Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go® Pro

1.0TB 7200 RPM
USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution provides maximum storage in an ultra-portable, totally bus powered design!
Stylishly engineered in a sleek, impact-resistant acrylic enclosure, the Mercury On-The-Go Pro incorporates shock-isolation technology to give maximum protection for your precious data inside. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is a true must-have for users like you who are seeking High-Performance and Highly Reliable storage weighing less than 11 ounces and that is small enough to fit in your pocket.
Outstanding Features
Compact and Versatile
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is bus-powered, so it doesn't require an AC adapter!
Cool and Silent
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results. 
SuperSpeed Ready, Yet Backward Compatible
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go can be used with any Macintosh or PC with a USB 3.0 & 2.0 port. Now you can have SuperSpeed performance up to 500MB/s and compatibility with legacy machines!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 & 2.0 storage solution
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 & 2.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 & 2.0 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset

Standard Mechanism

1.0TB Seagate BarraCuda Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
1.0TB
Formatted Capacity2
931GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
128MB
Manufacturer Model Number
ST1000LM049
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (4.0 in)
Weight (typical)
90.0 g (0.20 lbs)
Bytes per Sector
4,096

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
600,000
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
1 per 1014 bits read

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
up to 140MB/s

Power

Read Power
Up to 1.9 Watts
Write Power
Up to 1.7 Watts
Idle Mode
Up to 0.45 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
400 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 140°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 60°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1000 G max at 1ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 158°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 70°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
2.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
2.4 bels

Applications

Laptops
Mobile Storage
External Storage Systems
All-in-one PCs
Ultra-slim Desktop PCs
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  • 1.0TB Seagate BarraCuda HDD**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA) Revision 3.0

Drive Cache Size

  • 128MB

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200RPM

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Format

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)

    *AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 0.67lbs. (0.30kg)

User Guide

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • (operating) 70G 2mS;
  • (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF

  • More than 300,000 power-on hours

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 600,000
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MSU37T1.0T16 UPC#: 794504767223

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Donww Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 On the go pro 1.0tb February 21, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Also Location: Atchison KS Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Tony the Tiger says, "Great.!" February 10, 2017 I recently purchased the 1T Mercury ON-the-go Drive and I an happy to say it works like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: shortimer Location: Ellington, Connecticut Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD & USB3 • Go for it ! February 1, 2017 Bought this enclosure & Crucial M500 1TB SSD. This is my music drive for my recording studio. It has OS X installed with Logic Pro X, Komplete11, and all my other plug-ins. Using USB3 on this enclosure with the Crucial SSD, I startup on the drive and can record twenty or more tracks of all varieties in Logic. Latency is very good with my prior Apogee FW interface, and excellent with my new Focusrite Thunderbolt interface. My 13" 2016 MacBook Pro w/ 16GB RAM, chokes with a few hefty plug-ins running, so I simply freeze tracks, and all is well. This config has worked great for the last two years. Obviously, the new MBpros with USB-C are changing things, as USB-C externals will be all that much faster & reliable.

Bought the exact same setup for my beats writing, musician son. He's had two years of glitch free hard use with his setup too ! One caveat I learned. Be careful when doing remote sessions that the external drive & wire don't disconnect. If you must record remotely, keep the drive and the mac on a very solid, not movable surface, or area. If the drive or wire are moved in a way that disconnects, even for the shortest of moments, your drive and its content face the chance of corruption & a crash.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Matreya Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 The best little enclosure on the market January 11, 2017 Over the years, I have bought many of these enclosures. They are reliable, sturdy and easy to assemble.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tulio Location: Honduras Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great adquisition for ANY Mac January 1, 2017 I obtained this external 1,0 TB drive as a necessity for the limitted memory of my 2004 aluminum Powerbook G4; it works perfect. Maje sure you purchase the power supply as well since the usb slot will not provide enough voltage to move this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jwarren Location: Hansville WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 have maybe 15-20 of these OTG enclosures; LOVE 'em! December 21, 2016 Compact. EASY to use. EASY to install/insert 2.5" hard-disks in 'em. RELIABLE. VERY portable!

I've been buying and using these OTG units - sometimes with a disk already in 'em; sometimes (like these three) empty - which allows me to insert my own disks in 'em ... including disks that I get from OWC when they're available at ESPECIALLY EXCELLENT DISCOUNTS.

Donno what else I can say - other than maybe to note that I've been a computer pro since the late '69s (an antiquitarian! :-), and am NOTORIOUSLY PICKY about my hardware (and software - which isn't of concern for this enclosure).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MountainMan Location: Woodland Park, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Infinitely better than other USB-powered drives December 11, 2016 Between huge apps and client files, the 500GB SSD on my MacBook Pro was maxed out. So, I took to carrying all client files on a small external 2TB drive made by Toshiba, and leaving only apps on the laptop itself The Toshiba drive was very convenient to carry on a trip, and was inexpensive. Trouble is, it stopped working after a few months, in the middle of a trip, leaving my client files inaccessible. I was not pleased.

So, I purchased a OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2TB drive. It was considerably more expensive than most of the pocket-sized USB drives on the market, and it is substantially larger, making transport a little more problematic. But, I have three of these OWC USB drives, and so far, they have been utterly reliable. I will trade that for smaller size and for saving a few bucks any day.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Pedestrian Location: Seattle Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like a new Mac November 23, 2016 Using the Mercury OTG SSD as the boot drive for a late-2014 Mac Mini with a HDD. Got the 1TB size to hold all applications, pictures, music, etc. The system is now blazing fast, and I can't detect any difference between this home setup and the Mini with internal SSD that I have at work. The internal HDD is now the TimeMachine drive.

One thing is that the plastic case seems to amplify the blue activity light, which matters in the evening when there aren't a lot of lights turned on. I put a piece of electrical tape on the case in front of the light, and that helps somewhat. If there's a way to turn off the light, I haven't found it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Macheretic Location: People's Democratic Socialist Republic of Illinois Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best portable—or stationary—option. November 3, 2016 I love these drive enclosures. They are very sturdy, drive installation is a snap.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DarrenB Location: Andover, KS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Enclosure September 15, 2016 This is a very well made hard drive enclosure. Works well with my macbook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 TimeMachine Drive Replacement July 23, 2016 I bought this drive to replace the 2TB external drive (not an OWC product) TimeMachine drive that Drive Genius told me was failing after only 5 months! I like that the new drive has an on/off switch since I am backing up a MBP that isn't always connected to the TimeMachine drive. As an aside, no drive lasts forever so I'm happy to have another quality drive case for when the inevitable happens.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Syracuse, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellelent Product! July 2, 2016 Excellent External drive! Fast drive in a small size.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 I now buy drives only from OWC June 17, 2016 I bought this to clone laptop drive via SuperDuper and previously a 2Tb one for Time Machine. I bought a 750GB one in 2011 to clone another laptop. I also own two Elite Pros to backup an iMac and all five drives have performed admirably for me. Spare yourself poor quality and frequent failures and shop OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saugerties, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Silent and easy setup. May 30, 2016 A small. silent and cool running unit. Using it as a redundant backup drive for my OWC Elite Pro Dual 6Tb which houses all the work files freed from my 1Tb 2010 iMac. Lots of open space left on all the hard drives now. It lacks a Thunderbolt port so it cannot connect directly to the Elite Pro Dual and has to be routed by my iMac via USB2 for slower than desired backups. As a photographer, I leave it always connected for frequent backups of work in progress.The OWC tech person said that should not be a concern. The resiliency of the clear plastic housing is a concern. The large bright LED is annoying.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So surprised at the speed! May 15, 2016 I knew what to expect with the body, the weight and the sturdiness of this drive, but I had no idea of how good the speed would be. With previous 500 OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB drives, I always had dependability in making a clone of my internal hard drive, but the process usually took an hour, at least. The first few times I used this new drive, I was convinced that something was wrong...the entire process takes less than 10 minutes! It's wonderful! Totally worth the extra cost and I am totally happy and satisfied with the performance of the device.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Blainville, quebec Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 ease of use May 1, 2016 It is my seconda one and I am really pleased but, it could better if we have much more choice of interface, Firewire lightning, etc.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pensacola, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Simply Awesome! April 3, 2016 Rather than wipe and destroy a SATA hard drive that I replaced with a solid-state drive that I purchased from OWC, I saw this as an option to continue using the SATA hard drive. The assembly process was simple, thanks to the comprehensive tutorial. Everything is included here, even the USB cables. As an added benefit, the drive is powered by the USB cable, so no separate power cable is needed. I now have a bootable drive that I can use when I travel. The padded carrying case protects the drive and holds the cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 High quality, reasonable price. March 23, 2016 During the last two months I have placed multiple orders for hardware for my clients. I have never been disappointed with OWC products, information and support. I always choose OWC for mission critical hardware for myself and my clients. OWC equals stress free.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Quebec Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This is a great product to have, easy to use and affordable. March 16, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Little Enclosure ! March 4, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Marietta, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 29, 2016 Excellent product. Good service.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alaska Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love these mobile devices! February 21, 2016 I love these mobile devices, particularly the fact that they do not require a separate power unit. Big plus!

Overall performance has always been excellent. I highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alaska Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love these mobile devices! February 21, 2016 I love these mobile devices, particularly the fact that they do not require a separate power unit. Big plus!

Overall performance has always been excellent. I highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 very nice product with quality February 19, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, Pa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Super fast! February 19, 2016 I love this external drive, it has been a power house for me! Being Solid state, I feel it's far more durable for traveling with compared to a conventional drive which has lots of moving parts. It also has very fast read/right speeds, great for on the fly video editing and for transferring and viewing large photo files. The only slight downside is the housing is far larger than it needs to be, adding some unnecessary bulk. But it is very well made.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

OWC 1.0TB 7200 RPM OWC On-The-Go® Pro Mfr P/N: MSU37T1.0T16 OWC SKU: OWCMSU37T1.0T16 USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $107.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MSU37T1.0T16 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM HDD
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $69.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $92.99
    • OWC Price $92.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $125.00
    • Cyber Saver $125.00
7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.99
    • Cyber Saver $34.99
SSD Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $58.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.88
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $104.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $239.99
    • OWC Price $228.88