Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSDs

OWC Special Offers Available

$50.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $49.00 with any OWC SSD up to 250GB! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB49
$10.00 off OWCtoberfest BUNDLE DEAL - Save an EXTRA $10 when you buy a NewerTech NuPower Replacement Battery + any OWC SSD!
Click Here for qualifying items

OWC

250GB
Mercury Electra™ 3G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-state Drive

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This 3G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
With sequential reads up to 271MB/s and random reads up to 90K IOPS, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

250GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
250GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 256GB
6GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
233 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
253MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E3G250 UPC#: 812437024593

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Venice, Italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive October 6, 2015 OWC SSDs are a very good choice

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pewaukee, WI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great money saving product! October 5, 2015 My 2009 Macbook Pro was in it's terminal stages of being obsolete. Rather than spend the money for a new Macbook Pro, the tech at the Apple store Genius Bar told me about the OWC website to get parts for upgrades. I took his advise, ordered the parts and, with the help of a basic set of tools also from OWC and the installation videos, I installed the parts myself! After the techs at the Apple Genius Bar and Apple Tech Support helped to solve some software problems during this transition, I finally have my 2009 Macbook Pro with a new memory and Solid State hard drive! Much cheaper than buying a new Macbook Pro! It may no longer be under warranty, but I'm hopeful that my laptop will last a few more years, and I can still get help from Apple Genius Bar if I have any more software issues. Anything other than that, I can take my problems to computer repair businesses that service Apple/Mac products. To me, buying and installing the new products was worth it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Massachusetts Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great product to build a business on September 27, 2015 OWC has done an amazing job creating a product that can literally drive their business. These SSD's are of excellent quality, but more than that, OWC has literally thought of everything. Need a spacer to adapt a 2.5" drive to a Mac Pro drive bay? No problem! Want to install the drive in a Mac Mini, but only if it's in the non-existent second drive slot? We'll get right on machining and mass-producing that for you!

OWC is my primary partner in resolving so many different issues with my own Apple products and the ones I service for friends, family, and perfect strangers with extra cash on hand.

This drive is perfectly adjusted to work with SATA II connections on every Mac product I have had the privilege of working on, and I've never had a single issue with them. The warranties are also the best in the business.

Come for the speed and durability, stay for the excellent pricing and warranty. I highly recommend these for folks looking to speed up an older system or get a newer one configured just the way you like it at half the cost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, fast, fast! September 23, 2015 What a difference an SSD drive makes! I used the data doubler kit and replaced my CD/DVD drive in my 11,2 iMac with this SSD. I then cloned my internal disk onto the new SSD, switched it to the boot device and rebooted. My applications now start instantly. No spinning rainbow at all. This includes Word, Excel, iTunes and all three browsers. OK, Photos takes about two seconds, but that's down from about 10. This will get me through at least two more versions of MacOS ;^)

Because of the age of my iMac, I needed to use the 3 Gb/s version. I use the remaining hard drive as an internal backup drive.

The installation was of moderate effort, but the video is clear about what you have to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington,DC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great way to upgrade older system's disk September 23, 2015 Great way to take an older mac laptop with slow hard disk and boot its performance via an SSD. I not only doubled the link speed between this disk and the system, but with no mechanical parts, all my apps start in mere seconds rather that close to a minute or more.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install for two computers September 21, 2015 Put a 240 GB SSD and 8gb of RAM in both my old iMac (9,1) and my MacBook Pro (10,2) and both run like new machines. The Macbook installation was easy and the video made it even easier - it starts up in less than 30 seconds and runs much faster. The iMac was a little more involved but wasn't difficult - it just help to have an extra set of hands when you have to lift out the LCD and unplug some cables. The iMac is like a new machine and starts up in about 40 seconds and is now completely functional - it was getting so slow that I hated to use it. Customer support was great. Lots of money saved and no need for new machines for a while!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: nh Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2009 iMac worth having again September 9, 2015 Has made using my older iMac worthwhile. Not an easy install, the video on the site deviates at times.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A great way to give your Power Mac new life! September 4, 2015 I was able to install and Restore to this SSD from my existing drive in about an hour and a half. Once installed, it seems the speed is more than double. The performance is more than I had anticipated. My next steps are to add a little motte RAM. This old Dual G-5 has a new life. Thanks for the great products and options for new and older devices.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Goldsboro, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product August 28, 2015 Performs as advertised, time will speak to it's quality/durability. My only drawback was the packaged software and setup instructions, both are flawed, however, a call to the techs was the solution, by the way, they direct you to apple software for formatting and setup which works seamlessly...the techs are very helpful. I think the price/product ratio is very good also, as I've purchased a number of upgrade items and I always go to OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mukilteo, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD for FreeNAS Build August 27, 2015 I recently built a hefty (25TB) FreeNAS for home use. We have lots of digital pictures, videos, digital clutter, etc. I didn't want to use a full size hot swap-able bay and wanted the NAS to boot quickly, so I checked out a few options on OWC and found a perfect match for one of the 2.5" fixed bays. It was a few bucks more than a sale SSD drives, but I have never had a bad experience with OWC, so that made it a simple decision. The drive has been flawless, it was discovered without having to load new drivers and I was up and running in minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Budget SSD August 11, 2015 This Electra 3G SSD was easy to clone and install. It improved the performance of my 2006 Mac Mini tremendously. I will certainly buy more of these drives in the future.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Corry, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Sounds of silence! August 10, 2015 Installed the Electra 3G in my late 2009 Mac Mini on Saturday. Bought it to replace my 5-year-old 750GB WD Scorpio Black. The WD is a wonderful drive that has proven to be fast and reliable. I did, however, want to replace it before any problems cropped up. Decided to make the move to the OWC SSD. I have been buying from OWC for more than 20 years and have always been pleased with their products and customer service. Drive swap was easy and uneventful. Popped the SSD into my Mercury Elite-AL Pro enclosure, formatted it and then cloned my Scorpio Black to it. Pulled it out, popped open my mini and replaced the Scorpio with the new Electra. Since I had the Mini opened, I also replaced the PRAM battery and Optical Drive ... which had ceased to operate reliably a year ago. (I bought the Optiarc DVD RW AD-7800H at the same time I bought the Electra.) Put the Mini back together, transferred the old Scorpio to the Elite-AL Pro enclosure (to use in my back-up routine) and fired the Mini up. What I noticed immediately is how QUIET the Mini's fan actually is!!!! Could never hear the fan (unless it ramped up) over the sound of the Scorpio! As far as speed ... am very pleased. The Scorpio was no slouch ... but the SSD is obviously faster. Only problem I had during the installation process was that I had to remove and rebuild the trash after I booted with the SSD. I am sure this had nothing to do with the SSD itself, but some glitch that happened during cloning. Everything has been running wonderfully since installation and I anticipate years of reliable service before replacing this drive. (I love this late 2009 2.53Ghz Mini configuration and plan to keep it until it eventually dies .... though I do have a spare in the event this happens!!) Thank-you OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brookline, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my iMac August 10, 2015 I replaced the internal drive in my 2009 iMac with a Mercury SSD and the optical drive with a larger hybrid disk. It's like buying a new machine. Strongly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great speed improvements on 2010 Macbook Pro August 10, 2015 I ordered this SSD together with the 16GB RAM memory upgrade kit for my Mid 2010 Macbook Pro, as it was totally not performing anymore with the 4GB base RAM and a standard 7200RPM HD.

After having received and placed the OWC SSD and memory, the Macbook is performing like a new one again, with much shorter application load times, quicker browsing and general application usage. I was most happy to see that Apps like Apple Photos, containing a huge library of images is now running smooth and fast in both browsing and editing.

Although not totally convinced upfront about the possible hassle of ordering in the US, paying taxes and going through customs, the process went very smooth and the package was delivered in the Netherlands on Friday morning after having ordered Wednesday!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Illinois, USA Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Upgrade August 8, 2015 I considered replacing my late 2008 MacBook Pro with one of the new MacBooks but thought I'd try saving a lot of money by getting the 480GB Mercury Electra SSD. It's worked out great. Speed is considerably faster, boot time is a fraction of what I had with the original drive. Everything about this machine is improved to the point it feels like a new computer. I first cloned the HD with Carbon Copy Cloner then fitted the new SSD. Installation was a breeze. I highly recommend this product. Never been disappointed with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 fast August 7, 2015 love the speed and ease os installation

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: BrisVegas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac transformation July 31, 2015 this drive has transformed my 2007 iMac, saving it from the e-waste pile and adding years to its useful life. So good I've ordered a bigger version for my Mac Pro. Hopefully the performance gains will be the same.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 "New iMac" July 21, 2015 I have a mid 2008 24" iMac that was in serious need of being replaced. I decided to give OWC a try after having successfully upgraded a 2012 MacBook Pro with an OWC SSD. I was incredibly happy with the MacBook so why not.

I couldn't be happier with the iMac upgrade. The video on disassembly of the iMac went as shown. The kit to remove the front glass worked beautifully. All in all, a most worthwhile upgrade. By replacing the internal drive with a 480 GB SSD and upgrading the RAM, the iMAC is like buying a brand new computer. Well worth the effort and time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Riversde CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Delivers Again July 16, 2015 I replaced the hard drive in my 2010 Macbook with this SSD and what a difference. Boot times are phenomenal and the speed increase is almost as good as a processor upgrade. I received it fast and at a reasonable price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Went in easy, made a big difference. July 13, 2015 My older 2009 iMAC is fast now. I run Photoshop and Light room on this old bird and she loves it. The how to videos were perfect and this device installed easily. I loaded the OS on it and off it went. Running like a champ. Boot up speed went from over 3 minutes to under 20 seconds. compared to my HDD. I did this as a practice / experiment before I do my main iMAC. So pleased, when I have time I'll be doing my day to day iMAC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 So good i recently ordered another for my laptop July 8, 2015 Wow, this thing is quick, quiet, and cool!! Very nice SSD, wish I had bought one sooner!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: HK
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD upgrade for MacBook Pro mid-2009 July 6, 2015 Fast delivery and great installation instructions. Would definitely recommend to older MacBook users who consider upgrading their hardware thus extending the lifetime of their machines for the foreseeable future.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greenville SC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Inexpensive upgrade June 28, 2015 I install these hard drives in all my computers and the speed increase is pretty amazing. Everytime someone advise me to upgrade the ram, or optimize the hard drive I never quite notice that my computer was running faster until I installed solid state hard drives. My computer start up so fast, Photoshop Office and Iphoto that usually took for ever to load, no anymore. You can really experience real speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very glad I did the upgrade June 25, 2015 Pros - Super Fast Boot Times - Super Fast App Launching - Excellent read/write speeds - Silent

Cons - Expensive per GB compared to HDD - Limited Max Size - Was forced to migrate media files to an external HDD

My original hard drive for my early-2009 iMac was getting full and bogged down. I looked at two upgrade options; 1. Upgrade to a 4TB Seagate fusion drive (similar to what is sold in iMacs now) 2. Upgrade to a 256GB SSD with a 3TB external HDD

I decided to go with option two. Even though it was the more expensive option (about $150 more total than the fusion drive) I figured if I was going to go through the hassle of taking apart my iMac, I might as well go for the fastest speeds. Installation did not go smoothly (I accidentally formatted the partition instead of the HDD) and very time consuming. Migrating my iTunes library was a cinch, but the iPhotos library migration took almost a full day of transferring files and then resenting with iCloud. Ultimately, I got it working and WOW! When people say it's like a new computer, they mean and entirely new computer. My computer never booted up and launched apps so quickly, and I don't even notice a lag accessing files on my external HDD. Note that app performance once it was open did not improve, upgrading my RAM helped with that. Either way, a very worthwhile upgrade that probably added another 2-3 years on my old 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 You cannot go wrong with these SSD's June 22, 2015 I have bought four or five of these SSD's over the last many months. They work very well and really speed the computers up. They install easily enough, even the iMac one I bought thanks to the OWC installation videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.