Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

1.0TB OWC 6G SSD
and HDD Kit for all 2011 iMacs

Mac
Mercury Electra SSD and iMac HDD Kit
Upgrade with Confidence!
The complete solution for your 2011 iMac
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY SSD and hard drive replacement kit. Add an SSD to your hard drive equipped iMac to experience faster booting, near instant application launches and lightning fast data transfer speeds.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance, the OWC Mercury 6G SSD line offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.


Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity 1
1000GB useable capacity
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Reads
(Compressible Data)
up to 532MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Compressible Data)
up to 467MB/s
Sequential Reads
(Incompressible Data)
up to 516MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Incompressible Data)
up to 408MB/s
Random 4K Read
up to 84,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
up to 81,000 IOPS

Power

Active
2.1 W
Idle
0.9 W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n KITIM11HE1TB UPC#: 812437026009

Gallery

27" iMac Install Video


21.5" iMac Install Video


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5 , 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7

Includes

  • (1) OWC Mercury 6G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) Torx T10 driver
  • (1) Torx T8 driver
  • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty on the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty on the OWC In-line Thermal Sensor cable

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty on the NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 25 out of 28 (89%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NoMorePCsPlease Location: Rocklin, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mandatory Upgrade July 13, 2017 Not new to the Mac scene, but not affluent enough to buy new iMacs...Yet. I saw a beautiful i7 2.8 Ghz iMac 2011 on CL and picked it up on the same day. It had the upgraded 2 TB HD which did not feel slow but just didn't feel snappy for todays standards. I googled a SSD swap for a 2001 iMac and up came OWC. After watching the online install video and finding the 256 SSD kit incredibly affordable, I purchased the kit and waited for it to arrive. It was a very simple install for me (never opened up an iMac before) and gives you a great excuse to dust and clean up the insides on your iMac. I will say that it is extremely helpful to also purchase an enclosure for your HD so that you can install macOS with little hassle once your iMac is reassembled. I installed everything at 2am and ended up having to wait for Fry's electronics to open so that I could boot up my machine with the original HD and install macOS Sierra fresh.Thumbs way up for such a well put together kit with a solid SSD and solid email/phone support from David! Thanks team - I also bought 32GB of OWC RAM (came today and I installed it in 15 minutes). SSD+32GB RAM = Sweet Spot for these wonderful machines.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Parky50 Location: Colorado Springs, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 DIY Kit for 2011 iMac 1.0TB OWC July 10, 2017 I am amazed... My 2011 iMac has never acted like this !!! I never realized how slow and clunky my iMac was until iI installed the DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD. All the applications simply pop right into action when opened. No more waiting when trying to access the more intensive applications. It's seriously like a brand new machine !!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Karma23 Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very well done April 11, 2017 Kit arrived promptly and all in good order. While somewhat difficult installation was straightforward with help from youtuble. Macsales sales staff and tech support are all first rate. Very helpful. My order was shipped to Canada and arrived in less than 5 business days. Only unfortunate thing is US/CAN exchange rates are atrocious so it was not inexpensive. I was unable to find this particular heat sensor available in Canada but Macsales.com made the process a breeze.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Weaves Location: Novi, MI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy March 31, 2017 Although I am an engineer, the videos and tools made this project a simple task for people of all skill levels. I was able to replace my old hard drive with an upgraded solid state drive in less than an hour. Great price, fast delivery, great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dumplins Location: Houston Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really nice upgrade March 21, 2017 Really improved performance. I did cheat though because I had a professional install the upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Willie Location: Navarre FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product so far and great customer service March 6, 2017 Purchased the SSD 1TB hard drive for my iMac mid 2011 to replace my failing regular drive. My computer is working just as good or better than when I purchased it new. Love the new drive. When watching the DIY video I was watching the wrong one otherwise very simple to install. I'm no computer genius but all is good for now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AndrewT Location: Marietta, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 100% compatible March 5, 2017 Competitively priced upgrades at affordable prices and a perfect fit everything.

This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jarkko Location: Vantaa, Finland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Couldn't be happier with this product February 21, 2017 First of all the package came super fast to Finland. The video on the website instructing how to replace the hard drive on a 2011 iMac was great. I was a little nervous at first but it went really good. Now the old iMac with a SSD drive works like a charm again! No need to upgrade the whole computer the drive upgrade was enough. Will order a new drive for my Macbook air next! Keep up the good work guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jhardnes
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery to Norway (14 days), and excellent product February 15, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mac73 Location: ny
Rating: 5/5 great drive January 4, 2017 super fast. Like I have a new Imac. Very impressed.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ghoniba Location: Toronto Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast! January 4, 2017 The installation went very well. The video demonstration was well done and easy to follow. Had the whole thing done in less than an hour. My iMac is now very fast. Tremendous improvement. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DaWill76 Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Kit... January 1, 2017 Really great the support you get from Other World Computing. The tool kit came out with the parts I ordered and I was able to follow the easy online videos to install the upgrade on my computer safely and easily. Thanks guys.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Thumpernator Location: Georgia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Great Performance! December 8, 2016 Easy upgrade after watching the installation videos. Watch the one for replacing the HD and not the one on how to ADD a SSD. You do not have to remove the optical drive and logic board. Mount the new drive in the adapter and install it where the original HD mounts. Use the included heat sensor harness.

Bootup time is three times faster and now all my programs open lightening fast. No more spinning disk to listen to. Love this upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ACT1999 Location: Houston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac late 2011 with new SSD December 3, 2016 Everything in the kit worked perfectly. The video was very detailed and informative. My only complaint was that it did not show where to place the heat sensor on the new SSD and the electrostatic pad on the old hard drive was not thick enough when placed on the replacement SSD. The updated video showed a regular size hard drive not an SSD. I would highly suggest getting the kit. The wires are relatively easy to disconnect but require care to execute.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Major Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Value! November 9, 2016 The SSD made my 2011 iMac a pleasure to use again... super fast boot & apps that respond like never before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jujago Location: Texas
Rating: 5/5 great ssd October 2, 2016 I'm so happy with my new hard driver

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Powerlgi Location: Korea, seoul Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thanks~ September 26, 2016 Product is perfect. Thanks~!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Lovemydrive Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Faster Processing September 21, 2016 Makes my iMac run faster than when it was new. Totally silent, of course. Be sure to watch the correct installation video if you are doing a drive replacement only; it is not necessary to remove the optical drive for this type of install. Also, the monitor cable is fragile. This was a great purchase and OWC is still the best place for MAC parts and service. Extremely pleased.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sisyphus Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Relatively straightforward upgrade September 18, 2016 I bought this to upgrade a failing hard drive in a maximum spec mid 2011 27" iMac (ie significant investment). Installation was relatively straightforward and the installation video was invaluable. One minor quibble - the supplied temperature cable differed slightly from that shown in the video which caused some minor confusion. I've had it installed for several months now and am very happy with the performance - booting/restarts are very fast. Delivery to Australia was also very quick. Overall, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Fastidious Location: San Francisco Bay area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This was fun but worth it. September 8, 2016 Taking the front of an iMac is a bit of a challenge, but after looking at the video, I decided to go for it. I replaced a crashed hard drive with an SSD so I would never have to do it again. The video explains how to replace the hard drive. Using the SSD and the carrier takes a little bit of reorientation, which the video does not show, but it is not hard. Be sure you have a safe place to lay the screen and the cover glass. I used the box the iMac came in. Also, you will need a second pair of hands to stabilize the computer itself when you remove and replace the glass.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Stickyrice101 Location: Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome upgrade for a slow HDD mac September 4, 2016 My 5 year old Mac has been resurrected. After my HDD started dying, I replaced it with this SDD upgrade and it functions with no dramas.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 All Great Except for Adaptadrive July 15, 2016 I bought this kit to replace the failed spinning hard drive that originally came with my 27" mid-2011 iMac. Everything was superb, except for the adaptadrive. The bracket itself fit perfectly, but the SATA controller board was faulty. This resulted in the iMac inconsistently recognizing the boot drive (would take me half-dozen reboots to boot into OS and once booted the SSD was slower than a spinning drive). I did not expect this as I have ordered parts from OWC in the past and never had any issues. After hours of troubleshooting everything else, a google search on the Newertech Adaptadrive showed me that I was not alone at that the Q.C. on these boards is not great. Luckily for me, I did not need the SATA controller board to use this in the iMac, so removed two screws and the board comes right off the bracket. Decided not to do a return for the product since I really just needed the bracket (I'm sure OWC would have been good about it had I contacted them). Once I bypassed the controller board on the Adaptadrive (i.e. I plugged the iMacs SATA cables directly into the SSD because they are plenty long enough), the SSD worked flawlessly. The In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable has been working as advertised as well and I have not had any overheating or fan noise issues. Overall, this was a great kit and my 5 year old iMac is still screaming fast. I removed one star because of the faulty controller board and I'm posting all of this detail in hopes that others won't waste hours of time troubleshooting the issue like I did.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Huntsville, AL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Faster iMac Now May 13, 2016 My original HD was getting more and more sluggish and since it's a 5 year old iMac I figured the HD was about to fail. The SSD kit was easy to install and the video was excellent with every little detail. Took me about an hour to do (had some trouble with one of the power plugs you have to unplug to disassemble the computer.) After restoring everything to the new SSD my iMac is noticeably faster now in opening Office files and with other productivity software. The computer is also markedly quieter now too and boots up a lot faster. I'm quite pleased with this product and recommend it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD..

DIY Bundle 1.0TB OWC 6G SSD and HDD Kit for all 2011 iMacs Mfr P/N: KITIM11HE1TB OWC SKU: OWCKITIM11HE1TB Complete DIY kit for upgrading your 2011 iMac's hard drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $216.97Bundle Priced for $159.75
Add to CartOther World Computing KITIM11HE1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $116.97
    • Bundle Priced for $63.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $126.97
    • Bundle Priced for $67.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $159.97
    • Bundle Priced for $102.75
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 25 Days
    • Only $401.97
    • Bundle Priced for $351.75