Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB
Mercury Electra™ 3G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-state Drive

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This 3G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
With sequential reads up to 272MB/s and random reads up to 84K IOPS, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
1000GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 1024GB
24GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
931 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
272MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
252MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E3GT1.0 UPC#: 812437024616

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Italy Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Don't change computer, throw away mechanical HDD and switch to SSD! January 15, 2016 Installed on a 2009 Mac Mini... just makes an amazing difference, even if the Mini controller is only "Sata 2". Mac Mini 2009 + 8GB Ram + SSD = EL CAPITAN boots in 19 seconds. No need to say anything else.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Aus Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Great - prefer the 6 but the 3 works well.... January 12, 2016 needed another SSD to do some startup shuffling and create another new OS start up - so this was perfect for the job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 M old Mac now a goes like a rocket! January 11, 2016 I put this drive into my mid 2010 Macbook Pro and it goes like a rocket. Super fast boot, very quick access. Very happy - it will keep this old Macbook running for many years to come.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great ssd replacement January 8, 2016 Fixed my failing hd with this ssd Easy to replace Clear instructional video Got a faster machine with lots of free space

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 MBP just flies like an Eagle December 28, 2015 Replaced a slow 5400rpm 320GB internal harddrive with this SSD. What a difference it makes. My late '08 MBP boots up in 20 seconds or less. Only 2 turns of the turning circle on OS X 10.6.8 & I'm up & running. Couldn't be better pleased. At first I thought an SSD was expensive but delighted now that I bit the bullet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Should have done this a long time ago, December 19, 2015 I have had this in my Mac Book Pro Mid 2009 for the last 2 months with no problems what so ever, faster startup, faster all-round

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Massive performance boost December 14, 2015 I replaced my 250GB HDD in my 2009 Macbook Pro and the increase in performance was immediately noticeable. This is my first OWC product and I am extremely happy with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome product easy to install December 13, 2015 Thanks so much, I was able to salvage my 2009 macbook pro and now it performs better than it ever did. Much faster disc access and start up. The video on how to install was great as was the tool kit

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Perfect for my use. December 13, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Silver Spring, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional Performer December 12, 2015 I have several 2008 20" iMac's in my home. I just upgraded my son's machine with this drive and what difference it has made. Along with the great OWC AdaptaDrive (really well made) and the Mercury 3G, this was a simple replacement. The machine performs so well, I am very pleased. My son is very happy with his "new" iMac, and I think we will get many more years of service out of this machine thanks to this drive upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Franklin, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product December 5, 2015 I purchased this drive to replace the slow, aging HDD in my early 2009 27" iMac. The iMac only has SATA II and this drive is perfect for the slower interface. Read and Write speeds are in the upper 200's and the overall performance boost of SSD versus HDD has actually made me not want to buy a new 5K iMac. This old one should have many years left in it thanks to a speedy hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denmark Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD really make a difference in performance November 30, 2015 I had an old Mac Mini from 2007 with just 1 GB of RAM and 80 GB HDD. It became new life with this upgrade (and 4 GB RAM)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Torrance, Ca Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Drive! November 29, 2015 These drives are great. I have had it for awhile now and it has improved performance of my 2009 Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 love it: speedy and reliable November 16, 2015 This is my second unit. Speeds up any mac. Incredilble, feels like having a brand new computer. OWC's install videos are also great. First one had a problem, under warranty. No questions asked, replaced very quickly. Great service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern Virginia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A new drive for an older MAC November 16, 2015 This drive went into the white MacBook unibody with the rounded edges. The existing drive was having multiple issues and the user just did not have the patience. Once this went it the machine was running smooth and fast boot and shutdown. I have had positive experiences with the this and other hardware by OWC and for some strange reason there is more comfort in this SSD than the Samsung Pro SSD. There is no comparison from using the SSD and this one is the fastest I could get on the MacBook model. The laptop has regained a longer life span!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great performance SSD and price point. November 16, 2015 Ordered 2 OWC 120GB SSD for an a medical instrument and one for a 2006 Macbook.

All I can say is WOW! Instead of the 4-5 minutes to book on the instrument, I was ready to operate the instrument in less than 1 minute. As for the Macbook, installation was very easy and it brought new life into a 9 year old laptop.

I'm very happy with the price and performance of the OWC SSD's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kallim123 Location: Arnessysla, Iceland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fine Item to speed up older Macs November 10, 2015 I have reviewed for Item Like this before and I am still buying them for my family. Fine Item. I have good experience of using them. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac Supercharger November 8, 2015 Removed my original 500GB drive from a 2007 iMac and installed the 480GB SSD. It is a brand new machine. Not an easy install but not hard either. just follow the instructions and video from OWC. El Capitan runs great after the install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ecuador Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick start and fast speeds October 30, 2015 I am very happy with my switch to a OWC unit, so fast and quiet. It takes a fraction of time to do any checkup of the unit. I love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kallim123 Location: Arnessysla, Iceland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Boosting up the my older Mac G4 Tower October 24, 2015 I bought this Item for use in my old Apple G4 Digital Audio as a OS X startup system disk. My Grandchilds are beginners in Computers and the old Power Mac changes to rather fast working Computer as fahr as it goes. Fine soulution for young children to begin with, and not easy to damage those fine old Apple Towers accidently. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 oh yeah October 23, 2015 Made my 2010 macbook feel new again. No, faster and better than new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, Oregon Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Breathed New Life Into An Old iMac October 16, 2015 Our household has an old 24 inch 2008 iMac. After reading the many glowing reviews about the 480 GB Mercury 3G SSD, I decided to give it a try. I am quite amazed how much of a difference changing to a solid state drive made. The computer performs like a new machine. For disk intensive tasks like booting, loading software, etc. this old machine out performs my 27 inch 2012 iMac.

A few things you should be aware of. Doing this installation in an iMac, does take some patience and some degree of technical skill. I suggest you view the online videos here at OWC first to make sure you feel comfortable taking about your machine. I found it very helpful to buy the recommend tool kit and suction cups from OWC to disassemble the iMac and put it back together.

The other thing you need to be aware of is since this is a 2.5 inch drive, if you are putting the drive in an older iMac, like me, will need the 2.5 inch to 3.5 inch drive adapter (Newer Technology AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket). Check with the helpful folks here at OWC.

I hope you find this review helpful. I highly recommend this drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tasmania, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Brought new life to a mid-2011 iMac! October 15, 2015 My aim was to extend the working life of an older Mac that was getting sluggish. Even though my home folder is too big, and had to reside on a conventional HDD, (the iMac's original HDD), putting the OS and applications onto SSD has had a marked and persistent positive effect on boot times and application launch times. No messing about with getting it bootable - it just worked first time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 SSD works well October 10, 2015 I installed this drive in my late 2009 iMac. I use it for other OSs run by VMWare Fusion. It is MUCH faster than my previous setup running from an external FireWire 800 drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 My iMac is more responsive October 10, 2015 I installed this SSD in my late 2009 iMac. The machine is significantly more responsive particularly in launching apps.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.