Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Mount Pro
2.5" Drive Sled for 2009-2012 Apple Mac Pro

OWC Mount Pro
Add any 2.5" Hard Drive or SSD to your Apple Mac Pro!
While designed with the OWC® Mercury brand SSDs in mind, the OWC Mount Pro 2.5 is the easiest way to add ANY 2.5" Hard Disk Drive or Solid State Drive to your Apple Mac Pro (2009-2012 'Nehalem' & 'Westmere' models).

The powder-coated aluminum and open design assists in heat dissipation while the blue color not only looks sharp, but allows you to tell at a glance which bays contain 2.5" form factor drives.

Installation is a breeze. Simply attach your 2.5" drive to the bracket using the four included hard drive mounting screws and swap with an existing 3.5" drive tray. The OWC Mount Pro 2.5 perfectly aligns the SATA connection from your 2.5" drive into the back plane SATA ports on the Mac Pro.

Note: Not for use with Mac Pro models released in 2006, 2007, or 2008

Warranty: OWC Lifetime Limited Warranty

The Mount Pro is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
The Mount Pro is not compatible with the following Mac Pro models.
For these models, we recommend using the NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
Mac Pro
NOT COMPATIBLE
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
NOT COMPATIBLE
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
NOT COMPATIBLE
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Mount Pro 2.5 inch drive sled for 2009-2012 Mac Pro
  • 4 Phillips drive mounting screws *


* Phillips #00 driver recommended. May work with Phillips #0 drivers as well.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 84 out of 89 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Bought this to mount my 480BG SSD and it fits like a glove November 16, 2015 Bought this to mount my 480BG SSD and it fits like a glove. It was extremely easy to install. And I love that OWC always takes the time to make videos to show installation process and makes it so convenient for people. Always exceeding my expectations. Thank you guys so much.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC MOUNT PRO October 24, 2015 This gets your 2.5 smaller drives into your Mac Pro tower drive bays. Excellent build quality.......A precision adapter.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice and easy to use. September 27, 2015 Really enjoyed installing this product. Nice and easy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect solution September 20, 2015 Using it now for a 2,5" HD, will use it soon for an SSD until I get a PCI solution for that.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great sled September 10, 2015 Much better than other sleds I bought elsewhere, as this one uses the drive's own terminals.Great fit and finish.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Simply The Exact Product It Needs To Be September 9, 2015 Holds my SSD drive perfectly and slides in like a breeze (better than the original trays).

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hartford, ct Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 just what i needed August 17, 2015 Luckily a colleague told me about this. Before I resorted to gaffer tape to mount my ssd in my mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Califonia, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Best Product to install 2.5" Drives in 2010 MacPro August 8, 2015 I've been using this device for 3 years in my MacPro with no issues. Easy slide-in/slide-out. Recently did a Tivo hard drive upgrade as well as running Ubuntu on my Mac. Didn't want to risk exposing my boot drive to a Linux build so out it came. Quickly reinstalled when the project was completed. With 4 bays in the Mac Pro, it's easy to clone laptop SSD's from their original hard drives and then reinstall in the laptop. Much easier than the USB cable method. ONLY downside is this generation MacPro has a SATA 2 (3Gb/sec) interface where the newer machines are twice as fast. With 16 Gb of RAM, an SSD boot disk, and a hybrid data disk, my 5-year-old Pro with a 2.8 GHZ quad core Intel processor holds its' own for what I need it to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 trouble free adapter August 6, 2015 Easy plug-in adapter for 2.5 inch drive use in Mac Pro. Drive connection lines up perfectly. This is the second one I have installed.SSD's really speed things up!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great engineered product July 31, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly for new SSD July 28, 2015 Solid and durable sled for installing an SSD into a Mac Pro. Meets or exceeds OEM specifications in my humble opinion. Plus you always know in which drive bay your SSD resides due to its distinctive blue color. I would recommend OWC sell this as a bundle option with their SSD offerings since it seems like a natural pairing.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Fit July 28, 2015 Love it

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgetown, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Well Built Sled May 28, 2015 Purchased this to add a 250GB SSD to my Mac Pro. Drive fit perfectly into the sled and sled fit perfectly into the slot made for OEM sleds. No difficulty with plug mating. Overall looks like great quality. Arrived on time as specified when purchased.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacDummy Location: L.A Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for adding 2.5" drive May 23, 2015 This works perfectly in my Ma pro for use with either a 2.5 SSD or 2.5 hard drive

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pinehurst, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Well Made and Perfect Fit May 5, 2015 I've used a few sleds and data doublers brackets from OWC and this is my favorite.

I had tried many ways to create a BootCamp partition on a secondary 2.5 drive in a MacBook Pro. Having removed the internal SuperDrive to place the second hard drive I could not get an internal to install on it. Target Disk Mode didn't work either when MBP was connected to a Mac Pro. The only option left for me was to put the 2.5 drive in the Mac Pro and use it's optical drive to install Windows. I had the drive space in the Pro, only needed this sled to make it possible to install a 2.5 drive.

It's blue. That's neither good or bad, but it's made of aluminum. Good and sturdy. The Mac Pro I have has a main SSD drive that I bought an adapter made of plastic to make it fit in the Apple supplied sled. I thought that was a good solution but I find this slide, with its designated fit for a 2.5 drive an optimal solution (though having an extra sled lying about is a side effect). With the drive screwed securely into place, the sled slid perfectly into the Mac Pro. No issues with its use.

I would have preferred a lower price, even a couple of bucks cheaper would make it more enticing, but I suppose the extra cost really went into the quality of the build.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ottawa, ON Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit March 20, 2015 This fit my Mac Pro 2010 like a glove. It is flimsier than the aluminum ones that come with the Mac but it functions perfectly well.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Estonia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product! March 11, 2015 Very fast service. I order OWC Mount Pro March 8, 2015 2:51 PM (Sunday) and it was in Estonia on Wednesday at noon.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NC
Rating: 5/5 Extremely useful for laptop users February 5, 2015 Got one to reuse a drive I'd updated, then got another one as it's the simplest way to to disk to disk backups for a laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fairport, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as it should January 24, 2015 This drive sled fit just as it should, I'm happy with it and would recommend. Used it on a 2011 Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Culver City, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Well made. Easy. Good Price. January 21, 2015 While there are ways to use the optical bays to install an SSD. This solution is great, super simple, cost-effective. I use these for the boot drives of my Mac Pros...and then use a pair of SATA drives in a raid.

This is a nicely machined piece, and blue is a tell-tale sign to figure out which one it is when you open your machine up.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: York, PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid! January 18, 2015 Easily allowed me to add SSD drives to my 2009 MacPro. This greatly improved my performance and brought my older Mac into the age of SSD storage. Well designed and easily installed to drive and then the Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product. Easy install! January 11, 2015 This is a great product and very easy to install. Fast delivery to New Zealand. Arrived within 4 days of ordering.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cleveland,Ohio Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nice! December 10, 2014 My 2.5" ssd fist in my Mac Pro mid 2010 perfectly. No problems here. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 as advertised December 7, 2014 fits the computer. drives slot in easily. What more can you ask for?

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Works but... November 28, 2014 Works perfectly but the Pro only has 3G SATA so you're probably better off getting an inexpensive 6G card and plugging in the drive that way. That said, this is clearly a quality product — nice thick metal, perfect sizing.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC Mount Pro™ 2.5" Drive Sled for 2009-2012 Apple Mac Pro Mfr P/N: MMP35T25 OWC SKU: OWCMMP35T25 Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $29.95Cyber Saver $17.75
Add to CartOther World Computing MMP35T25 In Stock, Click to Buy Now