Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC

Mercury Elite Pro Dual
6.0TB Performance RAID Solution

Mac / PC / Linux / USB 3.1 Gen 1 / FireWire 800
Professional Grade Solution
Speed, Security, Performance
Mercury Elite Pro Dual is the best dual-drive hardware RAID solution for creative workflows, project archives, and system backups where reliability and versatile performance count. With two fast hard drives, easily configured in multiple RAID modes at the flick of an easy-access switch, Mercury Elite Pro Dual is built to seamlessly integrate with any work environment from high demand production studios to your home office.
The hardware RAID workhorse
Reliable hardware RAID maximizes the full potential of two 3.5" hard drives in the Mercury Elite Pro Dual. It comes configured in high-speed RAID 0 mode for the maximum sustained throughput from your drives. With speeds up to 388MB/s, that's fast enough for HD video workflows. Configure the Mercury Elite Pro Dual in RAID 1 mode for the extra security of mirrored data, or, use it as a single span of the two drives or two independent disks.
Performance by design
Mercury Elite Pro Dual features both high speed USB 3.1 Gen 1 and dual FW800 ports to offer the connectivity and versatility to work with your current equipment set-up. A second-generation, free-flowing brushed-aluminum chassis with high-performance fan delivers cool, quiet operation. In addition, drive activity LEDs give you an instant snapshot of the status of your RAID, and intelligent power management conserves energy and reduces wear by automatically spinning down the drives when inactive.
Support you can trust
Like all OWC products, Mercury Elite Pro is built to the highest standards from design to delivery. Each unit undergoes rigorous lab testing for exceptional performance and reliability. It's also always fully backed by a comprehensive warranty and our legendary US-based customer support team.

Product Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • OS
    • USB 3.1 Gen 1
      • OS X 10.6.8 or later
      • Windows XP or later
      • Linux Kernel v. 2.6.31 or later
    • FireWire 800
      • OS X 10.2 or later
      • Windows XP or later
      • Linux Kernel v. 2.6.31 or later
  • Driver
    • Driver not required for OS X
    • Driver not required for Windows

Hardware Requirements

  • Minimum
    • Mac or PC featuring USB 2.0 or FireWire 800 interface
  • Recommended (Best Performance)
    • Mac or PC featuring USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface

Bootability 1

  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 / 2.0: Any Mac that supports booting via USB 2
  • Any Mac that supports booting via FireWire 800
  • Boot Camp volumes on this device cannot be used as OS X Startup Disks.

Interface (Chipset)

  • (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (JMicron JMS562)
  • (2) FireWire 800 (JMicron JMB355)

Standard Mechanism

  • 3.0TB Seagate BarraCuda Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    3.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6Gb/s
    Capacity1
    3.0TB
    Formatted Capacity2
    2790GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    64MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    ST3000DM008
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    26.1mm (1.028″)
    Width (max)
    101.6mm (4.000″)
    Length (max)
    146.99mm (5.787″)
    Weight (typical)
    626g (1.38 lbs.)
    Data Heads
    6
    Number of Disks
    4
    Guaranteed Sectors
    5,860,533,168
    Bytes per Sector
    4096
    Areal Density
    1320Gb/in2

    Reliability3

    Contact Start-Stops
    300,000
    Annual Failure Rate
    <1%
    Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    1 per 1014 bits read

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6.0 Gb/s
    Track-to-track Seek
    1.0ms
    Average Seek Time
    8.5ms
    Average Latency
    4.16ms

    Power

    Maximum Start Current, DC
    2.0 Amp
    Seek Power
    8.0 Watts
    Read Power
    8.0 Watts
    Write Power
    8.0 Watts
    Idle Mode
    5.4 Watts
    Standby Mode
    0.75 Watts
    Sleep Mode
    0.75 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    41°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    5°C to 60°C
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 95%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    400 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 158°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 70°C
    Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
    5% to 95%
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    2.4 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    2.6 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    2 x 3.0TB* Seagate BarraCuda Hard Disk Drives**
    • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

      **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

RAID Modes Supported

  • Hardware
  • RAID 0, 1, SPAN, and Independent drive mode

Initial Configuration

  • RAID 0
  • Included Drive Guide software will format the drive for either OS X or Windows

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Power

  • Power Supply
    • External UL-listed universal auto-switching
    • AC input: 100 ~ 240V, 50/60Hz
    • DC output:, 12V @ 5A
    • Replacement power supply sold separately
    • Adapter plugs for international use sold separately

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) 41° — 107°
    • Temperature (°C) 5° — 42°
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) &min;40° — 149°
    • Temperature (°C) &min;40° — 65°

Dimensions

  • Height: 5.3 in (13.5 cm)
  • Width: 2.8 in (7.1 cm)
  • Length: 8.9 in (22.7 cm)

Weight (without drives)

  • 2.4 lb. (1.0 kg)


1. Booting in RAID 0, RAID 1, and SPAN mode are supported via both USB 3.1 Gen 1 and FireWire 800. FireWire 800 also supports Independent mode booting.

2. When connected via USB, the following limitations apply when booting in Independent mode: only the disk connected to Port 2 is bootable when both drives are installed. If only one drive is installed, the disk will boot regardless of which port it is connected to. Please check the Assembly Manual & User guide for more details.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MED3FR7T06.0 UPC#: 812437022766

Gallery

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Performance RAID Soution
  • 0.6 meter (24 in) USB 3.1 Gen 1 cable (standard-A to standard-B)
  • 0.3 meter (12 in) 1394B FireWire 800 Cable (9-Pin to 9-Pin)
  • External power supply and power cable
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Assembly manual & user guide (Download Only)

Warranty

Do not disassemble or otherwise open your OWC solution prior to the conclusion of the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the OWC warranty. The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 10 out of 15 (67%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jambo Location: St. Louis Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Price. Easy setup. November 8, 2016 This Dual Drive has worked out great. I finally have a good mirrored back up system in place. I went with RAID 1 and formatted with 2 partitions. One is for Time Machine and the other is for general manual BU. I can finally rest that I am covered. MacSales chat was great to get me some answers right on the spot to a couple of questions.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rodzilla Location: Bella Vista, Arkansas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product evryone should have at least two! October 11, 2016 My Macbook-Pro, is like a new machine after transfering a gilzillion files over to the Mighty 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID USB 3.0 / FireWire 800 Storage Solution. Service was great and price could always be lower.

However I am one happy customer. RWH

This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Pampa Location: Kansas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Storage Problem Solved September 5, 2016 I needed help with storing my large photo collection and was previously using a mis-match of external drives. Slow and tedious was my mode of operation. I purchased the 4TB solution and immediately experienced positive night and day transformation. I set this up as a Raid 0 for speed and have not been disappointed. I backup to an older pair of USB drives using Carbon Copy Cloner. No problems. Everything works great and the installation and set-up was straight forward and easy to do. Like everything OWC the design is beautiful. A couple of comments: the enclosure is nosier than expected (hence a four and not a five star rating) and seems to be a function of the fan. Also, when my iMac goes to sleep I get a Disk Not Ejected Properly message when the mac wakes up. I have just started to research this so I am uncertain at this point if it is related to the product or El Capitan. Still, all and all, I am satisfied with the design and performance, and I would recommend to others with the noisier than expected comment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: terrafilms Location: Hudson Valley, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product August 11, 2016 Love this item. Use it as dual, independent backups. I copy the footage from my camera to 1 drive and use Carbon Copy Cloner to duplicate it to the other drive. Very easy to setup. Already considering buying just the enclosure and consolidating some other drives I have laying around.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 10.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works As Expected July 11, 2016 I need a drive to make a clone of my MacPro, and this drive works perfectly in that role. Running 10.6.7.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Good Deal May 23, 2016 This 10T RAID array is cheaper and easier than buying two separate 5T drives. And it should be just as dependable as separate drives.

What is not to like?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 10.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Emerald Coast Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 No Drama May 16, 2016 After getting by with smaller, less option choices I decided to do this right. Select Raid choice. Format the drive, select it for Time Machine and forget it. This just works no fuss and no fiddling. Data is secure. I should have done this years ago. I bought a size for growth. 1TB on iMac. I have 2, 2TB disks in raid 1.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: phoenix Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Reliable April 12, 2016 OWC is my first choice for hard drive purchases. I have purchased every size and shape. I have had only one drive that had issues and it was fixed and returned with no other problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB 3.1 Gen 1 + FireWire 800.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 great November 17, 2015 no problem - used it to house old drive with a new drive

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Drive RAID Enclosure Kit with FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 Interfaces.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Easy to use and fast September 30, 2014 Fast and good for me to use with my older computer with fw800 and usb 3.0. One thing I'd change would be putting legs on the wider edge of the drive to minimize chances of it tipping over. Great drive though!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Performance FW800 & USB3 Dual Drive RAID. 7200RPM.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Fast Raid0 July 17, 2014 I bought this for my media drive for Final Cut Pro X Libraries. The read and write speeds are better than I expected. The Fan keeps everything cool and is not to loud for my work area. This came with the usual OWC cables that are thick and stout. The power supply had a long enough cable to reach my surge protector. I could not ask for a better or faster USB 3.0 Raid0 set up. Thanks OWC for always coming through with Top Quality drives and enclosures.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Performance FW800 & USB3 Dual Drive RAID. 7200RPM.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Great raid July 17, 2014 Easy to assemble and maintain raid, cool design I have four have served me for years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Drive RAID Enclosure Kit with FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 Interfaces.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 does what it's supposed to June 23, 2014 i bought the 0GB version & added my own dual-4TB hard drives because i found it to be cheaper than buying the 8TB version. this is my 2nd OWC Elite Pro Dual enclosure and i couldn't be happier. my 1st one still works great to this day but i replaced it due to it's limitation of hard drives up to 2TB drives.

this is no longer a problem, this version now allows for the use of drives up to 4TB & it works great as my TIME MACHINE backup drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Drive RAID Enclosure Kit with FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 Interfaces.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lexington, Kentucky Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Generally good enclosure with a few flaws March 15, 2014 I'm about 2 weeks into ownership of this enclosure, and so far, so good.

Setup: Installing drives is very straightforward. It was a little tricky getting the power and SATA cables out of the way so they didn't interfere with the fan. If you need them, the included step-by-step instructions seem very easy to follow as well.

Use: Very happy so far. This enclosure support RAID 0, 1, and Span modes. I'm using it in span mode to store my media library, and it works very well. USB 3 transfer speeds are very fast (sorry, no actual data). Can't speak to Firewire speeds.

Design/Manufacturing: Aluminum case feels very solid. It looks good next to my Mac Mini. I could do without the OWC branding on the side, but such is life. I have a few real issue in this area: 1) The stock fan seems fairly noisy for a 40 mm fan. Especially in light of OWC's claim that it's "whisper quiet." I've ordered a replacement to hopefully remedy this. 2) Whoever installed the feet on my enclosure managed to strip one of the screws while doing so. It made getting the feet off rather challenging. 3) It doesn't sit flat on my desk. Presumably a manufacturing defect, but it rocks a little bit side to side. This occurs with and without the feet attached, so it seems that the case isn't as square as it's supposed to be.

This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual-Drive RAID Enclosure Kit with FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 Interfaces.

OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual 6.0TB Performance RAID Solution Mfr P/N: MED3FR7T06.0 OWC SKU: OWCMED3FR7T06.0 Dual bay USB 3.1 Gen 1 and FW800 equipped performance RAID solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $299.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MED3FR7T06.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $119.99
    • OWC Price $84.99
Hard Drive Models
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $219.99
    • OWC Price $199.99
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $269.99
    • OWC Price $249.99
  • 6.0TB
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $349.99
  • 12.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $499.99
    • Cyber Saver $479.99
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $679.99
    • OWC Price $649.99
  • 20.0TB
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $879.99
    • OWC Price $849.99
  • 24.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,149.99
    • OWC Price $1,149.99
  • 28.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,349.99
    • OWC Price $1,349.99