affected by a faulty hard drive recall (that I forgot to do, oops) that eventually suffered catastrophic hard drive failure...

Not only did this kit come with everything needed to easily follow the great video guides, swap out the hard drive and revive the machine, it's provided a noticeable speed boost owing to the solid state drive too :)

Great service, great product, highly recommend, even for a working machine! ;-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wellington, New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid products. Great service. June 9, 2016 Solid product and great service at a reasonable price. On-line help files are very well produced and extremely helpful, especially with some of the more difficult upgrades.

Shipping options are pretty good too, especially to the other side of the world where I live.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This is a "do-able" project June 7, 2016 I ordered a SSD drive and an AdaptaDrive to hold it to replace the ailing hard drive in my 2009 iMac. This process is described as "involved" on OWC's web site but the "How To" video made the whole process go smoothly. The video shows exactly which bolts to remove, which cables to unplug, and then shows how to put everything back together again. My advice is to have a separate computer nearby so you can watch the video and pause it while you perform each step on the dismantled computer. My order came with the tool kit needed to do this job on an iMac - Torx drivers, suction cups to get the glass screen off, etc. Very handy. After replacing the drive I booted up from my cloned back-up drive, formatted the new SSD, and installed the El Capitan system on the iMac. I used the Mac's Migration Assistant to bring all of my files, programs, and settings over from the back-up drive. I went from system 10.6.8 to 10.11.5 without a hiccup. I would do it again if needed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Queensland, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Brings new life and snapiness to older Macs, well worth it! May 21, 2016 Hello, long time listener, first time caller.

I installed this upgrade in to a 2010 era i7 iMac and was amazed with how it made the Mac run like a gazelle on Red Bull with a few espresso chasers.

The chassis and the thermal sensor substitute took this upgrade a step above similar offerings. No running-flat-out fans, no instability, just blistering fast performance.

MacSales' video guides are brilliant! Without them I would never have had the confidence to perform this upgrade on an iMac. With the video clips showing every step and tip in clear detail - and treating the process like an astronaut EVA, ie. take your time, be meticulous and no-one/nothing dies - the upgrade went perfectly.

I'd also like to thank the MacSales support staff (looking at you, Randy G.!) for being very helpful when I had the smallest of queries about part of the upgrade process.

If you're thinking about this upgrade for your ageing Mac, do consider it; it made a world of difference to one of our older Macs. We also have a 2013 iMac of similar spec with a Fusion drive and I think this upgrade made the older Mac able to snap at its heels.

cheers, and thanks again, MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Auburn, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding product May 14, 2016 My increasingly slow mid-2010 iMac needed an upgrade so I purchased the OWC 1Tb SSD drive to replace my internal stock hard-drive. The product is packaged with everything anyone needs to do the upgrade, and with the online video instruction the installation was extremely smooth. Formatting and backup installation of the OS and all my files were seamless. There is virtually no sound from the SSD and it has made my iMac like new. The speed with which applications, files and processes open is insane. This is a wonderful product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Replacement! April 19, 2016 I've only had this drive in the computer for about 24 hours; however, I can say that the speed of my 2010 27" iMac has increased tenfold. While the drive that I removed was the original 1TB and had well over 500 bad sectors and therefore extremely slow, it is undoubtedly much faster than it has ever been. Opening apps is faster, browsing the Internet is faster, startup is faster. I have absolutely no regrets about this purchase and with it being from OWC and having specific items needed to make it work, i.e. thermal sensor, included when buying the installation kit makes this choice is a no-brainer.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

DIY Bundle 1.0TB
OWC 3G SSD
and HDD Kit for Late 2009 - 2010 iMacs Mfr P/N: KITIM09HE1TB OWC SKU: OWCKITIM09HE1TB Complete DIY kit for upgrading your 2009 - 2010 iMac's hard drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $221.97Bundle Priced for $172.75
Add to CartOther World Computing KITIM09HE1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $103.97
    • Bundle Priced for $54.76
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $119.97
    • Bundle Priced for $73.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $156.97
    • Bundle Priced for $109.75
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $364.97
    • Bundle Priced for $323.75