Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury Elite Pro

4.0TB 7200 RPM Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.1 Gen 1 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) / eSATA
Outstanding Features
High Performance
Next-gen high-speed chipsets combined with the fastest SATA drive mechanisms available allow Mercury Elite Pro Solutions to deliver the fastest single drive transfer rates possible, up to 300 Megabytes Per Second!
High Reliability
A top-notch design and the best components ensure the Mercury Elite Pro Series is built to last. The included 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty backs this up!
High Portability
The compact and shock-resistant design has the Mercury Elite Pro Series going places! In addition, the Mercury Elite Pro offers (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1), (2) FireWire 800(1394B), and (1) eSATA ports for easy Plug and Play on virtually ANY system! Even the cables are included!
Style
Designed to complement any user's system, the Mercury Elite Pro was created in mind with the Mac Pro system as a starting point. As the pictures show, it's a fine storage solution for any computer.
From day one, the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Series has been designed to be everything you would hope for and more!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro External Drive
  • High Quality Double Shielded eSATA connecting cable (eSATA - eSATA)
  • High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 Standard-B to Standard-A (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1) connecting cable
  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v input, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 3 Amp output Power Supply (adapter plugs for International use sold separately). For replacement power supply, click here.
  • Vertical Stand
  • Mercury Elite Pro Assembly Manual & User Guide (1.3 MB)

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • JMicron JMB355 (eSATA/Firewire)
  • JMicron JMS562 (USB)

Standard Mechanism

  • 4.0TB Toshiba MD04ACA400 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    3.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Capacity1
    4.0TB
    Formatted Capacity2
    3720GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    128MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    MD04ACA400
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    26.1mm (1.027″)
    Width (max)
    101.6mm (4.0″)
    Length (max)
    147mm (5.787″)
    Weight (typical)
    720g (1.587 lbs.)
    Bytes per Sector
    512 / 4096

    Reliability3

    MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    1,400,000 hours
    Load/Unload
    600,000 times
    Warranty
    2 Year Toshiba Limited Warranty

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6.0Gb/s
    Average Seek Time
    8.5ms
    Average Latency
    4.17ms

    Power

    Read Power
    11.3 Watts
    Write Power
    11.3 Watts
    Idle Mode
    6.0 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    70 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Vibration
    0.75 G (5 to 500 Hz)
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    8% to 90%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    300 G max at 1ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 158°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 70°C
    Vibration
    1.04 G (5 to 500 Hz)
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 95%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    3.1 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    4.0TB* Toshiba MD04ACA Series Hard Disk Drive**
  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Drive Cache Size

  • 128 Megabyte (131,072k)

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200RPM

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – (1) B Standard-B port
  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin ports
  • eSATA – 1 port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – Up to 300MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – Up to 1.5MB/sec
  • FireWire 800 – Up to 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – Up to 50MB/sec
  • eSATA – Up to 300 MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • eSATA*: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0/3.1 Gen 1: Supported on Macs and PCs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. Including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 2.0)
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Macintosh with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0  expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Macintosh with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA  expander card.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Windows XP and later with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Windows 2000 and later with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Windows 2000 and late with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Windows 2000 and later with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA expander card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Format

Power Supply

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.5 in (W) x 9 in (D) x 4.6 in (H)
  • 38.1mm x 228.6mm x 116.84mm

Total Shipping Weight

  • Approximately 2.7 pounds (1.2kg)

Compatibility Notes

*With certain eSATA interfaces an improperly dismounted message may appear following sleep. This message can be ignored.

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF (hours)

  • 1,200,000

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 300,000
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ME3QH7T4.0 UPC#: 794504765625

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 143 out of 151 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Bought This Just In Time May 22, 2014 I knew my internal HD was on the fritz. Glad I picked this external up. No more than a week after I transferred all my important files and pics/videos off of my crashing HD, it finally bit the dust.

Not to worry. Everything was backed up and I've already installed the new internal HD and all is well in my personal computer world.

Thanks OWC!

PS: Some of the "clean up" apps that come with the hard drive are quite nice. Worth a look before you complete wipe the HD for whatever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose ca Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 good. Sturdy April 8, 2014 I run this drive 24/7 for years. It works. I recommended it to my relatives, and they have made good use of it.Good product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great! February 18, 2014 I have used this drive with Firewire 800 and USB3.0 connections and it works really well. I set up three 1 TB partitions so I could back up several different computers onto it. Very happy with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quiet, fast high-capacity drive December 7, 2013 No fan, so it runs quiet, and it doesn't get too hot. Even with a USB 2 cord plugged into the USB 3 socket, it's fast, and faster yet with the Firewire 800. So far, completely reliable. Amazing that 4TB can fit on such a small drive. The stand is another really nice feature, so it can stand upright yet still stable. I also like the on-off switch, so I don't have to unplug it to turn it off (most external drives don't have this feature anymore; but it extends the life of the drive if it is not spinning on and off all the time; and it is quieter when off; when I need to back up or access the files, I just flip the switch on back, and it mounts very quickly). I wish it came in black! I also wish there were other connectivity options; specifically a less-expensive drive with just USB 3.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Salt Lake City Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 No problems December 2, 2013 I have this drive with the 4.0TB HGST Deskstar™ 7K4000 Hard Disk Drive. It works great, very fast to read and write. I have several of these OWC drives in various capacities and they all work great, even after several years. In general, 4TB drives are not always as trouble-free as some of the smaller-capacity drives, but the HGST has been great for me so far. I like the OWC drives because all the parts are top-quality, and they have an on-off switch that actually works (unlike some other drives that switch back on whenever the computer wakes up or etc.). Switching off the drive when not in use will add years to the life of the drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco Bay area Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 No SMART capability November 27, 2013 Very nice, I have several of these going back a couple years, quiet, functional. The little blue light is on while machine is plugged in but goes off when being written to which is initially surprising as it will be off a long period while heavy writing is in progress. The little rubber (soft plastic) feet attach easily and seem to really stick on well. They keep things from sliding around. The power cords are sufficiently long but I wish the little black transformer contents were actually built into the drive box itself. The only downside noted is SMART capabilities are not build into the drive. When/If things start going bad it is difficult to ascertain what type of problems have developed. Running SMART Utility(ies) gives no answer and the alternative checks can take hours to read every block on the disk looking for problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: S E Michigan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very nice, comes with everything you need... November 27, 2013 ...except a philips screwdriver. I got this enclosure and had it apart, drive installed, back together and plugged into a Mac Mini via Firewire 800 in under ten minutes. Erasing and partitioning a 1TB Western Digital blue drive with Drive Utilities under Mountain Lion went fast and without a hitch and I used Time Machine to back everything up. The original time estimate from Time Machine to back up 170 GB of data was 3 hours but it was done in under an hour.

Shipping to me was fast and everything was well packed. The clear (looks silver) anodized enclosure is well made, looks good and comes with all the cables you need to plug into any of the ports on the back of the enclosure. If you want to plug it into a Firewire 400 port you'll need a 800 to 400 adapter or cable. Installing the hard drive, following the simple but accurate and informative instructions, was easy and took only a philips screwdriver. The drive spun down after a period of inactivity which I though was a nice feature and after I was done backing up the computer everything was cool to the touch, including the in-line brick power supply. The blue drive activity light is bright but being behind the grill I didn't find it annoying. The only thing one might consider a con is that the power supply is not internal to the unit so you have a longer cord with the power supply as a lump along its length to manage. However, on the plus side, it allows for a smaller case and easy swap of the power supply should it ever fail.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: st louis, mo Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 A solid external hard drive November 14, 2013 I needed an external hard drive for my 13" 2012 macbook pro (non-retina display) and I settled on this one, a 3 TB model. I wanted a drive that had both usb 3.0 and firewire 800, so my options were limited. I have owned it since May of 2013, and have had no problems with it so far. The build quality of the enclosure is amazing, and has to be the sturdiest of any external hard drive (though I only compared it to what I saw in the big box stores). It's not the kind of metal that will ding or bend easily. It feels like a tank. I am using it as a backup drive for the mac, and general external file storage. It is for general home use and not "professional" use in a business. Both firewire 800 and usb 3.0 connections have fast transfer rates. Either is fast enough for my needs, compared to the usb 2.0 speed I am used to. The size is definitely not portable as it probably weighs almost as much as my laptop. The included stand works great, as I prefer the drive vertical. The cords are quality and everything just works. The 7200 rpm speed is faster than my laptop hard drive, which is nice. If the drive has been idle for a little while, there is a short lag time as it boots up from sleep, but no big deal. The blue power light is overly bright so I put a piece of tape over it. The box it comes in is worth saving to store the unused cords and for packing the drive up for travel. I would highly recommend this hard drive to anybody needing an external hard drive for the home.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 impressive durability. September 24, 2013 I have 4 of these running now for over 2 YEARS every day, editing a massive amount of sound effects on 4 or 5 animated tv series. not one hiccup. they run with protools and hidef video very smoothly.....as a professional, they do exactly what i want, which is to be invisible.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product! April 29, 2013 I have two of these and I'm on the OWC site to buy my third. I own a commercial photo studio and I have to store terabytes of digital images. These drives are perfect, never a problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vienna, Austria Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 o.k. for creating and storing movies and photos because of its ports, size and speed March 5, 2013 It works well to create movies in Final Cut Express 4.0.1 (Mac Book Pro 17, Snow Leopard) on this external hard drive via eSATA and save the data there.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mpls MN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Better than expected February 22, 2013 Ok I get Lacie usually but I got a OWC Mercury Elite Pro 3GB and it was so much better. Good looking functional, fast, esata ready.. Im in for more OWC MEP soon.. I will go for a whole array now.. and sure post shipping means I do not and will not get the dreaded UPS "we missed you slip" So thanks OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ibuyforlife Location: Dagupan, PH Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 MUST have external storage solution November 12, 2012 The new mercury elite pro is one of the most outstanding product OWC have ever produced. I must agree that this is the perfect storage solution for my needs. Mercury Elite Pro have solid design, fast interface connection and USB3.0 availability. The only thing that matters to me, is the firewire 800 cable which I think, it would be great if the cable itself has black rubber insulation like those cable included in the packaging, but so far everything looks great inside and out. I highly recommend this product rather than those branded external ones which have no quad interface.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

OWC 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Mfr P/N: ME3QH7T4.0 OWC SKU: OWCME3QH7T4.0 Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $198.99
Add to CartOther World Computing ME3QH7T4.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.99
    • Cyber Saver $149.99
  • 3.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $179.99
    • Cyber Saver $169.99
  • 4.0TB
  • 6.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $249.99
    • Cyber Saver $249.99
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $329.99
    • Cyber Saver $329.99
  • 10.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • Cyber Saver $389.99
  • 12.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $519.99
    • OWC Price $449.99
  • 14.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $619.99
    • OWC Price $594.99
Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.95
    • OWC Price $84.99