Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go®

0GB
Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Enclosure Kit

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible)
  • Mac
  • PC
  • FireWire 800/400
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) Enclosure Kit packs an incredible punch into a 3″ W x 5.5″ L x 1″ H 11 ounce package!
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! Packing a one-two punch of super fast USB 3.0 and FireWire 800, the OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform.
Outstanding Features
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go features the latest in performance with an Oxford combination FireWire and USB chipset creating one perfectly integrated storage solution.

The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results.

The On-The-Go "Add your own Drive" Kit enclosure is ready to accept your own 2.5" SATA Hard Drive or SSD. Now you can upgrade your Mac or PC notebook's internal drive and retask that old drive as a new external drive for even more backup and storage capacity! This solution will give you an excellent transportable storage device, or a backup option that you may have not had!
 Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive or Solid State Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.

Includes

Mercury On-The-Go includes
  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface, USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible) Enclosure Kit for SATA 2.5" Hard Drives
  • 15" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable)
  • 18" High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 (9 pin mini A – B) certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • FireWire 1394B (IEE1394A/B/iLink Compliant), 2 9 Pin (powered) ports, backwards compatible with FireWire 400 (9-Pin to 6-Pin Cable) – requires FireWire 800 to 400 Cable/Adapter for use with 1394A Interface, see related items.
  • USB 3.0 / 2.0 / 1.1 Backwards compatible 9 pin mini "B" port.

Cables

  • All cables included. The USB cable connects to systems with USB, USB 2.0, and USB 3.0. No additional USB cable is needed to connect the drive.

Chipset

  • Oxford 944 and ASMedia 1051e FireWire/USB chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • FireWire 800 – 100MB/sec
  • FireWire 400 – 50MB/sec
  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/sec
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/sec
  • USB 1.1 – 1.5MB/sec

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2 compatible, OS X 10.1.x and later. (10.2 or later required for FW800 and USB 3.0)
  • FireWire 800: Macintosh with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 800 card.
  • FireWire 400: Macintosh with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 400 card.
  • USB 3.0: Macintosh with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 3.0 card.
  • USB 2.0: Macintosh with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 2.0 card.

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • FireWire 800: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • FireWire 400: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

Windows System Requirements

  • FireWire 800: PC with FireWire 800 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 800 card.
  • FireWire 400: PC with FireWire 400 interface, either built in or via PCI FireWire 400 card.
  • USB 3.0: PC with USB 3.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 3.0 card.
  • USB 2.0: PC with USB 2.0 interface, either built in or via PCI USB 2.0 card.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB and FireWire interfaces.

Related Items

Power Supply*

  • Bus Power via FireWire 800 supported on all models equipped with an available FireWire 800 port either factory stock or via add on FireWire 800 PCI Card.
  • Bus Power via FireWire 400 on all models made in 2001 or later via Factory ports or any model with add on FireWire 400 PCI Card.
  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Unit Weight (no mechanism)

  • 0.44lbs. (0.19kg)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MSTG800U3K UPC#: 810586032483

Reviews/Awards

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Camarillo, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Portable HD Enclosure May 9, 2015 I purchased the OWC portable HD Enclosure (USB 3, FireWire 800) as a supplement to my other brand Thunderbolt external drive (that company has stopped making/supporting Thunderbolt). In terms of speed for what I use the external drive for (files, music, movies) no drag nor buffering. I am using a MacBookPro 13" 2015 (non-retina) USB 3. For the Enclosure I added a Seagate/Samsung 2 TB 5400 2.5" HD. I had the proper tools to install the HD & enclosure, taking five minutes total. One note: Be sure to tighten the screws securely between the aluminum heat sink and HD. There will still be a small amount of play once HD/heat sink are installed. Once the plate is installed everything becomes tight and otherwise secured.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very Nice Enclosure March 30, 2015 Quality built, and this thing flies! Very pleased with how product has held up and performance. Worth the $$$

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Torrance CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great back up drive March 27, 2015 I needed a back up hard drive and I wanted one that didn't need a separate power supply for when I travel. This one works as advertised. Comes with both Firewire and USB cables and has a nice light on it to tell you it's on. Formatting for Apple OS was a breeze.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Clovis, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Replaces HD on late-2009 iMac 11,1 March 20, 2015 I am using this item as a replacement for the hard drive on my 27" iMac 11,1 (late 2009). It was easy to connect, format, and load (using the iMac's migration assistant). The instructions were clear and precise, the drive and enclosure appear well made, and the price is just right. It is no wonder that this item has been highly rated by MacWorld and others.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: chicago Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great service- great product March 15, 2015 I now have 3 owc portable harddrives. They work well out of the box. OWC is very quick to fill the order. I'll try to remember to write another updated review after a year or so after I have a chance to experience their durability and reliability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tracy, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A smok'n fast SSD ! March 12, 2015 This SSD was purchased to store video for surveillance system. It is stupid fast and the entire connection process was a breeze. Being SSD no noise and the light on it gives my office a nice blue hue with the lights out. Could not be more satisfied with this drive...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Incredibly handy March 2, 2015 I have purchased several of these drive enclosures over the years and ease of set up and portable convenience can not be beat. I carry one with me at all times to do a quick backup of a client or friend's data as a safety measure. They come with a handy carrying case and necessary cables. Also, BUS powered and so convenient.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Perth, Australia Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good, but I need a Thunderbolt equivalent March 1, 2015 This product is perfect for what it does, but really I should have waited until the thunderbolt version is available (whenever that will be). Even Firewire is not really fast enough for the purposes I wanted the case for (replacing the boot disk on an old iMac using an SSD drive I already have).

Also, it confused me when I received it with only one cable - the other cable was hidden inside the carry case which took me a while to find!

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing March 3, 2015 The Thunderbolt version is available here: http://eshop.macsales.com/search/Mercury+On-The-Go+Thunderbolt
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monroe, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Slick Enclosure March 1, 2015 Excellent design and well made!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Belgrade, Serbia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great backup solution February 25, 2015 Quality production. Very easy for installation. All cables included and also carrying case. So far very reliable. Ideal solution for backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: LaDude
Rating: 5/5 It's really good but.. February 14, 2015 It's nice to have usb 3 and firewire. Putting it together took longer than expected because the metal thing inside needed to fit in the square hold of the plastic case. In order for me to get it right I had to not put two screws in but it still was secure. So on the side there are two screws and one screw can slide a little. I kept that one in and didn't use the other one.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Essential February 12, 2015 I have used these cases several times to replace hard drive enclosures with failed bridge sets, where the drive itself is still good. In the latest instance, I needed to replace a Western Digital My Passport Studio enclosure - because WD offers no replacement cases for their drives. OWC provides a wide selection of connectivity options for their On-The-Go cases; I was able to actually upgrade from the FireWire 800/mini USB 2 WD case to a FireWire 800/USB 3 OWC case. While these cases are not inexpensive, the enclosures are solid and have an improved design that has an exposed heat-sink on the bottom of the case. Assembly is a bit tedious, with three sets of four screws and one set of two screws. But it provides an alternative to throwing away a perfectly good hard drive. And, if the drive eventually fails - as they all do - you can pop in a new drive without paying for yet another enclosure.

In addition, the On-The-Go enclosures can use a power adaptor if for any reason the drive won't mount on bus power alone. OWC offers power adaptors for a variety of drives and devices. I've purchased a number of these as well - as I did for this enclosure - see below.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston,Tx Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Fast storage; very noisy February 10, 2015 The 1tb drive I purchased is super fast. I hardly notice I'm using it as my secondary HD for my MBP. It does get noisy and clicky when processing at fast speeds or performing a backup.

All in all, great drive if you can handle a noisy one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burleson, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy for non-techie February 5, 2015 I bought one to use as backup for my MacBook Pro. It was so easy to use that I quickly purchased a second one so that I can alternate (I like to switch out weekly and keep one safely stashed elsewhere). I know just enough about computers and technology to be dangerous, but this was truly simple to use. It takes a little time to open Time Machine preferences and select the disk when I switch them out, but for me it is worth the peace of mind (real or imagined). I pretty much plug it in and ignore it until I switch, I don't even notice it doing its thing in the background. A nice case holds the unit and cable. I bought mine back in April and have had no problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NYC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go January 27, 2015 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Fantastic, smooth, noiseless, portable the best external Hard Drive, I'm a musician and composer in need to travel with big files, 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro takes care of all of it ....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montevideo, uy Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Owc mercury on the go usb3.0 & firewire case January 26, 2015 I love it! I really use it! Faster! The best buy ever!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The best external drive! January 21, 2015 I got this drive to be my backup. Awesome product! Cool looking and perfect performance. I'll buy more soon!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan, US Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as expected January 9, 2015 Bought this for a grandson in his freshman year at college. Works well as a backup for the MBP we bought him.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Copenhagen, Denmark Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 fast_firewire December 22, 2014 Nice looking device with a sturdy quality feel to it. Used to back up MacBookPro data of about 110GB. Connected through the firewire port, data transfer took approximately 2 hours, which felt swift.

The promise of super-quiet definitly holds up..

Pre-formatted for Mac the 120GB SSD is ready to go as soon as it is connected*

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go FireWire 800 / 400+USB3 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised December 6, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Still working as advertised December 6, 2014 This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Portable FW800&400/USB3 5400RPM Storage Solution.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New South Wales, Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product November 15, 2014 This seems to be the ideal product for keeping my backups while on the move. It has good additional features and the Firewire connection suits my older MacBook perfectly

Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 An eminently useful portable drive November 11, 2014 I use the portable drive for two purposes. One is to provide backup storage when I am away from Time Machine on a photo shoot. The second is when I am upgrading or fixing a customer's Mac; then I use it to copy the customer's startup volume in case things go south, as they say. At this point the drive has been fast, reliable, and convenient.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indiana Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Transaction, great support October 31, 2014 I had pretty well decided upon this product from OWC as an addition to my computer complex, but needed to confirm my understanding of the connection arrangements. Upon contacting OWC Support not only did I get a complete explanation but some good advise on how to better utilize the product than I had previously determined. The subsequent order was very simple and the delivery was amazingly quick. The unit fully meets my requirements.

I shall return to OWC for any further needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable FW800&400/USB3 7200RPM Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 GREAT! October 19, 2014 Blazing fast delivery and amazing product! love all the products.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC 0GB OWC On-The-Go® Mfr P/N: MSTG800U3K OWC SKU: OWCMSTG800U3K Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Enclosure Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $54.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MSTG800U3K In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
w/ 5400 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $114.99
    • OWC Price $109.88
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • OWC Price $124.99
w/ 7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $139.99
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
w/ SSD
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.99
    • OWC Price $89.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • OWC Price $118.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $259.99
    • OWC Price $239.99