Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go® Pro

1.0TB 5400 RPM
Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible)
  • Mac
  • PC
  • FireWire 800/400
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) Storage Solution provides maximum storage in an ultra-portable, totally bus powered design!
Stylishly engineered in a sleek, impact-resistant acrylic enclosure, the Mercury On-The-Go Pro incorporates shock-isolation technology to give maximum protection for your precious data inside. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is a true must-have for users like you who are seeking High-Performance and Highly Reliable storage weighing less than 11 ounces and that is small enough to fit in your pocket.
Outstanding Features
Compact and Versatile
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! Packing a one-two punch of super fast USB 3.0 and FireWire 800, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is bus-powered, so it doesn't require an AC adapter!
Cool and Silent
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results.
Fast and Reliable
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go uses the latest Oxford and ASMedia chipset for both USB 3.0 and FireWire 800. Designed to work with SATA hard drives and SSDs, this chipset is the latest evolution for the best performance on the market.

Includes

Mercury On-The-Go includes
  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface, USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) Storage Solution with Hard Drive
  • 15" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • 16" High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • FireWire 1394B (IEE1394A/B/iLink Compliant), 2 9 Pin (powered) ports, backwards compatible with FireWire 400 (9-Pin to 6-Pin Cable) – requires FireWire 800 to 400 Cable/Adapter for use with 1394A Interface, see related items.
  • USB 3.0 / 2.0 / 1.1 Backwards compatible 9 pin mini "B" port.

Cables

  • All cables included. The USB cable connects to systems with USB, USB 2.0, and USB 3.0. No additional USB cable is needed to connect the drive.

Interface (Chipset)

  • USB 3.1 gen 1 (ASMedia ASM1153E)
  • FireWire 800 (JMicron JMB355)

Standard Mechanism

    1.0TB Toshiba MQ04ABF100 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    2.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Capacity1
    1000GB
    Formatted Capacity2
    931.323GiB
    Rotational Speed
    5,400 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    128MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    MQ04ABF100
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    7.0mm (0.275″)
    Width (max)
    69.85mm (2.750″)
    Length (max)
    100.00mm (3.940″)
    Weight (typical)
    92g (0.203 lbs.)
    Bytes per Sector
    512 / 4k (512e)

    Reliability3

    MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    600,000 hours
    Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    1 per 1014 bits read

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6.0 Gb/s
    Average Latency
    5.56ms

    Power

    Read Power
    1.65 Watts
    Write Power
    1.65 Watts
    Idle Mode, Low Power
    0.6 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    400 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Vibration
    9.8 m/s² (1.0G) 5 to 500 Hz
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    1000 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 149°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 65°C
    Vibration
    49 m/s² (5.0G) 15 to 500Hz
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    1.9 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    2.1 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  • 1.0TB* Toshiba MQ04AB Series Hard Disk Drive**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Drive Cache Size

  • 8 Megabyte (8,1922k)

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 5400RPM

Port Configuration

  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin powered ports
  • USB 3.0 – (1) 9 pin mini B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • FireWire 800 – 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – 50MB/sec
  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – 1.5MB/sec

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

Format

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 3.0)
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 800 card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 400 card.
  • USB 3.0: Macintosh with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 3.0 card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 2.0 card.

Windows System Requirements

  • FireWire 800: PC with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 800 card.
  • FireWire 400: PC with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 400 card.
  • USB 3.0: PC with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 3.0 card.
  • USB 2.0: PC with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 2.0 card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Related Items

Power Supply*

  • Bus Power via FireWire 800 supported on all models equipped with an available FireWire 800 port either factory stock or via add on FireWire 800 PCI Card.
  • Bus Power via FireWire 400 on all models made in 2001 or later via Factory ports or any model with add on FireWire 400 PCI Card.
  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)

  • * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 0.65lbs. (0.29kg)

User Guide

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • 70G 2mS; (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF (hours)

  • 1,200,000

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 600,000
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MS8U3H5T1.0 UPC#: 794504793727

Reviews/Awards

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product September 15, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best thing since sliced bread August 27, 2014 I have two of these, one formatted with OS X and the other NTFS. Great for high speed mobile data transfers. If you intend to use a 7200rpm drive that draws a bit of power, note that the drive may not always switch on over USB. Best to try another USB port or if connected to a desktop, always use the USB ports on the back of the tower as they can supply more power.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Guayaquil Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great hard drive August 25, 2014 This is a good combination of storage capacity - spinning velocity - size - price. The only drawback I've found is that the firewire cable that comes with this unit is unreliable, it connects whenever it feels like it which is not most of the time, just replace that cable and you're good to go.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canyon Lake, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent speed for use with SSD's August 22, 2014 With its Firewire 800 speed this enclosure this enclosure complements the high speed of SSD's very nicely.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver Island Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 21, 2014 I have two of these firewire drives - one for a start-up - one cloned weekly from the start-up - a drive failure means all of two minutes down-time - this drive is perfect and fast....

barry

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Modi'in, Israel Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Really nice enclosure July 25, 2014 It's very practical as well as stylish. 2 Firewire ports allows you to daisy-chain. Has on on/off switch. The combo Firewire 800/USB 3 means you're guaranteed to get high performance no matter what Mac you're connecting to. (I have some 3+ year old Macs with USB 2.) Also, its transparency allows you to quickly identify exactly what drive it is. Plus it's cool looking. :)

My only suggestion: It took me a while to figure out how to stick my SSD into the enclosure. The instructions were more for software installation and not hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great June 29, 2014 I'm using this 120 GB Ext SSD FW800 on an iMac 20" Early '09. It was taking about 4 minutes to boot 10.8. I moved to 10.9 on this smaller drive, except for my iTunes and iPhoto libraries.It is now my preferred machine; over the mac bk pro, chrome bk, iPad 3. Responds nicely and is now a pleasure to use. Boot time might be under a minute. Made this old dog of a machine usable for the next few years at least! Customer sec helped to pick it out. They made it easy for me. Pricing is good also.

This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 works great June 23, 2014 bought this because i needed a bus-powered 7200rpm portable drive. works great in the field, i have used it to record multi-track audio and had no problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Bus Powered.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elizabeth, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth the money June 22, 2014 I am a Mac addict. I use this drive to back up my iMac. I must own 5 or 6 of these drives that I have bought over the years to image everything from eMac to iMacs for school and home. They are compact, easy to use and have never given me any trouble. Everyone who sees these drives is impressed enough to buy one for themselves.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oregon Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Unit assembles easily, works great May 30, 2014 The unit came with good instructions and plenty of the correct screws. Easy to install the SSD in the unit, and easy to put everything together.

Works fine in my Mac Mini, and seems quite speedy using the provided FireWire 800 cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, B.C. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Stunning Performance May 15, 2014 top construction, easy to assemble, works perfectly, I love the USB 3.0 / Firewire 800 combination. It supports Firewire 800 daisy chaining.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Conyers, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 The 120GB SSD has great features like having both FireWire and USB connections. May 3, 2014 I was seeking an external drive I could put a lot on, but recall any small or large file quickly. The 120GB SSD matched my needs. Technical support offered by OWC was "right-on" it, in answering my questions. Really, what more could you ask for from the product or vendor?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works ! April 28, 2014 Put in an SSD drive, mounts right away on Snow Leopard, passes power to the bus powered Firewire interface (that's two bus powered devices on a 2009 MacBookPro). Extra bonus - didn't get too hot. Glad I got this, recommend !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Broken Arrow, OK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Kit! January 11, 2014 This is a great little FW800 kit for any drive. Very fast and great protection for your hard drive. Highly recommend this to anyone with a spare drive! A superb deal at this price!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunei Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Best enclosure kit for 2.5" SATA HDD/SSD September 17, 2013 This product is one of the best purchase I've made and glad I made the right choice. Before I decided to get this product, I've done my homework searching around for a good all rounder enclosure kit for my Samsung 840 pro SSD. It is one of the few that have both the FireWire 800 & USB 3.0 ports. Been using it almost daily for the last 3 months and have not disappoint me once. With good built quality and excellent features and not to mention at a very affordable price, for me OWC have scored a perfect 10 with this product!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding products & service June 22, 2013 This is my second SSD from OWC. The first was an internal drive for a PPC PB G4 and the improvement in performance was significant. The online installation videos were also excellent. The second was an external SSD for backup for this same PB and, again, the quality of build and appearance are both first-rate. Of note, the first drive I purchased was the USB-only and wouldn't mount on my older PB because of inadequate power from the USB ports, so I went for the Firewire option and it works flawlessly. OWC handled the exchange efficiently and without hassle, and the replacement drive arrived in 2 days. This is an outstanding company to do business with as are their products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: joevt Location: Langley, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great performance from a portable drive February 26, 2013 I bought this (1.5 TB FW800+USB3) to replace my previous Mercury-on-The-Go drive (200 GB FW800+USB2) because I needed more space and speed.

Current HDs (even non SSDs) are faster than FW800 can deliver so USB3, eSATA, or Thunderbolt is required for obtaining maximum speeds.

I use the drive with a CalDigit FASTA-6GU3 card (that I purchased from OWC at the same time) in a 2008 Mac Pro. It gets up to 114 MB/s from USB3 and 67 MB/s from FW800 just as expected. I use the FW800 to connect to other Macs that don't have USB3. The drive is bus powered from either FW or USB. The USB3 of the CalDigit does not maintain connection during sleep so I would recommend not using sleep in that case.

The drive comes with a nice carrying case (with room for cables) which will keep the drive looking shiny new.

I chose this drive over the 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable USB3.0 + eSATA even though the Elite Pro has more storage because the Elite Pro doesn't have FW for backward compatibility and the benchmarks indicated that the On-The-Go had faster USB3 speeds (though OWC is currently updating the benchmarks of the Elite Pro).

I didn't choose the 2.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable FW800+USB2+eSATA because Macs will usually not have eSATA and FW800 is a bottleneck. I would consider a FW800+USB3+eSATA solution in the future if it was just as portable as the On-The-Go.

My only complaint is that the rubber feet on the bottom cover the screws. If you replace the 2.5" drive more than a couple times, then the feet will eventually stop sticking. I see no reason to hide the bottom screws since the bottom is usually not visible and the side screws are not hidden at all. The drive was shipped to me with the rubber feet not positioned exactly correctly so that the drive did not sit properly on all 4 feet but this is easily fixed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.5TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing February 27, 2013 We do have the replacement "feet" available here: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MANOTG125MM/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mountainair, NM Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just what I needed December 26, 2012 I bought this so I could quit using my old Apple Time Capsule for backups. I was tired of the wifi connection drop-outs that sometimes happened when Time Machine would start a backup.

I use the FireWire 800 connection and backups are done before you know it.

The drive ships with a FireWire 800 cable, a USB 2 to USB 3 cable and a disc with data backup software.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Bus Powered.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Burini Location: Brasil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 otimo product November 20, 2012 received on time and I am already using case ... very fast .. I'm using him as a 750 gb hd that was in Pro mac .. was very fast ... conecxao extra doors are very fast to ... usb and normal as any other .... but the high speed of it .. really are high-level

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

OWC 1.0TB OWC On-The-Go® Pro Mfr P/N: MS8U3H5T1.0 OWC SKU: OWCMS8U3H5T1.0 5400RPM Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $109.88
Add to CartOther World Computing MS8U3H5T1.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $54.99
w/ 5400 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • OWC Price $124.99
w/ 7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
w/ SSD
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.99
    • OWC Price $89.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • OWC Price $118.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $259.99
    • OWC Price $239.99