Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

2.0TB
Mercury Electra™ 3G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid-State Drive

For High Speed Performance and Reliability
Mercury Electra SSDs deliver the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. They offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.
The Mercury SSD line features:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • S.M.A.R.T and TRIM command support
  • Standby power benefits to extend battery life for laptop road warriors
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This 3G SATA SSD delivers fast, reliable performance. It works as a hard drive upgrade internally and in bus-powered or self-powered external enclosures (any Mac, PC, or enclosure that supports 2.5" SATA drives, must support 7mm drive height).
With sequential reads up to 272MB/s, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance that's backed by a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7E3GT2.0 UPC#: 812437024623

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Silver Spring, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional Performer December 12, 2015 I have several 2008 20" iMac's in my home. I just upgraded my son's machine with this drive and what difference it has made. Along with the great OWC AdaptaDrive (really well made) and the Mercury 3G, this was a simple replacement. The machine performs so well, I am very pleased. My son is very happy with his "new" iMac, and I think we will get many more years of service out of this machine thanks to this drive upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Franklin, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product December 5, 2015 I purchased this drive to replace the slow, aging HDD in my early 2009 27" iMac. The iMac only has SATA II and this drive is perfect for the slower interface. Read and Write speeds are in the upper 200's and the overall performance boost of SSD versus HDD has actually made me not want to buy a new 5K iMac. This old one should have many years left in it thanks to a speedy hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denmark Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD really make a difference in performance November 30, 2015 I had an old Mac Mini from 2007 with just 1 GB of RAM and 80 GB HDD. It became new life with this upgrade (and 4 GB RAM)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Torrance, Ca Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Drive! November 29, 2015 These drives are great. I have had it for awhile now and it has improved performance of my 2009 Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB Mercury Electra MAX 3G 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 love it: speedy and reliable November 16, 2015 This is my second unit. Speeds up any mac. Incredilble, feels like having a brand new computer. OWC's install videos are also great. First one had a problem, under warranty. No questions asked, replaced very quickly. Great service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern Virginia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A new drive for an older MAC November 16, 2015 This drive went into the white MacBook unibody with the rounded edges. The existing drive was having multiple issues and the user just did not have the patience. Once this went it the machine was running smooth and fast boot and shutdown. I have had positive experiences with the this and other hardware by OWC and for some strange reason there is more comfort in this SSD than the Samsung Pro SSD. There is no comparison from using the SSD and this one is the fastest I could get on the MacBook model. The laptop has regained a longer life span!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great performance SSD and price point. November 16, 2015 Ordered 2 OWC 120GB SSD for an a medical instrument and one for a 2006 Macbook.

All I can say is WOW! Instead of the 4-5 minutes to book on the instrument, I was ready to operate the instrument in less than 1 minute. As for the Macbook, installation was very easy and it brought new life into a 9 year old laptop.

I'm very happy with the price and performance of the OWC SSD's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kallim123 Location: Arnessysla, Iceland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fine Item to speed up older Macs November 10, 2015 I have reviewed for Item Like this before and I am still buying them for my family. Fine Item. I have good experience of using them. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac Supercharger November 8, 2015 Removed my original 500GB drive from a 2007 iMac and installed the 480GB SSD. It is a brand new machine. Not an easy install but not hard either. just follow the instructions and video from OWC. El Capitan runs great after the install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ecuador Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick start and fast speeds October 30, 2015 I am very happy with my switch to a OWC unit, so fast and quiet. It takes a fraction of time to do any checkup of the unit. I love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kallim123 Location: Arnessysla, Iceland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Boosting up the my older Mac G4 Tower October 24, 2015 I bought this Item for use in my old Apple G4 Digital Audio as a OS X startup system disk. My Grandchilds are beginners in Computers and the old Power Mac changes to rather fast working Computer as fahr as it goes. Fine soulution for young children to begin with, and not easy to damage those fine old Apple Towers accidently. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 oh yeah October 23, 2015 Made my 2010 macbook feel new again. No, faster and better than new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, Oregon Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Breathed New Life Into An Old iMac October 16, 2015 Our household has an old 24 inch 2008 iMac. After reading the many glowing reviews about the 480 GB Mercury 3G SSD, I decided to give it a try. I am quite amazed how much of a difference changing to a solid state drive made. The computer performs like a new machine. For disk intensive tasks like booting, loading software, etc. this old machine out performs my 27 inch 2012 iMac.

A few things you should be aware of. Doing this installation in an iMac, does take some patience and some degree of technical skill. I suggest you view the online videos here at OWC first to make sure you feel comfortable taking about your machine. I found it very helpful to buy the recommend tool kit and suction cups from OWC to disassemble the iMac and put it back together.

The other thing you need to be aware of is since this is a 2.5 inch drive, if you are putting the drive in an older iMac, like me, will need the 2.5 inch to 3.5 inch drive adapter (Newer Technology AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket). Check with the helpful folks here at OWC.

I hope you find this review helpful. I highly recommend this drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tasmania, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Brought new life to a mid-2011 iMac! October 15, 2015 My aim was to extend the working life of an older Mac that was getting sluggish. Even though my home folder is too big, and had to reside on a conventional HDD, (the iMac's original HDD), putting the OS and applications onto SSD has had a marked and persistent positive effect on boot times and application launch times. No messing about with getting it bootable - it just worked first time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 SSD works well October 10, 2015 I installed this drive in my late 2009 iMac. I use it for other OSs run by VMWare Fusion. It is MUCH faster than my previous setup running from an external FireWire 800 drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 My iMac is more responsive October 10, 2015 I installed this SSD in my late 2009 iMac. The machine is significantly more responsive particularly in launching apps.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Venice, Italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive October 6, 2015 OWC SSDs are a very good choice

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pewaukee, WI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great money saving product! October 5, 2015 My 2009 Macbook Pro was in it's terminal stages of being obsolete. Rather than spend the money for a new Macbook Pro, the tech at the Apple store Genius Bar told me about the OWC website to get parts for upgrades. I took his advise, ordered the parts and, with the help of a basic set of tools also from OWC and the installation videos, I installed the parts myself! After the techs at the Apple Genius Bar and Apple Tech Support helped to solve some software problems during this transition, I finally have my 2009 Macbook Pro with a new memory and Solid State hard drive! Much cheaper than buying a new Macbook Pro! It may no longer be under warranty, but I'm hopeful that my laptop will last a few more years, and I can still get help from Apple Genius Bar if I have any more software issues. Anything other than that, I can take my problems to computer repair businesses that service Apple/Mac products. To me, buying and installing the new products was worth it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Massachusetts Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great product to build a business on September 27, 2015 OWC has done an amazing job creating a product that can literally drive their business. These SSD's are of excellent quality, but more than that, OWC has literally thought of everything. Need a spacer to adapt a 2.5" drive to a Mac Pro drive bay? No problem! Want to install the drive in a Mac Mini, but only if it's in the non-existent second drive slot? We'll get right on machining and mass-producing that for you!

OWC is my primary partner in resolving so many different issues with my own Apple products and the ones I service for friends, family, and perfect strangers with extra cash on hand.

This drive is perfectly adjusted to work with SATA II connections on every Mac product I have had the privilege of working on, and I've never had a single issue with them. The warranties are also the best in the business.

Come for the speed and durability, stay for the excellent pricing and warranty. I highly recommend these for folks looking to speed up an older system or get a newer one configured just the way you like it at half the cost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, fast, fast! September 23, 2015 What a difference an SSD drive makes! I used the data doubler kit and replaced my CD/DVD drive in my 11,2 iMac with this SSD. I then cloned my internal disk onto the new SSD, switched it to the boot device and rebooted. My applications now start instantly. No spinning rainbow at all. This includes Word, Excel, iTunes and all three browsers. OK, Photos takes about two seconds, but that's down from about 10. This will get me through at least two more versions of MacOS ;^)

Because of the age of my iMac, I needed to use the 3 Gb/s version. I use the remaining hard drive as an internal backup drive.

The installation was of moderate effort, but the video is clear about what you have to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington,DC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great way to upgrade older system's disk September 23, 2015 Great way to take an older mac laptop with slow hard disk and boot its performance via an SSD. I not only doubled the link speed between this disk and the system, but with no mechanical parts, all my apps start in mere seconds rather that close to a minute or more.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install for two computers September 21, 2015 Put a 240 GB SSD and 8gb of RAM in both my old iMac (9,1) and my MacBook Pro (10,2) and both run like new machines. The Macbook installation was easy and the video made it even easier - it starts up in less than 30 seconds and runs much faster. The iMac was a little more involved but wasn't difficult - it just help to have an extra set of hands when you have to lift out the LCD and unplug some cables. The iMac is like a new machine and starts up in about 40 seconds and is now completely functional - it was getting so slow that I hated to use it. Customer support was great. Lots of money saved and no need for new machines for a while!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: nh Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2009 iMac worth having again September 9, 2015 Has made using my older iMac worthwhile. Not an easy install, the video on the site deviates at times.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A great way to give your Power Mac new life! September 4, 2015 I was able to install and Restore to this SSD from my existing drive in about an hour and a half. Once installed, it seems the speed is more than double. The performance is more than I had anticipated. My next steps are to add a little motte RAM. This old Dual G-5 has a new life. Thanks for the great products and options for new and older devices.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Goldsboro, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product August 28, 2015 Performs as advertised, time will speak to it's quality/durability. My only drawback was the packaged software and setup instructions, both are flawed, however, a call to the techs was the solution, by the way, they direct you to apple software for formatting and setup which works seamlessly...the techs are very helpful. I think the price/product ratio is very good also, as I've purchased a number of upgrade items and I always go to OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.