Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

1.0TB OWC 6G SSD
and HDD Kit for all 2011 iMacs

Mac
Mercury Electra SSD and iMac HDD Kit
Upgrade with Confidence!
The complete solution for your 2011 iMac
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY SSD and hard drive replacement kit. Add an SSD to your hard drive equipped iMac to experience faster booting, near instant application launches and lightning fast data transfer speeds.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance, the OWC Mercury 6G SSD line offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.


Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
1000GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 1024GB
24GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
931 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
532MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
467MB/s

Power

Read Mode (Max)
2.1W
Write Mode (Max)
2.1W
Seek Mode (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n KITIM11HE1TB UPC#: 812437026009

Gallery

27" iMac Install Video


21.5" iMac Install Video


This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5 , 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7

Includes

  • (1) OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) Torx T10 driver
  • (1) Torx T8 driver
  • (1) Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty on the OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty on the OWC In-line Thermal Sensor cable

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty on the NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 25 out of 28 (89%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Lovemydrive Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Faster Processing September 21, 2016 Makes my iMac run faster than when it was new. Totally silent, of course. Be sure to watch the correct installation video if you are doing a drive replacement only; it is not necessary to remove the optical drive for this type of install. Also, the monitor cable is fragile. This was a great purchase and OWC is still the best place for MAC parts and service. Extremely pleased.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sisyphus Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Relatively straightforward upgrade September 18, 2016 I bought this to upgrade a failing hard drive in a maximum spec mid 2011 27" iMac (ie significant investment). Installation was relatively straightforward and the installation video was invaluable. One minor quibble - the supplied temperature cable differed slightly from that shown in the video which caused some minor confusion. I've had it installed for several months now and am very happy with the performance - booting/restarts are very fast. Delivery to Australia was also very quick. Overall, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Fastidious Location: San Francisco Bay area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This was fun but worth it. September 8, 2016 Taking the front of an iMac is a bit of a challenge, but after looking at the video, I decided to go for it. I replaced a crashed hard drive with an SSD so I would never have to do it again. The video explains how to replace the hard drive. Using the SSD and the carrier takes a little bit of reorientation, which the video does not show, but it is not hard. Be sure you have a safe place to lay the screen and the cover glass. I used the box the iMac came in. Also, you will need a second pair of hands to stabilize the computer itself when you remove and replace the glass.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Stickyrice101 Location: Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome upgrade for a slow HDD mac September 4, 2016 My 5 year old Mac has been resurrected. After my HDD started dying, I replaced it with this SDD upgrade and it functions with no dramas.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 All Great Except for Adaptadrive July 15, 2016 I bought this kit to replace the failed spinning hard drive that originally came with my 27" mid-2011 iMac. Everything was superb, except for the adaptadrive. The bracket itself fit perfectly, but the SATA controller board was faulty. This resulted in the iMac inconsistently recognizing the boot drive (would take me half-dozen reboots to boot into OS and once booted the SSD was slower than a spinning drive). I did not expect this as I have ordered parts from OWC in the past and never had any issues. After hours of troubleshooting everything else, a google search on the Newertech Adaptadrive showed me that I was not alone at that the Q.C. on these boards is not great. Luckily for me, I did not need the SATA controller board to use this in the iMac, so removed two screws and the board comes right off the bracket. Decided not to do a return for the product since I really just needed the bracket (I'm sure OWC would have been good about it had I contacted them). Once I bypassed the controller board on the Adaptadrive (i.e. I plugged the iMacs SATA cables directly into the SSD because they are plenty long enough), the SSD worked flawlessly. The In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable has been working as advertised as well and I have not had any overheating or fan noise issues. Overall, this was a great kit and my 5 year old iMac is still screaming fast. I removed one star because of the faulty controller board and I'm posting all of this detail in hopes that others won't waste hours of time troubleshooting the issue like I did.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Huntsville, AL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Faster iMac Now May 13, 2016 My original HD was getting more and more sluggish and since it's a 5 year old iMac I figured the HD was about to fail. The SSD kit was easy to install and the video was excellent with every little detail. Took me about an hour to do (had some trouble with one of the power plugs you have to unplug to disassemble the computer.) After restoring everything to the new SSD my iMac is noticeably faster now in opening Office files and with other productivity software. The computer is also markedly quieter now too and boots up a lot faster. I'm quite pleased with this product and recommend it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit for 2011 iMac's factory HDD: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD..

DIY Bundle 1.0TB OWC 6G SSD and HDD Kit for all 2011 iMacs Mfr P/N: KITIM11HE1TB OWC SKU: OWCKITIM11HE1TB Complete DIY kit for upgrading your 2011 iMac's hard drive 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $221.97Bundle Priced for $168.75
Add to CartOther World Computing KITIM11HE1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $103.97
    • Bundle Priced for $66.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $120.97
    • Bundle Priced for $73.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: 5 Days
    • Only $156.97
    • Bundle Priced for $109.75
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $366.97
    • Bundle Priced for $320.75