Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB
Mercury Electra™ 3G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-state Drive

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This 3G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
With sequential reads up to 272MB/s and random reads up to 84K IOPS, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
1000GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 1024GB
24GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
931 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
272MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
252MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E3GT1.0 UPC#: 812437024616

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Inexpensive Speed Boost June 22, 2015 Fast and perfect for older MacPro machines. Combine with NewerTech AdaptaDrive bracket.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great product June 20, 2015 Cheap, efficient. No complaints

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Wonderful SSD for my 17" MacBook Pro June 16, 2015 I have tried other brands. OWC SSD works super well and reliably with Mac. I have installed some OWC SSDs in my PCs and they works great too. The assistance from OWC was very helpful. They have shipped me brand new SSD to replace my malfunctioned SSD without hesitation a few years ago. I really trust OWC. I will continue to support them and use their high quality products, especially OWC SSDs. CHEERS!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester Hills, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product June 15, 2015 Utilized this to update an older 13" MacBook Pro, easy install (with video provided from OWC). Now working much faster with the installation of additional Ram (also purchased from OWC). So for about $200 the life of this computer has been extended for at least another 2-3 years. Well worth the investment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent across the board June 13, 2015 OWC continues to deliver the best products, site, & customer service.

I am a long time customer, & look nowhere else for these products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: upstate NY Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing improvement! June 11, 2015 My 2008 iMac got really bogged down after I downloaded Yosemite. But I didn't want to replace it, it was a great machine! So I ordered the SSD, received it quickly, and had fun installing it with the guidance of the video OWC provides a link to. If you don't have the tools already (torx drivers, etc.) order them with the SSD. Don't worry about pulling off the glass, a couple of pieces of packing tape stuck to the upper corners as handles will do the job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 TRIM June 7, 2015 I bought this because TRIM is necessary and OWC sales told me this SSD takes care of TRIM itself. I got rid of a Samsung SSD because they do not have internal TRIM and the Yosemite OS disables TRIM for non-Apple SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Athens, Greece Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice choice June 7, 2015 I bought the 120GB, so I had to delete some of my photos and videos from the disk. I suggest at least 240GB.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works GREAT June 6, 2015 Easy to install, Longer battery life & Much Faster avg. response time. I Have taken my laptop to Alaska by Motorcycle and had 0 Problems. Love it. Wish i had done this Much Sooner.!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: houston, tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly June 2, 2015 Works great.

It did not automatically go into set up mode as I had expected it to after reading that OWC drives are set up to do. I did get it going with disc utility just fine and then it went online to download Yosemite.

I'm glad the staff was available to talk to when I bought it so it matched my older Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WA STATE Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 My second SSD works great as outboard with 10.10 May 22, 2015 Back in April 2012, I purchased my first SSD- also 120GB electra 3G to replace internal HD. After cloning and running it as an external for a month or two, Installed it into my Mini. Major reduction in boot times, and to date flawless running 10.8.5. This second one is running via firewire as outboard and after cloning the 10.8.5, I upgraded it to Yosemite 10.10. No problem. Ive partitioned both into 4 discs plus a boot disc of 30 GB. That way when I back up the 4 data disks weekly via Airport- USB to WD 1 terabyte discs, it goes without a hitch and takes a few minutes at most. Eventually after a few months more of 10.10 outboard I will then run my mini on 10.10. Price is right, installation is easy with videos. Equivalent on a ' best buy' IMHO.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Camarillo, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 480GB SSD HD May 9, 2015 Purchased this 480 GB SSD HD for use on my 2011 2.3, 13" MacBookPro. I backed up my data using Carbon Copy, copied it over and started it up on the new SSD following Apple/Mac instructions for startup disk. Big improvement in terms of startup in comparison to 500GB 5400 HD. Works well with Adobe Phtotoshop as little to no buffering/ lag time. I would recommend this to anyone. Been using this SSD HD for three years now, no problem.When I purchased this SSD HD the price was higher but for those interested now price has dropped so much better purchase for typical user. You will notice a difference.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! April 28, 2015 Old Macbook is working better than new with Mint 17 and the SSD. I followed a bunch of optimization instructions, but I'm unaware as to whether I got any big performance gains. . there's a long boot time, but suspend is working very well so I dont shut down very often anyhow. I'm ready to replace my desktop system drives with SSDs now. OWC was prompt, helpful and honest all the way from shopping to shipping and I will def use them again!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bangalore,India
Rating: 4/5 So far so good April 28, 2015 Its been more than a month since I started using this ssd on my 2008 model macbook and really its very good experience so far. Shipping to India was very quick after purchase, glad to get it with in 10 days from US. Installation also was very simple. And ever since this ssd is inside, macbook (2008) is running like a new one, boots with in 10 seconds, loads apps very quickly. Currently running Mavericks, in which I haven't experienced any crash/freeze so far. I hope it works the same way for long time. Thanks OWC for this great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Execellent April 23, 2015 I am very satisfied with the purchased from OWC , and execellent support. I can recomend overs to by you products, regards from Finn, from Norway.

This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD April 21, 2015 The decision to upgrade from an old mechanical drive to this new SSD is proving to be a good one. The installation was easy and the data transfer went smoother than anticipated which was probably due to the info posted on the OWC web site. This is my first SSD with no regrets. Boot up time as well as power down time is greatly reduced. So far everything appears more stable than with the old mechanical drive. Im sure it will last a long time. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northfield, CT Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Like a new Mac April 20, 2015 I am a novice when it comes to installing and updating hardware. I purchased this Solid State Drive, watched the video for installation and had a little problem. I called tech support and my computer was up and running in minutes. Great company!! Thank you!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Puerto Rico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 BEST COMPANY IN THE MARCKET!!!!!!!!!!!! April 9, 2015 AWESOME SSD!!! EXTREAM Performance!!!! Because your are the best in the market!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! R&D Department is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never an issue in ANY Client!!! With you almost 7 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NYC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfection! April 3, 2015 What can I say... When I order from OWC I expect everything to be perfect. And it was! Arrived on time and worked as promised. However, let us not forget that OWC provides a wealth of information prior to purchasing. You guys simply rock!

I have told everyone at work about OWC. Thank you!!! (ok, I might have copied my previous review.. A bit :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good value SSD April 2, 2015 Good value - works great, has given new life to an old 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Queens, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very efficient drive March 30, 2015 Very quick boot time. Definite boost in my macbook performance

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: RI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super SSD March 28, 2015 Replaced original drive in a 2007 iMac with this SSD. Required an inexpensive adapter (3.5" to 2.5"), and some adjustment to match the short hookup cables in the iMac. Cloned the old drive onto the new, and the increased speed was eyewatering! Highly recommend to get a few more years out of the oldies but goodies. Fine product at a great price. One month in, happy so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sanford NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent quality and servicee March 27, 2015 With the help of the sales tech we chose a replacement ssd hd. It arrived promptly, well packaged, and complete as to parts. Good instructions, and great performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: High Point, NC
Rating: 4/5 It's Like a New Machine March 27, 2015 My old mac mini struggled to open Yosemite so I had OWC install the OS on a 120GB SSD. Wow, what a positive performance difference. I would recommend that you contact OWC before placing an order to receive their advice on the size SSD you should order based on your requirements.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 25-34
Rating: 4/5 The SSD boost my mac performance, it makes everything smooth. March 20, 2015 Even though a lot of troubles happened during the installation of OSX Yosemite, finally after successfully installed on the SSD, I am very satisfied with the performance. It drastically increase the boot time, and make launching and using apps faster.

However, there are a few things frustrate me during the installation. 1. A screw driver is required to replace current HDD to SSD. And that is a special screw(I think call hex key or what...), the usual screw driver can't fit. Since I have no idea(experience) about this, I have to order the screw driver from local store when I receive the SSD. 2. The office installation DVD purchased from Apple store can't detect the SSD(at least in my case). This made me think the SSD is broken at first and almost start proceeding the replacement process. Luckily I try to create a USB installer in the last minutes and using it, SSD can be detected during installation. 3. The OSX Yosemite usb installer caused problem during installation. After "About a second remaining", it waits for some minutes and showing "About 0 seconds remaining" and subsequently shows error message. I searched internet and try all the methods found, but no one succeed. 4. After several hours keep repeating and installation, I eventually give up and use my windows pc to make a OSX 10.6.8 USB installer. And this installer works great, all the installation finished quickly. After that, upgrading to OSX 10.10 is also just easy and smooth.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.