Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go® Pro

1.0TB 7200 RPM
USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution provides maximum storage in an ultra-portable, totally bus powered design!
Stylishly engineered in a sleek, impact-resistant acrylic enclosure, the Mercury On-The-Go Pro incorporates shock-isolation technology to give maximum protection for your precious data inside. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is a true must-have for users like you who are seeking High-Performance and Highly Reliable storage weighing less than 11 ounces and that is small enough to fit in your pocket.
Outstanding Features
Compact and Versatile
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is bus-powered, so it doesn't require an AC adapter!
Cool and Silent
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results. 
SuperSpeed Ready, Yet Backward Compatible
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go can be used with any Macintosh or PC with a USB 3.0 & 2.0 port. Now you can have SuperSpeed performance up to 500MB/s and compatibility with legacy machines!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 & 2.0 storage solution
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 & 2.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 & 2.0 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset

Standard Mechanism

1.0TB Seagate BarraCuda Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
1.0TB
Formatted Capacity2
931GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
128MB
Manufacturer Model Number
ST1000LM049
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (4.0 in)
Weight (typical)
90.0 g (0.20 lbs)
Bytes per Sector
4,096

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
600,000
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
1 per 1014 bits read

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
up to 140MB/s

Power

Read Power
Up to 1.9 Watts
Write Power
Up to 1.7 Watts
Idle Mode
Up to 0.45 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
400 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 140°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 60°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1000 G max at 1ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 158°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 70°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
2.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
2.4 bels

Applications

Laptops
Mobile Storage
External Storage Systems
All-in-one PCs
Ultra-slim Desktop PCs
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  • 1.0TB Seagate BarraCuda HDD**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA) Revision 3.0

Drive Cache Size

  • 128MB

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200RPM

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Format

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)

    *AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 0.67lbs. (0.30kg)

User Guide

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 5°C – 42°C (41°F – 107°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • (operating) 70G 2mS;
  • (non-operating) 175G 2mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

MTBF

  • More than 300,000 power-on hours

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 600,000
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MSU37T1.0T16 UPC#: 794504767223

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: HiggsBoson Location: Aiken, SC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Encased Drive February 16, 2016 Like it so far. Used to back up my wife's Air book. Throw it right into the safe. Comes with a nice neoprene protector too. Fine little gadget. Lots of connector options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sacramento Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great for archiving February 6, 2016 It seems like only a few years ago buying a terabyte external hard drive cost a small fortune. This was on sale at a price I could afford. And it was just what I needed. I determined my laptop was sluggish and showing too many beachballs from a too full hard drive. After copying all my video and music files to the Mercury hard drive and deleting stuff that I didn't need on my laptop then defragging, my laptop finally got it's speed back and no beachballs. I have several of Mercury on the Go hard drives. Love them. It gets power from the USB on my laptop though I did buy a power cable to plug in the wall just in case. it's small, fast, quiet and has a cool blue blinking light that indicates when working and when resting. It really shows up in the dark. Some shareware is included. It also comes with a carry case which holds both the drive and the cable. The case is sturdy and I don't worry about stuffing it in suitcase or computer bag.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 solid performance January 21, 2016 As a backup for my digital music collection this is a fine product. I needed capacity and reliability at a reasonable price. I could wish for more transfer speed and perhaps more options for continuing backups, but those are quibbles not major concerns. OWC is a consistently good performer in my experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbus, OH Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A USB 3.0 drive that works with lots of drives connected! January 14, 2016 I have a couple of backup drives and several other USB peripherals connected through an industrial strength 7-port USB3 25W powered hub connected to my MacBook Pro. Basically all ports are full. I've tried out two other USB drives, and doing a clone from my internal SSD drive to them would inevitably end in errors, even when not connected through the hub! I think OWC's drive came with a better cable... it has shielding rings on both ends. (I tried the cable with a cheaper drive, and it worked.)

Thanks for a problem-free product all around, OWC!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product, reliable and the USB is a bonus January 14, 2016 This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gothenburg Sweden Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 great product January 9, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Functional & affordable external hard drive December 27, 2015 I bought this to use as my Time Machine backup on my MacBook Pro. So far, it's been great. MacSales has a good reputation, and my own experience suggests that it's deserved. Highly recommended if you're looking for an external hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elizabeth, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Can't Be Beat December 26, 2015 For the price and the quality, you can't beat the 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM. I have a few older models 40GB and 100GB that I needed to replace as they aren't compatible with the newer iMacs. This drive is perfect. Plug and play. I use the Apple Time Machine with it and there are no configuration problems. I am pleased with my purchase as I am with anything I have bought from Macsales.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Sturdy, no complaints. December 22, 2015 This little drive feels very sturdy, compact yet it sits solidly on a flat surface. Not quite as cheap as some portable drives but this thing feels well worth the quality boost price.

This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NEPA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 These drives are great December 22, 2015 This is my 4th OWC Mercury and they are flawless. I have one in both laptops I own and now also have started using them externally as backup drives, as they have become so affordable. I don't even consider other drives when I buy.

The On the Go enclosure is very fast to assemble and high quality. I travel some 200 days a year and those enclosures never blink.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chattanooga,Tn Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Always as expected December 21, 2015 Every order has been perfection on what was advertised and performed perfectly . shipping was fast and tracking worked right on... Im happy and will always continue with OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Exeter, RI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A great little hard drive enclosure December 11, 2015 I purchased this enclosure to provide access to the hard drive from my MacBook Pro while its logic board was being repaired -- a sad story involving a spilled glass of beer. :-( It performed flawlessly, as have all the drives and enclosures I've previously purchased from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: DC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Reliable backups at a reasonable price November 29, 2015 There are no bells or whistles with this -- you plug it in, you turn it up, you back up your computer. I regard this simplicity as a feature. The reliability has been rock-solid, as with every OWC drive I've bought.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very nice unit. November 20, 2015 This is a quality product accomplishing everything it is supposed to do. Looks good, great build quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best external backup for MacBook Pro September 25, 2015 I have used these Mercury On-the-Go enclosures for many, many years and have owned about six of them. I continuously upgraded as new / different bus connections became available. Not a single one ever gave me a problem. Easy to upgrade the drives inside as you upgrade the capacity of your laptop. Fast enough for backups or even booting if necessary. I use these to clone my internal drives and tend to use the FireWire 800 port. They get warm during longer (45m) backups, but that's what the heat sink is for, and they never get super hot. You can rely on them. Has a power switch if you want to keep them plugged in but off. Bus powered, so no need for external power. Small, light, and durable enough to keep in a backpack or laptop bag. Only gripe is that you may not like the small blue light on the controller board. It is not annoying, I prefer it, but it does exist and may annoy you if you are Donny Darko.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sequim, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed and stability. September 19, 2015 The 240GB SSD external matches up nicely with the 240 SSD internal - both from OWC giving me all the speed and stability I can expect out of my macBook plus lower power consumption. Almost like a processor upgrade. Once again I'm completely satisfied with an OWC product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product... excellent company. September 9, 2015 This external hard drive is small and extremely functional. I like buying from OWC because they are swift in their deliveries, they have high quality products and excellent customer service and warranty options. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Clear is Good! August 29, 2015 I just got this enclosure, OWC was giving them for free with the purchase of certain hard drives, so I ended up with one. I can see that when I put my old 120GB SSD drive in it I'll always be able to see the size of the drive and not have to make an external tag to remind me. Brand new it's very pretty, if I remember I'll write later on about how well it looks after some wear and tear.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Suburban Chicago Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product. August 27, 2015 This product is great. I have two other drives of the same kind and they work flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Handy portable exterior HD. August 24, 2015 I've had it for a little over a month. So far it's great, easy to use and good value. It seems well made, comes in a leatherette case with a USB3 cable and does NOT need a separate power source.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WV Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does What It Is Intended To Do August 20, 2015 This is my 3rd Mercury drive. I am pleased with Mercury construction. The cases are built to last. This is the 1st SSD I've owned. I wanted to experience the difference between HD's and SSD's. The SSD has no moving parts so it is less likely to breakdown. It also should last longer. I am using this drive as an onsite backup storage device. My previous backup showed signs of imminent failure. I transferred the Time Machine folder to the Mercury SSD, then declared it as the new backup location. Time Machine recognized it and all was good to go. I also use the Mercury SSD to store data that I seldom use. In the 3 months I've had this drive it has performed silently and reliably. The only problem I've encountered with it is occasionally the disk image doesn't mount on the desktop after the computer is taken out of sleep mode. I restart the computer and it mounts just fine. I also like the style of this unit. I recommend the Mercury On-The-Go SSD

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast reliable portable storage July 27, 2015 I have a large number of digital photos from digital cameras, film slides, and film negatives. I wanted a solution to have multiple backups in various locations. The 2.0 TB Portable Bus Powered Solution gave me this ability without having to deal with power supplies. The USB 3.0 interface is also extremely fast, so I can add data to all my drives quickly. Next the quality is outstanding and the travel pouch is designed to assure the safe transport and storage of the drive. I definitely recommend this solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Just Like It Should! June 25, 2015 I have purchased a number of items from OWC over the years. From memory to internal and external disk drives, cables and accessories. Most, if not all have, been exactly as advertised. This is my second Mercury On The Go drive. It works exactly as advertised and as expected it should, and my older one is still chugging along. Powers up just fine on my mid-2015 MBP . I used it to back up my 2006 Mac Pro before selling it and moving on to Yosemite on two MBP's. Transferred data to my new laptops from the Mac Pro, which was running 10.7.5 and all went just fine.

What can you say about an external drive? It just works. The included software is really not of any use to me, but there are options built in to leave it, copy it to your main drive, etc.. So, no big deal.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great, just like you said it would June 10, 2015 Works great, just like you said it would. And the sales rep lady was absolutely fabulous and went overboard to help us solve our problems. Thanks, We appreciate it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubois, Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very dependable backup solution June 8, 2015 I've owned this drive since May of 2011, and have used it with a Macbook Pro as a Time Machine backup drive. Never had any problems with it, and it still works great after over four years of use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

OWC 1.0TB 7200 RPM OWC On-The-Go® Pro Mfr P/N: MSU37T1.0T16 OWC SKU: OWCMSU37T1.0T16 USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day
Supply Limited: 3 available
only $109.99
Add to CartOther World Computing MSU37T1.0T16 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM HDD
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $48.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Cyber Saver $109.99
7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.99
    • Cyber Saver $29.99
SSD Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $59.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $99.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $239.99
    • OWC Price $214.99