Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go®

0GB USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Enclosure Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Kit packs an incredible punch into a 3″ W x 5.5″ L x 1″ H 11 ounce package!
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! Packing a powerful punch of super fast USB 3.0, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform with Macs and PCs.
Outstanding Features
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go features a high performance ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset, creating one perfectly integrated storage solution.

The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results.

The On-The-Go External USB 3.0 & 2.0 Enclosure Kit is ready to accept your own 2.5" SATA Hard Drive! Now you can upgrade your Mac or PC notebook's internal drive and retask that old drive as a new external drive for even more backup and storage capacity! This solution will give you an excellent transportable storage device, or a backup option that you may have not had!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.

Includes

  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 & 2.0 storage solution for SATA 2.5" Hard Drives
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 & 2.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 & 2.0 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 & 2.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Unit Weight (no mechanism)

  • 0.40lbs. (0.18kg)

Assembly Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MOTGS3U3 UPC#: 794504332759

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: HiggsBoson Location: Aiken, SC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Encased Drive February 16, 2016 Like it so far. Used to back up my wife's Air book. Throw it right into the safe. Comes with a nice neoprene protector too. Fine little gadget. Lots of connector options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sacramento Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great for archiving February 6, 2016 It seems like only a few years ago buying a terabyte external hard drive cost a small fortune. This was on sale at a price I could afford. And it was just what I needed. I determined my laptop was sluggish and showing too many beachballs from a too full hard drive. After copying all my video and music files to the Mercury hard drive and deleting stuff that I didn't need on my laptop then defragging, my laptop finally got it's speed back and no beachballs. I have several of Mercury on the Go hard drives. Love them. It gets power from the USB on my laptop though I did buy a power cable to plug in the wall just in case. it's small, fast, quiet and has a cool blue blinking light that indicates when working and when resting. It really shows up in the dark. Some shareware is included. It also comes with a carry case which holds both the drive and the cable. The case is sturdy and I don't worry about stuffing it in suitcase or computer bag.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 solid performance January 21, 2016 As a backup for my digital music collection this is a fine product. I needed capacity and reliability at a reasonable price. I could wish for more transfer speed and perhaps more options for continuing backups, but those are quibbles not major concerns. OWC is a consistently good performer in my experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbus, OH Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A USB 3.0 drive that works with lots of drives connected! January 14, 2016 I have a couple of backup drives and several other USB peripherals connected through an industrial strength 7-port USB3 25W powered hub connected to my MacBook Pro. Basically all ports are full. I've tried out two other USB drives, and doing a clone from my internal SSD drive to them would inevitably end in errors, even when not connected through the hub! I think OWC's drive came with a better cable... it has shielding rings on both ends. (I tried the cable with a cheaper drive, and it worked.)

Thanks for a problem-free product all around, OWC!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product, reliable and the USB is a bonus January 14, 2016
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gothenburg Sweden Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 great product January 9, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Functional & affordable external hard drive December 27, 2015 I bought this to use as my Time Machine backup on my MacBook Pro. So far, it's been great. MacSales has a good reputation, and my own experience suggests that it's deserved. Highly recommended if you're looking for an external hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elizabeth, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Can't Be Beat December 26, 2015 For the price and the quality, you can't beat the 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM. I have a few older models 40GB and 100GB that I needed to replace as they aren't compatible with the newer iMacs. This drive is perfect. Plug and play. I use the Apple Time Machine with it and there are no configuration problems. I am pleased with my purchase as I am with anything I have bought from Macsales.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Sturdy, no complaints. December 22, 2015 This little drive feels very sturdy, compact yet it sits solidly on a flat surface. Not quite as cheap as some portable drives but this thing feels well worth the quality boost price.

This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NEPA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 These drives are great December 22, 2015 This is my 4th OWC Mercury and they are flawless. I have one in both laptops I own and now also have started using them externally as backup drives, as they have become so affordable. I don't even consider other drives when I buy.

The On the Go enclosure is very fast to assemble and high quality. I travel some 200 days a year and those enclosures never blink.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chattanooga,Tn Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Always as expected December 21, 2015 Every order has been perfection on what was advertised and performed perfectly . shipping was fast and tracking worked right on... Im happy and will always continue with OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Exeter, RI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A great little hard drive enclosure December 11, 2015 I purchased this enclosure to provide access to the hard drive from my MacBook Pro while its logic board was being repaired -- a sad story involving a spilled glass of beer. :-( It performed flawlessly, as have all the drives and enclosures I've previously purchased from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: DC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Reliable backups at a reasonable price November 29, 2015 There are no bells or whistles with this -- you plug it in, you turn it up, you back up your computer. I regard this simplicity as a feature. The reliability has been rock-solid, as with every OWC drive I've bought.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very nice unit. November 20, 2015 This is a quality product accomplishing everything it is supposed to do. Looks good, great build quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best external backup for MacBook Pro September 25, 2015 I have used these Mercury On-the-Go enclosures for many, many years and have owned about six of them. I continuously upgraded as new / different bus connections became available. Not a single one ever gave me a problem. Easy to upgrade the drives inside as you upgrade the capacity of your laptop. Fast enough for backups or even booting if necessary. I use these to clone my internal drives and tend to use the FireWire 800 port. They get warm during longer (45m) backups, but that's what the heat sink is for, and they never get super hot. You can rely on them. Has a power switch if you want to keep them plugged in but off. Bus powered, so no need for external power. Small, light, and durable enough to keep in a backpack or laptop bag. Only gripe is that you may not like the small blue light on the controller board. It is not annoying, I prefer it, but it does exist and may annoy you if you are Donny Darko.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sequim, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed and stability. September 19, 2015 The 240GB SSD external matches up nicely with the 240 SSD internal - both from OWC giving me all the speed and stability I can expect out of my macBook plus lower power consumption. Almost like a processor upgrade. Once again I'm completely satisfied with an OWC product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product... excellent company. September 9, 2015 This external hard drive is small and extremely functional. I like buying from OWC because they are swift in their deliveries, they have high quality products and excellent customer service and warranty options. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Clear is Good! August 29, 2015 I just got this enclosure, OWC was giving them for free with the purchase of certain hard drives, so I ended up with one. I can see that when I put my old 120GB SSD drive in it I'll always be able to see the size of the drive and not have to make an external tag to remind me. Brand new it's very pretty, if I remember I'll write later on about how well it looks after some wear and tear.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Suburban Chicago Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product. August 27, 2015 This product is great. I have two other drives of the same kind and they work flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Handy portable exterior HD. August 24, 2015 I've had it for a little over a month. So far it's great, easy to use and good value. It seems well made, comes in a leatherette case with a USB3 cable and does NOT need a separate power source.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WV Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does What It Is Intended To Do August 20, 2015 This is my 3rd Mercury drive. I am pleased with Mercury construction. The cases are built to last. This is the 1st SSD I've owned. I wanted to experience the difference between HD's and SSD's. The SSD has no moving parts so it is less likely to breakdown. It also should last longer. I am using this drive as an onsite backup storage device. My previous backup showed signs of imminent failure. I transferred the Time Machine folder to the Mercury SSD, then declared it as the new backup location. Time Machine recognized it and all was good to go. I also use the Mercury SSD to store data that I seldom use. In the 3 months I've had this drive it has performed silently and reliably. The only problem I've encountered with it is occasionally the disk image doesn't mount on the desktop after the computer is taken out of sleep mode. I restart the computer and it mounts just fine. I also like the style of this unit. I recommend the Mercury On-The-Go SSD

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast reliable portable storage July 27, 2015 I have a large number of digital photos from digital cameras, film slides, and film negatives. I wanted a solution to have multiple backups in various locations. The 2.0 TB Portable Bus Powered Solution gave me this ability without having to deal with power supplies. The USB 3.0 interface is also extremely fast, so I can add data to all my drives quickly. Next the quality is outstanding and the travel pouch is designed to assure the safe transport and storage of the drive. I definitely recommend this solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Just Like It Should! June 25, 2015 I have purchased a number of items from OWC over the years. From memory to internal and external disk drives, cables and accessories. Most, if not all have, been exactly as advertised. This is my second Mercury On The Go drive. It works exactly as advertised and as expected it should, and my older one is still chugging along. Powers up just fine on my mid-2015 MBP . I used it to back up my 2006 Mac Pro before selling it and moving on to Yosemite on two MBP's. Transferred data to my new laptops from the Mac Pro, which was running 10.7.5 and all went just fine.

What can you say about an external drive? It just works. The included software is really not of any use to me, but there are options built in to leave it, copy it to your main drive, etc.. So, no big deal.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great, just like you said it would June 10, 2015 Works great, just like you said it would. And the sales rep lady was absolutely fabulous and went overboard to help us solve our problems. Thanks, We appreciate it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubois, Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very dependable backup solution June 8, 2015 I've owned this drive since May of 2011, and have used it with a Macbook Pro as a Time Machine backup drive. Never had any problems with it, and it still works great after over four years of use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

OWC 0GB OWC On-The-Go® Mfr P/N: MOTGS3U3 OWC SKU: OWCMOTGS3U3 USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $39.99Cyber Saver $34.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MOTGS3U3 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM HDD
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $69.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $92.99
    • OWC Price $92.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $125.00
    • Cyber Saver $125.00
7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $114.99
    • Cyber Saver $107.99
Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
SSD Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: 24-48 hrs
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $58.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.88
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $104.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $239.99
    • OWC Price $228.88