Home » External Drives and Enclosures

OWC Envoy Pro

Portable, Bus-Powered USB 3.0 SSD Enclosure

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Ultra-portable, bus-powered external SSD enclosure designed to complement the 2012 / early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display1
The OWC Envoy Pro combines elegance and functionality for sleek, portable external storage that complements the design and finish of the MacBook® Pro with Retina display. Its aluminum body protects your drive and data, while its minimal size allows for simple stowing in coat pockets, backpacks or briefcases.

The USB 3.0 interface offers speedy transfer rates of up to 500MB/s and the Envoy Pro requires no AC power adapter making it the ideal Plug and Play USB bus-powered* SSD Enclosure.
1. The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure is specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD installed in select Apple Macintosh computers. Do NOT attempt to install or use OWC Aura or Aura Pro X SSDs in the Envoy Pro as you may damage the OWC drive, the enclosure, or both, and such damage is not covered under warranty.
The OWC Envoy Pro can fit SSDs from: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,1
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5 , 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7

Includes

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • High-performance ASMedia 1053e chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 interface (Micro-B port)

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • One Micro-B USB 3.0 port, up to 500MB/s

Features

  • Bus-powered* via USB 3.0 port (no AC adapter required)
  • Complements rMBP design, aluminum finish
  • Super-quiet, fanless operation
  • Non-skid rubber feet

System Requirements

  • Mac® Requirements: Mac OS 10.3 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • PC Requirements: Windows XP or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux® Requirements: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Cooling

  • Silent, fanless operation

Power Supply

  • Bus-powered* via USB port (no AC adapter required)

Drive Requirements

  • Compatible with the stock Apple Flash SSD module for the 13" or 15" MacBook Pro Retina model.

External Case Dimensions

  • 2.125 in (W) x 4.5 in (D) x .4375 in (H)
  • 53.98 mm (W) x 114.3 mm (D) x 11.11mm (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 3.4 ounces (empty case, no drive installed)
Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MAU3ENVOYPRO UPC#: 794504793628

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 59 out of 63 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: microman66
Rating: 5/5 Great July 22, 2021 Got files off my daughters 2015 MacBook Pro that wouldn’t boot, Next step is to boot on a Linux machine and try DDrescue or Parted Magic, but nice to be able to copy off some important files but the finder would freeze and I would have to reboot, but then would work again Got all files I could see

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Response from OWC, Support July 23, 2021 Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to use the Envoy Pro enclosure to offload important files off your daughters 2015 MacBook Pro!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ModernSwan-81361
Rating: 4/5 it worked June 22, 2021 My mac book air quit responding so I hoped I cold at least read the memory into another mac. I transferred the internal "hard drive drive" into the enclosure and sure enough I could read it. After copying most of what I needed onto other drives I pluged the enclosure into the USB port of my "dead" computer. It started right up. I transferred the memory back into the interior of the computer and with a few exceptions life is back to normal. Well worth the $116.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Response from OWC, Support June 22, 2021 Hi ModernSwan! I'm glad OWC was able to help you retrieve data from your MBA hard drive. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CleverRhinoceros-63001
Rating: 1/5 The SSD Drive will not mount June 4, 2021 - the cable is not capable of maintaining a stable enough link to mount the drive

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ThoughtfulFlamingo-88231
Rating: 5/5 Neat little device May 28, 2021 SSD was easy to install, worked perfectly. Came with a pouch, but it only fits the enclosure. Nowhere for the (non-standard) USB cable to go

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AnimalRadio
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive! April 29, 2021 Solid exclosure. Fast service from OWC, as always.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VastFerret-30546
Rating: 5/5 Useful part. April 28, 2021 Works with the old PowerBook SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LongGrasshopper-96558
Rating: 5/5 Simple and Fast April 27, 2021 My old MacBook Pro decided to show some motherboard issues all of the sudden. I was quoted a price to remove the hard drive and put in an enclosure, but this was less expensive route. With the right tools it took hardly anytime and the video tutorial was easy to follow.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: QuaintElephant-62482
Rating: 5/5 does what it says April 26, 2021 works as advertised. no problems

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BobHoot
Rating: 3/5 Overbuilt and expensive April 25, 2021 It's very nice, but is overbuilt. It's the only enclosure of its kind I could find. Seems expensive.

This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EncouragingCamel-65618
Rating: 5/5 Great enclosure April 23, 2021 Helped a friend upgrade to a larger SSD on his Macbook Air 2014, and this was perfect to clone the original hard drive to the new one!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Reviewer: Power
Rating: 4/5 Cannot connect with USB-C adapter September 23, 2020 I have a newer Macbook that I was trying to use to read the data off my old SSD. Problem is, my macbook only has USB-C ports. So I tried using USB to USB-C adapter but looks like doesn't get enough power so the drive disconnects spontaneously. I have tried 3 different adapters, even the official one from Apple.

The only thing I got to work is connecting it to a Mac that actually has USB ports. Good luck!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LittleVoice Location: SW Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Apple SSDs reborn August 26, 2020 I've upgraded the factory SSD in a Mac Pro, a MacBook Air and a Mac mini. The three originals are now in Envoy Pro enclosures for complete backups, after an easy migration each time. BTW, the enclosure barely gets warm while copying the entire drive. And once those backups are no longer needed, I will have three external drives. Excellent product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mayoo Location: mexico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excelente!! August 22, 2020 muy bueno, aqui en mexico no encontre , asi que lo mande pedir, me gusto mucho, la mac lo reconoce sin problemas!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CameInHandy Location: Birmingham, AL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A little pricey but solid August 19, 2020 It’s pricey but it is solid and fitment is perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AJC53 Location: Potomac, MD. Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC Envoy Pro August 11, 2020 The most important aspect of this product is that it works on my 2014 MacBook SSD. It was very easy to attached my old drive to the electronics in the unit. The construction and materials (all metal) are top notch. So all-in-all it's a quality product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TheyCallMeMrZ Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect August 16, 2019 This was the perfect way to store and access my 2014 MBP SSD Drive. Simple, sleek and easy. One note. You need the proper screwdriver. It's not standard flat or Phillips, but if you already have a Mac tool kit then you're good to go.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Reviewer: LITTLEBUN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent February 28, 2019 Kept my Macbook Pro alive while I got an RMA on one of the larger SSDs I replaced it with. It is only made for Apple SSD drives but regardless it rocks. Do not put your larger OWC drive in it....I found out the hard way. Still, it turns your drive into a beautifully contained hard cased drive that can be found on startup in a Macbook Pro with no drive. It is virtually as fast as the PCIE connector through a USB so, awesome.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RightToRepair
Rating: 5/5 $900 value February 3, 2019 Amazing product, I feel so bad for customers being ripped off by apple.

I asked apple to recover the data from my old computer, i knew they could do it because the hard drive was fine. They told me they couldn't do it and that I should call d***e s****s. I called d***e s****s and explained that my hard drive was perfectly fine but that my computer just wouldn't charge. They told me it would be around $1000 and there was no guarantee they could get anything off my hard drive. Unsatisfied, i hung up the phone and found this product online. within 20 minutes I had the entire contents of my old computer accessible on an external hard drive. I can't believe it was this easy!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LoveGreatProducts Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Product worked exactly as expected and delivery faster than expected. October 26, 2018 My MacBook suddenly stopped working. The repair shop gave me the hard drive so that I could back-up my data and continue working on a project that I was in the middle of at the time. I ordered this enclosure and the special screw driver set. Within three days I received the products and borrowed a friend's MacBook to back up my data and continue working on my project.

I was amazed at how fast the items arrived considering they were shipped from the US to Canada.

The manual that came with the enclosure had an exhaustive list of MacBook models that it was compatible with. My particular model wasn't listed in the little manual but I went ahead and installed the hard drive in it as it was listed as comparable on OWC's website. It worked flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ryguy Location: Virginia Beach, VA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product October 21, 2018 Easy to use with my old SSD very well made

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Themy
Rating: 5/5 Works great! October 8, 2018 This is very easy to put together and it works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Horace
Rating: 5/5 great build quality October 8, 2018 This is a really well made device. Looks good, solidly built, nicely designed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Raredave Location: Indiana Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Enclosure for SSD Macbook Air 2013+ October 7, 2018 It works great. Pricey but worth it.

This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: yukon Location: Eagle River, Alaska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly and as specified. July 26, 2018 Works perfectly and as described.. Simple install too. durable and I am certain reliable too. Would buy again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NickOTime Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 So good, it just works! July 9, 2018 I was surprised how easy it was to set and how well it works. So simple and good that it just works. Very well designed and built.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

*Requires USB 3.0 standard powered port. USB 2.0 use not supported or recommended.
OWC Envoy™ Pro SSD Enclosure Mfr P/N: MAU3ENVOYPRO OWC SKU: OWCMAU3ENVOYPRO Portable, Bus-Powered* USB 3.0 Enclosure 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $54.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MAU3ENVOYPRO In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Options: For Apple SSDs from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $98.99
For Apple SSDs from select 2012-2013 MacBook Pro and iMac Models
  • 0GB