Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go® Pro

500GB SSD
Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible)
  • Mac
  • PC
  • FireWire 800/400
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) Storage Solution provides maximum storage in an ultra-portable, totally bus powered design!
Outstanding Features
Built with the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today. The Mercury Electra 6G SSD line features industry leading Technologies:
Compact and Versatile
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! Packing a one-two punch of super fast USB 3.0 and FireWire 800, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is bus-powered, so it doesn't require an AC adapter!
Cool and Silent
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results. 
Fast and Reliable
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go uses the latest Oxford and ASMedia chipset for both USB 3.0 and FireWire 800. Designed to work with SATA hard drives and SSDs, this chipset is the latest evolution for the best performance on the market.

Includes

Mercury On-The-Go includes
  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface, USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) Storage Solution with SSD
  • 15" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • 16" High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • FireWire 1394B (IEE1394A/B/iLink Compliant), 2 9 Pin (powered) ports, backwards compatible with FireWire 400 (9-Pin to 6-Pin Cable) – requires FireWire 800 to 400 Cable/Adapter for use with 1394A Interface, see related items.
  • USB 3.0 / 2.0 / 1.1 Backwards compatible 9 pin mini "B" port.

Cables

  • All cables included. The USB cable connects to systems with USB, USB 2.0, and USB 3.0. No additional USB cable is needed to connect the drive.

Interface (Chipset)

  • USB 3.1 gen 1 (ASMedia ASM1153E)
  • FireWire 800 (JMicron JMB355)

Standard Mechanism

    Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

    There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

    Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

    It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

    500GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

    Specifications

    Controller
    4-Ch
    NAND
    Tier 1 3D NAND
    Form Factor
    Standard 7mm 2.5"
    Interface
    SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
    Capacity 1
    500GB useable capacity
    RAID Support
    Yes
    SMART Attributes
    Standard 2
    Native Command Queuing
    up to 32 commands
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    7mm (0.276″)
    Width (max)
    70.06mm (2.758″)
    Length (max)
    100.12mm (3.941″)
    Weight
    77 grams +/- 2 grams
    0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

    Reliability

    TRIM Support
    OS Dependent

    Performance

    Sequential Reads
    (Compressible Data)
    up to 529MB/s
    Sequential Writes
    (Compressible Data)
    up to 483MB/s
    Sequential Reads
    (Incompressible Data)
    up to 521MB/s
    Sequential Writes
    (Incompressible Data)
    up to 444MB/s
    Random 4K Read
    up to 90,000 IOPS
    Random 4K Write
    up to 60,000 IOPS

    Power

    Active
    2.1 W
    Idle
    0.9 W

    Environmental (Operating)

    Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 158°F
    Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 70°C

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 185°F
    Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 85°C
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
    2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
  • 500GB* OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Port Configuration

  • FireWire 800 – (2) 9 pin powered ports
  • USB 3.0 – (1) 9 pin mini B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • FireWire 800 – 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – 50MB/sec
  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – 1.5MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

Format

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 3.0)
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 800 card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 400 card.
  • USB 3.0: Macintosh with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 3.0 card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 2.0 card.

Windows System Requirements

  • FireWire 800: PC with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 800 card.
  • FireWire 400: PC with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 400 card.
  • USB 3.0: PC with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 3.0 card.
  • USB 2.0: PC with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 2.0 card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Related Items

Power Supply*

  • Bus Power via FireWire 800 supported on all models equipped with an available FireWire 800 port either factory stock or via add on FireWire 800 PCI Card.
  • Bus Power via FireWire 400 on all models made in 2001 or later via Factory ports or any model with add on FireWire 400 PCI Card.
  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)

  • * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 0.61lbs. (0.27kg)

User Guide

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 0°C – 70°C (32°F – 158°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 85°C (-40°F – 185°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • (operating) 1500G 0.5mS;
  • (non-operating) 1500G 0.5mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 16G (16 – 1600Hz)
  • (non-operating) 16G (16 – 1600Hz)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MS8U3SSD480 UPC#: 794504762921

Awards

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 Exactly what I wanted July 3, 2016 Wanted a portable hard drive using bus power to be able to backup my MacBookPro

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Bus Powered.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Irvington, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great, looks great June 20, 2016 Durable, fast-fast-fast, external drive, Its rounded plastic case is practically bulletproof. I'm using it as backup for my photos and for my Photoshop and On1 caches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good product but cable too short June 13, 2016 This portable hard drive works well, efficiently , and quietly as part of my backup strategy. I trust OWC products from long experience with them.

Unfortunately there is one disappointment. The FireWire connection cable that came with the hard drive is much too short to be truly useful. It is difficult to use it with my iMac and reach the drive sitting on my desk near the computer. OWC should provide a longer cable for this product.

Other than that. it's a fine product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kier Location: Puyallup, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drive! May 29, 2016 My goal with this drive is to keep my working photos on this drive so that I could move between editing on my MacPro at home and Mac Book Pro on the road and it works perfectly. I love the speed and it looks great and best of all it's bus powered so no extra power supply. You've got to get one of these!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York City Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 My personal data bank May 28, 2016 Still saving my but across the years resurrecting old drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mead, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super drive May 12, 2016 It does exactly what it was designed for- high praise in a high tech word. This replaced my La Cie drive when my back-ups exceeded its capacity. This drive just feels much better as a performer and I have a much greater level of trust in this unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville TN area Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 More than I needed, but glad I have it! April 21, 2016 Now that OWC explained the DIY SSD's to me, I purchased this case not realizing I really didn't need portability, but that I did need the option of USB 3.0 & FireWire. So this was a good move. Like all the products I've purchased from OWC so far, no glitches, no issues, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable 2.5" FW800/USB3.0 went straight to work.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore, MD Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product April 4, 2016 Easy To Used.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 I use it every day March 15, 2016 It's fast, efficient, and portable. I use Pro Tools at work, at home and on the road. I have a 1TB SSD in it which holds a lot of big sessions. This drive is always with me so my latest projects are always right at hand if I have an inspiration, or need to fix something quick. I can use it in my studios, or on my laptop in bed (my favorite way to work). Couldn't do without it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Drive March 10, 2016 I've ordered these drives before and have been very pleased with their performance and reliability. Great drive for the money....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Little Enclosure ! March 4, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Speeds up back-ups from MBP greatly January 9, 2016 I have a late '08 MBP 2.53Ghz which I have upgraded with an SSD 480 Gb HD. It has rejuvenated it so much that I needed an external enclosure to place a spare 7200 rpm HD which could be used on both MBP with Firewire 800 & use USB-3 with my new 27" Imac. The Backups from the MBP via Firewire 800 to the 7200 HD is great, compared to my experience in the past with slower HD's. Of course, via USB-3 its faster still. Extremely pleased, gets a little warm but no worries.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: Over 65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A very handy product December 21, 2015 The product is excellent and the customer support was superlative. It suited my needs for a new startup disk for both my old iMac, using Firewire 800 and for my Mac'Book Air, using the USB 3 port.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterey, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 easy to setup October 1, 2015 works great and easy to setup

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Christchurch NZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Backup drive September 24, 2015 I use this for a Timemachine back, daisy chained with the same drive which has a SSD as my secondary drive- all connected to a 2010 Mac mini, this way it does not slow the boot time that a USB drive did.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sweden Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for old miniMac August 13, 2015 Since my very old MiniMac had become very slow I considered to let it rest and get a new one. Then I read about the Mercury on the go and decided I would try it. It became like new and I am sure it will serve my purpose for a long time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SF Bay area Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Most versatile backup solution for mac August 8, 2015 The GoPro is a super-versatile solution (with both firewire 400 and 800 ports) that allows me to use it to back up both my vintage powerbook and my brand new macbook pro. Great, sturdy design. Thinking of buying another one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 perfect fit July 30, 2015 This great enclosure ensures I'll get added use from my replaced-by-an-SSD hard drive. It fits and works perfectly. I've never yet been disappointed by ANY OWC product, so please keep up your great standard of thoughtfully designed and built goodies for us Mac Book Pro people.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for commuters July 23, 2015 I use this SSD storage device to hold ALL of my work-related files, amounting to over 130GB of data, source code, books, articles, and graphics. Every morning I throw it in my bag, and take it to work. In the evening I return home with it.

So far so good with reliability and durability. No errors of any kind in the two months or so that I have owned the product.

Being solid-state, it has a robust durability that rotating memory lacks. It has taken some pretty good knocks, bangs, and falls, without complaint or issues. I also like its speed and capacity.

Recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product July 4, 2015 This portable drive is great. Easy setup, no problems. The clear look is fantastic. It comes with a case which can house the drive and cable (firewire). It might be a little big for some people but I can live with the size in exchange for the great features. Bravo!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hudson Valley, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great!! June 30, 2015 Drive works great!! Compact, durable, fast. I edit video on my laptop with ease.

I've now bought 3 and will probably buy more.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bangkok, Thailand Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Compact & Great Features June 29, 2015 I bought a new (2015) MacBook Pro OS X 10.10.3. When I tried (twice) to hook up the On-The-Go-Pro it would not use the installed software within the hard drive. I had to go to Mac Sales of your website and get information as to how to initialise the On-The-Go-Pro hard drive. When I followed the instructions all the software offered on the hard drive was erased. This meant that I no longer had access to your software bundled with the hard drive. That said, the On-The-Go-Pro has worked very good and am pleased with its performance. As a side note this is the fifth On-The-Go-Pro I have purchased over a ten year period and have always had great performance. Though this is the first time I have had to initialise the hard drive to the computer thereby losing the software bundle offered. I do not know weather this incompatibility was due to the newness of the MacBook Pro OS or the hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product June 18, 2015 Perfect and simple

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go 2.5" Portable FW800 + USB 3.0/2.0 Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Va Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great tool June 16, 2015 Great tool

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Evergreen, Co Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mercury On-The-Go Pro June 16, 2015 This is a very useful device. I am using as my TimeMachine backup and it works extremely well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

OWC 500GB OWC On-The-Go® Pro Mfr P/N: MS8U3SSD480 OWC SKU: OWCMS8U3SSD480 SSD Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $124.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MS8U3SSD480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $54.99
w/ 5400 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $114.99
    • OWC Price $99.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $139.99
    • OWC Price $129.99
w/ 7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 10 Days
    • Only $139.99
    • Cyber Saver $137.99
w/ SSD
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.99
    • OWC Price $94.99
  • 500GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $259.99
    • OWC Price $249.99