Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC

Hard Drive Tray
for the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
or the OWC ThunderBay


This is a spare hard drive tray for the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 or Thunderbay four-bay RAID enclosures. Having a spare tray allows you to easily swap drives without the need for extra tools.
Potential Uses:
  • Stand by "cold spare" available for hot swapping a drive
  • Rotating backups, keeping drive backups off-site
  • Separate storage for individual clients or large projects

Gallery

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
OWC Thunderbay 63
OWC Thunderbay 6 with Thunderbolt 3
6-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCTB36
OWC Thunderbay 43
OWC Thunderbay 4 with Thunderbolt 3
4-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCTB3SR, OWCTB3IV
OWC Thunderbay 43
OWC Thunderbay 4 with Thunderbolt 2
4-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCTB2IV, OWCTB2SR
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad
4-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCMEQCTSR, OWCMEQCTJB
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
4-Bay RAID Storage Solution

Package Contents

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 48 out of 51 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, Fl.
Rating: 4/5 Works well May 4, 2014 This is a great product, the only problem I have is the noise but that's not the fault of the product. It's the problem with spinning hard drives and I'm done with them, except for back up. The SSD's are the future and although a bit pricy still, they are dropping fast and I know I will never buy another one. I bought this product to run the 4, one TB drives from my old computer that I had set up in raid 0 for speed. I now have them set up the same way in this product and it works perfectly, I just can't stand the noise that goes with the hard drives and the fan to keep them cool. Now, I use it just for back up and it's great for that. I'm running all SSD's in the same Raid 0 set up and you can't believe the speeds I'm getting. SSD's baby, the future is here and now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 RAID is good but... March 21, 2014 I purchased this RAID close to year ago together with LaCie Thunderbolt to eSATA Hub. The idea was to use hub for my 30" monitor and to connect RAID through eSata connector over Thunderbolt. The set up was straight forward and uneventful. I was ready to go in no time. But soon after I started experiencing dropouts. RAID would disappear and unmount from my Mac Mini Server, than shortly after it would mount back. It would stay connected, but at any point where there is a heavier traffic it would disappear. Really disappointing. Other than that RAID itself seems solid and quiet. Sometimes when drive doesn't show up back mounted I would need to do that manually, by restarting power from LaCie. Usually that solves the issue. I will try to connect RAID with USB 3, since that might be more reliable, but that requires some reconfigurations since my Mac Mini Server has only USB 2 and not USB 3 and that is why I wanted to use Thunderbolt. Again this might be more issue with LaCie adapter than with RAID itself. Other than that it seems like very good and affordable RAID. When everything works, it is very fast.

This review is from 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tasmania, Australia
Rating: 5/5 A great start March 21, 2014 This is an early (day 1) review. My drive arrived quickly (to Australia) and was extremely well packaged with the disks already in their trays and stored separately from the chassis. Assembly was simple. The chassis and trays feel solid and robust. The box and drives come preset to RAID 5 and formatted for HFS+. There is a strange little step in the setup involving a hidden partition used to store the bundled software but it is well documented and easy to follow. The commercial bundled software is, well, bundled software. Personally, I don't think that it adds anything to the purchase. I'm not certain why companies still put a collection of open source software on their products. It reminds me of the 'old days' when magazines bundled CDs of free software, Gopher and FTP ruled the roost, and a floppy full of open source software was a huge download. My initial tests show that the box is quite speedy (no numbers yet), especially given that it is running through a USB 3 card on my elderly 2008 MacPro. The only criticism I have is that it is a bit noisy. It soon fades into the background as white noise but is loud enough to be annoying when making a voice recording. It is actually quite a bit louder than my 5 drive Synology NAS even though I run the fans on that device on high. In summary, I'm impressed and this yet again reinforces the great service I've had over the years from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing March 21, 2014 "I'm not certain why companies still put a collection of open source software on their products." Well, we can't speak for other companies, but all of our storage solutions are hand-assembled and tested in house. Transferring the bundled software suite to the drive is actually part of the testing and quality assurance we perform on each individual unit.
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SLC, Utah Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great device, Highly recommended. December 24, 2013 I bought two of these over the years and there flawless in use. Both of mine have been 0 gig add your own, for my drives both of them have WD RE4 1 terabyte drives in them in raid 5. My first unit lost a drive after about 2 years of constant use which i replaced. During the drive loss under raid 5 the data was still intact and accessible. When WD replaced my drive still under warranty, I just installed it on the drive sled, and plugged it in with my mac pro off. It took a while but the drive rebuild successfully, and no data was lost. For back up of very very precious material I could not recommend this unit higher. My first unit is going on 3 years now without a hitch, and the second over a year now with no problems whatsoever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mikejaz Location: Oak Park IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Rock solid, reliable, easy to use April 24, 2012 pretty much says it all. I too ran into the formatting issue, but can't blame that on the drive, but on the OS. Hosed it up via FW800, partitioned, and voila, it works! I've been running it now for over 3 years, have purchased extra drive sleds for a second set of discs, and am probably going to purchase a second unit because I find that I need one for business media, and one for personal.

My partner and I have had two drive corruptions in three years...because we use RAID-5, that's not a problem...the unit indicates which drive is bad, you swap out with a fresh drive, and it rebuilds the data.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Phatfotos Location: London, UK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Ideal backup solution March 7, 2012 I needed a reliable enclosure/back-up drive for my data, which includes 850 images.

I have had problems in the past with LaCie and the OWC mini-stack drives since they overheat when shovelling large amounts of data back and forth.

I originally contemplated the Drobo and various others, but this enclosure stood out for its simplicity, flexibility and ability to deliver what I wanted.

1. internal fan – sensible to heat 2. metal construction 3. complete range of inputs/outputs (firewire/esata/usb) 4. 120/240v 50/60hz power

Having had so many failures, I dropped 4 WD RE4 2 TB SATA Hard Drives (WD2003FYYS) – the most reliable disks on the market into it.

Set up was dead easy. Put the disks in, it hummed away, and voila – 6 TB of storage. Because I used Raid 5 – it reads and writes very quickly – bottle necks occur elsewhere in the system.

After 3 years, nary a problem. Reliable, rock solid, looks nice, keeps cool. I am a klutz, unplug things, disconnect drives, generally make a mess. Maybe my photos are good.

When I move several hundred GB of data onto another back up drive using the OWC NewerTech Voyager SATA drive, which takes a few hours, it just hums away.

The best bit is the attention and response I received from OWC staff (Stephen Lorence in particular) when I was floundering around trying to make a decision. The reason I trusted their advice was that it sometimes worked against their best economic interests – hence the WD drives.

I am required to find a flaw – which is that the case of the enclosure, is 0.0003 mm out of square, something driving me nuts.

Best buy out there. Since I have moved to the UK, have recommended several people here to buy this.

My fellow Americans might use the word “Awesome”. My English “Not bad”, both being compliments.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Steve Location: Bear, DE Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extremely easy to use, aesthetically pleasing! November 29, 2011 I just moved from a PC environment to a Mac and one issue I had was that I had several TB of data, and I wanted to ensure that my data remained safe. My new iMac did not have enough capacity to keep everything in one location so I had to move to an external drive which I was honestly very hesitant to do. I also wanted to make sure that if I moved all of my data to an external drive that I would have a proper backup system to ensure I did not lose anything. I felt that the cleanest option would be a RAID setup and the Mercury Elite Pro was easily the cleanest, most aesthetically pleasing option out there. I really wanted an enclosure that looked like it belonged with my Mac and this unit really fit the bill. The device came formatted in a RAID 5 configuration which is exactly what I wanted. It worked right out of the box. All I had to do was slide the drives in place and turn it on. I have had several friends who have purchased NAS boxes that would do the same thing only to have a drive or two fail at start-up. One feature that I was particularly pleased with was that the drives were all stress tested prior to shipping. If there is any question of this then all you have to do is simply open the packaging and you will see that the hard drives are already mounted to the internal mounting brackets of the enclosure - something that would obviously have had to have been done by OWC. With the drives already mounted it makes the drive installation at home a breeze. Since the system was already formatted all I had to do was connect it and go.

My only gripe is that the fan on the unit is a little louder than I would hope. Now I have to put this in perspective when I say louder than I hoped. I just moved from a custom built PC which sounded like a tornado in comparison, but in reality was not that loud itself. The comparison is really to my new iMac, which is whisper quiet and something that wows me to this day. The only noise in my room now is from my OWC box and it is noticeable however not nearly as bad as a standard PC operating. I plan to remedy this by purchasing a new desk and placing the box in the enclosure area built for a PC tower, but until then I can certainly make do.

As far as pricing is concerned I have to admit that at first glance this is an extremely expensive piece of hardware for only 4 TB of storage, however when you factor in the RAID configuration and the connectivity options you will find that the price is actually very reasonable. You can purchase a NAS box with RAID however it will easily cost the same, if not more. You can also purchase two external drives, one to backup the other, but at 4TB (well, 3 TB usable space) that will cost the same, if not more. As far as pricing is concerned it really is comparable to other options that may be on the market, however these points really drive home the value: 1. Multiple RAID options for whatever you want 2. Hard drives are burned in (pre-tested) prior to shipping so you know it will work when it arrives 3. The storage capacity can be easily increased at a later date, especially as drive prices drop. 4. Aesthetically it fits a Mac computer perfectly!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: shipley Location: Missouri Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive. Easy to use. Reliable. May 31, 2011 I use the 4 TB Enterprise class using RAID 5 and have found it perfect for FCP and Logic.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 Enterprise Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: culthero13 Location: Las Vegas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quiet, sturdy, aesthetically clean. April 22, 2011 I bought this to use with my Mac Mini. I needed a multi-bay enclosure that provided at least RAID 5 capability, hardware RAID, provided a FireWire 800 interface, and was built well. This provided all of those and as a bonus, it had a clean, minimalist design that went well with the Mac. I was only slightly disappointed that it came already set for RAID 5 functionality and was apparently already formatted for Mac. (This was only because I wanted to do all that myself). Understandably, others would find this quite useful. It was WAY quieter than the piece of junk product it replaced whose fan went out only a week after buying it. I don't even hear this one unless there is hard drive activity.

The only complaint I have with it is the extremely bright blue power light. One can read a book using only the light from it. That is a slight exaggeration of course, but seriously, it does light up a darkened room quite a bit and makes spots in one's vision if looked at directly. I don't quite understand why it needs to be this bright. In fact, I'm not sure it even needs the power light at all. The other status lights, if on, should be indication enough that the unit has power. To bring the brightness under control, I was able to place a metallic sticker over it. It is still bright enough that it shines through the sticker, but it is much less bright now and matches the luminosity of the other lights.

Regardless of the light, If a newer version comes out with the same interface & design, but supports RAID 6, I will certainly be purchasing it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FinalCutUser Location: Baltimore, MD Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Easy setup with slight hiccup - but great customer service March 31, 2011 Bought the empty enclosure and added four Hitachi 2TB HDs. Adding the drives was very easy and setup was a snap. When we went to partition the drive, we were presented with an error that the operation could not be completed. I called the customer service number and someone picked up after only 10 seconds. They advised that the drive couldn't be formatted over the eSata connection and told us to attach it via Firewire. That did the trick and 30 seconds later we had a formatted, 5.5 TB, Raid 5 setup ready to go. We reattached via eSata and the computer recognized it immediately. The reason we purchased this enclosure was to protect against data loss in case of a HD failure. I can't truly give a complete review until we have the need to replace a bad drive and test its data backup capabilities. If and when that day comes I will gladly come back and update my review.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

OWC Drive Tray for OWC Mercury Elite Qx2 / ThunderBay Models Mfr P/N: MEQX2TRAY OWC SKU: OWCMEQX2TRAY Easily swap drives without the need for extra tools. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Pending Only $19.00 $14.99 Add to CartOther World Computing MEQX2TRAY, Click to Buy Now
Related Items: