OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury Elite Pro

12.0TB 7200 RPM Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.1 Gen 1 / FireWire 800 / eSATA
Outstanding Features
High Performance
Next-gen high-speed chipsets combined with the fastest SATA drive mechanisms available allow Mercury Elite Pro Solutions to deliver the fastest single drive transfer rates possible, up to 300 Megabytes Per Second!
High Reliability
A top-notch design and the best components ensure the Mercury Elite Pro Series is built to last. The included 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty backs this up!
High Portability
The compact and shock-resistant design has the Mercury Elite Pro Series going places! In addition, the Mercury Elite Pro offers (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1), (2) FireWire 800(1394B), and (1) eSATA ports for easy Plug and Play on virtually ANY system! Even the cables are included!
Style
Designed to complement any user's system, the Mercury Elite Pro was created in mind with the Mac Pro system as a starting point. As the pictures show, it's a fine storage solution for any computer.
From day one, the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Series has been designed to be everything you would hope for and more!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro External Drive
  • High Quality Double Shielded eSATA connecting cable (eSATA - eSATA)
  • High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 Standard-B to Standard-A (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1) connecting cable
  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v input, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 3 Amp output Power Supply (adapter plugs for International use sold separately). For replacement power supply, click here.
  • Vertical Stand
  • Mercury Elite Pro Assembly Manual & User Guide (1.3 MB)

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • JMicron JMB355 (eSATA/Firewire)
  • JMicron JMS562 (USB)

Standard Mechanism

    12.0TB Toshiba MG07ACA12TE Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    3.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6Gb/s
    Capacity1
    12.0TB
    Formatted Capacity2
    11176GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    256MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    MG07ACA12TE
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    26.1mm (1.03″)
    Width (max)
    101.9mm (4.00″)
    Length (max)
    147mm (5.79″)
    Weight (typical)
    720g (1.587 lbs.)
    Number of Disks
    9
    Bytes per Sector
    512

    Reliability3

    MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    2,500,000 hours
    Contact Start-Stops
    600,000
    Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    1 per 1016 bits read

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6 Gb/sec

    Power

    Read Power
    7.5 Watts
    Write Power
    7.5 Watts
    Idle Mode, Active
    3.9 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    70 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    41°F to 131°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    5°C to 55°C
    Vibration
    0.75 G, with 5 - 300 Hz
    0.25 G, with 300 - 500 Hz
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 90%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    250 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 158°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 70°C
    Vibration
    3.00 G, with 5 - 500 Hz
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 95%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    2.0 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  • 12.0TB* Toshiba Enterprise Capacity Hard Disk Drive**
  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Drive Cache Size

  • 256MB

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200RPM

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – (1) B Standard-B port
  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin ports
  • eSATA – 1 port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – Up to 300MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – Up to 1.5MB/sec
  • FireWire 800 – Up to 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – Up to 50MB/sec
  • eSATA – Up to 300 MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • eSATA*: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0/3.1 Gen 1: Supported on Macs and PCs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. Including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 2.0)
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Macintosh with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0  expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Macintosh with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA  expander card.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Windows XP and later with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Windows 2000 and later with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Windows 2000 and late with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Windows 2000 and later with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA expander card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Format

Power Supply

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.5 in (W) x 9 in (D) x 4.6 in (H)
  • 38.1mm x 228.6mm x 116.84mm

Total Shipping Weight

  • Approximately 2.7 pounds (1.2kg)

Compatibility Notes

*With certain eSATA interfaces an improperly dismounted message may appear following sleep. This message can be ignored.

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF (hours)

  • 1,200,000

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 300,000
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ME3QH7T12.0 UPC#: 810586031745

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 143 out of 151 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Tons of storage & usable with older computers January 9, 2016 Recently bought my dream Imac 27" with 4Ghz processor. Needed a fast 7200 dedicated Back-up HD with tons of capacity. It works with USB-3 on the Imac; & Firewire 800 with my MBP. eSata is also available, but MBP has some issues with that. The unit can be switched off to save electricity. The USB-3 sockets are inaccessible on the Imac, which annoys me, but I leave it permanently plugged in, which suits me well enough. Using CCC to clone my entire hard drive takes only minutes, except of course for the 1st time ( which is still quick) Its quiet & I'm very happy with it. As for durability I only have it for 3 months, but its obvious quality gives me confidence that it will last.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boulder Creek, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good backup drive December 6, 2015 I use this as a backup drive with Carbon Copy Cloner and it works great. I can boot to this drive when I need to do maintenance on my normal boot drive and never miss a beat. Great product from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 When they are reliable, why buy anywhere else? November 26, 2015 I bought this drive because of I needed more space to back up as a Time Machine and I have used it twice already and it performed just the way you would want a reliable product to.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Faulous November 26, 2015 Very well made.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The drive is excellent. November 19, 2015 The page the drive is on states it works with Firewire 800 and 400. It does not tell you that you need to buy a 800 to 400 cable to use the FW 400. I called about that because the salesman told me that every cable I needed came with the drive, I had even questioned him as to how I get from 800 to 400 and he stated again all the cables you need come with it. Well the 800 to 400 does not, Anyway after I called and talked with customer service they sent me a 800 to 400 cable. Unfortunately they sent me the shortest cable I believe they have, it is only about 6 inches long and of no use to me. I need at least a 3 ft cable. The drive itself is excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 great November 17, 2015 working fine for a couple of months now

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This was exactly what I was looking for! October 24, 2015 I asked the apple forums for advice on an external hard drive that was already set up for apple products. I got multiple recommendations for this product and OWC. I am very satisfied with their customer service and the speed in the delivery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Smky Mtns Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Purchase October 18, 2015 I bought this as a backup with Time Machine. Since I have a lot of files, I needed a larger capacity external hard drive. This one works flawlessly so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NE Pennsylvania Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 High SPL for in-room Hi Fi use October 11, 2015 This is not a review of the functionality, speed or reliability of this external drive, and so if that is your interest, please disregard this review. The other OWC products I have purchased have been completely satisfactory and met my needs and expectations.

However, if (like me) you are looking for an external drive to use in your listening room to store high-res digital music downloads, you might want to buy a different drive. When selected as an active drive, the unit generates a significant amount of noise, enough to disturb listening at low to moderate listening levels.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cuyahoga Falls OH Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product. Worked well right out of the box. October 4, 2015 This product is used as a TimeMachine to back-up one of my Apple machines. It worked well right out of the box. I've purchased a couple of these in the past and have been very pleased with their performance. Would recommend it to friends.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect with my Lightroom pictures September 26, 2015 I use this Mercury Elite Pro with my Dell PC as the primary storage for all my pictures for use with Lightroom photography software. It works great and the speed is terrific. No different between the speed of the on board drive and the eSata Mercury Elite Pro. I highly recommend this drive.

This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Great so far September 25, 2015 I use two of these for external off-site backups for my Mac Pro, plugged into the external SATA ports of the Mercury E2 ssd blades. I have never had a problem with these and it's been a couple years now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive - Solid and Quiet September 21, 2015 Using this as my primary backup drive for a new iMac Retina, and it's working like a charm. Placing it in the stand on it's side reduces the foot print, and keeps the drive very quiet. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone as their primary "Time Machine" backup drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Santa Fe, NM Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Top Notch Product at a Great Price September 14, 2015 This enclosure provides the most consistent quality, durability, usability and versatility of any product on the market, bar none. It also happens to be very reasonably priced. I have come to expect these features on every product I've ever purchased from OWC and this is no exception. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best eSATA/FW/USB Enclosures Are from OWC September 9, 2015 I've got a total of 3 now (one being the previous generation) and they work flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Kit w/Software Bundle.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Essex, MA Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 drives with names September 8, 2015 I always shop OWC first for external drives; they state up-front what the brand of the drive is, and their selection is always what I would have chosen.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 16, 2015 The product arrived on time and hs no problem at all. This product is ease of use (assembly, etc..).

Thanks again. Chuck

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, Il Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A Fast Drive August 11, 2015 This drive works as advertised. It's fast, and designed well. I cannot give it 5 stars though as the fan tends to be a little noisy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 5.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Very nice. August 1, 2015 This enclosure is great. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because of the sleep/wake issue when using eSATA with the Mercury Accelsior eSATA ports. Something having to do with the Oxford chipset in the enclosure? It's really a minor issue but something to be aware of.

This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It does the job .... July 30, 2015 And I don't have to think about it. AT ALL.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect July 29, 2015 The 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro works awesome! Its plugged in & working. I have never received something so fast. Literally the next day without expediting. It was like if there was a truck full of OWC products just driving around waiting to fulfill orders.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I love these enclosures July 28, 2015 The Mercury Elite Pro enclosures are a solid and durable home for your hard drives. They are easy to open up and install any SATA drive, even for the technically challenged. Have six of these hooked up to my 2009 Mac Pro (via FW800 / eSATA) and the industrial design matches the aesthetic of this classic Apple workstation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great July 3, 2015 Easy to set up, and fast, I have clone all my computer and still have enough space. The best this Mercury Elite Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arlington, VA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 How to make this drive work with Adobe Premiere June 15, 2015 adobe premiere does not see owc hd drives when the drive is setup with the owc software that is delivered with the drive

when using the owc software there is a checkbox for "Add Factory Custom Icon" when this is checked it adds the owc icon to the drive but also adds an extended attribute to the drive the extended attribute can be seen in a terminal shell. \Volumes\ls -al@ drwxrwxr-x@ OWC HD com.apple.FinderInfo the extended attribute added to the drive is com.apple.FinderInfo you will need to remove the extended attribute from the drive to make it available to see in adobe premiere you can do this in a terminal shell by running this command line xattr -d com.apple.FinderInfo /Volumes/OWC\ HD after this command is ran you will need to unmount and re-mount the external drive now you can access the drive in adobe premiere

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newark, DE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid and reliable! June 15, 2015 I love this drive and enclosure. This is my second Mercury Elite Pro drive/enclosure. The last one I bought still works perfectly, I just needed more storage and this was a no brainer. Order with confidence!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

OWC 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Mfr P/N: ME3QH7T12.0 OWC SKU: OWCME3QH7T12.0 Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $519.99OWC Price $449.99
Add to CartOther World Computing ME3QH7T12.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Cyber Saver $149.99
  • 3.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $179.99
    • Cyber Saver $169.99
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.99
    • Cyber Saver $198.99
  • 5.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.99
    • Cyber Saver $179.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 6.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $249.99
    • Cyber Saver $249.99
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $329.99
    • Cyber Saver $329.99
  • 12.0TB
  • 14.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $619.99
    • OWC Price $594.99
Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.95
    • OWC Price $84.99