Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go®

0GB USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Enclosure Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Kit packs an incredible punch into a 3″ W x 5.5″ L x 1″ H 11 ounce package!
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! Packing a powerful punch of super fast USB 3.0, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform with Macs and PCs.
Outstanding Features
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go features a high performance ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset, creating one perfectly integrated storage solution.

The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results.

The On-The-Go External USB 3.0 & 2.0 Enclosure Kit is ready to accept your own 2.5" SATA Hard Drive! Now you can upgrade your Mac or PC notebook's internal drive and retask that old drive as a new external drive for even more backup and storage capacity! This solution will give you an excellent transportable storage device, or a backup option that you may have not had!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.

Includes

  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 & 2.0 storage solution for SATA 2.5" Hard Drives
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 & 2.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 & 2.0 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 & 2.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Unit Weight (no mechanism)

  • 0.40lbs. (0.18kg)

Assembly Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MOTGS3U3 UPC#: 794504332759

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alaska Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I like it so much, I bought 2 August 7, 2014 I research and recommend products for clients regularly. My first stop is typically OWC because I rarely have to go elsewhere. This little drive is wonderful for training people to backup. I set it up using the OWC software, then turn it over to the client. All they have to do is remember to connect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just What I wanted July 11, 2014 I have a late 2013 iMac. I am using this enclosure with an SSD as my boot drive. No trouble putting it together. The USB 3.0 cable is very stout. Transfer speed is what I have come to appreciate from OWC products.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York City Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best value July 1, 2014 I bought OWC's Mercury-On-the-Go external hard drive as a Time Machine backup for my new Mac Pro, that has a 1 TB SSD. It offers the best value for the specs. Competitors don't offer 1 TB USB 3.0 drives that are 7200 RPM at this low price. Others only offer a slower 5400 RPM, so this drive is much faster and cheaper. The Mercury on-the-Go uses a transparent case, so you can see the exact hard drive specs, and know what HD brand you are actually getting. I used to use full-size external hard drives for my backup, but find that their reliability is no better than the smaller drives, plus I like the smaller footprint. It shipped and arrived very quickly, set-up easily and so far has worked flawlessly. OWC branded hardware I find is dependable and their phone service is always friendly and helpful, so I consider them a reliable source that stands behind their products. I just wish they would offer this product with a Thunderbolt 2 connection.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hansville WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 LOVE these 1TB USB drives; have more'n half a dozen! June 22, 2014 Over some number of years now, I've slowly purchased more'n'more of these. I use 'em for daily (and yearly, long-term, etc.) drives - "driven" perfectly by Mike Bombich's stellar-great, VERY low-cost Carbon Copy Cloner.

(Have two attached to my Mac at any one time, each partitioned into two logical drives. Have CCC set to clone to one partition each night - first to 1st partit on 1st drive, then to 1st partit on 2nd drive, then to 2nd partit on 1st drive, then to 2nd partit on 2nd drive. That gives me full bkups for the last four nights, plus having CCC archive all removed files ... which slowly fills-up the drive and requires either a new drive or selective deletions of the archives, once every few months.)

Periodically, I rotate some of the drives to off-site storage. They're sufficiently low-cost to do this without cringing. Pocket-sized (well, for large pockets :-); powered off of the USB connection; quiet; reliable. Couldn't ask for more! --jim

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super fast portable drive May 31, 2014 This drive has all the benefits of an external powered drive, namely speed, all in a small portable drive. Easy to take wherever I need to go with the carry-case.

Highly recommend this drive for anyone who needs super fast storage on the go. Great for editing video as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Qc Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A little bulky, but works good May 29, 2014 The enclosure is a little bulky, bigger than a off the shelf external hard drive. But overall it works good, as fast as the drive inside the enclosure.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Las Vegas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC TO THE RESCUE!!! February 4, 2014 OWC is the BEST brand for APPLE/MAC peripherals. I have purchased 5 External Hard Drives from these folks and they have always been top notch. I recommend their products to my friends, colleagues and students. I teach at the colleges here in town and know some of these students are on a budget. At OWC you can get excellent equipment on a budget. OWC is my MAC base for life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 OWC + TIM = TOP NOTCH!!! January 30, 2014 First off before I proceed with this review, I have to give a big shoot out to Tim for his expertise as well as wealth of knowledge in the products I was looking to buy. He defintely explained every aspect of each product I was looking into buying with great detail. This is my second time going with OWC and they have yet to let me down.

Pedro J Jr

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Specifications misleading, SSD owners look elsewhere November 23, 2013 I purchased this enclosure because I had a spare SSD lying around that I would like to put to good use. To my unpleasant surprise, this enclosure did not meet my speed requirements.Benchmarks could not score anything higher 280MB Sequential Read and write using USB 3.0. There is a clear difference in being able to use 6 a Gb drive and getting the speeds of a 6 Gb drive. In this case, this enclosure is NOT 6Gb capable, OWC should revise the specifications and indicate it is 6Gb compatible, but not 6Gb capable.

This kit is more suitable to mechanical drives, as I suspect that the enclosure is a 3 Gb chip.

In addition, I have observed that this drive has a tendency to disconnect itself when using the front panel USBs, though this is of minor concern, (I find this to be unusual as 2.5 inch drives do not require much power, and that the drive being installed in this enclosure was an SSD) this can solved by using the rear USB ports instead.

I was using a Samsung 830 in that enclosure kit, I would like to return this product but the shipping charges along with the restocking fee greatly discourages me from doing so.

Response from MacSales.com, Tech Support November 27, 2013 This drive is indeed 6Gb/s compatible and capable - see the benchmarks for the enclosure with an OWC 6G SSD pre-installed: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/MSU3SSD240GB/Benchmarks
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great backup solution and no power cord September 10, 2013 I grew out of my smaller On the Go hard drive and upgraded to the 1.0 TB. It is set up with Time Machine and easily stored (hidden, actually). It is BUS Powered and thus no power cord to contend with.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: denver Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 popped my mini 1tb right in June 30, 2013 I upgraded my mini to a 2 drive system and used this enclosure so that I could use the drive as a backup for other items. It works great. It's got a power button to turn the drive off and the case is simple to set-up.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 2/5 Doesn't work for me. June 25, 2013 I bought this enclosure in May, hoping to put one of my older SSD's in it to use as an external drive. Unfortunately, it doesn't work for me, at least not the way I hoped it would.

The issue I have with this is weaker bus power than is required for the enclosure. That is, when I connect this drive to the computer by the USB 3.0 cable provided with the unit, the drive will sometimes show up but will get disconnected while operation from time to time. I imagine that cannot be good for my drive, so I am not feeling too good using this unit to house my drives.

I contacted OWC support about this issue, and they told me that there could be something wrong with the provided USB cable. Indeed... I tried another USB cable(from OWC fyi) and it did work without problem(at least for a short time.), but the USB cable provided with this on-the-go unit performs just fine on the OWC Express that I have, so I'm not really sure if the cable is to blame, at this time. At any rate, I'm not going to risk my data with a stuttering connection; the enclosure has a little jack where you can add another USB bus power cable or a DC power cable, so I think if the need arises, I'll just use the extra power with this enclosure. But that means this enclosure isn't being bus powered after all, which is my problem ultimtately.

In the meantime, I think an OWC Express or OWC mercury elite pro mini would do the job just fine if you need a quality enclosure. I really, really liked the transparent design and the fancy blue LED of this drive, but... this is the first time I had a USB enclosure with an unstable connection, so I guess I'll settle for the other enclosures for now.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Paul Location: Paul Age: 45-54 Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid Product September 20, 2012 I have 5 and highly recommend them to friends and family. True, there are more compact and stylish external drives on the market but these feel solid and durable. Plus, I really like the clear enclosure which allows you to easily see and read the hard drive label. This is handy if you upgrade the drive mechanisms or need to keep track of multiple drives because you can easily tell what's inside. I have been using Mercury On-The-Go portable drives for over 4 years and very pleased.

This review is from (*) 320GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MountainMan Location: Woodland Park, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Cheap and effective fire insurance July 3, 2012 I just purchased my fourth OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB drive. They have proven invaluable for sending back and forth to clients and photographers for large file transfers, as they are small and easy to use. This summer I found another use for them; the Colorado wildfires have posed a serious threat to property, mine included, so I videoed my entire home and its contents for insurance purposes. These large video files went directly upon the On-The-Go drive and to the safe deposit box at my bank. The small size of the drive makes this possible. I have probably 10TB of various OWC drives, and while there are cheaper drives on the market, they are no bargain if they fail. I've had excellent luck with all OWC storage products and will buy no others.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TonyB Location: Perth WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Disappointing June 30, 2012 Having ripped out many a hard drive from all sorts of computers and also having set up plenty of portable bare hard drives I found this kit to be disappointing and difficult. The instructions are split into two separate documents neither of which fully cover the installation process. Normally this wouldn't be a problem because this kind of installation should be straightforward. However, the SSD hold down screw was too long such that it wouldn't firmly hold the SSD in place and the other screws were too short to hold the bridge card in. Luckily it seems to fit in quite snugly without any screws. But if the ultimate test is does it work? - Well yes. Is it blazingly fast? - No not really. With an OWC 500GB SSD in there it certainly doesn't achieve the 500MB/sec max speeds claimed for USB3.0 nor the 200MB/sec for the SSD. I transferred 150GB using USB3.0 in 31 minutes (which by my calculations is about 80 MB/sec). I did exactly the same test onto another brand's USB3.0 5400RPM SATA 2.5" HD and it took 46 minutes. Did the same onm a USB2.0 5400RPM SATA 2.5" HD and it took 66 minutes. So I guess there are speed advantages but in the order of two times and no more.

This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 External Enclosure for Apple MacBook Air 2010 & 2011 Flash Storage.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing July 2, 2012 This product was meant as a temporary solution to getting some use from the removed Apple drive on your 2010-2011 MacBook Air while a more customized solution was in development. The Mercury Aura Pro Envoy is that customized solution: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MAU3ENVOY/ The second instruction booklet is to show what is different for installation of the MacBook Air SSD as opposed to a 2.5" hard drive that the On-The-Go line was designed for: http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firewire/on-the-go Transfer speeds will vary depending on your setup, our marketing simply states the fastest theoretical speeds of the interfaces. The top speed limitation is always the lowest common denominator. For example, while USB 3.0 has a maximum speed to 500MB/s - the fastest MacBook Air stock SSD we've seen has a maximum speed of 200MB/s (some models were slower), so right off the bat, the top speed can only hit 200MB/s if you have the fastest SSD. Now, let's say you're plugging the device into a USB 2.0 port as found on the 2010-2011 MacBook Air models that the drive would be removed from and the theoretical maximum speed is then reduced to 60MB/s. The data itself can also be a determining factor on real world speeds. One large file transfers faster than a bunch of smaller files. It is kinda like driving - you can have a car that has a top speed of 200 mph, but if you're only driving a few feet at a time you're not reaching that full speed with each individual transfer.
Reviewer: apg028 Location: Hong kong Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 I need it. Product is good April 19, 2012 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 External Enclosure for Apple MacBook Air 2010 & 2011 Flash Storage.
OWC 0GB OWC On-The-Go® Mfr P/N: MOTGS3U3 OWC SKU: OWCMOTGS3U3 USB 3.0 & 2.0 Portable Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $39.99Cyber Saver $29.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MOTGS3U3 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM HDD
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $48.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Cyber Saver $108.88
7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $114.99
    • Cyber Saver $98.88
    • After Instant Rebates
Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
SSD Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $59.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $89.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $239.99
    • OWC Price $214.99