Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go®

0GB USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Enclosure Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Kit packs an incredible punch into a 3″ W x 5.5″ L x 1″ H 11 ounce package!
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! Packing a powerful punch of super fast USB 3.0, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform with Macs and PCs.
Outstanding Features
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go features a high performance ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset, creating one perfectly integrated storage solution.

The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results.

The On-The-Go External USB 3.0 & 2.0 Enclosure Kit is ready to accept your own 2.5" SATA Hard Drive! Now you can upgrade your Mac or PC notebook's internal drive and retask that old drive as a new external drive for even more backup and storage capacity! This solution will give you an excellent transportable storage device, or a backup option that you may have not had!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.

Includes

  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 & 2.0 storage solution for SATA 2.5" Hard Drives
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 & 2.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 & 2.0 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 & 2.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Unit Weight (no mechanism)

  • 0.40lbs. (0.18kg)

Assembly Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MOTGS3U3 UPC#: 794504332759

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WMass Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 best little external drive April 19, 2015 Hefty in construction, lithe in size and shape, quiet, bus-powered, warranty.... what more do you need? This is the third Mercury On-the-Go USB drive I've bought from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: philly Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Drive March 27, 2015 great drive. use it for weekly backups. Works great. NIce bag for storage when not in use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Amazing March 20, 2015 Compliments my late 2013 Mac Pro. My goal is to run all SSDs since spinning hard drives can be stressful when you're traveling. I love the speed, quality and assurance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works Great February 26, 2015 Very happy with the On-The-Go USB 3.0 2TB drive. It loses a star because the connector is a little vulnerable to carelessness (read; I messed it up a bit). But overall, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent Product February 24, 2015 Works as advertised. Easy installation, attractive product, excellent packaging and shipped in a timely fashion.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rock City Falls, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Enclosure! February 21, 2015 I had to remove and re-install a bunch of drives into this case because I was using it to recover data from a couple of failing drives as well as for backing up (cloning) my main laptop drive and finally installing a drive that I will use permanently in this enclosure for backup. I must have removed and installed a drive from the enclosure about twenty times over a period of a week or so. My analysis? This is a very high quality enclosure at a great price that I would recommend to anyone. It just works and that's what I expected from OWC. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best 2.5'' external case available February 5, 2015 The only thing that would make this better is if it had e-sata like the metal ones they sell , by the way the metal one with e-sata is the fastest external with their SSD in it that I can find .

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best portable drive February 5, 2015 I purchased one of these and found it to be an excellent portable package. It is much better than the cheep portable products I bought which failed and the drive could not be replaced. It is easy to use and carry when I travel. I like it so much that I bought one for my daughter and one for a friend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Prairie Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A good case... January 26, 2015 My second case like this. That says it. If I didn't like the first one, I wouldn't have bought another. I do like metal cases better, but maybe they aren't made now. Cooling issues have changed I guess.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice drive January 22, 2015 Nice drive. Formatted easily and works fine. Installed easy in my MBP 15". Extra drive is nice and sturdy for the old drive. Not sure if it is much faster than my old drive but I have lots more space.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Workhorse of an Enclosure January 12, 2015 I have lost count of the number of drives that have cycled through this enclosure over the years since I bought it. It has served as an emergency backup drive, and enclosure to hold internal drives that have been upgraded until they could be "migrated" to the new drive or new computer, to transport large amounts of data that would not fit on an SD card or thumb drive, temporary boot drive when running beta software, etc. Through it all the enclosure has been absolutely trouble free, dead bang reliable, and fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chile Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 All around SSD January 3, 2015 After replacing all the internal HDD of my Mac Pro for SSD´s, I was looking to have an external SSD to move heavy files around and to be able to do it as fast as possible. This SSD is not only reliable but very fast. Avg. I´m getting 200 MB/s write and 340 MB/s read speeds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Evergreen, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The HD is fine, but s/w is not. January 3, 2015 The HD seems to work as advertised but the s/w that came the with it is not easy to use. I ended up buying Carbon Copy Cloner which use to come with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's fast quiet and very portable December 5, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Value November 30, 2014 This is a very well made unit that does exactly what I wanted it to. Fast and reliable, it goes on the road with me and functions flawlessly. Definitely recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 So far, so good October 28, 2014 I currently use external drives for the majority of my motion projects (animation, editing, vfx). So far, OWC's drives have worked very well. I always have a good experience with OWC and hope they continue to thrive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Macgeorge
Rating: 5/5 Very good October 19, 2014 Excellent way to return life to an old Mac Book. Works well and sped up computer performance that we decided to keep the old computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good Product October 19, 2014 Works perfectly x 2 weeks. Really sped up the performance of the old laptop so much, we decided to keep it instead of selling it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 320GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, ME Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Compact Portable October 13, 2014 Using my "On the Go" to back up one of my external drives. Easy to use. OWC listened to what I wanted a back-up to do and made this recommendation. Have been very happy with it so far. Comes with it's own case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Deal September 26, 2014 The drive holds a huge amount of info at a reasonable price. The fact that it's USB powered means one less power cord hanging down the back of my desk. Backing up is way cheaper than getting files off a crashed hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lincoln, Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition September 20, 2014 Needed to add an SSD drive as a backup. Easy to add the SSD drive to the unit and had the drive up and running in minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alamo CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 No problems, and it’s very cute September 14, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boone, Iowa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Arrived quickly worked perfectly September 1, 2014 Well thought out product. Does exactly what I wanted.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WMass Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent external drive August 22, 2014 Lightweight, big capacity, small power consumption, quiet.... what else do you want in a drive? This is the second one I've bought. The first is still running great, too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlottesville, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy, slim and fast August 20, 2014 This nice, small external USB 3.0/2.0 external drive is everything you are hoping it will be when you are looking at drives. It's fast, small/slim and easy to use. Plug it in, it shows up on the desktop, start using it. It even has a heat sink to help extract heat out of the enclosure. I highly recommend this unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

OWC 0GB OWC On-The-Go® Mfr P/N: MOTGS3U3 OWC SKU: OWCMOTGS3U3 USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $39.99Cyber Saver $29.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MOTGS3U3 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM HDD
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $48.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Cyber Saver $109.99
7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $114.99
    • Cyber Saver $109.99
Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
SSD Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $59.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $99.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $239.99
    • OWC Price $214.99