Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Mercury Elite Pro (USB 3.0 + FW800 + eSATA)

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

OWC Mercury Elite Pro

0GB Enclosure Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.1 Gen 1 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) / eSATA
Outstanding Features
High Performance
Next-gen high-speed chipsets combined with the fastest SATA drive mechanisms available allow Mercury Elite Pro Solutions to deliver the fastest single drive transfer rates possible, up to 300 Megabytes Per Second!
High Reliability
A top-notch design and the best components ensure the Mercury Elite Pro Series is built to last.
High Portability
The compact and shock-resistant design has the Mercury Elite Pro Series going places! In addition, the Mercury Elite Pro offers (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1), (2) FireWire 800(1394B), and (1) eSATA ports for easy Plug and Play on virtually ANY system! Even the cables are included!
Style
Designed to complement any user's system, the Mercury Elite Pro was created in mind with the Mac Pro system as a starting point. As the pictures show, it's a fine storage solution for any computer.
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 3.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 3.5" Serial ATA (SATA) hard drive. Most computers produced since 2006 use Serial ATA (SATA) hard drives. Please make sure that the drive you wish to use with this enclosure is compatible. If you need an enclosure for an ATA/IDE hard drive, click here. This drive enclosure can also utilize a 2.5" SATA Solid State Drive via an AdapatDrive sold separately.
From day one, the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Series has been designed to be everything you would hope for and more!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro External Drive
  • 36" High Quality Double Shielded eSATA connecting cable (eSATA – eSATA)
  • 36" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • 36" High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.1 Gen 1 Standard-B to Standard-A (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1) connecting cable
  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v input, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 3 Amp output Power Supply (adapter plugs for International use sold separately). For replacement power supply, click here.
  • Vertical Stand
  • Pre-installed Backup and Utility software
    • Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™ OEM (For Mac OS 8.6 – X only)
    • Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup for Mac OS X v10.2.8 or later
    • NovaStor NovaBACKUP® for Windows 2000 or later
  • Over 1.5GB of Freeware/Shareware/Public domain software pre-installed
  • Mercury Elite Pro Assembly Manual & User Guide (1.3 MB)

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • JMicron JMB355 (eSATA/Firewire)
  • JMicron JMS562 (USB)

Mechanisms Supported

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – (1) B Standard-B port
  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin ports
  • eSATA – 1 port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – Up to 300MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – Up to 1.5MB/sec
  • FireWire 800 – Up to 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – Up to 50MB/sec
  • eSATA – Up to 300 MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • eSATA*: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0/3.1 Gen 1: Supported on Macs and PCs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. Including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 2.0)
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Macintosh with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0  expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Macintosh with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA  expander card.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Windows XP and later with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Windows 2000 and later with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Windows 2000 and late with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Windows 2000 and later with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA expander card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Power Supply

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.5 in (W) x 9 in (D) x 4.6 in (H)

Software Included

Total Shipping Weight

  • Approximately 3.0 pounds (1.36kg)

Compatibility Notes

Product Manual

*With certain eSATA interfaces an improperly dismounted message may appear following sleep. This message can be ignored.

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Shock

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCME3QHKITSW UPC#: 812437022025

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Reviews

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 119 out of 127 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: vgs42 Location: Houston, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Mercury Elite Pro Enclosure - to reuse old HHD December 19, 2017 Purchased May, 2017 to reuse Replacement of HHD with SSD. 1st Unit was DOA, so had to RMA unit back. Within 10 days I had my enclosure back and working; so the enclosure helps give new life to excess HD's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SirSquataLot Location: Los Angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Great and It Is Fast December 15, 2017 I copied 692 GB onto this drive with the USB 3.1 connection and the job was completed much faster than I expected. I did not time it but it was quick. I am now loading data up to Carbonite and the Mercury Elite Pro is quiet and hanging in there. I have another Mercury Elite Pro for backup and it also works great. Highly recommend this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HikerDavid Location: Vancouver, BC area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent performance and value October 29, 2017 These two drives are, I think, the sixth and seventh Firewire-capable external drives I have bought from OWC. All of them have served well, except for one which was about 10 years old and whose Firewire port died recently. (Its USB port still works!) I partition these things and use them for storage of downloads, for multiple sparse bundle format backups, and as startup drives to repair our three Macs when they need to be booted up from something other than their internal drives. I've recommended these drives to lots of people.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TechDaddy Location: Westmont, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest
Rating: 4/5 Enclosure Kit October 24, 2017 Great product. Within a couple minutes I had installed the new hard drive installed, formatted and ready for running backups.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: twichma Location: Decatur, GA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Uncomplicated HD October 22, 2017 This drive is easy to use, and relatively fast, using FW800. It literally needed to be simply plugged into the appropriate port on my Mac Pro and was ready to go. The only downside (and the reason why I did not give 5 stars) is that this drive is fairly noisy in operation. My the drive is attached to a computer that is used in music applications, so extra noise is not particularly appreciated. Service by MacSales was fast and efficient.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DesignerJoe Location: Andover, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great back up device. August 30, 2017 This 6TB External Hard Drive is a great back up device. It's been backing my design projects up for a long time and has never failed. It's also quiet and loads data extremely fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: revdhd Location: Cincinnati Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple setup, perfect performance August 27, 2017 Got this drive to hold 65,000 photos. Setup was flawless and drive started as advertised. Loaded 1.6TB of data via FireWire 800 in about 8 hours, then backed up this drive to a 2TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro. It just works! Top drawer!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MikeMac
Rating: 5/5 Worthwhile purchase August 23, 2017 Replaced my old external HDD dock with this enclosure so that I could utilize the Firewire port on my Mac. The unit arrived on time and functions as described. Delivered on time. Great service from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Eddie9 Location: Boulder, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 it just works August 13, 2017 Bought this to replace a failed drive that I used for Time Machine backups on an iMac that has a smallish (500GB) internal drive. Huge improvement, it is very quiet and unobtrusive. Better yet, it comes with SMART support so I can see its status when I bring up the DriveDx application. It is also large enough to divide into two partitions, with the second partition used to hold a bootable backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Reviewer: talmy Location: Oregon Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Always excellent housing July 16, 2017 This is my 8th Mercury Elite Pro housing or external drive in 7+ years and they all still work and are useful, something I cannot say for any other external drives of that age! The aluminum housing keeps the drives cool. The fanless design and rubber drive mounts keep the drives quiet -- I've got four connected to a Mac mini and I can barely tell the system is there. A strong advantage over other external drives is that as capacities move up you can swap out the drive for a larger one and not have to throw the whole thing away.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 40Love Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great external hard drive for older Macs June 13, 2017 This is my second 3.0TB external hard drive I've bought from Mac Sales. My first was a USB 3.0 for my 27" iMac. My other iMac is an older machine that only has USB 2.0 so I can't use the 3.1 capability, but it does have FW400 and FW800 so that works great for me. This hard drive came with easy instructions for installing and extra usable software. I highly recommend this hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Blondie Location: Minneapolis Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product! June 7, 2017 As advertised- I have a 2T OWC Mercury Elite Pro drive which I purchased 4 or 5 years ago- no issues- still running great! Want to especially praise the customer service staff and tech support provided by OWC- best in the business!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 5.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MrScreens Location: Santa Rosa, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Keep the FireWire Alive June 6, 2017 I'm grateful that MacSales still offers FW 800 interfaces on its drives. Not the latest greatest fastest, but it's what I need to keep my old Mac Pro backed up.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Griploc Location: Langley, BC Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Elite May 26, 2017 After 6 years I had to get a new 2tb external hd from OWC. Runs quieter than the previous one and works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kamana Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 The best of all spinning Hard Drives March 12, 2017 I am so happy that I am considering buying a second one for my Pro Tools HD System.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BierMeister Location: Willow Springs, MO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install a HD and looks great. February 6, 2017 Product was well packaged and arrived quickly. Easy instructions to install the HD. Quality of this enclosure is next to none. Would recommend this kit to anyone.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RichInDC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 So far, so good February 1, 2017 I've hooked up the box using the Excelsior card eSATA port and am happy with the speed. Only had it a couple of months, but seems fine. The one con is that I just got hearing aides and the operating noise is much louder than I anticipated. Aside from that, and assuming the reliability of the disks is as specified, I'm very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: graytech Location: Bellevue, Wa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Replaced failing Lacie enclosure January 26, 2017 I am very impressed with all my OWC purchases and this is no exception. I have used OWC drive enclosures on 2.5 and 3.5 drives. Always work, last, and exceed my expectations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: fergrjls Location: Aguascalientes, México. Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My "to go" drive for audio. January 16, 2017 I really enjoy this drive, actually a Full Sail University's teacher recomended me this particular drive to record with Pro Tools and it works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DBChas Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Pretty good, I must say January 6, 2017 In fact, just got it set up today to use for a rather unique purpose. It could hardly have been easier to set up, and I bought both enclosure and Toshiiba drive that comes inside. It was already mounted, so didn't need to mess with screws a whole lot.

The software that comes built-in actually does make it simple to partition--as you like, as well as to make those to the sizes you want or need. The drive is 2 TB, so lots to work with, though things went wrong in my case thanks to misinformation provided directly by Apple. Another story...

So long as this holds up, I can't see why it should't last a long while.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KentOSan Location: Norfolk, VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As always, completly satisfied December 13, 2016 Have been dealing with OWC for several years. Although I don't buy a lot, every item that I have purchased (including this one) has been right on the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PatrickR Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A workhorse November 30, 2016 I use this drive in my profession (audio production) and it is being used 12-16 hours a day, every day, for over 3 years now! It has never faulted, it always mounts perfectly to my Mac Pro via USB 3 and gives me a solid and consistent read/write. I rely heavily on this drive and it can be relied heavily upon. Quality build and quality performance, worth every penny.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jonb Location: NY NY
Rating: 5/5 great company great product November 28, 2016 I love to order product from this company. They provide excellent tech support, customer service, and returns when necessary. Recently we had a failure on a ocw drive that was replaced without question. Great Stuff

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tachyon Location: Eagle River, AK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very elegant external enclosure November 16, 2016 This is my second enclosure of this type. The first one I had populated with a 4TB drive, and this one I wanted to use my own 8TB drive, as that capacity is not yet available pre-populated. Very sleek, and well designed. Very simple to add and secure the drive in the enclosure. The all aluminum chassis works well to dissipate heat from the drive, and it looks really nice. For users of older Macs, the Firewire 800 interface is efficiently fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RPG6621
Rating: 5/5 Flawless November 14, 2016 Actually, I ordered this product and it arrived with a bad drive and I called MacSales and told them about it. It was amazing how fast another one was sent to me. I'm a long time customer of Mac Sales so I'm biased but I'm biased because the service is impeccable and the shipping is superb. I will always buy my Mac products here.

Jim

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

OWC 0GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Mfr P/N: OWCME3QHKITSW OWC SKU: OWCME3QHKITSW Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.95
    • OWC Price $84.99
Hard Drive Models
  • 1TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $149.00
  • 2TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Blow-Out Priced at $169.00
  • 4TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $229.00
  • 6TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $289.00
  • 8TB
    • Ships: 1 Day
    • Cyber Saver $349.00
  • 12TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $449.00
  • 14TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $499.00
  • 16TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $629.00
  • 18TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $739.00