Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

120GB OWC 6G SSD
and HDD Kit for all 2011 iMacs

Mac
Mercury Electra SSD and iMac HDD Kit
Upgrade with Confidence!
The complete solution for your 2011 iMac
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY SSD and hard drive replacement kit. Add an SSD to your hard drive equipped iMac to experience faster booting, near instant application launches and lightning fast data transfer speeds.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
With incredible sustained data speeds, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance, that's backed by an incredible OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.


Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
120GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 128GB
8GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
112 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
534MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
110MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 29,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 79,000 IOPS

Power

Read Mode (Max)
2.1W
Write Mode (Max)
2.1W
Seek Mode (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n KITIM11HE120 UPC#: 812437026016

Gallery

27" iMac Install Video


21.5" iMac Install Video


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5 , 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7

Includes

  • (1) OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) Torx T10 driver
  • (1) Torx T8 driver
  • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty on the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty on the OWC In-line Thermal Sensor cable

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty on the NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 25 out of 28 (89%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kalfan Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Outstanding upgrade for 2011 iMac 27" November 13, 2017 I've been very impressed with products and service from Macsales, particularly relating the linked extremely detailed Youtube videos. These videos are so well done you can prereview all aspects of the task at hand and then decide beforehand if this is something you are comfortable taking on. My 2011 iMac had a dead HDD and having successfully upgraded my 2009 MacBook Pro to a SSD was wondering if I could do the same with the iMac. There was a specific video I followed step by step with tips to avoid certain difficulties (like tiny screws being attracted to powerful magnets holding the glass in place). This upgrade has breathed new life into both my 2009 MacBook Pro and my 2011 iMac - both are performing better than new.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Garett Location: Vancouver Canada
Rating: 5/5 Install went well but connectors in video are really small October 24, 2017 Install was straightforward. Followed the easy video. The only caveat is that the connectors which look big in the video are very small. Fortunately, I had a friend to help me to hold screen while I disconnected it.

All is good. Very happy with the snappy performance of the SSD drive and faster boot.

Thanks again. Will be getting SSD upgrade for y personal at home Mac Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Pollinator Location: Vancouver, BC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So Fast, I lost my Hair! October 12, 2017 The placement of my hard drive to a SSD has been worth every penny! The tutorial video was very helpful and clear. I needed some assistance to transfer the data from my external drive to the new SSD. Fantastic support; highly professional, encouraging, patient and very clear in their advice. When I finally turned on my iMac, the instant speed and access to my programs were enough to lose my hair! I would highly recommend MACSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sydney2000 Location: Amarillo, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Every thing worked September 25, 2017 Used the 2.5" external case to put the SSD drive in to clone the internal drive on the iMac. Removed the cover screen and the Led screen. install the SSD in the carrier and attached with the cable provided. Reassembled every thing. Booted right up with no problems. Great Kit for installing SSD and Video instructions on you web site. Thank you

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 250GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jazzmen Location: Buenos Aires Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excelent product September 13, 2017 This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MikeMac
Rating: 5/5 Great purchase August 23, 2017 The hard drive on my 2011 Mac failed after 6 years of daily use. After exploring the OWC site I realized that I could replace it myself with a SSD for less than it would cost for a hard drive installed by Apple. The SSD and tools necessary to replace the drive arrived in 2 days as expected. Following the video instructions on their site I was able to successfully install the new SSD and now have a blazingly faster Mac. Great customer service! OWC called a few days later to find out how everything was going and if I had any questions.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ededed Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Tools are great, documentation needs refinement August 22, 2017 The tools the kit all worked fine. The problem I ran into were in the video tutorials. There is no specific video on the item page for simply replacing your main HD w/ an SSD. You can easily start down the wrong path by selecting a video that seems like the one you need.

Adding a video for replacing your main HD w/ a SSD would make it great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldHand Location: MS Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great service. Great product. Great price. July 18, 2017 The person I spoke with on the phone was very patient and helpful in narrowing down my needs. I ordered a solid state update drive for an iMac 2011. The price, including the install kit, was very good. The install video was very clear and easy to follow. I heartily recommend the product and the service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NoMorePCsPlease Location: Rocklin, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mandatory Upgrade July 13, 2017 Not new to the Mac scene, but not affluent enough to buy new iMacs...Yet. I saw a beautiful i7 2.8 Ghz iMac 2011 on CL and picked it up on the same day. It had the upgraded 2 TB HD which did not feel slow but just didn't feel snappy for todays standards. I googled a SSD swap for a 2001 iMac and up came OWC. After watching the online install video and finding the 256 SSD kit incredibly affordable, I purchased the kit and waited for it to arrive. It was a very simple install for me (never opened up an iMac before) and gives you a great excuse to dust and clean up the insides on your iMac. I will say that it is extremely helpful to also purchase an enclosure for your HD so that you can install macOS with little hassle once your iMac is reassembled. I installed everything at 2am and ended up having to wait for Fry's electronics to open so that I could boot up my machine with the original HD and install macOS Sierra fresh.Thumbs way up for such a well put together kit with a solid SSD and solid email/phone support from David! Thanks team - I also bought 32GB of OWC RAM (came today and I installed it in 15 minutes). SSD+32GB RAM = Sweet Spot for these wonderful machines.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Parky50 Location: Colorado Springs, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 DIY Kit for 2011 iMac 1.0TB OWC July 10, 2017 I am amazed... My 2011 iMac has never acted like this !!! I never realized how slow and clunky my iMac was until iI installed the DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD. All the applications simply pop right into action when opened. No more waiting when trying to access the more intensive applications. It's seriously like a brand new machine !!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Karma23 Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very well done April 11, 2017 Kit arrived promptly and all in good order. While somewhat difficult installation was straightforward with help from youtuble. Macsales sales staff and tech support are all first rate. Very helpful. My order was shipped to Canada and arrived in less than 5 business days. Only unfortunate thing is US/CAN exchange rates are atrocious so it was not inexpensive. I was unable to find this particular heat sensor available in Canada but Macsales.com made the process a breeze.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Weaves Location: Novi, MI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy March 31, 2017 Although I am an engineer, the videos and tools made this project a simple task for people of all skill levels. I was able to replace my old hard drive with an upgraded solid state drive in less than an hour. Great price, fast delivery, great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dumplins Location: Houston Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really nice upgrade March 21, 2017 Really improved performance. I did cheat though because I had a professional install the upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Willie Location: Navarre FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product so far and great customer service March 6, 2017 Purchased the SSD 1TB hard drive for my iMac mid 2011 to replace my failing regular drive. My computer is working just as good or better than when I purchased it new. Love the new drive. When watching the DIY video I was watching the wrong one otherwise very simple to install. I'm no computer genius but all is good for now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AndrewT Location: Marietta, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 100% compatible March 5, 2017 Competitively priced upgrades at affordable prices and a perfect fit everything.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jarkko Location: Vantaa, Finland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Couldn't be happier with this product February 21, 2017 First of all the package came super fast to Finland. The video on the website instructing how to replace the hard drive on a 2011 iMac was great. I was a little nervous at first but it went really good. Now the old iMac with a SSD drive works like a charm again! No need to upgrade the whole computer the drive upgrade was enough. Will order a new drive for my Macbook air next! Keep up the good work guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jhardnes
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery to Norway (14 days), and excellent product February 15, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mac73 Location: ny
Rating: 5/5 great drive January 4, 2017 super fast. Like I have a new Imac. Very impressed.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ghoniba Location: Toronto Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast! January 4, 2017 The installation went very well. The video demonstration was well done and easy to follow. Had the whole thing done in less than an hour. My iMac is now very fast. Tremendous improvement. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DaWill76 Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Kit... January 1, 2017 Really great the support you get from Other World Computing. The tool kit came out with the parts I ordered and I was able to follow the easy online videos to install the upgrade on my computer safely and easily. Thanks guys.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Thumpernator Location: Georgia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Great Performance! December 8, 2016 Easy upgrade after watching the installation videos. Watch the one for replacing the HD and not the one on how to ADD a SSD. You do not have to remove the optical drive and logic board. Mount the new drive in the adapter and install it where the original HD mounts. Use the included heat sensor harness.

Bootup time is three times faster and now all my programs open lightening fast. No more spinning disk to listen to. Love this upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ACT1999 Location: Houston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac late 2011 with new SSD December 3, 2016 Everything in the kit worked perfectly. The video was very detailed and informative. My only complaint was that it did not show where to place the heat sensor on the new SSD and the electrostatic pad on the old hard drive was not thick enough when placed on the replacement SSD. The updated video showed a regular size hard drive not an SSD. I would highly suggest getting the kit. The wires are relatively easy to disconnect but require care to execute.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Major Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Value! November 9, 2016 The SSD made my 2011 iMac a pleasure to use again... super fast boot & apps that respond like never before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jujago Location: Texas
Rating: 5/5 great ssd October 2, 2016 I'm so happy with my new hard driver

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Powerlgi Location: Korea, seoul Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thanks~ September 26, 2016 Product is perfect. Thanks~!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle 120GB OWC 6G SSD and HDD Kit for all 2011 iMacs Mfr P/N: KITIM11HE120 OWC SKU: OWCKITIM11HE120 Complete DIY kit for upgrading your 2011 iMac's hard drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $103.97Bundle Priced for $66.75
Add to CartOther World Computing KITIM11HE120 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $120.97
    • Bundle Priced for $73.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $156.97
    • Bundle Priced for $109.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $221.97
    • Bundle Priced for $168.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $366.97
    • Bundle Priced for $320.75