Home » Optical Drives & Media » External Optical Drives » DVDRW/Super-MultiDrive » Reads/Writes DVD and CD medias

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Optical Drives & Media » External Optical Drives » DVDRW/Super-MultiDrive » Reads/Writes DVD and CD medias items available.

OWC SuperSlim drive
8X Portable USB 2.0 External DVD/CD Writer

USB 2.0 Optical Drive

Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB
Add a high performance USB optical drive to any computer.
Good looks and great flexibility.
The OWC SuperSlim drive is the good-looking, great value CD/DVD drive that's indispensible in your gear bag. A fast USB 2.0 interface and a lightweight design provides portable convenience and flexibility for use with both Macs and PCs. Just plug in the included USB cable and the OWC SuperSlim is ready to go -- perfect for school, home, work, and play.
Compact and versatile, everywhere.
The OWC SuperSlim drive offers stylish mobile disk read/write ability with a sleek, totally bus-powered design. It's small enough to slip into a laptop bag so you'll always have an optical drive on hand, whatever your needs.

Supports CDs at up to 24x speed and 700MB, and DVDs at up to 8x speed and 8.5GB dual layer.
Total backup & archiving solution
Optical media is a great, secure solution for long term archiving and backup - especially for photos, audio files, and video. Optical media is durable, portable easy to store, and long-lasting. Don't let your only copy be the one on your hard drive - plug in an OWC SuperSlim drive for a portable backup solution.


Test Details: DVD+R 8x burn test using a 3.8GB file, CD-R 24x burn test using a 583MB file with a Panas onic UJ-898 SuperDrive on a MacBook Pro with model ID: Macbook Pro 6,2 running
OS X 10.6.8

Same performance of
internal optical drive!

Equipped with an Apple SuperDrive®, the OWC SuperSlim for Apple SuperDrive offers CD/DVD write speeds equal to and even slightly better than when the drive is installed internally in a 2011 MacBook Pro.

Now you can retain full performance of a replaced optical drive after adding the OWC Data Doubler!

Includes

OWC™ Slim includes
  • OWC SuperSlim External Optical Drive
  • High Quality Double Shielded 'Y' type Dual USB 2.0/1.1 (Dual 'A' to 5 pin 'mini-B' type) cable

Gallery

Product Specifications

Chipset

  • Prolific 2506

Read Speeds*

  • DVD up to 8x
  • CD up to 24x

Write Speeds*

  • DVD up to 8x
  • CD up to 24x

Standard Mechanism

Hitachi-LG Data Storage 8X DVD/CD Writer Specs:

General

Drive Type
Internal DVD/CD Writer
Form Factor
9.5mm Laptop
Interface
EIDE/ATAPI
Loading Mechanism
Slot
Bezel Color
No Bezel
Buffer Memory
2MB
Mounting Orientation
Horizontal / Vertical
Manufacturer Model Number
GSA-S10N
RoHS Compliant
Yes

Performance

Supported Formats
DVD+R, DVD+R DL, DVD+RW, DVD-R, DVD-R DL, DVD-RW, DVD-ROM, DVD-Video, CD-R, CD-RW, CD-ROM, CD-ROM/XA, CD-Audio, Video-CD, Photo CD, CD-I(FMV), CD-Extra, CD-TEXT

Capacity

Data Capacity
8.5GB : DVD General Use Double Layer
4.7GB : DVD General Use
700MB : 79 minute CD
650MB : 74 minute CD
550MB : 63 minute CD

Disk Labeling

Disc Labeling
No

Physical

Height (max)
9.5mm (0.39")
Width (max)
128.0mm (5.04")
Length (max)
127.0mm (5.00")
Weight (typical)
0.16kg (0.35lbs.)

Maximum Read Speeds

DVD-R
8X
DVD+R
8X
DVD-R (Dual Layer)
6X
DVD+R (Dual Layer)
6X
DVD-RW
6X
DVD+RW
6X
DVD-ROM
8X
DVD-ROM (Dual Layer)
6X
CD-ROM
24X
CD-R
24X
CD-RW
24X

Maximum Write Speeds

DVD-R
8X
DVD+R
8X
DVD-R DL
4X
DVD+R DL
4X
DVD-RW
4X
DVD+RW
4X
CD-R
24X
CD-RW
24X

Reliability

Environment

Operating Temperature
5° C to 50° C
Non-Operating Temperature
-40° C to 65° C
Operating Humidity
5% to 90% R.H.
Non-Operating Humidity
5% to 95% R.H.
OWC Notes:

Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later is highly recommended! At this time, there is no native support for this drive when using earlier versions of Mac OS X. Patching this drive for support under earlier versions of Mac OS X is possible using Christian Moller's PatchBurn Software.

Drive Interface

  • IDE/ATAPI

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 - (1) mini "B" port

Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 - 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Macintosh Requirements*

  • Mac OS 8.6 or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x.
  • *Audio CD burning not supported.

Windows Requirements*

  • Windows 98SE or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Windows 2000 or later.
  • *Audio CD burning not supported.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on most computers with USB 2.0 port factory stock.

External Case Dimensions

  • 5.6 in (D) x 5.7 in (W) x .95 in (H)(14.25 cm x 14.5 cm x 2.425 cm)

Enclosure Weight

  • 4.3 ounces (122g)

Operating Environment

Temperature

  • (operating) from 5°C ~ up to 50°C (41°F – 122°F)
  • (non-operating) from -45°C ~ up to 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • Operating*: from 10% – up to 90% non-condensing
  • Non-operating*: from 5% – up to 95% non-condensing

    *Dependent upon optical drive mechanism used

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty

Software

LightScribe
OWC Disc Labeling Software Bundle for Mac OS X
All the software you need to label your finished discs on your Mac! Includes: LightScribe System Software, LightScribe Simple Labeler & Smile On My Mac: DiskLabel Full Version! With DiscLabel you can create, print, & share CD labels, jewel case inserts, and DVD covers that look truly professional.... a $35.95 value!
View detailed LightScribe Simple Labeler info | View detailed Smile On My Mac: DiskLabel info
Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceAward
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for Mac OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.3 / 5 46 out of 48 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: East Helena, MT Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Affordable, shipped promptly, east to set up, work nice! April 3, 2015 I was lucky... originally I was looking to replace my internal drive on my mid-2012 iMac desktop. Then, thanks to the video on this site, I realized that I could not, in fact, pull a corn cob from my butt through to my mouth without some difficulty.

So I ordered the outboard drive...

And am I ever glad I did! The price was very affordable, it shipped promptly, set-up was way E-Z, and it's been working like a champ ever since.

There is something you should do if you order this drive. Your computer should have an internal command available to put an EJECT DISC symbol right up on your task bar. It makes it a breeze to eject a disc from the drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: philly Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 great burner March 27, 2015 does everything I have asked it to do. burns dvd, cd, etc. The software that came in the bundle is a plus. MAC does not come with Blu-ray support. The software allows burning blu-ray. Still need a good blu-ray player software. Only issue is that the tray feels very flimsy. Others have pointed this out. That is the only reason I gave 4 stars. Has not been an issue as of yet. Would be nice if there was a travel case to provide some protection when it is in your computer bag or not in use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner+ SuperMultiDrive w/Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: High Point, NC
Rating: 5/5 Better Than I Expected March 27, 2015 When I upgraded my mac mini to support an SSD I lost the space in the case originally designed for the optical drive. I was unsure that this inexpensive external drive could match the performance of the original internal drive. In fact, it operates just as well and looks great, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carson City, NV Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice; also reads mini-size CDs... March 23, 2015 The sliding drawer of this drive also will accommodate the smaller, mini-size CDs, of which I had a number I needed to be able to read. Great solution, and the total package (drive and software) is a good buy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner+ SuperMultiDrive w/Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Low build quality March 20, 2015 I bought this drive to burn BluRay disks, and as an external drive for a Mac Mini. It does the job it was purchased for, but the build quality is very cheap, and it feels like it is going to fall apart if you look at it wrong. It slides around on the surface on which it is placed.

This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works fine & inexpensive. March 6, 2015 My tech-savvy brother recommended OWC and this particular optical drive. The drive works fine, right out of the box, with my new no-opitcal-drive Mac. USB powered it with no problem. OWC was easy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent price for 3 way burner February 13, 2015 Can't beat the price and the quality of this burner. Not only do you get to burn CD's, DVD's but blue ray disks too boot. Well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works very well January 31, 2015 I needed a portable DVD reader/writer because unlike my former MacBook Pro's, the one I have now does not have an optical drive. This one fits easily in my bag, is bus-powered and works just fine for the occasional DVD I want to use or see. I don't need the bundled software, but DiskLabel is nice to have.

Added plus was OWC price and quick shipping. So far (3 mos of occasional use) this external DVD reader/writer has been flawless.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Reliable drive for the price January 12, 2015 Functionally this drive does all it is supposed to do and does it very well. It is a tray loading rather than a slot loader, and in my view that is a big plus. Burn speed is good and so far it has not produced any coasters. My sole criticism is the case itself is a bit thin and flimsy around the top of the drawer which sometimes makes it more difficult than it needs to be to fully close the drawer. I have no trouble putting my fingers on the back of the case and pushing the drawer in with my thumb, but my wife's hand is not as large as mine and she does not have the finger span to do that.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Nice solid drive-wish it were faster December 21, 2014 First of all, this works fine with my mid-2014 Retina Macbook Pro and late-2012 Mac Mini with one USB plug only. Using 2 ports doesn't seem to change anything. The only thing I wish it had was a faster reading reading speed. Have not burned anything yet, so I can't speak to the burning speeds, but happy with my purchase so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Lighter than I thought December 18, 2014 This product works great. Easy to install, although it came with a cable that threw me for a loop because it was a "Y" cable and I couldn't figure out what the second USB connection was for. The unit is VERY light and that also threw me. I was expecting a unit with a bit more heft to it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing December 22, 2014 The "Y" cable is included to bus power the device systems that lack sufficient power via a single USB port. This handy cable attaches to two USB ports on your computer to supply sufficient power if needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, Or Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works well December 9, 2014 Wife is using this to rip audio CDs on her new Retina MacBookPro. Works well and the price was unbeatable. Only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it needs two USB plugs to power it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: dimples Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works OK, a bit flimsy feeling November 30, 2014 Bought this drive to supplement the lack of an optical drive on a new iMac. It has been working fine for months. It does feel flimsy when loading / unloading discs but has not failed yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner+ SuperMultiDrive w/Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Johnston, IA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised November 28, 2014 I received the drive and plugged in to my mac mini and burned a data DVD with no issues using Toast 11.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kentucky Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super slim portable DVD reader/writer November 27, 2014 Although I already own 2 external DVD reader/writers, they are several years old and are almost as big as my MacBook. This little gem is just great - fits easily in your laptop bag and works like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tokyo Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 good product but needs 2x USB November 24, 2014 Seems to work fine, but it ships with cable that has two USB connectors inferring that they both need to be connected. This means "all" the USB on a late model MBP. Have not tested with one or the other, but this aspect should be part of the item's description as it must be technically required. There's disclaimer on the site saying DVD Player on OSX does not work with external drive, but it does work with this drive for me (with both USB plugged in).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Decent performance for a low price November 23, 2014 When I bought my latest iMac it didn't immediately bother me that there were no "movable drives" on-board. It took about 6 months to realize that there were functions that could be more convenient if I had an external drive (burning files to CD or DVD for clients, etc.) The appeal of this portable drive was the price-point, since I knew I would only be using it "occasionally". So far it has performed within expectations and I have been able to R/W CD and R/W DVD at acceptable speeds with reliable results. (I have not yet utilized the Blu-Ray features since that's not really in my wheelhouse.) The unit is lightweight and a bit "dainty", but if you're looking for an occasional-use external drive I would certainly say this one can do the job. I do remain cautious/gentle when loading and unloading disks because it feels like the tray might break if I push too hard. Plus I quickly found out that it's best to load the tray with two thumbs (one on each side) or else it will not catch. I suppose the bottom line is "you get what you pay for". This drive does what I need it to do: occasionally and reliably burn or read CD and DVD media. I was not expecting to get a Porsche at the price of a Yugo.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oakville, ON Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Quiet, works well November 21, 2014 What can you say? It's an external bus-powered drive. No complaints.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Solid value, works well but loud November 13, 2014 Got this to attach to a newer Mac mini w/o optical slot. Works good, does what it's supposed to do. Very loud when loading and unloading discs though.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kalamazoo, MI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Great drive for burning all kinds of media! November 10, 2014 This was a great upgrade from my old external DVD writer. As expected, it is much faster in burning DVDs. It's very compact, which saves desk space. Another quality product from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 double plug October 29, 2014 We had to call tech support because nowhere in the directions did it say to plug in BOTH the USB cables. Now the drive works just fine - no complaints.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Macgeorge
Rating: 5/5 Fine for portable use October 19, 2014 Bought for daughter at college and seems to work well for read/write use for which it is intended. She is using a new MacBook Air.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: DC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect accompaniment for a MacBookAir October 18, 2014 The device was light, small, and worked perfectly right out of the box.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works, small, slow May 30, 2014 Burns discs reliably with right media. Unit is small and light. I did not require a separate power cable. Drive try often partially springs back while closing requiring a few tries. Media included would not play on my Sony BD player but Phillips 1-6X burns well. Unfortunately, I only average 1x using this media buring with Toast 11 over USB 2 from my Mac Mini. Burning a full BD this way takes about 4 hours :-o But, if you are not in a hurry you can set up to burn overnight. Only seems an issue when I need to burn multiple copies as takes several days of nightly burns.

Overall, It has proven a good entry level way to burn BD. If you have occasional needs then it should suffice. If you expect heavy use then I would upgrade to OWC USB3 burner for twice the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner+ SuperMultiDrive w/Roxio Toast 15 Ti+HD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Functional but hardware not up to Apple quality May 15, 2014 I was making a trip and needed a portable Blu-ray burner for my rMBP early 2014 vintage. This product seemed suitable and was reasonably priced. For reference, it is a Matshita BD-MLT Uj240AF.

It arrived, on time, in good condition. During that time, I've burned about 20 or so BD-DL disks with it connected to a Plugable USB 3 hub. Each one burned perfectly; no trouble at the half-way point; no coasters. I used Toast Titanium v11.2 to do the burns. So the small, USB powered, reasonable speed part (3X) was all okay. Functionally, it is fine.

The issues I have with it are almost all quality related: - One of the snaps that hold the front cover on broke within the first day. This was caused by opening and closing the drive. I can push it back in place but the tab that is supposed to hold it in place is broken. - Opening and closing the drive is, what's the best way to say this, clunky. It is 100% manual: push a button on the front or eject from within OS-X, it does open. Then there just isn't a good or comfortable way to slide it up or close it up. The drive is very light (a positive thing) but that also means it slides all around during opening and closing. You have to hold onto the back with your fingers and close with your thumb. But it never closes perfectly; it's always just a little off, enough that it doesn't sit just right. Often it'll pop back open on its own immediately after closing. It generally takes 3 or 4 tries to close it before it'll stay shut. - The cheap black plastic case belongs in the PC world. It really is so far below Apple quality that it is almost embarrassing. It does work but it is not a complement to anything you might have from Apple.

Overall, I rated it 3 stars. Functionally, it is fine. But build quality and durability need improvement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Slim USB 2.0 Portable Tray-Loading 6X Blu-ray Burner/Reader + SuperMultiDrive DVD/DVD-DL/CD R/W..

OWC SuperSlim drive Mfr P/N: MRSSDSDL8X OWC SKU: OWCMRSSDSDL8X 8X Portable USB 2.0 External DVD/CD Writer 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out