Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Mercury Elite Pro (USB 3.0 + FW800 + eSATA)

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

OWC Mercury Elite Pro

0GB Enclosure Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.1 Gen 1 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) / eSATA
Outstanding Features
High Performance
Next-gen high-speed chipsets combined with the fastest SATA drive mechanisms available allow Mercury Elite Pro Solutions to deliver the fastest single drive transfer rates possible, up to 300 Megabytes Per Second!
High Reliability
A top-notch design and the best components ensure the Mercury Elite Pro Series is built to last.
High Portability
The compact and shock-resistant design has the Mercury Elite Pro Series going places! In addition, the Mercury Elite Pro offers (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1), (2) FireWire 800(1394B), and (1) eSATA ports for easy Plug and Play on virtually ANY system! Even the cables are included!
Style
Designed to complement any user's system, the Mercury Elite Pro was created in mind with the Mac Pro system as a starting point. As the pictures show, it's a fine storage solution for any computer.
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 3.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 3.5" Serial ATA (SATA) hard drive. Most computers produced since 2006 use Serial ATA (SATA) hard drives. Please make sure that the drive you wish to use with this enclosure is compatible. If you need an enclosure for an ATA/IDE hard drive, click here. This drive enclosure can also utilize a 2.5" SATA Solid State Drive via an AdapatDrive sold separately.
From day one, the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Series has been designed to be everything you would hope for and more!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro External Drive
  • 36" High Quality Double Shielded eSATA connecting cable (eSATA – eSATA)
  • 36" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • 36" High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.1 Gen 1 Standard-B to Standard-A (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1) connecting cable
  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v input, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 3 Amp output Power Supply (adapter plugs for International use sold separately). For replacement power supply, click here.
  • Vertical Stand
  • Pre-installed Backup and Utility software
    • Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™ OEM (For Mac OS 8.6 – X only)
    • Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup for Mac OS X v10.2.8 or later
    • NovaStor NovaBACKUP® for Windows 2000 or later
  • Over 1.5GB of Freeware/Shareware/Public domain software pre-installed
  • Mercury Elite Pro Assembly Manual & User Guide (1.3 MB)

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • JMicron JMB355 (eSATA/Firewire)
  • JMicron JMS562 (USB)

Mechanisms Supported

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – (1) B Standard-B port
  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin ports
  • eSATA – 1 port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 – Up to 300MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – Up to 1.5MB/sec
  • FireWire 800 – Up to 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – Up to 50MB/sec
  • eSATA – Up to 300 MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • eSATA*: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0/3.1 Gen 1: Supported on Macs and PCs meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. Including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 2.0)
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Macintosh with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0  expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Macintosh with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA  expander card.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1: Windows XP and later with USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface, either built in or via USB 3.1 Gen 1 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Windows 2000 and later with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Windows 2000 and late with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • eSATA: Windows 2000 and later with eSATA interface, either built in or via eSATA expander card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Power Supply

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.5 in (W) x 9 in (D) x 4.6 in (H)

Software Included

Total Shipping Weight

  • Approximately 3.0 pounds (1.36kg)

Compatibility Notes

Product Manual

*With certain eSATA interfaces an improperly dismounted message may appear following sleep. This message can be ignored.

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Shock

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCME3QHKITSW UPC#: 812437022025

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Reviews

Videos


Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 119 out of 127 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Great so far September 25, 2015 I use two of these for external off-site backups for my Mac Pro, plugged into the external SATA ports of the Mercury E2 ssd blades. I have never had a problem with these and it's been a couple years now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive - Solid and Quiet September 21, 2015 Using this as my primary backup drive for a new iMac Retina, and it's working like a charm. Placing it in the stand on it's side reduces the foot print, and keeps the drive very quiet. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone as their primary "Time Machine" backup drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Santa Fe, NM Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Top Notch Product at a Great Price September 14, 2015 This enclosure provides the most consistent quality, durability, usability and versatility of any product on the market, bar none. It also happens to be very reasonably priced. I have come to expect these features on every product I've ever purchased from OWC and this is no exception. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best eSATA/FW/USB Enclosures Are from OWC September 9, 2015 I've got a total of 3 now (one being the previous generation) and they work flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Essex, MA Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 drives with names September 8, 2015 I always shop OWC first for external drives; they state up-front what the brand of the drive is, and their selection is always what I would have chosen.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 16, 2015 The product arrived on time and hs no problem at all. This product is ease of use (assembly, etc..).

Thanks again. Chuck

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, Il Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A Fast Drive August 11, 2015 This drive works as advertised. It's fast, and designed well. I cannot give it 5 stars though as the fan tends to be a little noisy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 5.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Very nice. August 1, 2015 This enclosure is great. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because of the sleep/wake issue when using eSATA with the Mercury Accelsior eSATA ports. Something having to do with the Oxford chipset in the enclosure? It's really a minor issue but something to be aware of.

This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It does the job .... July 30, 2015 And I don't have to think about it. AT ALL.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect July 29, 2015 The 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro works awesome! Its plugged in & working. I have never received something so fast. Literally the next day without expediting. It was like if there was a truck full of OWC products just driving around waiting to fulfill orders.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I love these enclosures July 28, 2015 The Mercury Elite Pro enclosures are a solid and durable home for your hard drives. They are easy to open up and install any SATA drive, even for the technically challenged. Have six of these hooked up to my 2009 Mac Pro (via FW800 / eSATA) and the industrial design matches the aesthetic of this classic Apple workstation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great July 3, 2015 Easy to set up, and fast, I have clone all my computer and still have enough space. The best this Mercury Elite Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arlington, VA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 How to make this drive work with Adobe Premiere June 15, 2015 adobe premiere does not see owc hd drives when the drive is setup with the owc software that is delivered with the drive

when using the owc software there is a checkbox for "Add Factory Custom Icon" when this is checked it adds the owc icon to the drive but also adds an extended attribute to the drive the extended attribute can be seen in a terminal shell. \Volumes\ls -al@ drwxrwxr-x@ OWC HD com.apple.FinderInfo the extended attribute added to the drive is com.apple.FinderInfo you will need to remove the extended attribute from the drive to make it available to see in adobe premiere you can do this in a terminal shell by running this command line xattr -d com.apple.FinderInfo /Volumes/OWC\ HD after this command is ran you will need to unmount and re-mount the external drive now you can access the drive in adobe premiere

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newark, DE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid and reliable! June 15, 2015 I love this drive and enclosure. This is my second Mercury Elite Pro drive/enclosure. The last one I bought still works perfectly, I just needed more storage and this was a no brainer. Order with confidence!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Trouble free so far. June 15, 2015 Using this Elite Pro for back up, but after only two months it is too early to comment on quality and durability. I'm not expecting any hard drive crashes since my new iMac has SSD storage.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM eSATA/FW800/FW400/USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Western MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to set up and functions without a glitch June 15, 2015 Quiet and effective, provides safe and reliable backup without an issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saratoga Springs, NY Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Well made, good looking external drive May 25, 2015 Since my OWC memory upgrade improved the performance of my 2008 iMac, I decided to keep the iMac until it dies. That being the case, I also decided that I had better make a bootable clone for when the internal drive does finally die. After reading many reviews and looking at many products, I decided on the Mercury Elite Pro 4.0TB. This is way bigger than I need, but I had read several good reviews about the 4 TB HGST hard drive. When the drive arrived, I was quickly able to make a clone using the included software, Data Backup 3. I only have two small complaints that other reviewers have mentioned. The drive is a little noisier that I would have expected, and the blue LED is a little brighter than it needs to be. Neither of these are deal breakers as long as the drive provides reliable service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Johnstown, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive May 21, 2015 I use this to back up my boot drive and it works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So far so good! April 10, 2015 The first unit that was sent out would not work.. no matter what we tried. I did appreciate their customer service person being so patient in trying to troubleshoot the problem. However, I ended up having to send it back. (I haven't checked... but I hope they reimbursed me for my postage.)

Anyway... they sent me back another unit and it is totally awesome! I just plugged it in and voila... it showed up on my screen, I turned on the Time Machine button and it started backing everything up. I put a very few large files on it that I didn't want on my computer, and it copied them over in seconds. Also.. I had accidently packed up my iphone cord in the box, and they sent it back to me! Yay!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Puerto Rico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 BEST COMPANY IN THE MARCKET!!!!!!!!!!!! April 9, 2015 AWESOME External HD!!! Awesome Performance and Reliable!!!! Because your are the best in the market!!! R&D Department is AWESOME!!!! Never an issue in ANY Client!!! With you almost 7 years!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: mpls Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent deal March 16, 2015 I've been buying Mac parts and drives from OWC for decades and I've never had a complaint. I bought this to use as a boot drive on an old 24" iMac with a dead internal drive. Works great, The iMac gets a little hot these days so I aimed a little fan at the cooling slots. Macs run forever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montréal, Québec Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good product... as expected! March 16, 2015 Hope that one day this product will have a thunderbolt port...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tracy, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 eSata from OWC the only way to go March 12, 2015 Purchased this eSata drive kit to off load video from our SSD for storage and archive. Easy to install and set up, no hassles, plugged in an up it ran. We needed speed and this provided it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Value March 2, 2015 These drive enclosures are easy to set up and very convenient. Small footprint with just the correct variety of interface connections.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro eSATA, FireWire 400/800 & USB3.1 Gen 1/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 fast and reliable February 27, 2015 These OWC drives are great. I've been using them for my professional recording studio www.studiocrash.com for over 15 years. They are fast and reliable, and they're quiet too. What more could you want.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400.

OWC 0GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Mfr P/N: OWCME3QHKITSW OWC SKU: OWCME3QHKITSW Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities: DIY Enclosure
  • 0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.95
    • OWC Price $84.99
Hard Drive Models
  • 1TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $149.00
  • 2TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Blow-Out Priced at $169.00
  • 4TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $229.00
  • 6TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $289.00
  • 8TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $349.00
  • 12TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $449.00
  • 14TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $499.00
  • 16TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $629.00
  • 18TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $739.00