Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC Mercury
On-The-Go® Pro

1TB SSD
USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 & 2.0 Storage Solution provides maximum storage in an ultra-portable, totally bus powered design!
Stylishly engineered in a sleek, impact-resistant acrylic enclosure, the Mercury On-The-Go Pro incorporates shock-isolation technology to give maximum protection for your precious data inside. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is a true must-have for users like you who are seeking High-Performance and Highly Reliable storage weighing less than 11 ounces and that is small enough to fit in your pocket.
Outstanding Features
Built with the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today. The Mercury SSD line features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh technology manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, limiting data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Fantastic power consumption: Average 60mW
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES and TCG Opal full-disk encryption.
Compact and Versatile
If you're looking for one of the most compatible mass storage solutions made, look no further! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go drive is all you'll need! The OWC Mercury On-The-Go has what it takes to truly work cross platform. The Mercury On-The-Go Pro is bus-powered, so it doesn't require an AC adapter!
Cool and Silent
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go's fanless design offers near silent operation while still keeping your drive cool. The built-in aluminum heatsink underneath the drive and passthrough cooling vents on the top of the case work in tandem to provide optimum results. 
SuperSpeed Ready, Yet Backward Compatible
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go can be used with any Macintosh or PC with a USB 3.0 & 2.0 port. Now you can have SuperSpeed performance up to 500MB/s and compatibility with legacy machines!

Includes

  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 & 2.0 storage solution
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 & 2.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • OWC 3 Year Solution Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 & 2.0 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset

Standard Mechanism

    Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

    There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

    Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

    It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

    1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

    Specifications

    Controller
    Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series
    NAND
    Tier 1 3D NAND
    Form Factor
    Standard 7mm 2.5"
    Interface
    SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
    Capacity1
    960GB useable capacity
    Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
    64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
    Formatted Capacity2
    930GiB
    RAID Support
    Yes
    SMART Attributes
    Standard5
    Native Command Queuing
    up to 32 commands
    Manufacturer Model Number
    OWCSSD7P6G960
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    7mm (0.276″)
    OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
    1 included (buy additional)
    Width (max)
    70.06mm (2.758″)
    Length (max)
    100.12mm (3.941″)
    Weight
    77 grams +/- 2 grams
    0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

    Reliability3

    Data Reliability
    Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
    Security
    Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
    TRIM Support
    Yes
    Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

    Performance

    Sequential Reads (Max)
    535 MB/s
    Sequential Writes (Max)
    440 MB/s

    Power

    Active
    Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
    Idle
    Less than 700mW (0.7W)

    Environmental (Operating)

    Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 158°F
    Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 70°C

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 185°F
    Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 85°C

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    0.0 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    0.0 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
    4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
  • 1TB* OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA) Revision 3.0

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Format

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)

  • * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Total Shipping Weight

  • 0.35lbs. (0.15kg)

User Guide

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 0°C – 70°C (32°F – 158°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 85°C (-40°F – 185°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 8% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • (operating) 1500G 0.5mS;
  • (non-operating) 1500G 0.5mS

Vibration

  • (operating) 16G (16 – 1600Hz)
  • (non-operating) 16G (16 – 1600Hz)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MSU3SSDT1.0 UPC#: 812437022858

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WMass Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 best little external drive April 19, 2015 Hefty in construction, lithe in size and shape, quiet, bus-powered, warranty.... what more do you need? This is the third Mercury On-the-Go USB drive I've bought from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: philly Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Drive March 27, 2015 great drive. use it for weekly backups. Works great. NIce bag for storage when not in use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Amazing March 20, 2015 Compliments my late 2013 Mac Pro. My goal is to run all SSDs since spinning hard drives can be stressful when you're traveling. I love the speed, quality and assurance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works Great February 26, 2015 Very happy with the On-The-Go USB 3.0 2TB drive. It loses a star because the connector is a little vulnerable to carelessness (read; I messed it up a bit). But overall, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent Product February 24, 2015 Works as advertised. Easy installation, attractive product, excellent packaging and shipped in a timely fashion.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rock City Falls, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Enclosure! February 21, 2015 I had to remove and re-install a bunch of drives into this case because I was using it to recover data from a couple of failing drives as well as for backing up (cloning) my main laptop drive and finally installing a drive that I will use permanently in this enclosure for backup. I must have removed and installed a drive from the enclosure about twenty times over a period of a week or so. My analysis? This is a very high quality enclosure at a great price that I would recommend to anyone. It just works and that's what I expected from OWC. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best 2.5'' external case available February 5, 2015 The only thing that would make this better is if it had e-sata like the metal ones they sell , by the way the metal one with e-sata is the fastest external with their SSD in it that I can find .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best portable drive February 5, 2015 I purchased one of these and found it to be an excellent portable package. It is much better than the cheep portable products I bought which failed and the drive could not be replaced. It is easy to use and carry when I travel. I like it so much that I bought one for my daughter and one for a friend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Prairie Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A good case... January 26, 2015 My second case like this. That says it. If I didn't like the first one, I wouldn't have bought another. I do like metal cases better, but maybe they aren't made now. Cooling issues have changed I guess.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice drive January 22, 2015 Nice drive. Formatted easily and works fine. Installed easy in my MBP 15". Extra drive is nice and sturdy for the old drive. Not sure if it is much faster than my old drive but I have lots more space.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Workhorse of an Enclosure January 12, 2015 I have lost count of the number of drives that have cycled through this enclosure over the years since I bought it. It has served as an emergency backup drive, and enclosure to hold internal drives that have been upgraded until they could be "migrated" to the new drive or new computer, to transport large amounts of data that would not fit on an SD card or thumb drive, temporary boot drive when running beta software, etc. Through it all the enclosure has been absolutely trouble free, dead bang reliable, and fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chile Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 All around SSD January 3, 2015 After replacing all the internal HDD of my Mac Pro for SSD´s, I was looking to have an external SSD to move heavy files around and to be able to do it as fast as possible. This SSD is not only reliable but very fast. Avg. I´m getting 200 MB/s write and 340 MB/s read speeds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Evergreen, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The HD is fine, but s/w is not. January 3, 2015 The HD seems to work as advertised but the s/w that came the with it is not easy to use. I ended up buying Carbon Copy Cloner which use to come with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's fast quiet and very portable December 5, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Value November 30, 2014 This is a very well made unit that does exactly what I wanted it to. Fast and reliable, it goes on the road with me and functions flawlessly. Definitely recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 So far, so good October 28, 2014 I currently use external drives for the majority of my motion projects (animation, editing, vfx). So far, OWC's drives have worked very well. I always have a good experience with OWC and hope they continue to thrive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Macgeorge
Rating: 5/5 Very good October 19, 2014 Excellent way to return life to an old Mac Book. Works well and sped up computer performance that we decided to keep the old computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good Product October 19, 2014 Works perfectly x 2 weeks. Really sped up the performance of the old laptop so much, we decided to keep it instead of selling it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 320GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, ME Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Compact Portable October 13, 2014 Using my "On the Go" to back up one of my external drives. Easy to use. OWC listened to what I wanted a back-up to do and made this recommendation. Have been very happy with it so far. Comes with it's own case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Deal September 26, 2014 The drive holds a huge amount of info at a reasonable price. The fact that it's USB powered means one less power cord hanging down the back of my desk. Backing up is way cheaper than getting files off a crashed hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lincoln, Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition September 20, 2014 Needed to add an SSD drive as a backup. Easy to add the SSD drive to the unit and had the drive up and running in minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alamo CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 No problems, and it’s very cute September 14, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boone, Iowa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Arrived quickly worked perfectly September 1, 2014 Well thought out product. Does exactly what I wanted.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WMass Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent external drive August 22, 2014 Lightweight, big capacity, small power consumption, quiet.... what else do you want in a drive? This is the second one I've bought. The first is still running great, too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlottesville, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy, slim and fast August 20, 2014 This nice, small external USB 3.0/2.0 external drive is everything you are hoping it will be when you are looking at drives. It's fast, small/slim and easy to use. Plug it in, it shows up on the desktop, start using it. It even has a heat sink to help extract heat out of the enclosure. I highly recommend this unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

OWC 1TB OWC On-The-Go® Pro Mfr P/N: MSU3SSDT1.0 OWC SKU: OWCMSU3SSDT1.0 USB 3.0 & 2.0 SSD Storage Solution 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $228.88
Add to CartOther World Computing MSU3SSDT1.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM HDD
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $69.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $92.99
    • OWC Price $92.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $125.00
    • Cyber Saver $125.00
7200 RPM HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $114.99
    • Cyber Saver $107.99
Add Your Own Drive
  • Enclosure
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.99
    • Cyber Saver $34.99
SSD Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • OWC Price $58.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $74.88
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • OWC Price $104.88
  • 1.0TB