Home » External Drives and Enclosures

OWC Envoy Pro

Portable, Bus-Powered USB 3.0 SSD Enclosure

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Ultra-portable, bus-powered external SSD enclosure designed to complement the 2012 / early 2013 MacBook Pro with Retina display1
The OWC Envoy Pro combines elegance and functionality for sleek, portable external storage that complements the design and finish of the MacBook® Pro with Retina display. Its aluminum body protects your drive and data, while its minimal size allows for simple stowing in coat pockets, backpacks or briefcases.

The USB 3.0 interface offers speedy transfer rates of up to 500MB/s and the Envoy Pro requires no AC power adapter making it the ideal Plug and Play USB bus-powered* SSD Enclosure.
1. The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure is specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD installed in select Apple Macintosh computers. Do NOT attempt to install or use OWC Aura or Aura Pro X SSDs in the Envoy Pro as you may damage the OWC drive, the enclosure, or both, and such damage is not covered under warranty.
The OWC Envoy Pro can fit SSDs from: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(January, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2012-2013)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,1
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(October 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5 , 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7

Includes

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • High-performance ASMedia 1053e chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 interface (Micro-B port)

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • One Micro-B USB 3.0 port, up to 500MB/s

Features

  • Bus-powered* via USB 3.0 port (no AC adapter required)
  • Complements rMBP design, aluminum finish
  • Super-quiet, fanless operation
  • Non-skid rubber feet

System Requirements

  • Mac® Requirements: Mac OS 10.3 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • PC Requirements: Windows XP or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux® Requirements: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Cooling

  • Silent, fanless operation

Power Supply

  • Bus-powered* via USB port (no AC adapter required)

Drive Requirements

  • Compatible with the stock Apple Flash SSD module for the 13" or 15" MacBook Pro Retina model.

External Case Dimensions

  • 2.125 in (W) x 4.5 in (D) x .4375 in (H)
  • 53.98 mm (W) x 114.3 mm (D) x 11.11mm (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 3.4 ounces (empty case, no drive installed)
Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MAU3ENVOYPRO UPC#: 794504793628

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 58 out of 62 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 The only product that works with Apple SSDs March 12, 2016 After I upgraded my Macbook Pro to a 1TB SSD, I had my old 512 GB drive, but I couldn't use it, so it just sat in an antistatic bag for over a year. When I saw this, I ordered it right away, and am happy to be able to use my old drive as a secondary disk.

The only bad thing about it is that it's speeds are nowhere near the drive when it is installed in the computer - With the drive in the computer, I see speeds of 600-860 MB/s R/W, with it in the envoy pro, I see speeds of 200-360MB/s R/W. This is with the drive about half full, it will get much slower if you let it get more than 90% full.

Other than the speed issues, the enclosure works well. It's milled from aluminum and matches the look and feel of my macbook pro very well. It is bootable, so I'll probably partition it and use it as a bootcamp / mac os upgrade test disk.

It would have been great to have this in 2014 when I upgraded my SSD, as in order to transfer my data from my old SSD to my new one, I had to back up my old SSD to an external drive and then restore it to the new SSD, with this enclosure, it would have been much easier and faster.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami Beach Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Enclosures are great, especially when upgrading to a new Laptop! February 6, 2016 We use these enclosures all the time when clients bring us computers that are no longer worth fixing. We tell them to recycle the computer but hang on to the backup drive we provided! Enclosures are great, especially when upgrading to a new Laptop!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select SSD/Flash Drives from Apple 2013 to 2015 mod.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Life Saver January 26, 2016 I dumped water in my MacBook Pro (late 2013) and ruined the computer. The Apple store confirmed the motherboard was shot, but the hard drive was fine. I bought a replacement Mac and Apple said they could restore my data, but it would take 3 days. I ordered the OWC Envoy Pro while I was in the Apple store and had it shipped overnight. Less than 24 hours later I had my data restored on my new machine. The OWC enclosure was a little pricey, but well worth the cost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Saved my tush January 3, 2016 When Apple couldn't, OWC could. I unfortunately dropped a gallon of water on my 15inch Macbook Pro. Apple was unable to recover the information (or refused to, take your choice of words). After installing my SSD in the enclosure, perfection, instant success, saved all of my data, and now I have a super fast time-machine thats portable. Happy customer, will come back again and again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: wien Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 1/5 is very bad, does not boot January 2, 2016 is very bad, it also write on facebook! does not boot

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Response from OWC, Technical Support January 6, 2016 The solution is fully bootable on a USB 3.0 equipped Mac (or PC that can boot via USB) and we are certainly happy to work with you to resolve any OS installation support, etc. that could be needed. We do not understand the reference to Facebook with respect to the drive operation. Thank you.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: foulgernz Location: Auckland New Zealand Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Expensive but Invaluable November 26, 2015 Whilst it is somewhat expensive and the overseas freight charge make it even more so, It is the only device available for newer Apple and Samsung SSD's. In my work I use it to test SSD's or to retrieve data from damaged computers and I find it invaluable. Sometimes it doesn't connect straight away at boot up (on a Macbook Pro retina) but unplugging it and plugging it back in restores functionality. Having said that, it is extremely well made and comes with a pouch for storage. Its paid for itself by now and is a valuable addition to my toolkit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Walla Walla, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked great. August 10, 2015 Needed to recover data from a MacBook Air that would not boot. I removed the SSD card and put it in this enclosure and was able to recoiver everything. I coudn't be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Pro USB 3.0 Portable Enclosure for select Apple SSD/Flash Drives from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mesa, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works perfect, but pricey. June 11, 2015 This worked just like the catalog said it would: mounted my boss's MBP SSD drive so it could be cloned. Nice, compact, came with 3.0USB cord (initially it was forgotten in shipment, but OWC overnighted one to me). My only complaint is that the price was a little high when you see on Amazon that a similar product for a 4th of the price exists.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami Beach Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Quality Product & Shipped Immediately As Promised! June 1, 2015 Great Quality Product & Shipped Immediately As Promised! Would definitely recommend this Vendor & their Products!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reading UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and beautiful desktop furniture! December 5, 2014 I purchased this after having already purchased an OWC SSD - how dumb am I? that cost me extra when it would have cost less as a 'package deal'! Great enclosure for my old SSD which now holds all my cloned OS and backup photo files, and works really fast (as it should). And it's great looking alongside the MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Data recovery tool that looks great August 27, 2014 Top gear to get when upgrading the regular SSD in your rMBP. Why not reuse the old SSD when adding a larger capacity after-market drive. Also invaluable for data recovery on these models when your mac no longer turns on.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 blazing speed elegant design July 15, 2014 Its awesome to be able to repurpose the SSDs that I replaced in my older machines. Great Product as always, really appreciate the 0GB config.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

*Requires USB 3.0 standard powered port. USB 2.0 use not supported or recommended.
OWC Envoy™ Pro SSD Enclosure Mfr P/N: MAU3ENVOYPRO OWC SKU: OWCMAU3ENVOYPRO Portable, Bus-Powered* USB 3.0 Enclosure 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $54.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MAU3ENVOYPRO In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Options: For Apple SSDs from most 2013 to 2015 Mac Models
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $98.99
For Apple SSDs from select 2012-2013 MacBook Pro and iMac Models
  • 0GB