Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

We recommend 4.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.1 Gen 1 & Thunderbolt 2 RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs (Mfr P/N: TB2U3MED04T) from Other World Computing for $448.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual

4.0TB Multi-Interface Performance RAID

Mac / PC / Thunderbolt / USB 3.0 & 2.0
High-Performance, High-Reliability, Portability, and Style are standard for the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Series!
OWC external drives are built to last and have become the "go to" drives for professionals and enthusiasts alike. The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual houses two drives that can be easily configured in RAID 0, RAID 1, span, or JBOD/independent modes via the easy-to-use RAID selector switch on the back, while USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt interfaces provide blazing fast access to your data. This feature-packed external drive comes in a durable, heat-dissipating, brushed-aluminum enclosure.
Outstanding Features
High-Performance + Flexible
A blazing fast Thunderbolt chipset unleashes the full potential of this rugged external drive's dual 3.5" hard drives with sustained data rates of nearly 400MB/s plus the flexibility of hardware RAID 0, 1, and non-RAID modes to best suit your demanding applications and workflow.
High-Reliability
The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Series is Built to Last, with a quality design and the best components, backed up by a 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty.
Portability
The Compact and Shock-Resistant Design has the Mercury Elite Series going places! In addition, the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual series offers two Thunderbolt ports and one USB 3.0 port for easy use with ANY system! The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual even includes all needed cables!
Smart Sense
Power Saving Connection Sensor. A built-in sensor detects when the data cable is disconnected from a Mac or PC's native Thunderbolt or USB interface and automatically spins down the drives to conserve energy during periods of inactivity. Ideal for notebook users who can go mobile without the need to turn it off or unplug the power cord.*

*This function is also available through an interface card, provided the card offers hot plug capability. LED and fan will remain on during disk inactivity.
Speedtools
Includes the Powerful SpeedTools Utility Suite for Mac
The comprehensive Mac utility used by professionals for accurate Mac diagnosis and maintenance. Click the SOFTWARE tab below to learn more »
The OWC Mercury Elite Series has been designed to be everything you'd hope for and more!

Includes

  • External OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual
  • High-Quality, Certified, Double-Shielded 1 Meter (39-inch) Thunderbolt cable
  • High-Quality Double-Shielded 2' (24-inch) USB 3.0 cable (Standard-B to Standard-A, USB 2.0 compatible)
  • Kensington Security Slot
  • UL Listed U.S./International Auto Switching 100 ~ 240v, 50/60Hz input, 12 Volt 6 Amp output Power Supply (adapter plugs for International use sold separately). For replacement power supply, click here.
  • Auto-setup/partitioning utility for OS X & Windows
  • User Guide
  • Utility software bundle for Mac and PC
  • Mercury Elite Pro Dual with Thunderbolt Assembly Manual & User Guide (2.3MB PDF)
  • 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
  • Complimentary 1 Year Level 1 Data Recovery

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt
  • USB 3.0 (2.0 Backwards compatible)

Recommended configurations supported

  • RAID 0 – Performance Striping (default setting) for maximum performance(requires two identical hard drives).
  • RAID 1 – One drive mirrors the other for an instant backup(requires two identical hard drives).
  • Span – Combines both drives into a single, large volume.
  • Independent – Use both drives separately.*

    * 1) When the enclosure is set to Independent drive mode, only the drive in HDD2 is bootable.
    2) Independent drive mode is not fully supported by some versions of Mac OS X when connected over Thunderbolt. In Mac OS X 10.8.3 and prior, only HDD2 appears. This is a limitation of of the operating systems' support for the SATA chipset in the Mercury Elite Pro Dual. Independent drive mode does not have the limitation when used over USB.

Standard Mechanism

  • 2.0TB Toshiba DT01ACAxx Series Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    3.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6GB/s
    Capacity1
    2.0TB
    Formatted Capacity2
    1862GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    64MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    HDKPC09
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    26.1mm (1.03″)
    Width (max)
    101.6mm (4.00″)
    Length (max)
    147mm (5.79″)
    Weight (typical)
    680g (1.499 lbs.)

    Reliability3

    Contact Start-Stops
    300,000

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6 Gb/sec
    Track-to-track Seek
    0.5ms

    Power

    Read Power
    6.4 Watts
    Write Power
    6.4 Watts
    Idle Mode
    5.2 Watts
    Standby Mode
    1.0 Watts
    Sleep Mode
    1.0 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    70 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 107°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 42°C
    Vibration
    0.67 G, with 5 - 500 Hz
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    300 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 158°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 70°C
    Vibration
    1.04 G, with 2 - 200 Hz
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    2.7 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    2.8 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    2 x 2.0TB* Toshiba DT01ACAxx Series Hard Disk Drives**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200 RPM

Drive Cache Size

  • 128 Megabyte (2 Drives with 64MB (65,536K) cache each)

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – 2 ports
  • USB 3.0/2.0 – 1 USB 3.0 Standard B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt – Up to 10Gb/sec
  • USB 3.0 – Up to 500MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

    Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • Thunderbolt: It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

Format

Macintosh System Requirements

  • USB 3.0: Macintosh with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via USB 3.0 expander card and OS 10.6.8 or later.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card and OS 10.2.8 or later.
  • Available Thunderbolt port and OS 10.6.8 or later.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • Thunderbolt: Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (ZIP 3.3 MB)
  • USB 3.0: Windows XP and later with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via USB 3.0 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • Thunderbolt connectivity for OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual is not supported in Boot Camp.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB 3.0/USB 2.0 interfaces.

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Pre-installed Backup and Utility software

Power Supply

Dimensions

  • Height: 5.3 in (13.5 cm)
  • Width: 2.8 in (7.1 cm)
  • Length: 9.0 in (22.9 cm)

Weight (without drives)

  • 2.5 lb. (1.1 kg)

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF (hours)

  • More than 300,000 power-on hours

Warranty

3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your OWC solution prior to the conclusion of the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the OWC warranty.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n METB7DH4.0T UPC#: 794504340259

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 76 out of 83 (92%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Slightly Different January 18, 2016 Have purchased a number of these in the USB-FireWire-eSata configuration. Major change with this unit (besides the Thunderbolt-USB 3 interface) is the absence of an On-Off switch. Comes on and goes off as the computer does. No way that I am aware to eject and turn off except to pull out either the power or Thunderbolt cables.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support January 21, 2016 The absence of a power button was intentional. When the product was first designed, we followed the existing requirements provided by the chipset reference design. However, as new options become available, we do evaluate our customer feedback for future versions and additional product designs. Thank you for the feedback.
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 easy setup, fast connections January 10, 2016 I have two HDDs installed, one for Time Machine and the other as a clone. They are configured as separate drives. The unit works really well and I'm using a Thunderbolt connection. Installation of drives is very simple and the instructions are clear. The indicator light is a bonus in that it shows when there is hard drive activity.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pasco, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quality Product January 4, 2016 Ordered the bare enclosure and purchased drives from another vendor. I am using the following drives: Seagate ST4000VN0001 4TB Enterprise NAS HDD with 7200 RPM and 128MB cache. Decided on this drive because it is 7200 RPM, has 128MB cache and is rated for 24/7 with 5 year warranty. Powered up drives initially with default setting of RAID 0 so I could perform speed tests with the higher performance setting. Used QuickBench 4.0.7 with the following results (max:avg:min): read = 385.695MB/sec:375.646MB/sec:360.080MB/sec; write = 354.578MB/sec:345.269MB/sec:285.652MB/sec. Powered off the drive and set it to RAID 1 as I plan to use it and achieved the following results (max:avg:min) read = 215.175MB/sec:197.898MB/sec:171.383MB/sec; write = 216.122MB/sec: 199.786MB/sec:181.049MB/sec. The 216MB/sec value agrees with Seagate's published max sustained data rate of 216MB/sec. Overall I am pleased with the enclosure and happy with my selection of HDDs. I would recommend this enclosure and the HDDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Very solid machine, just a little noisy. December 22, 2015 It's very solid, fast and convenient with a strong metal case and single cable operation. My only real complaint is that it's a bit noisy, nothing horrible but noticeable. On top of that, I wish there was a way to keep it plugged in but not have the fan running, even after unmounting the drive. Easy fix to just unplug it but worth noting. Would buy again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 35-44 Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Affordable and fast. December 22, 2015 I use mine with two SSDs and a 2015 Mac Book Pro. It's great. The fan is audable but only just so. You won't hear it unless you have a completely silent room. as someone who has used RAID arrays for years' the RAID stup on this is dead simple.

This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 great external drive August 31, 2015 this raid storage is efficient and well designed. I'm using it with the OWC thunderbolt hub. A bit of noise is noticed (nothing anyoing) when the disks are used extensively. I havent tried at its full potential the raid functions since using disk separately.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Copenhagen, Denmark Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Looks like a great product August 31, 2015 I just received it, but it looks great, and it was very easy to install and format with the included software. I have a firewire version of the disc, and it has been running for several years without any problems. And it was delivered to my company in Denmark in a few days...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great. August 20, 2015 REceived the drive fast and put it to work right away with no problem. Thanks,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - SSD/HDD Hybrid.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything, plus, that you want from a hard drive August 11, 2015 Super fast, super quiet, super reliable (based on past experience) I've been using OWC drives for professional (every day) audio production since the mid 90's, i still have em all and they all still work. Whats the plus? Tapered flange on the thunderbolt port, plug em in with ease with your arm bent around the back of the rack with out a sight line.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Glad to have this, works great July 13, 2015 I am full time photographer and store my client libraries on this in a RAID mirror set up. I also store my Lightroom catalogs on here and with the Thunderbolt speeds I am very please. This keeps a lot of data off my iMAC internal and allows me to keeps my speeds very acceptable. Well worth the price of admission. Sits on my desk right next to my iMAC and I forgets it;s there. Sometimes I hear it accessing files when it spools up but most times, no.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 As good as OWC SSDs June 16, 2015 I used CalDigit RAID products for many years. They are still good. But their new thunderbolt products work with software RAID. I prefer hardware RAID products. So I chose OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual. They work great and I moved it to my clinic for my business backup. It is reliable and robust. CHEERS

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubois, Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Flexible Thunderbolt RAID Storage June 8, 2015 I generate job-critical data everyday on my Mac Pro, and I needed a dependable, large backup solution that did not slow down my workflow. I opted for the OWC 4.0 TB Mercury Elite Pro Thunderbolt RAID storage solution. This is an SSD/HDD hybrid design, and data transfer is lightening fast in both RAID 0 and RAID 1 modes. It came with both USB 3 and Thunderbolt data cables, but I only use the Thunderbolt attachment for my Mac Pro. I like that the drive(s) actually spin down when a backup is not in progress, thus saving wear and tear plus energy cost. It is whisper quiet, even during backup operations, and the enclosure is well built, minimal profile, and matches the other components of my Mac Pro. I could not be happier with this drive unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - SSD/HDD Hybrid.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great! June 6, 2015 I'm using this with separately purchased 3TB drives -- installation went easily and working fine. The RAID switch was a little odd and I didn't notice it at first, but once it was set it was fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works June 1, 2015 My incredibly exciting review: this unit does exactly what it says it does on the website. As always, excellent customer service from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to iMac Retina 5K May 20, 2015 I have purchased several of these - they always work perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Somewhere on the planet, with cameras and MBA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 A lightning-fast near-1TB SSD scratch disk April 23, 2015 Final Cut Pro's ultimate speed in rendering and 'sharing' (via Compressor) depends on how fast it can read and write the tasks. I used to use a mirrored RAID (7,200 rpm HDDs), and this worked well, but when OWC announced the dual SSD Mercury Elite, at the same time as 480GB SSDs were made available at just under $200, I knew the time for warp speed had come.

I had originally intended to use the two SSDs in a RAID 0 (max speed) but luckily I set it up as RAID 1 (mirrored, for data security) for testing first—I was wondering just how fast these drives are. Using BlackMagic's Disk Tester, Read and Write speeds were nearly off the clock (over 300Mb/sec, IIRC); anyhow, way faster than I expected. The speeds are significantly faster than FCP needs for any task—and I have data redundancy as well.

So now I have a scratch disk that will never be a bottleneck in my system (top spec 5K iMac) and the system as a whole tests out at 18,000 using GeekBench's tests (just under twice as fast as a top spec quad-core MBP). Thank you OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Good product, but fan noise April 17, 2015 I purchased this as a way to have all of my data in one place. It was overkill for my needs and I ended up returning it mostly for that reason. However, the fan runs all the time (since when the drive is plugged into the computer, it's on). As I was using this with a MacBook Air in clamshell mode, there were times that I didn't need the drive, but did need the display that was connected on the other end of the drive. Some may like the automatic power mode, but at least in my setup, it wasn't quite what I needed.

Other than that, construction was solid, the Toshiba drives were great (I've got some that are similar running without issue), and the product has a great warranty.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hungary
Rating: 5/5 Perfect bay for work April 12, 2015 I chose this owc bay because I need both usb and thunderbolt sockets and I would like to use raid1 to keep my data safe. So this is the best choice.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast March 22, 2015 Getting faster read/write times than my G-Raid or Lacie Riad.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great in Independent mode too March 12, 2015 Not a lot of info on it in Independent mode. I chose this option because the Raid info I found and studied didn't quite appeal to me and I figured my Thunderbolt connection would be plenty fast enough for my needs. At around 200-250 GBs per second in transfer rate, it is. So, I have it set up as two 2TB drives when connected to my computer. Set-up was easy and I barely hear anything from it other than a little low pitched hard drive noise when it first turns on or is first accessed. Not a problem and I like that I don't have to switch it on and off. I can't hear any fan noise, but that may be because of the location on my desk where I have it stationed.

I'm a film composer with a large sound sample library who was looking to go to a 3-drive set-up because my computer's (Macbook Pro i7 2.3 GHZ, 16GB RAM) internal hard drive was almost full, as were my two other older OWC Mercury Firewire drives. This new drive enabled me to move over 220GB of sound sample libraries off my internal drive. They all now load into my DAW around 10x faster and perform instantly from this new external location through the Thunderbolt connection. I dedicated one of the two 2TB drives to my sound library and am currently using the other 2TB drive for back-up copies and large files. After relocating everything I still have massive space available that should take years for me to come close to filling up. For my two other older OWC Mercury Firewire drives (still going strong after several years of constant use), I still use one as my audio recording drive and the other is now dedicated to Time Machine back-ups. I'm quite happy with this set-up as it works fine for Pro Tools and my Komplete 9, CineStrings, and CineBrass libraries.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Friendswood, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quiet, compact, huge storage! March 12, 2015 This is the external disk storage system I've been looking for. The Thunderbolt system provides amazing speed for reading / writing large files. The noise level is not totally silent, but it's so quiet that I easily forget that it's going.

I'm a photographer, and 6 TB gives me plenty of storage space for my photo libraries. And finally, the unit is rather small, and has allowed me to reclaim some much needed desktop space.

I'm happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: east coast USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 decent product, good price March 1, 2015 i purchased the empty case, and added my own 2 Tb drives. no problems with setup, works like a champ. I use it for a travel raid, and it's very compact. it is surprisingly hefty, but that's to be expected. it is a little noisy, but I feel that it is a trade off that is worth it, for the compact size, and speed.

I am happy with the hardware raid, and that was the deciding factor between this and the larger 4 bay drive enclosure (because that uses software raid exclusively)

the body is straightforward, and has a high quality feel to it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cleveland, OH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So far so perfect February 8, 2015 Set up this drive to back up a couple of external drives and an internal hard drive. While the initial set up should have been easy, it was not. It seems that one of the external drives was jealous of this new and much larger drive. It decided to display this jealousy by having its power supply fail. Why do I tell you all of this? Well, when I tried to daisy chain these drives nothing worked. But, once the failed power supply was replaced all was right with the world. While only a few months later, all continues to work as expected. Let's hope that this new drive has a long and happy life like its OWC cousins. P.S. Originally I used an ioSafe drive that was fire- and water-proof. Unfortunately, after 13 months it was not hard-drive fail proof. Being one month out of warranty ioSafe magnanimously offered me about half the discount I received when I originally purchased it from Costco. OWC is not inexpensive, but it is also not cheap either. P.P.S. The customer service I received in obtaining the replacement power supply from OWC was outstanding.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 10.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quiet high speed external drive January 24, 2015 Unit is very quiet. I set it up as RAID 1 (mirrored) as I'm backing up valuable image files. I really like not having to manually switch it on and off - the automatic feature works perfectly. The Thunderbolt connection is very fast - a boon when moving around or backing up large files. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive Cases January 22, 2015 I've been using the Elite Pro Dual case for a month or so now and it's been exactly what I wanted/needed as I've recently upgraded my system to a Thunderbolt capable iMac.

As a photographer I find I now have terabytes of data to deal with and the Elite Pro cases help me move it about way more efficiently - So much so that the time it takes for my daily backup routine has been cut in half.

I liked it so much I even bought a second one!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

OWC 4.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Mfr P/N: METB7DH4.0T OWC SKU: OWCMETB7DH4.0T Multi-Interface Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out