Home » External Drives and Enclosures

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual

Multi-Interface Performance RAID Enclosure Kit

New Condition | Open Box

Mac / PC / Thunderbolt / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB
High-Performance, High-Reliability, Portability, and Style are standard for the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Series!
The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual houses two user-supplied drives that can be easily configured in RAID 0, RAID 1**, span, or JBOD/independent modes via the easy-to-use RAID selector switch on the back, while USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt interfaces provide blazing fast access to your data. This feature-packed external drive comes in a durable, heat-dissipating, brushed-aluminum enclosure.
Outstanding Features
High-Performance + Flexible
A blazing fast Thunderbolt chipset unleashes the full potential of two internal drives you choose to install. Get the maximum sustained throughput from your drives with the flexibility of hardware RAID 0, 1, and non-RAID modes to best suit your demanding applications and workflow.
High-Reliability
The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Series is Built to Last, with a quality design and the best components, backed up by a 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty.
Portability
The Compact and Shock-Resistant Design has the Mercury Elite Series going places! In addition, the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual series offers two Thunderbolt ports and one USB 3.0 port for easy use with ANY system! The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual even includes all needed cables!
Smart Sense
Power Saving Connection Sensor. A built-in sensor detects when the data cable is disconnected from a Mac or PC's native Thunderbolt or USB interface and automatically spins down the drives to conserve energy during periods of inactivity. Ideal for notebook users who can go mobile without the need to turn it off or unplug the power cord.**

*For RAID 0 or RAID 1 functionality, it is recommended that identical drives be utilized.
**This function is also available through an interface card, provided the card offers hot plug capability. LED and fan will remain on during disk inactivity.
The OWC Mercury Elite Series has been designed to be everything you'd hope for and more!

Includes

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Mechanisms Supported

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt

Interfaces Supported

  • Thunderbolt
  • USB 3.0 (2.0 Backwards compatible)

Recommended configurations supported

  • RAID 0 – Performance Striping (default setting) for maximum performance(requires two identical hard drives).
  • RAID 1 – One drive mirrors the other for an instant backup(requires two identical hard drives).
  • Span – Combines both drives into a single, large volume.
  • Independent – Use both drives separately.*

    * 1) When the enclosure is set to Independent drive mode, only the drive in HDD2 is bootable.
    2) Independent drive mode is not fully supported by some versions of Mac OS X when connected over Thunderbolt. In Mac OS X 10.8.3 and prior, only HDD2 appears. This is a limitation of of the operating systems' support for the SATA chipset in the Mercury Elite Pro Dual. Independent drive mode does not have the limitation when used over USB.

Port Configuration

  • Thunderbolt – 2 ports
  • USB 3.0/2.0 – 1 USB 3.0 Standard B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • Thunderbolt – Up to 10Gb/sec
  • USB 3.0 – Up to 500MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – Up to 60MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

    Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • Thunderbolt: It can be used as a Thunderbolt startup drive on Macs running Mac OS X.

Macintosh System Requirements

  • USB 3.0: Macintosh with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via USB 3.0 expander card and OS 10.6.8 or later.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card and OS 10.2.8 or later.
  • Available Thunderbolt port and OS 10.6.8 or later.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • Thunderbolt: Any PC running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or later with a Thunderbolt port. Driver required for proper installation. (ZIP 3.3 MB)
  • USB 3.0: Windows XP and later with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via USB 3.0 expander card.
  • USB 2.0: Windows 2000 and later with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via USB 2.0 expander card.
  • Thunderbolt connectivity for OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual is not supported in Boot Camp.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB 3.0/USB 2.0 interfaces.

Power Supply

Dimensions

  • Height: 5.3 in (13.5 cm)
  • Width: 2.8 in (7.1 cm)
  • Length: 9.0 in (22.9 cm)

Weight (without drives)

  • 2.5 lb. (1.1 kg)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 65G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF (hours)

  • More than 300,000 power-on hours

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n METB7DK0GB UPC#: 794504339956

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 76 out of 83 (92%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Santa Clarita, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Too noisy? January 15, 2015 I keep wondering if I have gotten used to SSDs and very quiet external fanless USB drives. The OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual enclosure seems very well made, has a good fit but the fan noise is definitely noticeable in a quiet home office. I really shouldn't knock it too much though because one should expect that a 3.5" drive in an enclosure will make some noise of their own and will need a fan to keep things cooler. I may search for a quieter drive to install in this enclosure and get a longer Thunderbolt cable so I can put it on a shelf under my desk.. All else considered, nothing about the enclosure felt cheap and it has performed well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great with my iMac January 15, 2015 I installed 2 Western Digital Red 2GB running as RAID 1. Its working great, no problems

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Pair with the right drives and you have a great array! January 13, 2015 I have purchased 4 of these enclosures to utilize with drives that I purchased separately and have had minimal issues so far. The array is used between both OS X and Windows machines so they are generally formatted as exFAT for this purpose. The primary use of these is DIT work in backing up large 4K footage files on location shoots as well as staging work for editing. With the right drives, the speed is plenty for playback of 4K in Premiere. We have used the HGST 4TB drives contained inside the Touro Desk Pro enclosures which has been about the cheapest method I have found for getting 7200rpm 4TB drives of good quality. For a 4TB (Mirror) or 8TB (stripe) the deal is hard to beat and being able to choose either USB 3 or Thunderbolt is even sweeter. I recently placed 6TB drives (a bit slower RPM - WD Green) in the enclosure and have received decent performance out of even these but would not recommend for editing work, only field backup and archiving. We use these drives often for DAM work as well before placing final assets into our larger storage arrays. I am going to try out the new 8TB drives (HGST and/or Seagate) with this enclosure soon, but will have to verify with OWC if they would be compatible, I am hoping so as we have a number of RED cameras we shoot with on location and compact mirrored arrays for backup of camera mags is essential. Rugged housing of these has held up well on location but would recommend maybe better drive isolation from vibration (rubber mounts, etc.). As far as the noise folks complain about with the fan, I have not ever really noticed this at all or consider it an issue for our use. The only issue we encountered was some file system troubles with exFAT and striped RAID configuration where a few times the array degraded when moving between Windows and OS X. In the mirrored configuration, this is less of a concern for obvious reasons but if running solely with either platform, stick with recommended filesystem for those OS's (Journaled or NTFS). I do wish I could remove the rounded feet (unscrew off drive housing) just to reduce size even more in our Pelican cases. Don't think Thunderbolt 2 is really needed on these as drives available to install would never saturate the bus with data, but I may at some point try mounting some 2.5 SSD's with adapters inside and see what kind of performance I can get also as these drives prices are dropping fast also. Glad the drive comes with cables too, that seems like a no-brainer but many enclosures are really bare bones.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan, US Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works as expected January 9, 2015 Works very well. Only one drive is bootable, but did not know that when I bought it. It is the first drive installed.

It is very convenient to have the settings for Raid 0,1 etc be a hardware switch on the exterior. I chose the independent setting. Did not try any other settings.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Seems Well Built and Reliable December 27, 2014 It is a thunderbolt case for two bays for RAID use. Does it as said, seems sturdy, well built, reliable and I would buy another product from OWC because I thought it seems serious.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Aarau–Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great and Fast December 27, 2014 Fast delivery, fast speed! The case is well done, the speed with two SSD's is wonderful!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mrrjm Location: Illinois Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product- Very fast December 21, 2014 Very fast with thunderbolt. I use it with SuperDuper for back ups. It's also bootable and that works great. The enclosure is well made out of aluminum.

The bad. There is just a small switch to change Raid. I have it set up as mirroring Raid 1. There is no way through software to find out if the data is really being mirrored. The disk utility only see the enclosure as one drive in this mode.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brooklyn, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Great Drive, NO POWER SWITCH December 16, 2014 This is a great drive and does everything I want...however please note THAT THERE IS NO POWER SWITCH. I don't care how smart the drive is. I wish there were a power switch and that I noticed this before I ordered. I had the older non-thunderbolt version which had a power switch so I assumed this would, too.

If you are using this as a media drive and use multiple drives for different projects be aware that you'll need to unplug the thunderbolt cable from this one when you don't want to use it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support December 18, 2014 The absence of a power button was intentional. When the product was first designed, we followed the existing requirements provided by the chipset reference design. However, as new options become available, we do evaluate our customer feedback for future versions and additional product designs. Thank you for the feedback.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great External Storage December 14, 2014 I bought this external thunderbolt enclosure to be a media storage for my 2014 Mac Mini. I used 2 Seagate drives that I had from my old custom build and had no problem setting up (I do have a degree in Comp Sci but the setup really is easy enough for anyone to setup). My only compliant would be that it is a bit noisy, But still about 15db lower then my old custom build, its just the Mac Mini is completely silent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 2/5 Performance is good but the noise is awful December 11, 2014 The performance on this unit is good but, as another poster noted, the noise is awful: this is the loudest external hard drive I've ever heard, and, oddly, the noise appears to be constant even when the drives are idle.

If you're already working in a noisy environment, you probably won't care about the noise. It may be possible to replace the fan, but the out-of-the-box noise experience is terrible. I haven't decided if I'm going to return mine.

This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Response from MacSales.com, Customer Service December 18, 2014 We are very sorry to hear that the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt enclosure was not able to suit your needs. We are always looking for ways to improve our products and understand customer feedback is essential in the growth and development of our products and solutions. We appreciate you taking the time to share this assessment of the fan noise, and agree quieter is always better.
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MD Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Low Priced Thunderbolt RAID November 7, 2014 This is the lowest price thunderbolt RAID enclosure that I found. It works great with two 3TB drives. I'm using it as RAID 1 for redundancy in case one drive fails which has happened to me many times before. The only difficulty I had was opening the case so I had OWC ship it to me without screws.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast,dependable storage solution October 20, 2014 If you have a need to access or move large amounts of data,in my opinion you won't find a better,easier to setup solution, Very pleased so far!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best value hdd enclosure with daisy chaining!! October 12, 2014 Super Strong Chasis!! Super fast transfer speeds. You can daisy chain multiple thunderbolt devices... Eg second display. Thunderbolt cables included in the box. Great product :-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Super quick drive, slow start up sometimes September 30, 2014 This drives works great and arrived right on time. Quick to download / upload / copy video footage from Ikonoskop camera using thunderbolt. It's a bit slow to start up sometimes and I'm not a fan of the lack of an on-off switch - that's new. Would rather have the on-off switch back again.

I'd like to see the little legs on the wider edge of the drive to minimize the chance of it falling over. Overall though, great and haven't had any problems!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ADA, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive, as expected August 29, 2014 This 10TB Thunderbolt drive was the perfect solution to back up our LAN volumes and ship them to a vendor. After it's returned, it'll be used as a rip-roaring video editing drive.

Great Drive. Fair Price. Great company to do business with, as always!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 10.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chapel Hill, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Go into beast mode with your backups August 11, 2014 This drive is amazing. Fast as all get-out. Saved my iMac from storage purgatory by moving all of my video onto it. Large amounts of storage. I actually do all of my Time Machine backups now that I actually have a fast drive that can handle it. Yes, it is a little noisy, but really not a distraction at all. This thing is a total beast and is well worth the money. I can't speak highly enough about it. I plan to get one for my wife!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 It just worked July 21, 2014 I wanted an efficient way to connect a bunch of storage to my iMac via TB, and this enclosure works (I use JBOD mode). Installation and use have been straightforward.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southeast Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wicked Fast External Drives July 9, 2014 I bought this for my wife's mid-2011 27-inch iMac because her internal HDD is failing. Rather than replace the internal drive, which is VERY costly, we decided to try this 2.0TB Elite Pro Dual over Thunderbolt using the RAID 1 configuration.

She is in the early stages of using this drive. It seems to boot as fast as the internal drive. In the little testing we've done, it saves files faster than the internal drive. Applications seems to run just as fast, if not faster, as on the internal drive.

Bottom Line: It seems a viable substitute for the mid-2011 iMac internal drive.

Although I plan to update this review later after we've had more time using the product, just wanted to get this out there now because it's very difficult to find much information about the viability of replacing the mid-2011 iMac internal drive with an external Thunderbolt solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hillsbor, Oregon Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fastastic! July 6, 2014 That's not a misspelling; this drive's fastastic (fast + fantastic). I bought a 4TB (2TB + 2TB) to use for my main Image storage. As a photographer using a new 2013 Mac Pro w/ 1TB internal SSD, I needed a "Working" drive dedicated specifically to storing and post-processing raw images. The drive needed to be fast with a Thunderbolt interface and it had to be inexpensive. (I can't afford the ThunderBay. Yet.)

My Mercury Elite Pro Dual is configured as Raid 0 (fast!) and I use a 4TB Mercury Elite Pro USB3 to back it up with Time Machine. I back up the Time Machine drive using yet another 4TB drive using the software offered by OWC when purchasing drives...ProSoft Data Backup.

My Pro Dual sits on the floor under my desk and can't hear the fan whatsoever. While a few other reviewers mentioned the fan noise, I doubt it would bother me even if it were sitting directly on my desk.

I've purchased several OWC drives and always get my memory upgrades from them as well. Customer service, for the very few times I've needed it, has been exemplary. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, MN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to Setup and Use June 3, 2014 I have used several different external RAID enclosures, and this is by far my favorite. It is extremely easy to install my hard drives into the enclosure and almost just as easy to configure the RAID and have it ready to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dobbs Ferry, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A great way to use SATA drives with the new MacPro May 22, 2014 OWC walked me through several options for using my old high-capacity SATA hard drives from my old MacPro with my new MacPro. I purchased a ThunderBay IV unit that held all 4 of my old drives AND delivered speedy transfers via Thunderbolt. I'm a very happy camper!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent External Storage Plan May 15, 2014 I have an early 2009 24" iMac running OS X 10.9. I plan to buy a new iMac in the next 24 months, and I'm trying to upgrade what I can to keep my old iMac running and usable.

The Mercury Elite Pro Dual fits into my upgrade plan because I plan to store my files on it and connect it via USB. When I upgrade my iMac, I will connect it via Thunderbolt.

I bought just the enclosure and was able to easily add my own drives to it and format those drives using Disk Utility. I have it set up as a RAID 1 for redundancy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chico, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Works well, too noisy May 12, 2014 I got this to go with my new late 2013 Mac Pro and from a functionality perspective the device has worked flawlessly. The real problem is the new Mac Pro is amazingly quiet, and once you stick this device anywhere near it, all you will hear is the whir of the internal fans on it. I know hard disks are hot buggers and need cooling, but this thing sounds louder than my old tower Mac Pro did.

I currently have it stuffed as far under my desk as I can (with decent air flow) so I don't have to hear it, but I hear it all the time so I am presently looking to find something quieter...

This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Enclosure with cables.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing August 29, 2014 There is no doubt that quieter is always better and we are alway looking to improve. To that point, improvements in the fan solution that were part of a running change as of August 1st, 2014 have resulted in a 20% noise reduction and lower pitched sound from the fan. Thank you very much for your feedback and support!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, MN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Blazingly fast, great capacity, quiet and not hot May 1, 2014 The summary says it all. The Thunderbolt download speeds are so fast that I laughed in sheer joy during large file transfers. I formatted on 3 TB partition ala Mac and the other ala Windows 7 for my VMWare Fusion partition. Received indispensable instruction on how to do this from the OWC team. Works like a charm. Well-engineered and with a heft that suggest durability. I had heard folks mention that it was audible while in operation. I don't even notice it and no, I don't wear hearing aids. Love this product. Looks like the dual 3 TB is the best price point and is also easier to format (there are 3 TB constraints on formatting in NTFS format or so I read).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, D.C. Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Easy, simple, fast, noisy. April 29, 2014 Works like a champ but I wish It would go to sleep when not in use for x minutes. Maybe I'm missing an OS setting or product setting somewhere.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB Mercury Elite Pro Dual USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt RAID Storage Solution - 7200RPM HDDs.

OWC Enclosure Kit OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual Mfr P/N: METB7DK0GB OWC SKU: OWCMETB7DK0GBOB Multi-Interface Performance RAID Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty