Home » Optical Drives & Media » External Optical Drives » Blu-Ray + DVD/CD Super » Reads & Writes Blu-Ray, DVD, and CD medias

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Slim

External 6X Blu-ray & CD/DVD Burner

Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1 / Bus Powered
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB
Light, Portable, Reliable
Outstanding Features
Express your digital life with style, convenience, and value!
The OWC Slim optical drive makes CD and DVD creation Plug and Play easy. Now you can add high performance optical drive functionality with stylish value to notebook or desktop computers.

Supports the burning of up to 50GB of data or high definition video per Blu-ray disc, or up to 8.5GB using low-cost Dual Layer DVDs
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC Slim optical drive offers stylish mobile disk read/write ability with quiet, smooth tray-loading operation. It's small enough to slip into a laptop bag so you'll always have an optical drive on hand.
Reads and Writes Blu-ray discs
Although commercial Blu-ray movie playback not supported in OS X, Blu-ray discs do mount on the desktop and can be backed up to the computer or played via third party software options.
Total Backup & Archive Solution
Backing up to optical media is becoming increasingly more popular – especially for photos, audio files and video. This optical drive includes all the software you need to archive your data on either a Mac or a PC. Don't let your only copy be the one on your hard drive – optical media is durable, portable and easy to store.
M-DISC Compatible - Write Once and Read Forever
Compared to other recordable DVDs on the market today, M-DISC offers superior reliability in data storage that provides the permanent optical data storage solution. Once written, the M-DISC can be read or played on any quality DVD drive that supports the common DVD+R/RW format. M-DISC Media sold separately.
Note: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or the Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your drive, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Includes

OWC Value Line™ Slim includes

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • Sunplus

Read Speeds*

  • Blu-ray up to 6x
  • DVD up to 8x
  • CD up to 24x
  • M-Disc up to 4x

Write Speeds*

  • Blu-ray up to 6x
  • DVD up to 8x
  • CD up to 24x
  • M-Disc up to 4x

Standard Mechanism

Product Specifications

General

Drive Type
Internal slim Blu-ray/DVD/CD writer
Form Factor
12.7mm laptop
Interface
SATA
Loading Mechanism
Tray
Bezel Color
Black
Buffer Memory
2MB
Mounting Orientation
Horizontal/Vertical
Manufacturer Model Number
UJ240
RoHS Compliant
Yes

Performance

Supported Formats
BD-ROM (SL/DL), BD-RE (SL/DL), BD-R (SL/DL), DVD+R, DVD+R DL, DVD+RW, DVD-R, DVD-R DL, DVD-RW, DVD-Video, CD-R, CD-RW, CD-ROM, CD-ROM/XA, CD-Audio, Video-CD, Photo CD, CD-I(FMV), CD-Extra, CD-TEXT, M-Disc

Capacity

Data Capacity
50GB: Blu-ray Double Layer
25GB: Blu-ray
8.5GB: DVD General Use Double Layer
4.6GB: DVD General Use
700MB: 79 minute CD
650MB: 74 minute CD
550MB : 63 minute CD

Disk Labeling

Disc Labeling
No

Physical

Height (max)
12.7mm (0.50")
Width (max)
128.0mm (5.04")
Length (max)
129.0mm (5.00")
Weight (typical)
0.14kg (0.31 lbs.)

Maximum Read Speeds

BD-R
6X
BD-RE
4X
BD-RE (dual layer)
4X
BD-ROM
6X
DVD-R
8X
DVD+R
8X
DVD-R (dual layer)
6X
DVD+R (dual layer)
6X
DVD-RW
8X
DVD+RW
8X
DVD-ROM
8X
DVD-ROM (dual layer)
6X
CD-ROM
24X
CD-R
24X
CD-RW
16X
M-Disc
4X

Maximum Write Speeds

BD-R
6X
BD-R (dual layer)
4X
BD-RE
2X
BD-RE (dual layer)
2X
DVD-R
8X
DVD+R
8X
DVD-R DL
4X
DVD+R DL
4X
DVD-RAM
5X
DVD-RW
6X
DVD+RW
8X
CD-R
24X
CD-RW
16X
M-Disc
4X

Reliability

Warranty
1 year OWC Warranty

Environment

Operating Temperature
5° C to 50° C
Non-Operating Temperature
-40° C to 65° C
Operating Humidity
5% to 90% R.H.
Non-Operating Humidity
5% to 95% R.H.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 – (1) mini "B" port

Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 – 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Macintosh Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x.

Windows Requirements

  • Windows 98SE or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Windows 2000 or later.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on most computers with USB 2.0 port factory stock.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs. It is however, required to burn M-Discs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 5.6 in (D) x 5.7 in (W) x .95 in (H)
    (14.25 cm x 14.5 cm x 2.425 cm)

Enclosure Weight

  • 4.3 ounces (122g)

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 05°C (41°F – 122°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 10% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MRSSBDR6X UPC#: 794504765823

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.4 / 5 93 out of 101 (92%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: belvidere,il. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great January 4, 2016 as usual macsales delivers great value at a good price. i never look anywhere else when i need something.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Across the pond in the old country Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Sound product at a reasonable price December 14, 2015 Works well with my Mac Mini. As standard it's supplied with a twin USD lead incase additional power input is required. For a Mini 2010 this is not required.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 It works without problems December 6, 2015 I've only used the unit twice since receipt. It is a little noisy upon inserting disc and unit preparing to play. After setting down, you may know the unit is running, but it is noticeably quieter than startup. Most importantly, I can play Blu-ray Discs on my Mac. I haven't had any problems in running this with Laewo's software. We'll see how it holds up, but I am confident in OWC/Macsale support of their products. I am pleased with the purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD Burner/Reader.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product was perfect for my needs!!!! December 1, 2015 This product was so easy to use. I must admit I was intimidated as to whether I was going to know how to use it but it turned out to be very easy and straight forward. I was able to down load entire albums in a matter of minutes. I downloaded over 150 albums in a few hours. Very pleased with my purchase. THANK YOU

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 great product and very quiet! Love it! November 2, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love this little giant of a drive November 1, 2015 Bought my first Blu-ray external several years ago from OWC. It was big and expensive (compared to today's prices). Actually, the price was good for the time. Recently I bought the 6X OWC Slim Blu-ray Burner/Reader w/Toast 14. The bundle was less than the price of Toast alone. I think the drive alone was about $64. I am enjoying the new version of Toast, but I really can't live without the drive. I back up all my data on 25G Blu-ray discs. At 6X I can back up 25G in the time it used to take to back up 700M on CDs as I did in the early days. I have had no failed burns, with this drive. Best of all, I only need one drive now. I carry it with me everywhere so I can do my backups and restores on any computer. It's even buss powered. It comes with a USB "Y" cable, in case the buss you are using doesn't have enough power, you can plug the other USB plug into another port or hub, but I have not needed to to this. On my tower and my laptop, one USB connection to the computer has provided enough power for the drive to do its amazing work. I am so glad I bought this powerful, yet inexpensive portable optical drive. It has helped me keep my backups current with very little effort. I love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works very well October 27, 2015 I purchased this to create backups of my optical media. It's been working well with zero issues and was a good price. I'm using with a Mac Mini and as you'd expect it was a plug-n-play setup - it's recognized immediately by the Mac and works with the in-built disc burning utilities.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Blaine, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is reliable. September 21, 2015 OWC Data Doubler Optical Bay Hard Drive/SSD Mounting Solution has taken up the Optical Drive space so now my 6X OWC Slim Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W is my new optical drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exceeds expectations September 20, 2015 Another OWC product that exceeds expectations, works as advertised out of the box. Works perfectly for playing DVD's from other regions while travelling.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iceland Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good product September 15, 2015 Good quality & Reliability

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Slot-Loading 6X Blu-ray + DVDRW/CDRW External Bus-Powered Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Works Well August 11, 2015 I have two of these, both bought from OWC. One, although made by a different manufacturer, is virtually identical to this drive. I have had one for a couple of years and this one a little less than a year. Both have been used extensively ripping DVD and BluRay discs from my personal library. Both have also burned CD, DVD and BluRay discs without a single failure.

Both drives will, on rare occasions crash when inserting a disc to rip but I think this is a computer software or OS problem rather than a proper problem with the drive itself. I have probably run more than 1,000 discs through my older drive and 200 or so through this newer one.

My only complaint is that they can be difficult to close if you put any pressure on the top of the case. The issue is easily solved by either sticking the drive to the desk or supporting the drive from the back while closing it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent August 6, 2015 Performs well. Slightly larger than expected compared to other brands but still easy to travel with and use with laptop. Would be nice if software came with it but it was easy to find online.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nash. TN
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised August 3, 2015 Plug it in and burn. Awesome!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC SuperSlim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader with Mac Software.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Birmingham, AL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just PERFECT for my needs July 22, 2015 As I only have a portable MacBook Pro right now, it didn't make a lot of sense for me to purchase a large, fast Blu-ray reader/recorder. I've had this puppy for two days now and, as I had purchased Toast Titanium 14 at a discounted price, I was ready to plug and play out of the box. I have not used any of the included software, so I've nothing to report on that, but the drive itself is lightweight (something that others have found to be negative) and I'm really amazed by how very quickly discs mount and copy data over the USB cables: lightening fast compared to an older built-in SuperDrive!

Very pleased thus far. If any problems crop up, I'll report them.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Portable and works great! June 22, 2015 I bought this when the superdrive in my iMac died. I've used it for a few years and it works great! I finally replaced the dead superdrive with a new one from OWC, but I still keep this plugged into my system for convenience and ease of use.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Excellent product for the money June 10, 2015 Although a bit flimsy, this feature-packed portable DVD/Blu-ray burner/player was well worth the money. I highly recommend it. Just be careful closing the tray.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 External DVD DL and CD Reader/Player for Mac May 4, 2015 This was a gift for my daughter - Her new mac does not have a CD/DVD drive. This was installed easily and she has not informed me of any issues since purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC SuperSlim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader with Mac Software.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I asked for. April 16, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: East Helena, MT Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Affordable, shipped promptly, east to set up, work nice! April 3, 2015 I was lucky... originally I was looking to replace my internal drive on my mid-2012 iMac desktop. Then, thanks to the video on this site, I realized that I could not, in fact, pull a corn cob from my butt through to my mouth without some difficulty.

So I ordered the outboard drive...

And am I ever glad I did! The price was very affordable, it shipped promptly, set-up was way E-Z, and it's been working like a champ ever since.

There is something you should do if you order this drive. Your computer should have an internal command available to put an EJECT DISC symbol right up on your task bar. It makes it a breeze to eject a disc from the drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: philly Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 great burner March 27, 2015 does everything I have asked it to do. burns dvd, cd, etc. The software that came in the bundle is a plus. MAC does not come with Blu-ray support. The software allows burning blu-ray. Still need a good blu-ray player software. Only issue is that the tray feels very flimsy. Others have pointed this out. That is the only reason I gave 4 stars. Has not been an issue as of yet. Would be nice if there was a travel case to provide some protection when it is in your computer bag or not in use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: High Point, NC
Rating: 5/5 Better Than I Expected March 27, 2015 When I upgraded my mac mini to support an SSD I lost the space in the case originally designed for the optical drive. I was unsure that this inexpensive external drive could match the performance of the original internal drive. In fact, it operates just as well and looks great, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC SuperSlim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader with Mac Software.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carson City, NV Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice; also reads mini-size CDs... March 23, 2015 The sliding drawer of this drive also will accommodate the smaller, mini-size CDs, of which I had a number I needed to be able to read. Great solution, and the total package (drive and software) is a good buy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive with Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Low build quality March 20, 2015 I bought this drive to burn BluRay disks, and as an external drive for a Mac Mini. It does the job it was purchased for, but the build quality is very cheap, and it feels like it is going to fall apart if you look at it wrong. It slides around on the surface on which it is placed.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works fine & inexpensive. March 6, 2015 My tech-savvy brother recommended OWC and this particular optical drive. The drive works fine, right out of the box, with my new no-opitcal-drive Mac. USB powered it with no problem. OWC was easy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC SuperSlim Portable Bus-Powered USB External 8X DVD DL+CD Burner/Reader with Mac Software.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent price for 3 way burner February 13, 2015 Can't beat the price and the quality of this burner. Not only do you get to burn CD's, DVD's but blue ray disks too boot. Well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC Slim Mfr P/N: MRSSBDR6X OWC SKU: OWCMRSSBDR6X External 6X Blu-ray & CD/DVD Burner 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $119.99OWC Price $99.00
Add to CartOther World Computing MRSSBDR6X In Stock, Click to Buy Now