Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offers Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29
$35.00 off Cyber Week BUNDLE Savings when you buy a NewerTech NuPower Replacement Battery + OWC SSD 1.0TB or larger!
Click Here for qualifying items

DIY Bundle

2.0TB OWC 3G SSD
and HDD Kit for Late 2009 - 2010 iMacs

Mac
Mercury Electra SSD and iMac HDD Kit
Upgrade with Confidence!
The complete solution for your 2009 - 2010 iMac
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY SSD and hard drive replacement kit. Add an SSD to your hard drive equipped iMac to experience faster booting, near instant application launches and lightning fast data transfer speeds.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
With incredible sustained data speeds, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance, that's backed by an incredible OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.


Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n KITIM09HE2TB UPC#: 812437028539

Gallery

27" iMac (2010) Install Video


21.5" iMac (2010) Install Video


27" iMac (2009) Install Video


21.5" iMac (2009) Install Video


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
3.2GHz i3, 2.8GHz i5, 3.6GHz i5, 2.93GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz i3, 3.2GHz i3, 3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz

Includes

  • (1) OWC Mercury 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) Torx T10 driver
  • (1) Torx T8 driver
  • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty on the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty on the OWC In-line Thermal Sensor cable

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty on the NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 34 out of 36 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JWHJr Location: Swarthmore, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great!! February 4, 2018 It's like having a new Mac!! Very fast and snappy now.

The toolkit worked fine. One suggestion. Get a Torx screwdriver with a retaining clip to hold the screws. It's disarmingly easy to drop a screw, which could then disappear down into the bowels of you Mac. A clip to hold the screw on the screwdriver would be a welcome safety feature.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: alacrity Location: Lagrangeville, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Absolutely the best upgrade ever! February 4, 2018 Wow! This upgrade not only sped up my old 2010 iMac 27 High Sierra OS ...it made it lightning fast! I had been plodding along with 2 minute or longer boot up times, constant spinning beach balls and Safari taking forever to load. After all, the HD was 7 years old (amazing it lasted that long!), and was extremely slow. So I ordered the kit.

My thoughts were that even if the upgrade failed, I could use the SSD somewhere else on down the road. The install was not too bad. But I did make a few mistakes. Not that any of these below happened to me.... it was a friend!! I swear!!

1. REMEMBER to format the SSD BEFORE you install it! 2. REMEMBER to format the SSD BEFORE you install it! 3. When removing the V-Sync plug or ANY plug required to be un-plugged for the install. DO NOT pull it by the wires! Or you will have to buy another one.....sad but true! 4. When removing/installing the screws that hold in the LCD screen, be patient! They are hard to find if you let one slide down inside or onto the floor!! 5. Preferably have an area that is free of fricking cat hair! This will improve the quality of your viewing pleasure once you put the glass protector back on.

I would have uploaded the video I made of the process, but it was only 10 seconds long after I cut out all the scenes with me cursing myself for ineptness...

Actually, it was a simple install and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to revive their old Mac's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ravazzolo Location: Stony Point, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD install 27” iMac January 30, 2018 What a great experience. The staff was very nice and helpful . Ordering was easy and the price was right. The drive all brackets and parts arrived on time. The only part of the product I did not like was the suction cups were all but worthless. I used some old ones I had laying around. The physical install went flawlessly thanks to a stellar “How to” video and my wife adding moral support. I had to call tech support a couple of times to do some “scary” downloading and installing and they were great. It truly was as though I was their only customer. I spoke to one tech and later another and the second one knew exactly where I was as though he were in on the earlier conversation. Incredible tech support.now my late 2009 iMac is like lightning and I recovered all of my files. Remember, kiddies, backup often!!!

This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center January 31, 2018 Hello! I'm very sorry to hear about any issues with the suction cups. That's not typical of those at all, and we'd be happy to get those replaced. Feel free to contact us at 800-275-4576 to get that set up!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RetireD Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product, great service, winning combo January 28, 2018 The order for the mid-2010 iMac SSD upgrade kit came faster than expected. The video for removing the old hard drive and installing the new SSD was detailed, complete and accurate. The "tips" on how to get the SSD prepared and then installing the data from the HD was OK, but too complicated with all the choices. I think you are better off just installing the SSD as is, then restarting from a "clone" backup, then formatting the SSD with Disk Utility, and cloning the backup to the SSD - it worked for me). Then, to my shock, everything started up but the screen remained black. I called technical support at OWC. The "tech" was kind, knowledgable and clearly US based. He got me to reopen the computer and check the screen power cable, which just as he suggested was not in place. It was a quick fix and the "upgraded" iMac is just as quick as much newer models. Great job OWC!. Great customer service! Great result!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 250GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: DougB Location: AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Nice Setup! January 4, 2018 Not as tough to install as I'd figured, although I did break one locking clip when disconnecting wires. Didn't affect the electrical engagement during reinstall, however. I was on my third Seagate factory drive when I decided to go for longevity and use the Electra 3G SSD, and this kit is a very neat way to make that possible. My iMac seems very happy with it, and the speed increase is much appreciated, especially with the newer, bloated forms of MacOS out now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bbigtrab
Rating: 5/5 Product works great; help video glitchy January 2, 2018 Everything was great, except for the tutorial video. The video was glitchy on my iPhone X. I had to keep exiting out and refreshing the page. I don't know if it was my phone, my ISP, or the video. Other than that it was great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jay11 Location: Vancouver, Canada
Rating: 5/5 Works like it says December 27, 2017 I upgraded my late 2009 27" imac hard drive with this SSD and installation kit a few weeks ago. Apart from one of the suction cups not working (had to pull with one and use the spudger to pry the screen off), it all went well. Took about an hour, as I have never done anything like this before and went fairly slowly, using the excellent instructional video. Also took the opportunity to clean 7 years of dust from the inside while I was in there.

Restored from a Time Machine backup and then upgraded to High Sierra. That also worked as advertised - no problems. Boot time is much quicker and I don't see the spinning beach ball anymore. I previously upgraded from 4GB RAM to 12GB hoping to resolve the speed issue, but the HDD was the limiting factor. Runs like a new machine now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AzMacAttack Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like I bought a brand new machine December 26, 2017 I bought this SSD upgrade for my mid-2010 iMac 27 inch to replace the stock 1TB HDD. The kit and online video were perfectly done and made it easy to follow along and perform the upgrade myself. Key point, have two people; it helps when unhooking all the wires from the monitor to have one person to hold the monitor and one to unhook the 4 spots. My 2010 iMac should go another 3 years with this upgrade easily. (also make sure you max out your memory at 32GB if you haven't already)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Garr Location: Massachuseets Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked great but watch out for bug in High Sierra December 10, 2017 Everything worked great except for the frustrating bug in High Sierra Disk Utility. If you boot a USB high sierrra image and run Disk Utility You won’t see your SSD drive listed. You have to select view all. Quit disk utility, and then enter it again before your drive shows up. I spent a lot of time disassembling and playing with the connections before I did some searches on the web to find this work around. After formatting the drive, it was an easy install but shame on Apple for introducing this bug.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mackopes Location: MN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good fairly priced kit! December 1, 2017 While you could save a few buck cobbling everything together, this has everything you need and also with the great installation videos (which really anyone could use as well), I find it well worth the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 250GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SteveD Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Major surgery made easy: Kit and Video November 12, 2017 I should have done this years ago. My wife's iMac was feeling really sluggish, and a SSD upgrade was the logical thing to do. I upgraded my MBP with one a few years ago and it was fairly easy surgery The iMac transplant was intimidating.

The combination of the kit (containing suction cups for removing the screen, and various tools for disassembly and a bracket for matching the compact SSD with the bulky HDD mounting structure) and the excellent step-by-step videos made what would have been impossible very possible. Advice: Take your time (allow an hour).

And the computer is performing a near-new speed. Definitely a worthy upgrade

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DIYRookie Location: London, ON Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The DIY kit had everything one needs to perform this upgrade. November 7, 2017 Not only did the DIY kit have everything one needs to perform the upgrade, the related video available on the website perfectly walks one through the upgrade. I had the upgrade completed in less than an hour. What took a little longer was that once the iMac was opened, and it hadn't been since October 2009, I took the opportunity to blow out the fans and such. One can gather a fair bit of dust over the course of eight years. Anyway, the price of the Kit was also quite attractive, for $350 Canadian I now have virtually a new machine. Thank you MacSales for a pleasant experience!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: None12 Location: Osan AB, South Korea Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Glad I made this purchase and upgrade. November 5, 2017 I installed a 1TB SSD into a mid-2010 IMac. The installation videos on this site were thorough and made the DIY upgrade go smoothly. The performance boost was noticeable right away and I am very happy with the decision.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: emteek Location: Illinois Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great kit, has almost everything you need! October 30, 2017 Was nice to have almost everything needed in one order. The only thing missing was a phillips screwdriver to mount the SSD to the carrier. Other than that, worked perfcetly!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Icebugs Location: Louisiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Impressive October 5, 2017 Ordering and delivery was flawless. Installation was a breeze following video instructions and included documentation. Install took about 45 minutes. This SSD drive for my iMac is fabulous! I replaced the drive in my iMac mid 2010 11,3 following the video instructions and I cannot believe the difference in performance. I installed OS High Sierra from scratch to online in 50 minutes. Unbelievable the difference this product has made for me. Its like I bought a new machine.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: stuntman Location: Vancouver, Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation and new speed is great! August 21, 2017 I installed the SSD kit into my 8 year old 2009 iMac. The instructional video was very detailed and easy to follow. I did the whole job in 40min with a friend and we took 10min to clean the inside from dust, so otherwise its a 30min job. The kit was complete and it had everything we needed, no missing parts. The new speed on the iMac is great and very noticeable. It will make my iMac be very usable for another 3-4 years which is fantastic! Highly recommended for any older iMac with a spinning Hard Drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: cinepost Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional value July 31, 2017 With the increasing size and complexity of operating system and application software, moving from a disc drive to an SSD as my boot drive has resulted in an amazing boost in performance. What had been a lethargic computer that had me thinking about replacement has turned into a really fine computer for working on extremely large image files. Once balky and glitchy Photoshop CS now operates so well, that it has become an intuitive tool rather than a source of frustration. Again, the instructional videos are superb, and a must to view before before making the decision and indeed, during the process of installing the SSD. If the original hard drive is still working, and you are satisfied with the information on it, installing the SSD along side the original hard drive makes migration easy. Once that is accomplished, designate the SSD as the boot drive. If all goes well for a while, wipe the original hard drive and use that for document storage. If that is your plan, purchase OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit for All Apple 27" iMac 2010 Models (OWC SKU: OWCDIDIM27SSD10) as well so that you have the splitter cable and additional eSATA cable for this type of install. Retain the SSD to hard drive adapter from this kit, and you have a simple install when you replace the original hard drive or go to add additional SSD storage to your iMac.

One note: If you are not familiar with the different types of miniature and sub-miniature ribbon cable connectors you will encounter, exercise extreme caution. Get assistance, or perhaps play with a carcass of a modern LCD television or other device to develop the "feel" that is so important to avoiding damage to these cable types.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ImacGuy Location: San Jose, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent addition to my iMac 27" July 3, 2017 After upgrading to the 2TB flash drive, my iMac feels like a new computer. A few stats: 1. Boot time: Before: 1m12 secs (72s) After: 26s

2, Post boot login (time to to set in as a user and see the clock come on without any beachballs Before: 1m20secs (90s) After: 22s

3. Disk Throughput (via Blackmagic test) Write-speed: Before: 56 MB/s After: 249 MB/s Read-speed: Before: 60MB/s After: 266.5 MB/s

As an added bonus: the machine runs cooler and is totally silent! No more disk related noise and heat!

Excellent support from OWC. In the DIY kit, one of the suction cups wasn't working. They shipped a replacement right away.

Room for improvement: Since this is a pretty involved upgrade, I'd recommend OWC to add the following to their instructions: a) steps to prepare for actual disk upgrade: - take a full time-machine backup of the system - prepare a bootable thumb drive with the latest Mac OS X

b) additional stuff to get: - static guard wrist band - 1 or 2 cans of compressed air to clean lint/dust from innards c) actual hardware swap instructions: - add steps to do general cleaning of the innards. can be done after removing the old disk (as it will create more empty space. - for the cleaning itself, specific guidelines on where to start (top to bottom so that dust that falls from the top can be later cleaned) and how/where to point the air nozzle so that it gets the most dust/lint - for the temperature sensor cable detachment, where to hold the cable so that it comes out easily. - when connecting things back, orientation of the connectors: LCD and HDD temperature sensors: the 'conductor'/metallic part face the front of the iMac. LCD upper left v-sync cable: the 'conductor/metallic part' faces the back of the iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ITMusicMan Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD Upgrade Kit Worked Perfectly - iMac Better Than New June 26, 2017 My late 2009 iMac had gotten pokey over the last few years. The 1 TB SSD upgrade kit make it work much faster - like having a new computer. The kit came with absolutely everything required to execute the work. On line videos were extremely detailed and key to success of the replacement.

After watching the video several times, I ran it on my iPad while performing the work on the iMac, pausing at each step. Replacement of the hard drive went remarkably quickly. I purchased a hard drive enclosure for the old drive and used it to migrate the data. OTC provided an excellent instructions on data transfer.

I'm completely satisfied with the new hard drive and installation kit, and really love the new lease on life for my iMac. I was surprised to find that there is no 1 TB SSD option in a NEW iMac !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SkeeterJo Location: La Porte, IN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 IMac is now a speed demon! June 17, 2017 I am a 67 year old lady that has worked on computers since the old Commodore 64. So, I do have experience with the guts of computers and have fairly decent technique. I found this installation to be rather easy-just pay attention to the videos and one should be fine. Due to bad eyesight (double vision), the only snag that I had was seeing the connector when replacing the video cable. It was much easier for me to disconnect this cable from the LCD side as this connection seems to be sturdier and larger. Anyway, installation of SSD went smoothly and my iMac is running faster and without beachballs! I have a 2010 21.5inch mid-year IMac with 16GB of installed RAM. I am holding off buying a new IMAC for now as I should get a couple more years out of my machine. Highly Recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iEverything Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow.. Made my iMac new again ! April 6, 2017 What an improvement ! Old iMac works like new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dario
Rating: 4/5 Very good price/quality ratio April 2, 2017 Very good quality, easy to install if you follow video instructions. Only point that could be bettered, video shows how to disconnect flat signal cable from mainboard side. I found easier to work from LCD end. Sturdier connector, easier to locate when holding screen partially open. Think about this...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TomL Location: Davis, Ca Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Performance of a new machine for cost of SDD Drive March 16, 2017 OMG, my 2009 iMac, which I was about to give up on is now a screamer. The Mercury SDD drive went in in under an hour and has worked flawlessly. It is like I have a brand new machine. OWC's install video made the job incredibly easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SomeOldMacGuy Location: Somewhere, MA Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 DIY kit - great purchase! March 11, 2017 I bought this upgrade kit to extend the life of my aging 2009 27-inch iMac. The kit contains everything you need - tools, cables, SSD, and cleaning cloth. Installation was very straight-forward - just watch the video and you will have no trouble at all. One tip - might want to have some canned air handy to blow the dust out of the fans. The difference in performance is amazing. Well worth the money, highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Arnold Location: Gävle, Sweden Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I warmly recommend this exelent product March 9, 2017 This high-quality product made my old iMac 27 "into a modern rocket. I maximized its memory at the same time, which made my old computer faster and more able to cope heavy video editing. Shipping was very fast to Sweden, only two days. Product price is very humane considering the quality. Finally, I would say that all the previous products I purchased from OWC has the highest satisfaction. Thank you OWC. Larry/Sweden

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2009 - 2010 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD.. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle 2.0TB OWC 3G SSD and HDD Kit for Late 2009 - 2010 iMacs Mfr P/N: KITIM09HE2TB OWC SKU: OWCKITIM09HE2TB Complete DIY kit for upgrading your 2009 - 2010 iMac's hard drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $379.97Bundle Priced for $325.64
Add to CartOther World Computing KITIM09HE2TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $116.97
    • Bundle Priced for $48.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $126.97
    • Bundle Priced for $62.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $156.97
    • Bundle Priced for $102.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $221.97
    • Bundle Priced for $148.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB