Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

We recommend 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM Storage Solution with USB3.1 Gen 1 + eSATA + FW800/400 (Mfr P/N: OWCME3QH7T3.0) from Other World Computing for $169.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC Mercury Elite Pro

3.0TB External Drive

USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 compatible) / Mac / PC
Time-Tested
The Elite Pro has been a professional and enthusiast favorite thanks to its reliable, large capacity, and fast performance for over 11 years.
High-Performance, Easy-to-Connect
The Elite Pro combines fast 7200RPM hard drives with fast interfaces to achive speeds up to 300MB/s. It features two FireWire 800 ports (FireWire 400 compatible) and a USB 3.0 / 2.0 port. It's also plug-and-play and easy to connect to any Mac or PC.
Runs Cool & Quiet
The Elite Pro utilizes a vented front plate to cool the internal drive, coupled with a rugged 2mm thick aluminum enclosure that acts as a heat sink. This tandem cooling action keeps the Elite Pro running coolly, quietly, and reliably.
Built to Last
The rugged, shock-resistant aluminum enclosure coupled with high-quality internal components ensures the Elite Pro is built to last, and comes backed by a 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty.
Speedtools
Includes the Powerful SpeedTools Utility Suite for Mac
The comprehensive Mac utility used by professionals for accurate Mac diagnosis and maintenance. Click the SOFTWARE tab below to learn more »

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro External Drive
  • High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 Standard-B to Standard-A (backward compatible with USB 2.0/1.1) connecting cable
  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v input, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 3 Amp output Power Supply (adapter plugs for International use sold separately). For replacement power supply, click here.
  • Vertical Stand
  • Mercury Elite Pro Manual (2.5MB PDF)
  • Pre-installed Backup and Utility software
    • Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™ OEM (For Mac OS 8.6 – X only)
    • ProSoft Engineering® Data Backup for Mac OS X v10.2.8 or later
    • NovaStor NovaBACKUP® for Windows 2000 or later
  • Over 1.5GB of Freeware/Shareware/Public domain software pre-installed
  • OWC 3 Year Solution Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
  • Complementary Level 1 Data Recovery

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1053e USB 3.0 chipset and Oxford 944SE FireWire

Standard Mechanism

3.0TB Toshiba DT01ACAxx Series Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
3.5″ HDD
Interface
SATA 6GB/s
Capacity1
3.0TB
Formatted Capacity2
2790GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
64MB
Manufacturer Model Number
HDKPC08
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
26.1mm (1.03″)
Width (max)
101.6mm (4.00″)
Length (max)
147mm (5.79″)
Weight (typical)
680g (1.499 lbs.)

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
300,000
Warranty
2 Years Toshiba Warranty

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
6 Gb/sec
Track-to-track Seek
0.5ms

Power

Read Power
6.4 Watts
Write Power
6.4 Watts
Idle Mode
5.2 Watts
Standby Mode
1.0 Watts
Sleep Mode
1.0 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
70 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 107°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 42°C
Vibration
0.67 G, with 5 - 500 Hz
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
300 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 158°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 70°C
Vibration
1.04 G, with 2 - 200 Hz
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
2.7 bels
Seek (Typical)
2.8 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  • 3.0TB* Toshiba/HGST Deskstar™ 7K1000.D Hard Disk Drive**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Drive Cache Size

  • 64 Megabyte (65,536k)

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200RPM

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 – (1) B Standard-B port
  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin ports

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – Up to 300MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – Up to 1.5MB/sec
  • FireWire 800 – Up to 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – Up to 50MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. Including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 2.0)
  • USB 3.0: Macintosh with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via USB 3.0 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0  expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • USB 3.0: Windows XP and later with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via USB 3.0 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • FireWire 800: Windows 2000 and later with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via FireWire 800 expander card.
  • FireWire 400: Windows 2000 and late with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via FireWire 400 expander card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Format

Power Supply

External Case Dimensions

  • 1.5 in (W) x 9 in (D) x 4.6 in (H)
  • 38.1mm x 228.6mm x 116.84mm

Total Shipping Weight

  • Approximately 2.7 pounds (1.2kg)

Software Included

Product Manual

*With certain eSATA interfaces an improperly dismounted message may appear following sleep. This message can be ignored.

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF (hours)

  • 1,200,000

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 300,000

Warranty

3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use – but should the need occur – we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers. OWC and NewerTech storage solutions come fully backed by an Industry-leading 48-hour turnaround time which includes complimentary Level 1 data recovery for the first year, plus additional data recovery options available throughout the warranty period, for complete peace of mind ownership confidence.

View more information about the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your OWC solution prior to the conclusion of the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the OWC warranty.

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Reviews

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 143 out of 151 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Unit November 1, 2014 It's big, it's fast, it's quiet, it lasts. It's not overpriced. Could not want much more.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 5.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cleveland, Ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Quality and dependability October 30, 2014 This drive was simple to set up with my iMac and is now backing up with no problems. This is my second OWC drive and the first one is still doing its job. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2Tb Drive for backup October 24, 2014 I bought this 2Tb drive to use as a two partition drive for periodic backups using the Super Duper app on my Mac system. If you have never heard of Super Duper it's one of the best backup systems on the Mac-first you do a complete bootable backup of your entire hard drive and then later it will do incremental backups of the files that have changed. Having these bootable backups on reliable OWC hard drives have proven to be 100% reliable when computers have failed. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 reliability is key... October 16, 2014 Bought to replace a MacAlly case that worked flawlessly for years and.. then suddenly wouldn't mount anymore. This case seems similar in its very nice look, and apparent build quality is high. The key will be longevity, so we'll see! First impression on noise level (just took it out of a (working) Macally case - its quieter in terms of resting hum - but quite a bit louder strangely when the (WD Blak 1TB) drive is seeking "clacking". Surprising since the OWC case has rubberized mounting internal to the case - must be almost like a guitar body with the more percussive sounds. I'll try it on its side. That seems quieter

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro FireWire 800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brooklyn, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent! October 7, 2014 Great deal for the money. I highly recommend it.

This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro FireWire 800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NSW Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC is my 'Go To' Mac Supplier October 2, 2014 I am constantly reminded that OWC is one of the best, if not THE best, suppliers of Mac compatible hardware. Even though I am in Australia OWC consistently delivers on competitive pricing, fast delivery and thankfully almost never needed support. Larry and his team are to be congratulated for their customer focus and service delivery!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro FireWire 800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baton Rouge, LA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Elite Pro September 15, 2014 The Mercury Elite Pro is an excellent extension for your computer if you use Logic Software or other music software (Audacity, Steiner Group, etc...). It has the power and comes with enough memory to keep from slowing down your computer. My first unit went out without any logical reason, but it worked well up to that point. Anything is fixable if you are willing to pay the price. If you have a problem, send it to them and let them take care of the problem. I wish I had done that before my warranty ran out. I bought a new unit with 2 terabytes of memory and except for a bad cord (which they replaced at no charge), it has been excellent. All in all, it is a great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Folsom, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy transaction, excellent advice September 14, 2014 I am a 8 year customer of OWC, not a big customer but one that comes back because I know I can trust them. High quality, fair prices and terrific support.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro FireWire 800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit for 3.5" HDDs up to 8.0TB.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alamo CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Great drive, but when will we get a more reliable power connection? September 14, 2014 Hole-and-pin connectors often loosen over time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 i enjoyed using this product September 8, 2014 I replaced a previous hard drive that became unreadable and I wanted to use Data Rescue 3 top correct this and I needed a new hard drive, to do this.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St-Colomban, Québec Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality product September 2, 2014 Easy to use, run's smootly and the quality of the product seems great

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product July 29, 2014 I bought one of these to use with a Mac Mini home server after my trial with another enclosure failed (low quality, loud fan). Since these units are fanless, the noise issue is only with the HD installed in the unit. After a month of use I purchased a second enclosure. I put 2TB WD Red drives in both units, and they're working just fine. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro FireWire 800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New England Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good drive so far July 28, 2014 I can probably write a more useful review in a few years. My previous (smaller) Mercury Elite Pro, also from OWC, lasted for five years of weekly backups but finally the Mac sometimes didn't recognize it, so I ordered this new one. In the month or two I have used it, it has worked fine, no problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Installing and formatting easier than expected. Remember to turn anti-virus scans off making a backup. July 17, 2014 After getting great explanations about alternative choices from the sales people at OWC, I chose this drive. Installing and formatting easier than expected, and the bootable backup was successful. At first, making the backup was slow until I recalled that Sophos Anti-Virus and anti-malware was running, which of course was not needed. When I turned it off, backing up more than doubled in speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary, AB, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 All OWC Now July 14, 2014 After years of declining reliability and performance of another manufacturer's drives - and the solid performance of two OWC drives purchased in 2013, I came back for more. 3 more to be precise.

They're fabulous, fast, reliable and quiet and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone working in audio or video production or to anyone who likes a quiet external drive that's well designed and. just. works.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary, AB, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 All OWC Now July 14, 2014 After years of declining reliability and performance of another manufacturer's drives - and the solid performance of two OWC drives purchased in 2013, I came back for more. 3 more to be precise.

They're fabulous, fast, reliable and quiet and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone working in audio or video production or to anyone who likes a quiet external drive that's well designed and. just. works.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elk Grove, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Big, quiet and reliable July 11, 2014 I have only had the drive for a few weeks but it is the 4th or 5th Mercury Elite Pro drive I've bought from OWC. I only replace them to get something bigger, as the need arises. (When I bought my first for backup, 80 gig was HUGE!) All of them are still working fine for the people I gave them to.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worry-free July 7, 2014 I've bought several of these drives for different purposes. They are reliable, worry-free, and nicely priced. I recommend them without hesitation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iowa Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 receipt and operation June 23, 2014 This storage drive arrived quickly, in excellent condition, and with simple instructions for setting up. It performs quietly, quickly, and all around superbly. Quite a find.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Very good product June 17, 2014 I have two of them. I bought a 2TB first for time machine. New one is 3TB and very satisfied with both. I wish they make 6TB or bigger one in a near future.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Perfect For Time Machine and FCP Scratch Disk June 5, 2014 I am using this both as a scratch disk for FCP and to back up my Time Machine. The Firewire 800 makes data transfers A LOT faster than USB or Firewire 400, which is good when you're backing up TBs full of data.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 larger than other drives, needs power supply May 31, 2014 Didn't realize how convenient drives are that operate on USB power. If the drive was dedicated to one desktop computer it would be an issue. Otherwise it seems to work fine. It is also larger than some other drives offered on this site.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milwaukee, WI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Well made, easy to intagrate. May 13, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro FireWire 800 & USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 Enclosure Kit.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great, reliable product. May 12, 2014 I have used a number of the Mercury Elite Pro external drives over the years. They consistently provide ease of use, reliability, and durability. Thank you for a great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Western upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent backup device May 10, 2014 Has been working flawlessly since installation with absolutely no problems.

It would be 5 stars if it had been in service for more than a few weeks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro 7200RPM FW800 &USB3 Storage Solution.

OWC 3.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Mfr P/N: MES3FH7T3.0 OWC SKU: OWCMES3FH7T3.0 Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out