Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB
Mercury Electra™ 3G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-state Drive

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This 3G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
With sequential reads up to 272MB/s and random reads up to 84K IOPS, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
1000GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 1024GB
24GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
931 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
272MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
252MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E3GT1.0 UPC#: 812437024616

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: twnwlf
Rating: 5/5 Great value & excellent product. January 2, 2018 Great drive & excellent value. As everything has transitioned to online documentation, I only mention the lack of documentation in the product packaging as a personal gripe.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive *Demo*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ricner14 Location: Las Piedras, PR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great performance November 28, 2017 I installed this on a MacPro late 2009 5.5 I also installed 6GB of RAM. The moment I did the laptop was a whole different machine. Very happy with my purchase. I open, mainly, photography softwares (2-3 at the same time) and it performs great!.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DevS Location: Milwaukee, WI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade November 27, 2017 The hard drive in my MacBook Pro died and this replacement, along with a new battery and some RAM (all from OWC) turned it into a brand new computer. Super impressed with the great install videos. Just make sure you have the required Torq screwdriver when you install. I always feel confident that I’m getting the right product for my machine. Very happy with the hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AkiraHi808 Location: Honolulu, Hawaii Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice speed gains!! August 31, 2017 After installing this in my Mid-2010 MacBook, I was surprised at the speed. Now my Mac boots in a fraction of the time. Performance is great, even under Windows, which I installed using Bootcamp. I highly recommend this to anyone needing more speed from their Mac. The speed gains are real. The only downside is the price. Other than that, this is a worthwhile investment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jennifer Location: South Korea Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Successfully upgraded my 2009 laptop! August 1, 2017 I've heard great things about OWC and their reliability for anything Macbook-related. I ordered to an Asian country which is where I currently am and the shipping was great at under $5! It did take a bit longer than their intended date by around one or two weeks but that's all considered how far my country is. The bubble-wrapped letter kept the contents from OWC safe from harm and all was in perfect condition, packaged as new. The product works as intended. The only downside I've only ever heard of macsales is the shipping, but remember that once it's shipped, it's out of their hands how it all works out. If you're paranoid of packages getting safely (as I am), I highly suggest you pay extra for faster + tracking service. Thank you MacSales for giving my university laptop the boost it needs before the school year!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: IConsult Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Off to the races! June 13, 2017 I replaced the failing hard drive on a PC laptop with a 60 GB SSD drive from OWC. The screws for the mounting frame from the laptop seemed large for the SSD drive, but after calling OWC tech support, I went ahead with the installation. I then installed Ubuntu Linux on the SSD, and performance is amazing. It takes 15 seconds to boot from a cold start and about 2 seconds for a browser to connect with the Internet. Guaranteed, that laptop never did anything so fast!

I just wish the cost of SSD storage would come down further, but that's not OWC's fault.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dreovic Location: Canberra, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Cheap, Effective upgrade June 11, 2017 This SSD upgrade has easily given another 4-5 years to my 7 year old MacBook Pro. The easy-to follow video instructions ensured this was a 10-minute task.

Thank you for saving me $2k-$3k on a new laptop!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MattyH
Rating: 4/5 Even At 3G, A Huge Improvement May 27, 2017 Bought the 3G instead of the 6G because it was on clearance and had some pretty immediate pangs of buyer's remorse, but after installing I am very pleased. My mid-2012 MacBook Pro feels like a new computer with this upgrade (alongside 16GB of RAM and a new battery, also from OWC). Certainly gave this old laptop a new lease on life. My only note: the screws that connect the drive to the mounting rails from my old laptop took way more force to fully thread than I was comfortable with: I was worried I was breaking my new drive! It was probably the thread tape/loctite that was from the original installation, but with a bit of muscle, I was able to drive them fully home, and it fit like a dream.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive *Open Box/Demo*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: artphotodude Location: Spokane, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 SAVED MY TRUSTY G4!!!! May 23, 2017 This thing TOTALLY brought me trusty old MDD G4 back to life. Actually transfers data faster than my brothers Mac Pro!!! Like having endless Ram/Scratch.

Only thing is if you delete a big bunch of stuff, it can sometimes take a bit of time to auto-trim (like 5 minutes).

This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sharper
Rating: 5/5 Good product so far. May 14, 2017 Works as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PWJS Location: Netherlands Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm March 6, 2017 Affordable backup boot disk for my mac-mini

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: LowerEastSider Location: Milwaukee, WI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works good as an external drive February 24, 2017 I was looking for an SSD that would speed up my Late 2009 Mac Mini. Even with the 266 Ghz processor, things were slowing down and boot-up was too long.

I was not ready to buy a new computer yet. So, I purchased the OWC 480GB Mercury drive.

I didn't want to go inside the computer's case so I just bought an external metal enclosure from OWC and hooked up the drive via the Firewire 800 ports.

It has been a few months, and I can't remember exactly how I transferred the files from my old hard drive to the new SSD. I think I just used Apple's software and a copy of the software on another external hard drive that I use for Time Machine backups only. But everything transferred over without problems.

The performance is quite good. Initial start up is MUCH faster and there is less lag time when opening applications. I realize I would get even faster performance if the drive were internally mounted and I may do that eventually. But for now, it works good enough.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lsebek Location: Keswick, ON, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 FAST DRIVE February 14, 2017 Although the process of swapping my HDD for an SSD was quite a bit more complex than it was supposed to be, that was largely because I didn't get the kit with the enclosure. If I had, cloning my HDD to the SSD would have been much easier and would have significantly reduced the time necessary to get my laptop running again. Take my advice and get the version that comes with the enclosure and tools. It's only a few dollars more and you get the necessary tools as well as the enclosure, because the drive arrives sans tools. If I hadn't recently replaced my battery with one from OWC, I wouldn't have had the necessary tools to do the job. My only complaint with the actual drive is how easy it is to cross-thread the old positioning posts when installing them in the sides of the new drive

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: COPD Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 My computer works very well now. I don't have to purchase a new one. February 7, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RJH77 Location: Richmond, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Buy February 4, 2017 My 2008 MacBook Pro was on its last leg and I purchased this SSD drive and it brought my MacBook Pro back to life. I went from a four minute boot up time to 30 seconds. Also the technical support from installing the new drive to transferring the data was above reproach.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BillsUniqueNickname
Rating: 5/5 works seamlessly - impressive performance boost January 21, 2017 Installed in an old iMac with a spinning HDD. It runs faster now than the iMac with a faster processor and spinning HDD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Automattik
Rating: 5/5 Fast install and fast booting! January 19, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: peterl7 Location: Austarlia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD January 17, 2017 works flawlessly super reliable/fast

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: roxymusicco Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Drive for the price January 16, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Reviewer: DieselD Location: AZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome SSD to revive my aging macbookpro January 8, 2017 I think everyone knows now that SSD are the way to go but they have always been pretty pricey to get into the large GB family. Finally the large capacity drives have become more affordable and practical. My machine is a 2009 Mackbook Pro which as we know has become pretty old in the technology world however with a retail price of over 2k when new I want to be able to squeeze every bit of usable life out of it. This upgrade should allow this old beast to survive a few more years before needing to be replaced as my main computer. The SSD did the trick and I wish I would have installed on sooner! OWC products are great and always delivery quantity, performance and affordability. I even got an open box drive and enclosure to save a few bucks. I had to look twice to even tell if it was installed or not! It was packaged as good as a new in box item would have been! The free tech support is icing on the cake and almost everything is listed here on the website. It made switching out the drive stupid simple and the data migration article assisted in getting the new drive formatted, OSX installed and data moved. I have used memory, battery's and now a SSD from OWC and everything has always been top notch!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Timestar Location: Oak Forest, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great upgrade December 21, 2016 The upgrade to El Capitan really displayed the sluggishness of my original hard drive. With this SSD drive, I no longer experience the spinning pinwheel of the past. A fantastic upgrade for any machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive *Demo*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: vc2251 Location: Brownington, VT Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive! December 1, 2016 Works perfectly and was very easy to install in my mid-2013 MacBook Pro. Nice performance boost as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Piccolo Location: Oakland, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Superb replacement HD November 26, 2016 My granddaughter's MBP computer (June 2009 model 5,3) had a fried 320GB hard drive and too little RAM, only 4 GB. Replaced HD with Mercury 3G 480GB SSD. Everything worked very well; installation was easy thanx to OWC instruction video. Reinstalled OS 10.10 and WOW. Amazing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TheMan Location: TheMan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is great! November 15, 2016 I am extremely happy about the purchase, the delivery of this product and online support videos. I Completed the upgrade of my Mac Book Pro. Well done! From Toronto, Canada

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: RCK4 Location: Las Vegas, NV Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade November 8, 2016 I put this SSD into my 2006 Macbook. It was an easy installation and it sped up my computer's boot time from 1 min 45 sec to only 35 sec. Even programs load much quicker. Very happy with the upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos: