Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

2.0TB
Mercury Electra™ 3G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This 3G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
With sequential reads up to 272MB/s, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E3GT2.0 UPC#: 812437024623

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RicoInCC Location: Culver City, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro Solid State Drive Upgrade September 12, 2016 I bought this hard drive to replace the stock hard drive on my very old MacBook Pro 2008 model. My wife purchased a brand new laptop and nobody was using the 2008 one anymore. Since this hard drive was really cheap, I thought I'd give it a go and see if it would breath some new life into the old machine and I could still use it. The old hard drive was experiencing some serious lag and the computer was very, very slow. After I upgraded to the new SSD hard drive, it now works like a dream. Everything is much faster than it used to be. I'm running the same operating system on it too (El Capitan)! I would highly recommend making the upgrade to a SSD hard drive if you have an older machine. The hardest thing about it was getting all of my info on my new blank hard drive. Oh, also, make sure you have a phillips screwdriver (PH00) that is not too pointy, or you might strip the screws.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Edu96 Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 2008 Macbook faster than Usain Bolt. August 22, 2016 I love the sad, my late 2008 Macbook is Alive and Fast. It boot`s Lion in 23 seconds and opens any folder with whatever file inside it. so smooth, so sexy.

I need to test it longer , but feel that 10 days is good enough to write a review, it really is good.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product July 28, 2016 I used this drive to replace an overly aged original drive in a 2009 MacBook. It is a completely different machine now starting up in about 20-25 seconds as opposed to 3-4 minutes. The Finder used to get stuck looking for files for minutes, now everything just pops up immediately. Apps open so much faster. My daughter was asking for a new computer but now for a fraction of the cost of a new one I've given her's a new life and she's happy. Installing was a cinch and the longest part was removing and installing the screws on the bottom panel of the laptop. Fantastic buy and couldn't be happier with the results.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Muscat,oman Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quality of item was great. July 28, 2016 Quality of the wrapping was high-standard. Quality of item was great. Fantastic service. Recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good replacement July 24, 2016 I got this for my 2010 17" MacBook Pro when the original hard drive failed. I decided to replace it with a SSD since prices had become so affordable finally. My original hard drive was 250 GB and only half full after nearly 6 years, so this 240 GB replacement seemed a perfect size and the price can't be beat. It was super easy to install (I already had the tool kit), and the only problem was that it wasn't formatted and thus was not recognized by the computer. I called OWC and got quick and efficient help—they told me what to do and then sent an email with instructions right away. I guess I would suggest that these instructions be included in the drive package. The drive itself is hugely faster than the old HD, and all is working perfectly. OWC products and service are stellar, same as I've always experienced over many years of purchasing from them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Camarillo, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Mercury Electra 3G 2.5" 120GB SSD June 26, 2016 I purchased the OWC 120 GB SSD to replace two HD's in 2012 Mac Mini's. Definite speed increase during startup. I also have a 1TB OWC SSD. SSD's in general are much faster and cooler than typical platter HD's. I would recommend the 120GB SSD for use as the Operating System HD. One can save money with the slower platter style HD's for file,music,video storage. However, I must state that as soon as the OWC SSD's come down in price I will purchase a 2TB SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tinley Park, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW! June 25, 2016 I purchased this drive in hopes of speeding up my aging PC laptop. After cloning the drive and powering-up the first time, all I can say is WOW! It's like having a NEW laptop. The speed is incredible! And after using this drive for over 1 year, the drive is still as fast (IMO) as it was when I first installed it.

Also, OWC Customer Service was extremely helpful with any issues I had copying everything to the new drive and getting it up and running. OWC is the BEST!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive *Demo*.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Naples,FL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent ssd for Older Computers June 20, 2016 I had a macbook 5,2 from mid 2009 with a 500 gb 7200rpm Hard Drive.There were times where there would be little bits of lag in random places.When i put the ssd in my macbook, everything i did was 3-4 times faster.With the ssd there is no lag.I would highly recommend this ssd for older computers that cannot use the full 6gb/s speed of a sata III ssd.Also , this ssd does not need to have trim enabled.Great for older macbooks.I was able to get 210 MB/s write and 262 MB/s read speeds consistently.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The Mercury Electra Revived my MacBookPro June 19, 2016 After I updated to El Capitan, in my mid2010 MacBrookPro, almost anything I did caused the color wheel to appear and seemed to take forever to disappear. It was so bad that I looked into buying a new computer but decided to first replace my hard drive. That was a great decision since now the color wheel rarely appears and my computer seems faster than the day I bought it I chose MacSales to buy it, since they have a 30 day return policy, and chose the Electra based on its specifications. Before I installed the SSD, I put it into an external hard drive box and used DIsk Utility to initialize the drive, and Carbon Copy Cloner to replicate my internal drive stuff. The online information showed that there was some installed software but it didn't show up. Instead, the SSD launched Disk Utility. After Cloner finished, which took over five hours, I installed it in my computer. Installation was very easy because I had the drivers to remove the computer cover, and the hard drive screws. Too bad they aren't included with the drive. I expect the Electra to last the remaining life of my MacBookPro. Only time will tell.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: maple ridge, bc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The Viagra for older iMacs June 2, 2016 Seriously, if you're thinking of getting this, get it. Don't be afraid. Their installation tutorial videos are the best. The videos are so simple, even my 7 year old kid can follow it and get the job done.

SSD upgrade gave my mac a second chance in life. My HD was dying so I replaced it with this. Now my 2009 iMac is like an energizer bunny on viagra. So fast. Better than when I first got it.

Thanks OWC for all the help. From finding out my what my system needs to replacing the irregular suction cup. You guys made everything a breeze.

10/10 would deal with you guys again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Incredible Difference! May 23, 2016 I had to replace the 1T internal drive in my iMac. The price for the SSD has dropped enough to make it a reasonable investment for an older machine.

I wish I had done it sooner. The speed difference is incredible. The machine starts up in 1/3 of the time, and I just don't get a sense of waiting for data to transfer.

Installation was easy (if you know how to work inside an iMac).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Eldento Location: Puerto Rico Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 To revive and old mac mini May 17, 2016 These is the third SSD I buy in the last 6 month. Not because they don't work. Just because I am obseced with SSD's. When you try it you will know what I am talking about. These time is for and old Mac Mini 2009 2.53Ghz 8Gig with El Capitan. Before the SSD it was slow, and the beach ball always present on the screen. After setup it's like a new mac. Starting up takes always less than 20 secs. Apps open faster. It works better than when I bought it in 2009. It gave new life to these computer. Now I have it in my office as an additional computer on my network and everybody is happy with the speed it performs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Green Bay WI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best most affordable investment !!!! Buy it, thank me later May 16, 2016 I was almost ready to junk my late 2008 MacBook pro... I then started reading about the SSD from OWC and decide to invest on the SSD and the ram. installation was a breeze. When I turn my machine for the first time, I was baffle. Day and night difference. My friend has an 2015 MacBook and he was just amaze that mine was way older than his but mine was as quick as his is not faster. From a $200 dead weight to a super fast and functional work horse in 5 minutes flat. amazing. I run photoshop like a pro and nothing slow down my MacBook. My friend is so in love that he is going to upgrade his hard drive as well OCW. I did also put a 8 GB ram so, if you buy the SSD also upgrade the RAM. You would love Mac all over again. the crazy beach ball is a thing of the past.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New Life May 14, 2016 Installed this in a 2010 MBP that was getting slow with pinwheel a regular sight. This drive has given my old laptop extended life. Will wait on the purchase i was planning. Great support made the purchase that much better.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for MacBook Pro 2011 Optical Drive! May 13, 2016 Used the data doubler to put a Mercury 3G in my optical drive. Paired with a 240G Pro 6G for my startup disk, I went from 500G to 1.2 Terabytes of SSD Awesomeness!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features May 3, 2016 Fast delivery, safe packaging. Excellent OWC product, works perfectly in Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Install couldn't be easier! May 1, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Mid-2009 MacBook Pro - reborn with SSD! April 30, 2016 The Hard Drive was dying on my MBP. While it was tempting to buy a new Mac, I decided that there was really nothing else wrong with the ol' girl, so I decided to get an SSD from OWC to give her a bit more life. It arrived from the USA when expected and changing the drive was a breeze thanks to the online instructions. Reinstallation of my software items was trouble free and then, when I finally re-booted......."WOW!" I'm absolutely amazed at the boost in performance - the advertised comparisons are not an exaggeration! I'm going to get some more RAM from OWC, and I reckon I'll get many more years before I have to think about a new Mac. Thanks MacSales and OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fountain of Youth for an Aging Mac April 23, 2016 Greatest upgrade ever. Put this SSD in a '08 Unibody Mac and it ran like a new machine. Wonderful. It's been in there for years now and still performs without a complaint. I found keeping your SSD under 50% capacity keep it at peak performance so keep this in mind when purchasing. This wasn't a problem, I find it easiest to keep huge media files on an external drive anyway.

OWC was really helpful in selecting the right drive and in providing installation support. Great company and a great drive. Good performance. No complaints.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Great Performance April 18, 2016 Summary says it all. My MacBook feels snappy and responsive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic improvement to old MacBook April 9, 2016 I have a 2008 MacBook unibody laptop that was starting to struggle. Installing this SSD drive as well as additional RAM was incredibly easy (including data & systems files transfer) especially given the online videos. This has resulted in refreshing my machine and giving it a new life. Well worth the cost. Cannot thank OWC enough; they really remove the significant issue of parts compatibility (a major problem with Macs at least for me) as a concern.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baton Rouge, LA Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD for older Macs April 7, 2016 If you need to speed up your older Mac, this SSD is a great choice. It made my Mid-2010 MacBook Pro feel like a new machine. It fitted perfectly, and now the spinning beach ball of waiting isn't a constant feature of my computing experience. The OWC video showed me exactly how to do the installation myself, and all went very well. No funky TRIM enablement is needed with OWC SSDs, so you can just install and use the drive without concern.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 240GB Mercury 3G SSD April 5, 2016 The perfect upgrade for and MacBook Pro. Upgraded two 2010 MacBook Pros and now they run better than new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 New SSD for a failing HD on an old MacBook Pro April 4, 2016 This replaced the 400gb hard drive that was going bad that came with my MBP (bought in Jan '09). I had never tinkered with anything inside a computer before but OWC's installation videos are spot on. Also, customer support responded to my emails promptly. As far as durability, it's hard to tell but I bought this on Oct. 28 and waited to write this review so I'd know if I got a lemon or what. So far, so good!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kaneohe, HI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC saves our iMacs March 31, 2016 My wife and I have two 27" iMacs that we bought in 2010. The hard drives were causing problems and were about to self destruct. New OWC SSD drives saved the day. With that upgrade and 16GB RAM, I can now keep our computers for another few years rather than forking over $4,000 each for new iMacs.

OWC is great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.