Home » Optical Drives & Media » External Optical Drives » Blu-Ray + DVD/CD Super » Reads & Writes Blu-Ray, DVD, and CD medias

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Slim

External 6X Blu-ray & CD/DVD Burner

Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1 / Bus Powered
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB
Light, Portable, Reliable
Outstanding Features
Express your digital life with style, convenience, and value!
The OWC Slim optical drive makes CD and DVD creation Plug and Play easy. Now you can add high performance optical drive functionality with stylish value to notebook or desktop computers.

Supports the burning of up to 50GB of data or high definition video per Blu-ray disc, or up to 8.5GB using low-cost Dual Layer DVDs
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC Slim optical drive offers stylish mobile disk read/write ability with quiet, smooth tray-loading operation. It's small enough to slip into a laptop bag so you'll always have an optical drive on hand.
Reads and Writes Blu-ray discs
Although commercial Blu-ray movie playback not supported in OS X, Blu-ray discs do mount on the desktop and can be backed up to the computer or played via third party software options.
Total Backup & Archive Solution
Backing up to optical media is becoming increasingly more popular – especially for photos, audio files and video. This optical drive includes all the software you need to archive your data on either a Mac or a PC. Don't let your only copy be the one on your hard drive – optical media is durable, portable and easy to store.
M-DISC Compatible - Write Once and Read Forever
Compared to other recordable DVDs on the market today, M-DISC offers superior reliability in data storage that provides the permanent optical data storage solution. Once written, the M-DISC can be read or played on any quality DVD drive that supports the common DVD+R/RW format. M-DISC Media sold separately.
Note: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or the Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your drive, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Includes

OWC Value Line™ Slim includes

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • Sunplus

Read Speeds*

  • Blu-ray up to 6x
  • DVD up to 8x
  • CD up to 24x
  • M-Disc up to 4x

Write Speeds*

  • Blu-ray up to 6x
  • DVD up to 8x
  • CD up to 24x
  • M-Disc up to 4x

Standard Mechanism

Product Specifications

General

Drive Type
Internal slim Blu-ray/DVD/CD writer
Form Factor
12.7mm laptop
Interface
SATA
Loading Mechanism
Tray
Bezel Color
Black
Buffer Memory
2MB
Mounting Orientation
Horizontal/Vertical
Manufacturer Model Number
UJ240
RoHS Compliant
Yes

Performance

Supported Formats
BD-ROM (SL/DL), BD-RE (SL/DL), BD-R (SL/DL), DVD+R, DVD+R DL, DVD+RW, DVD-R, DVD-R DL, DVD-RW, DVD-Video, CD-R, CD-RW, CD-ROM, CD-ROM/XA, CD-Audio, Video-CD, Photo CD, CD-I(FMV), CD-Extra, CD-TEXT, M-Disc

Capacity

Data Capacity
50GB: Blu-ray Double Layer
25GB: Blu-ray
8.5GB: DVD General Use Double Layer
4.6GB: DVD General Use
700MB: 79 minute CD
650MB: 74 minute CD
550MB : 63 minute CD

Disk Labeling

Disc Labeling
No

Physical

Height (max)
12.7mm (0.50")
Width (max)
128.0mm (5.04")
Length (max)
129.0mm (5.00")
Weight (typical)
0.14kg (0.31 lbs.)

Maximum Read Speeds

BD-R
6X
BD-RE
4X
BD-RE (dual layer)
4X
BD-ROM
6X
DVD-R
8X
DVD+R
8X
DVD-R (dual layer)
6X
DVD+R (dual layer)
6X
DVD-RW
8X
DVD+RW
8X
DVD-ROM
8X
DVD-ROM (dual layer)
6X
CD-ROM
24X
CD-R
24X
CD-RW
16X
M-Disc
4X

Maximum Write Speeds

BD-R
6X
BD-R (dual layer)
4X
BD-RE
2X
BD-RE (dual layer)
2X
DVD-R
8X
DVD+R
8X
DVD-R DL
4X
DVD+R DL
4X
DVD-RAM
5X
DVD-RW
6X
DVD+RW
8X
CD-R
24X
CD-RW
16X
M-Disc
4X

Reliability

Warranty
1 year OWC Warranty

Environment

Operating Temperature
5° C to 50° C
Non-Operating Temperature
-40° C to 65° C
Operating Humidity
5% to 90% R.H.
Non-Operating Humidity
5% to 95% R.H.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 – (1) mini "B" port

Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 – 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Macintosh Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x.

Windows Requirements

  • Windows 98SE or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Windows 2000 or later.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on most computers with USB 2.0 port factory stock.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs. It is however, required to burn M-Discs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 5.6 in (D) x 5.7 in (W) x .95 in (H)
    (14.25 cm x 14.5 cm x 2.425 cm)

Enclosure Weight

  • 4.3 ounces (122g)

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 05°C (41°F – 122°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 10% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MRSSBDR6X UPC#: 794504765823

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.4 / 5 93 out of 101 (92%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rsdio Location: Seattle, WA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Works fine, but case is flimsy May 1, 2017 This Blu-ray Burner performs as expected, but there is one catch. The case is so thin that it can be difficult to close the drawer without catching. Since the drive is so light, it usually takes a little downward force to keep it from sliding across the desk when pushing the drawer closed, but this pressure is enough to bend the case into the slot where the drawer belongs enough that it gets blocked. Thus, it takes a two-handed approach or an awkward grip to get the door closed. Once you learn how to work around this, it's not too bad, but I eventually purchased the larger Blu-ray Burner just to get a solid case that isn't so flimsy. The lower cost mostly makes up for this shortcoming.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iTechsg Location: United States
Rating: 4/5 Pleased with Product April 24, 2017 Effortless connection and functionality. Using on my MacBook Pro 15" retina. Very pleased with performance and usability.

Recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Xhabu Location: Oregon Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My external blu-ray/dvd works as expected. April 20, 2017 The External Blu-ray / Drive replaced a very old HP external Blu-ray Rom drive that finally gave up a couple of months ago after many years of service...

MacSales had a similar slim external Blu-Ray drive which has more then filled the bill and my needs. I use it to daily read blu-ray backup discs for QA... and have watched many blu-ray movies while on my travels.

I use it on both my Linux desktop running Ubuntu / Debian and my MacBook Pro... plug it in and go.

It feels solid and functionality is bulletproof. I would buy another one and would recommend it to friend if asked.

Thank you MacSales for quick delivery and providing the same quality of product as I have come to know and expect over the years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RichH Location: East Windsor, NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Buy - would buy it again. March 30, 2017 The DVD drive works very well with my iMac. I've backed up my photo files on about 30 DVDs so far and also watched a few more DVD programs so far. The only minor issue I've had is making sure the drive door has closed completely when loading DVDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AkiraHi808 Location: Honolulu, Hawaii Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great!! February 2, 2017 The internal optical drive in my Mid-2010 MacBook failed, so I purchased this drive. Other than having problems closing the tray, it performs as expected. It came with the USB cable needed and works under macOS and Windows.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: PodcastListener Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great January 11, 2017 I have been using this drive with a late-2015 iMac for reading CD, DVD and blu-ray disk. It has been working great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnH Location: Woodstock, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast, Plug & Play, low profile January 7, 2017 An excellent external DVDRW/CDRW! bought it for my wife's windows 10 computer, which as it happens did an update and bricked a couple days after Christmas.....She wanted to restore from image file she'd created, but internal CDRW was not registering with the Lenovo Computer. She hadn't even "installed" this drive yet, but I suggested she plug in the USB, insert the disk and go for it..... Several hours later she was back up and running.... VERY NICE PIECE OF EQUIPMENT??

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Blu-Ray 6X + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution *Open Box*.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: T0shi0 Location: Vermont Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what I was looking for. November 7, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD Burner/Reader.
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Kaner Location: Mokena Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade October 21, 2016 This is a great upgrade for my internal DVD drive. Now I can play blue-ray movies on my MacBook Pro. Works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB2 Portable Blu-Ray 6X + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: designclint Location: Texas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Slot Loading Blu-Ray Player August 8, 2016 For the price, the player works very well. No issues so far. Easy to setup. Actually there is nothing to do. Just plug it in. Finding good playback software for Blu-Ray movies/ tv shows has been a challenge unfortunately, but the hardware is great for the price. Highly recommended.

This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: northern CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good quality external Blu-ray burner August 1, 2016 The garage sale price and the quality of this burner was a great deal

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 This product does what it says it will. July 10, 2016 I have always used Toast and it was great to get an Upgrade with my new blu-ray drive. The drive is very efficient and from what I have done so far since purchase I am very satisfied with. Reliable and quite fast. Very portable but also can be plugged in so a real plus there. As I had Toast12 this upgrade wasn't as much as I had hoped for but it is faster than 12 so that alone is worth the upgrade. Thanks OWC thats a great bundle.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Camarillo, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 8X OWC dvd drive June 26, 2016 It works well for me. I replaced my optical drive from my macebookrpo and added a 2nd HD. However, I still needed an optical drive for those times when one is needed. So, this does the job though realize this is only for playback, not burning/recording.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Livermore, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 More than meets my needs and expectaions June 13, 2016 I bought this external drive for my daughter to use with her new MacBookPro. She used her previous MacBook to view DVD movies (in addition to her college course work). Since the new MacBookPros no longer have an internal optical drive I wanted to get her a simple reliable drive. It did not need USB3, nor did it need the fastest read/write times. USB powered makes it simple to use with less cable clutter.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 External Blu Ray May 5, 2016 Use this very rarely but has performed well with all discs. I would recommend this for anyone looking for an reasonably priced external. My only complaint with the drive is the case could be a bit more sturdy. if you pinch the front while closing the drawer for leverage, it can get it the way.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Freeland, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Great Replacement for Dead internal optical drive May 3, 2016 I bought this to use when I needed to read a DVD/CD on my Late 2008 MacBookPro when the Apple Internal Optical Drive had died for the second time (I was out of AppleCare warranty by this time). Much cheaper than another internal and this one also reads Blu-Ray (although I have yet to test this). Bonus, it also works with my Window box when I want to do a straight duplication of a DVD for archival purposes. My only complaint is that it takes two hands to close the tray unless you secure the unit to something heavier (which I have done using 3M Dual Lock tape).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB2 Portable Blu-Ray 6X + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Clooud, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 It works well for listening and burning, March 12, 2016 I haven't figured out how to close it. I push in and sideways. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Is there an instruction manual? I want one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good product at a good price. February 21, 2016 I have tried various CDs and DVDs with a variety of file types and have been satisfied with all. No complaints.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Asia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Inexpensive, portable Blu-ray solution February 16, 2016 I got this over Christmas 2014 and the price was low. It serves as a portable Blu-ray drive for my 2012 MacBook Pro. I found that it does require a more powerful power adapter (not included; at least 5V/1A) or it won't work. The casing is pretty flimsy, but it works well enough if you don't abuse it. It works well with Mac Blu-ray Player software (not free). I haven't tried to use it to burn DVD's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB2 Portable Blu-Ray 6X + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 1/5 Product lacks feature to write audio files February 14, 2016 Only place noted - in spec as fine type footnote

This review is from OWC SuperSlim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader with Mac Software.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Salt Lake City, UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome product, easy to use February 12, 2016 I was reluctant to buy one of these for my Macbook Air because the price seemed too good to be true. But this drive works perfectly. It was so easy to set up as well! It comes with everything you need in the box. There are not great instructions but I was able to set it up with no issues at all. Works automatically with iTunes, and all my video player apps.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC SuperSlim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader with Mac Software.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roselle , NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 a fine cd player for the price February 11, 2016 Im happy .and im almost never happy . thats all i really need to say .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB2 Portable Blu-Ray 6X + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Mdwycyoff Location: Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Inexpensive alternative for occasional use January 25, 2016 I don't own an Apple external SuperDrive, so I cannot compare this one to that. I own two older Macs with internal SuperDrives to do the job when I need to burn multiple sets of CDs and DVDs. I wanted an inexpensive external USB-attached CD/DVD for that rare occasion when I needed to load music from CD or software from a DVD with my mid-2014 13" Retina MacBook and my son's Mid-2013 21.5" iMac. I tested this drive on both systems, and it works. I purchased this as an open-box item at a substantial discount, and perhaps that is the reason that the drive mechanism catches about halfway open when opening or ejecting a disc. A gentle tug, and it opens fully. No complaints for the price, though.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Works, but closing is a little troublesome January 24, 2016 This drive reads and writes well. I've read about 15 DVDs and audio CDs, and wrote one CD-R. It's about as loud as most external DVD/CD drives i have used.

My only complaint is that the tray / door does not close easily unless it's held in a particular place. I don't think it's a manufacturing flaw -- seems more like an issue with the design and the smallness of the case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Topeka, KS Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Small, light and efficient January 18, 2016 I've had this little puppy for about 45 days and absolutely love it. I am using Macgo Blu-ray player software and am very impressed. It is about one-eight the size of an external DVD player I used to use with an older Mac Mini, plus it doesn't need an external power source. It runs off the USB port power on my Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

OWC Slim Mfr P/N: MRSSBDR6X OWC SKU: OWCMRSSBDR6X External 6X Blu-ray & CD/DVD Burner 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $119.99OWC Price $99.00
Add to CartOther World Computing MRSSBDR6X In Stock, Click to Buy Now